The Singing Project

Ayumi Paul

The Singing Project is an ever-changing singing sculpture unfolding at the Gropius Bau since August 2021. Violinist and artist Ayumi Paul invites everybody to open workshops at the Gropius Bau on full moon.

Ayumi Paul composing simultaneity, 2021

Following the workshop, the voices of participants merge into one singing sculpture in the Gropius Bau atrium, where the public is invited to join in.

The Singing Project is a fluid composition that unfurls through time and space. The permeable structure of the project activates sound formations that emerge anew in every moment. To prepare for these workshops, the artist studied singing traditions ranging from opera, the Tao of voice and polyphonic overtones, to healing techniques and historical and mythological approaches to passing down ritual songs. By combining what she learns and weaving it together with her own intuitive practice, she generates a flexible singing method rooted in the female voice and in collective learning processes. During the project Ayumi Paul will invite other artists and researchers to share their knowledge with participants.

Ayumi Paul studied classical violin at the Hanns Eisler School of Music in Berlin and Indiana University in the United States, she toured internationally from 2000–2015, playing at concert halls around the world. Increasingly, her works are performed in museums and galleries. Her first institutional solo exhibition took place at the Kunsthalle in Osnabrück in the spring of 2020. In 2021 she was granted a residency at Villa Massimo in Rome.

Further dates starting in March 2022 will be announced soon.

Friday, 17 December 2021

Saturday, 18 December 2021

Sunday, 16 January 2022

Past Events

Saturday, 4 December 2021

Friday, 3 December 2021

Sunday, 21 November 2021

Saturday, 20 November 2021

Saturday, 23 October 2021

Wednesday, 6 October 2021

Sunday, 19 September 2021

Saturday, 18 September 2021

Wednesday, 8 September 2021

Saturday, 21 August 2021

The Singing Project

Ayumi Paul

The Singing Project ist eine sich ständig neu formende singende Skulptur, die sich seit August 2021 im Gropius Bau entfaltet. Dazu lädt die Violinistin und bildende Künstlerin Ayumi Paul monatlich zu Workshops in den Gropius Bau ein.

Ayumi Paul beim Komponieren von Gleichzeitigkeit, 2021

​​Im Anschluss an den Workshop formen die Stimmen der Teilnehmer*innen eine singende Skulptur im Lichthof des Gropius Bau. Besucher*innen, die nicht an den Workshops teilnehmen, sind dazu eingeladen sich der singenden Skulptur anzuschließen oder sich einfach besingen zu lassen.

The Singing Project ist eine fluide Komposition, die raum- und zeitübergreifend zu einem singendem Netzwerk wird. Die durchlässige Struktur des Projekts aktiviert Klanggebilde, die in jedem Moment neu entstehen. Ayumi Paul integriert Übungen aus unterschiedlichen Gesangstraditionen – von Operngesang, dem Tao der Stimme und Obertongesängen bis hin zu Heilungsmethoden und historisch-mythologischen Überlieferungen von Gesangsritualen. Das Gelernte verbindet sie - verwoben mit ihrer eigenen intuitiven Praxis und ihrer Erfahrung als Musikerin – zu einer beweglichen Methodologie des Singens, die in der weiblichen Stimme und kollektiven Lernprozessen verwurzelt ist.

Ayumi Paul absolvierte eine Ausbildung als klassische Violinistin an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin sowie der Indiana University in den USA und trat von 2000 bis 2015 international in Konzerthäusern auf. Vermehrt werden ihre Werke auch in Museen und Galerien präsentiert. Im Frühjahr 2020 fand ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in der Kunsthalle Osnabrück statt. 2021 wurde sie mit dem Praxisstipendium der Villa Massimo, Rom ausgezeichnet.

Weitere Termine ab März 2022 sind aktuell in Planung und folgen in Kürze.

Freitag, 17.12.2021

Samstag, 18.12.2021

Sonntag, 16.1.2022

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Samstag, 4.12.2021

Freitag, 3.12.2021

Sonntag, 21.11.2021

Samstag, 20.11.2021

Samstag, 23.10.2021

Mittwoch, 6.10.2021

Sonntag, 19.9.2021

Samstag, 18.9.2021

Mittwoch, 8.9.2021

Samstag, 21.8.2021