Q&A with Curator Julienne Lorz

as part of the exhibition “Thea Djordjadze: all building as making”

Thea Djordjadze, oneissopublicandtheothersoprivate, 2019 (Detail)

What role does material play in Thea Djordjadze’s work?

Material always plays a role in art, of course. Thea Djordjadze’s handling of material is of particular significance, however, because her art essentially only begins to emerge within the space as a process. This means that the artworks are not delivered in their final form; instead, materials and components arrive, at which point individual works or exhibitions as installations are created on-site.

Interestingly, she often uses everyday materials: industrial elements such as Plexiglas, aluminium, plaster or foam, frequently combining these with wood, carpets, fabrics, handcraft and painting. A vast range of materials finds expression in many different ways, at times, creating a contradiction of sorts: a chair-like sculpture, for example, made of foam. Since it appears to be a chair, one might expect the material to be rather sturdy, but Djordjadze’s version is fragile and does not represent stability. In that sense, she employs material to promote oppositions in perception.

When interviewed for ART iT Magazine (2012), Djordjadze stated: “I don’t think I’m doing forms. I am working with movements.” This quote also refers to material because in her work, everything is always in motion, appearing in flux. Generally, the artist is on the move a lot in her practice – including during the preparation of her exhibition. She wanders the sites, examining every visual angle in the spaces, and this movement ultimately influences the visitors’ experience of her exhibitions. Djordjadze’s practice circles around art as a physical, atmospheric experience developed over time with transient elements and the visual. Another aspect of movement lies hidden: to see what the artist sees; to experience – through one’s own movement in the space – what she experiences. Rays of sunlight, the weather, the seasons: visual elements that change how material glistens and shadows are cast.

In other words, spaces and their specific conditions function as a kind of compass that guides Djordjadze’s artistic practice. In what ways do spatial and temporal dimensions resonate in the artist’s work?

Djordjadze’s artistic approach typically concentrates on an intense study of specific spatial conditions. She carefully examines the spaces; every detail is crucial. Not only are the architectural elements and attributes of the space important, but also the context: Where is the exhibition building located? How does the light stream in at different times of the day? How do visitors enter and move around in the exhibition? Where are the entrances and exits? Are there windows, and what views do they provide? These different components are part of her palette, so to speak – the material with which she works.

The fact that Djordjadze lives here in Berlin is also an advantage, of course. She was able to develop a different relationship with the building, one that began even before her exhibition. She knows the Gropius Bau, its history, and its more recent developments. She witnessed the institution’s changes over the years and how the various directors’ interventions modified the premises.

Thea Djordjadze, His and My Own Measures, 2017/2019 (detail)

Thea Djordjadze, His and My Own Measures, 2017/2019 (detail) © Thea Djordjadze / VG Bild-Kunst 2021, Bonn, courtesy Kunst Museum Winterthur and Sprüth Magers, photo: Reto Kaufmann

What is the relationship between the interior and exterior in all building as making?

The relationship between interior and exterior space is definitely important in this exhibition and generally in the Gropius Bau. Since Stephanie Rosenthal took over as director in 2018, the relationship between “inside” and “outside” has been continuously renegotiated, on a spatial level and regarding the exhibition and event programme. Walls in front of the windows in the gallery spaces were removed, for example, so that daylight can now enter the rooms, making it possible for visitors to experience the Gropius Bau as an open space. From the gallery spaces where Djordjadze’s works are displayed, the trees in our car park – named Gropius Wood – are visible.

Djordjadze also indicates the interior and exterior in her exhibition. She is interested in natural light; for instance, when sunlight floods the rooms, the shiny surfaces of her works change. Inside the Gropius Bau, she will apply thin layers of plaster water or highly diluted paint in different colours to the windows and glass surfaces. This painterly intervention obscures the outside and simultaneously serves as a kind of membrane, accentuating the connection between the indoor and outdoor space.

Djordjadze’s site-specific installations are created in situ, where they are recombined and rearranged. How does the processual nature of her practice relate to a more traditional understanding of art as artefacts or final works?

In her artistic approach, Djordjadze fundamentally questions the traditional understanding of art as a final form. She occasionally disassembles already existing, finished works for her exhibitions, turning them back into material. This process is characterised by ongoing experimentation: discarding, reassembling and repositioning. Djordjadze thus extends her production into the exhibition space, which only becomes a final composition temporarily at the opening. In a way, it is as if time stops at that specific moment and perhaps continues in different constellations in the next exhibition.

For all building as making, Djordjadze asked for specific display elements from previous presentations at the Gropius Bau to be kept for her to potentially include in the exhibition. The underlying idea is that material is not finite, nor must it remain in one state or have one meaning: instead, it always has an afterlife, where it can develop, staying in motion.

Thea Djordjadze, Ma Sa i a ly e a se – de, 2015 Installation view, South London Gallery, London, 2.10.2015-29.11-2015

Thea Djordjadze, Ma Sa i a ly e a se – de, 2015, Installation view, South London Gallery, London, 2.10.2015-29.11-2015 © Thea Djordjadze / VG Bild-Kunst 2021, Bonn, courtesy: South London Gallery, photo: Andy Stagg

What is the role and importance of titles – such as all building as making – in the artist’s practice?

In her exhibitions, the title is negotiated almost like a sculptural element or textual building block that forms a part of the installation. The titles often refer to literary texts, such as those by the poet and essayist T. S. Eliot in Djordjadze’s work As sagas sa (2012) for dOCUMENTA(13). Yet, no fixed narrative or meaning is ascribed to these recontextualised words. The exhibition title o potio n., which the artist used for a solo show at Portikus in Frankfurt/Main (2018), negates or obscures the original meaning through Djordjadze’s intervention in the “space” of the word. The result is a series of letters that could be an abbreviation, an unknown word or even concrete poetry.

Djordjadze’s exhibition title at the Gropius Bau – all building as making – also emphasises the processual nature of her work, simultaneously establishing a link to the exhibition venue through the ambiguity of the word “building” (both a noun and a verb). The Gropius Bau building is architecturally and historically dominant and is by no means a blank slate; the act of “building” is reflected in its past when it housed the Museum and School of Decorative Arts and was a place of production – of “making”.

Many of Djordjadze’s works reflect on visual presentation methods and the relationship between private and institutional spaces. How does this exploration manifest itself in the artist’s work?

Djordjadze repeatedly deconstructs the so-called “white cube” ideology – a neutral space solely for viewing art – promoted by modernism. The concept of “Institutional Critique” might seem relevant here since it reflects on the conditions of exhibiting and refers to presentation methods, such as display cabinets or pedestals. The museum and/or the institutional framework with all of its particularities effectively serves as the artist’s material.

For her exhibition at the Secession (To be in an upright position on the feet (studio visit), 2016), for instance, Djordjadze moved her entire studio to Vienna. The artist was thus temporarily deprived of all the things required for her work and even for everyday life. With this entire inventory, Djordjadze created an installation in which her private working space – the studio – was rearranged to become a public sculptural form in an institutional space. The Gropius Bau exhibition spaces, in contrast, are a kind of extension of her studio in Berlin, serving as a place where the artist can continue to conceive and develop her work.

Q&A mit Kuratorin Julienne Lorz

zur Ausstellung „Thea Djordjadze: all building as making“

Thea Djordjadze, oneissopublicandtheothersoprivate, 2019 (Detail)

Welche Rolle spielt Material im Werk von Thea Djordjadze?

Material spielt in der Kunst natürlich immer eine Rolle. Thea Djordjadzes Umgang mit Material ist jedoch im Speziellen wichtig, da ihre Kunst quasi erst im Raum, im Prozess entsteht. So werden nicht finale Kunstwerke angeliefert, sondern Materialien oder Bestandteile, aus denen einzelne Arbeiten und die Ausstellung vor Ort als Installation entstehen.

Interessant ist auch, dass Material bei ihr häufig alltäglich sein kann: industrielle Elemente wie Plexiglas, Aluminium, Gips oder Schaumstoff treffen oft auf Holz, Teppiche, Stoffe, Kunsthandwerk und Malerei. Es ist eine große Spannweite von Materialien, die sie sehr unterschiedlich einsetzt. In manchen Fällen entsteht auch eine Art Widersprüchlichkeit in der Nutzung des Materials – eine stuhlähnliche Skulptur aus Schaumstoff zum Beispiel. Man würde eigentlich denken, das Material müsste sehr stabil sein, da es sich um die Anmutung eines Stuhles handelt, aber Djordjadzes Version ist fragil und stellt keine Stabilität dar. Sie nutzt also Material auch, um Oppositionen in der Wahrnehmung zu befördern.

In einem Interview mit Djordjadze im ART iT Magazine (2012) äußerte sie: „I don’t think I’m doing forms. I am working with movements.“ („Ich glaube nicht, dass ich Formen mache. Ich arbeite mit Bewegungen.“) Dieses Zitat kann man natürlich auch auf Material übertragen, in dem Sinne, dass immer alles in Bewegung bleibt und im Wandel begriffen zu sein scheint. Aber auch grundsätzlich ist die Künstlerin in ihrer Praxis viel in Bewegung – auch in der Vorbereitung ihrer Ausstellung. Sie erläuft sich quasi die Orte und jeden Blickwinkel der Räume – und diese Bewegung überträgt sich schlussendlich auch auf Besucher*innen. Im Grunde genommen geht es bei Djordjadze auch darum, dass Kunst ein physisches, atmosphärisches Erlebnis ist, das über Transitives, das Visuelle und über Zeit erarbeitet wird. Das ist der andere Aspekt von Bewegung, der versteckt liegt: zu sehen, was die Künstlerin sieht, zu erleben – durch die eigene Bewegung im Raum – was sie erlebt. Die Sonneneinstrahlung, das Wetter, die Jahreszeiten; Blickwinkel, die Material ganz anders glänzen lassen oder Schattenwürfe verändern.

Räume und deren spezifische Gegebenheiten bilden also eine Art Kompass, der Djordjadzes künstlerische Praxis leitet. In welcher Art und Weise finden örtliche und zeitliche Dimensionen Resonanz im Werk der Künstlerin?

Djordjadzes künstlerisches Vorgehen basiert meist auf einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit spezifischen räumlichen Gegebenheiten. Sie beobachtet die Räume sehr genau; jedes Detail ist wichtig. Es geht jedoch nicht nur um architektonische Elemente, sondern auch um den Kontext: Wo befindet sich das Ausstellungsgebäude? Wie ist beispielsweise der Lichteinfall zu unterschiedlichen Tageszeiten? Auf welche Art betreten und bewegen sich Besucher*innen in der Ausstellung? Wo ist der Ein- und Ausgang positioniert? Sind Fenster vorhanden und welche Blicke geben sie frei? Diese verschiedenen Komponenten sind sozusagen Teil ihrer Palette und das Material mit dem sie arbeitet.

Ein Vorteil für Djordjadze ist dabei natürlich auch, dass sie hier in Berlin lebt. Es ist eine andere Beziehung, die sie zum Haus aufbauen konnte, welche sich bereits vor ihrer eigenen Ausstellung entwickelte. Sie kennt den Gropius Bau, kennt die Geschichte und auch die jüngeren Entwicklungen. Das heißt, sie hat auch den Wandel der Institution an sich über die Jahre mitbekommen; wie Räume sich durch die Interventionen der verschiedenen Direktor*innen verändert haben.

Thea Djordjadze, His and My Own Measures, 2017/2019 (Detail)

Thea Djordjadze, His and My Own Measures, 2017/2019 (Detail) © Thea Djordjadze / VG Bild-Kunst 2021, Bonn, Courtesy: Kunst Museum Winterthur und Sprüth Magers, Foto: Reto Kaufmann

In welcher Beziehung steht der Innen- zum Außenraum in all building as making?

Die Relation zwischen Außen- und Innenraum hat auf jeden Fall eine große Wichtigkeit in der Ausstellung, aber auch im Gropius Bau im Allgemeinen. Seit Stephanie Rosenthal 2018 als Direktorin begann, wurde die Beziehung zwischen „innen“ und „außen“ sowohl auf räumlicher Ebene als auch innerhalb des Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramms immer wieder neu verhandelt. Beispielsweise wurden Wände vor den Fenstern der Ausstellungsräume entfernt, sodass nun Tageslicht in die Räumlichkeiten gelangt und der Gropius Bau als offener Ort für Besucher*innen erlebbar wurde. Von den Ausstellungsräumen, in denen Djordjadzes Arbeiten gezeigt werden, sind die Bäume – der Gropius Hain – auf unserem Parkplatz ersichtlich.

Djordjadze reflektiert das Innere und Äußere auch innerhalb ihrer Ausstellungspräsentation. Natürliches Licht, das durch die Sonne in Räume einfällt und dadurch glänzende Oberflächen ihrer Arbeiten verändert, interessiert sie beispielsweise. Im Gropius Bau hat sie vor, Fenster- oder Glasoberflächen mit einer dünnen Schicht aus Gipswasser oder stark verdünnter Farbe zu bearbeiten. Ein malerischer Eingriff, der das Exterieur verschleiert und gleichzeitig als eine Art Membran die Verbindung zwischen Innen- und Außenraum akzentuiert.

Djordjadzes ortsspezifische Installationen entstehen in situ und werden dort neu kombiniert und arrangiert. In welcher Relation steht das Prozesshafte ihrer Praxis zu tradierten Betrachtungen von Kunst als Artefakte oder finale Werke?

Das traditionelle Verständnis von Kunst als finale Form unterzieht Djordjadze in ihrer künstlerischen Herangehensweise einer grundsätzlichen Befragung. Denn in ihren Ausstellungen zerlegt sie zum Teil bereits bestehende, quasi „finale“ Arbeiten, die dadurch sozusagen wieder zu Material werden. Dieser Prozess ist ein konstantes Experimentieren, Ausprobieren, wieder Verwerfen, neu Zusammen- oder Rückversetzen. In diesem Sinne verlängert Djordjadze die Produktion in den Ausstellungsraum, die erst durch die Eröffnung zu einer vorerst finalen Setzung kommt. Ein wenig ist es so, als würde man die Zeit an jenem Punkt anhalten und vielleicht in der nächsten Ausstellung wieder in anderen Konstellationen weiterlaufen lassen.

Für all building as making hat Djordjadze auch bestimmte Display-Elemente aus vorherigen Ausstellungen im Gropius Bau aufbewahren lassen, die möglicherweise in ihre Ausstellung einfließen werden. Der Grundgedanke dabei ist, dass Material nicht endlich ist oder nicht in einem Zustand oder einer Bedeutung bleiben muss, sondern dass es auch immer ein weiteres Leben hat, sich entwickeln kann – in Bewegung bleibt.

Thea Djordjadze, Ma Sa i a ly e a se – de, 2015 Installationsansicht, South London Gallery, London, 2.10.-29.11.2015

Thea Djordjadze, Ma Sa i a ly e a se – de, 2015, Installationsansicht, South London Gallery, London, 2.10.-29.11.2015 © Thea Djordjadze / VG Bild-Kunst 2021, Bonn Courtesy South London Gallery, Foto: Andy Stagg

Welche Rolle und Bedeutung nehmen Ausstellungs- und Werktitel – wie beispielsweise all building as making – in der Praxis der Künstlerin ein?

In ihren Ausstellungen werden Titel quasi wie skulpturale Elemente und textliche Bausteine als Teil der Installation verhandelt. Oft beziehen sie sich auf literarische Texte, wie beispielsweise auf die des Lyrikers und Essayisten T. S. Eliot in ihrer Arbeit As sagas sa (2012) für die dOCUMENTA(13). Diesen rekontextualisierten Wörtern wird jedoch keine feste Erzählung oder Bedeutung zugeschrieben. Der Ausstellungstitel o potio n., den die Künstlerin für eine Einzelausstellung im Portikus in Frankfurt/Main (2018) nutzte, verneint oder verdeckt die ursprüngliche Bedeutung durch Djordjadzes Eingriff in den „Raum“ des Wortes. Das Ergebnis ist eine Aneinanderreihung von Buchstaben, die eine Abkürzung, ein unbekanntes Wort oder sogar Konkrete Poesie sein könnte.

Der Ausstellungstitel im Gropius Bau – all building as making – betont vielleicht auch das Prozesshafte ihrer Arbeiten und bildet gleichzeitig einen Bezug zum Ausstellungsort durch die Mehrdeutigkeit des Wortes „building“ (sowohl ein Substantiv als auch ein Verb). Der Gropius Bau als Gebäude ist architektonisch und historisch dominant und keineswegs ein unbeschriebenes Blatt und der Akt des Bauens spiegelt seine Vergangenheit als Kunstgewerbemuseum und -schule und Ort der Produktion – des „Machens“ – wider.

Viele Arbeiten Djordjadzes reflektieren visuelle Präsentationsmethoden und das Verhältnis zwischen privaten und institutionellen Räumen. Wie zeigt sich diese Auseinandersetzung im Werk der Künstlerin?

Die von der Moderne beförderte Ideologie des sogenannten „White Cube“, des wertneutralen Raums zur reinen Anschauung von Kunst, dekonstruiert Djordjadze in vielen Ausstellungen. Man könnte fast meinen, dass da der Begriff der „lnstitutional Critique“ relevant ist, da sie die Bedingungen des Ausstellens reflektiert und auf Methoden der Präsentation – wie Vitrinen oder Sockel – verweist. Das Museale bzw. der institutionelle Rahmen in all seinen Details wird dadurch quasi zum Material für die Künstlerin.

Für ihre Ausstellung in der Secession (To be in an upright position on the feet (studio visit), 2016) hat Djordjadze beispielsweise ihr vollständiges Atelier nach Wien übersiedelt. Der Künstlerin wurden dadurch all jene Dinge, die sie zum Arbeiten oder schlicht für den Alltag benötigt, temporär entzogen. Mit dem gesamten Inventar hat Djordjadze eine Installation entwickelt, in der ihr privater Arbeitsraum – das Atelier – in einer neuen Anordnung als skulpturale Form im institutionellen Raum öffentlich gemacht wurde. Im Gegensatz dazu sind die Räume des Gropius Bau eine Art Erweiterung ihres Ateliers in Berlin – ein Ort, an dem die Künstlerin ihre Arbeiten weiterdenken und entwickeln kann.