Reading list accompanying the exhibition

Yayoi Kusama: A Retrospective

The right books to go with the exhibition Yayoi Kusama: A Retrospective: Ephra has put together a family reading list that grants fascinating insights into the life and work of Yayoi Kusama.

Photo: Luis Kürschner

Yayoi Kusama Covered Everything in Dots and Wasn’t Sorry

by Fausto Gilberti, (London: Phaidon Press, 2020)

The perfect book for introducing young children to Yayoi Kusama. The short sentences and minimalist illustrations tell a clear story: What matters to the artist is sticking to her own unwavering path and overcoming all obstacles. That is Ephra’s message, too: Believe in your dreams, dare to make them come true and do not apologise for who you are.

Available in English and Italian.

Photo: Luis Kürschner

Infinity Net: The Autobiography of Yayoi Kusama

(London: Tate Publishing, 2011)

Why did Yayoi Kusama become an artist? For what reason has she remained true to art all her life? What healing power does she find in art? All these questions are answered in her autobiography, which was first published in 2002 in Japanese. Readers will be unable to resist the anachronistic, poetic narrative, the lively anecdotes, the see-saw between light and heavy moods, combined with abundant visual material. For us at Ephra, this work provided a key to the artist’s personality. For anyone curious about Yayoi Kusama as a person, this book is a must.

Available in German, English and Japanese.

Photo: Luis Kürschner

We are Artists: Women Who Made Their Mark on the World

by Kari Herbert, (London: Thames & Hudson, 2019)

Alongside Yayoi Kusama, this book presents another 14 magnificent artists, and they could hardly be more different. Supported by beautiful illustrations, author Kari Herbert displays an artistic diversity that women have been generating for many decades. Nothing and nobody could stop them pursuing their art, although almost all of them were confronted by prejudice. This volume gives women artists the attention and recognition they deserve.

Available in English and German.

Photo: Luis Kürschner

Leseliste zur Ausstellung

Yayoi Kusama: Eine Retrospektive

Die passende Lektüre zur Ausstellung Yayoi Kusama: Eine Retrospektive: Ephra hat eine Leseliste für Familien zusammengestellt, die spannende Einblicke in das Leben und Werk Yayoi Kusamas bietet.

Foto: Luis Kürschner

Yayoi Kusama Covered Everything in Dots and Wasn’t Sorry

von Fausto Gilberti, (Lonon: Phaidon Press, 2020)

Ein perfektes Buch, um schon kleine Kinder mit Yayoi Kusama bekannt zu machen. In kurzen Sätzen kombiniert mit minimalistischen Illustrationen wird deutlich, was für die Künstlerin wichtig ist: Sie geht unbeirrt ihren eigenen Weg unbeirrt und überwindet alle Hindernisse. Das ist es auch, was Ephra mitgeben will: Glaubt an eure Träume, traut euch sie Realität werden zu lassen und entschuldigt euch nicht dafür, wer ihr seid.

In Englisch und Italienisch verfügbar.

Foto: Luis Kürschner

Yayoi Kusama. Infinity Net. Meine Autobiografie

von Yayoi Kusama, (Bern/Wien: Piet Mayer Verlag, 2017)

Warum begann Yayoi Kusama mit der Kunst? Und wieso ist sie ihr Leben lang der Kunst treu geblieben? Aus welchem Grund ist es heilsam für sie, Kunst zu machen? All diese Fragen werden in der 2002 erstmals auf japanisch veröffentlichten Autobiografie beantwortet. Die anachronistische und poetische Erzählweise, lebhafte Anekdoten, das Schwanken zwischen Leichtigkeit und Schwere, kombiniert mit umfassendem Bildmaterial, zieht Leser*innen in den Bann. Für uns von Ephra war die Lektüre ein Schlüssel zur Persönlichkeit der Künstlerin. Wer Yayoi Kusama kennenlernen will, muss dieses Buch lesen.

In Deutsch, Englisch und Japanisch verfügbar.

Foto: Luis Kürschner

Rebel Artists: 15 Malerinnen, die es der Welt gezeigt haben

von Kari Herbert, (München: C.H.Beck Verlag, 2020)

Neben Yayoi Kusama werden in diesem Buch 14 großartige Künstlerinnen vorgestellt, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Anhand wunderschöner Illustrationen zeigt die Autorin, Kari Herbert, eine Vielfalt an Kunst auf, die bereits seit Jahrzehnten von Frauen produziert wird. Sie haben sich durch nichts und niemanden von ihrer Kunst abbringen lassen, obwohl fast alle von ihnen mit Vorurteilen konfrontiert waren. Dieses Buch gibt weiblichen Künstlerinnen die Aufmerksamkeit und Bedeutung, die sie verdienen.

In Deutsch und Englisch verfügbar.

Foto: Luis Kürschner