Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing

Performances, Conversations and Workshops

From 4 to 7 November 2021, the Gropius Bau hosts a four-day programme that focuses on diverse approaches to the fields of care, repair and healing.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing

Against the backdrop of an unprecedented global health emergency, with its social, political, economic and psychological consequences, Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing has invited organisations, researchers, activists and artists working in Berlin and beyond to be together and share their thoughts, experiences and ideas. This event also serves as a prelude to an extensive thematic exhibition at the Gropius Bau in 2022.

Choosing Emeka Ogboh’s installation Ámà: The Gathering Place in the Gropius Bau’s atrium as vantage point, the four days intend to offer a holistic dialogue on caring, repairing and healing, and foster engagement among diverse communities. The participatory gathering incorporates non-western epistemologies and underrepresented post-colonial and Indigenous knowledge systems. Guest speakers include activists, artists and theorists, who, alongside the Gropius Bau’s publics, will investigate and reassess these topologies. The Gropius Bau’s involvement with surrounding neighbourhood initiatives also plays a crucial role in the programme.

In addition to talks and panels, formats include a listening session; a dinner; a workshop for children; a room for reading, reflection and informal conversation; a space for decompression; and a Radical Attention session – a “speed dating”-inspired format encouraging a breadth and range of interactions.

Curated by Stephanie Rosenthal, Magnus Rosengarten and Julia Grosse with Katharina Küster

The event is part of Mindscapes, Wellcome’s international cultural programme about mental health.

To the imprint

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing | Intro with Stephanie Rosenthal

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing

Tickets

5 € / reduced € 2,50 per event

Packages
2-4 events € 2,50 per event
5-8 events € 2,00 per event
9-12 events € 1,50 per event

Day 1

2021

Day 2

2021

Day 3

2021

Day 4

2021

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Performances, Gespräche und Workshops

Vom 4. bis 7. November 2021 veranstaltet der Gropius Bau ein viertägiges Programm, das sich mit verschiedenen Ansätzen zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung beschäftigt.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

© very

Vor dem Hintergrund einer beispiellosen globalen Gesundheitskrise und ihren sozialen, politischen, ökonomischen und psychologischen Folgen bringt Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Perspektiven zusammen. Lokale und internationale Organisationen, Forscher*innen, Aktivist*innen und Künstler*innen sind dazu eingeladen, Gedanken, Erfahrungen und Ideen auszutauschen. Die mehrtägige Veranstaltung bildet den Auftakt zu einer umfangreichen thematischen Ausstellung, die im Herbst 2022 im Gropius Bau zu sehen sein wird.

Emeka Ogbohs Installation Ámà: The Gathering Place im Lichthof des Gropius Bau dient als räumliches Zentrum der vier Tage. Die Veranstaltung bietet den Rahmen für einen weitreichenden Austausch über Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung zwischen diversen Communitys. Dabei bezieht sie nicht-westliche und bisher unterrepräsentierte postkoloniale und Indigene Wissenssysteme mit ein. Die Teilnehmenden – Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen und Theoretiker*innen sowie die Besucher*innen – sind dazu eingeladen, diese Themen zu untersuchen und sie weiterzudenken. Der Austausch mit Initiativen aus der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft des Gropius Bau spielt im Programm ebenfalls eine zentrale Rolle.

Neben Vorträgen und Podiumsdiskussionen wird es zahlreiche weitere Formate geben: eine Listening Session; ein Dinner; einen Workshop für Kinder; einen Raum für Lektüre, Reflexion und informelle Gespräche und einen Ruheraum. Außerdem lädt eine Veranstaltung, die vom Konzept des Speed Datings inspiriert ist, Besucher*innen dazu ein, sich gegenseitig radikale Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken und miteinander in Austausch zu treten.

Kuratiert von Stephanie Rosenthal, Magnus Rosengarten und Julia Grosse mit Katharina Küster

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil von Mindscapes, dem internationalen Kulturprogramm zum Thema psychische Gesundheit von Wellcome.

Tag 1

2021

Tag 2

2021

Tag 3

2021

Tag 4

2021