Exhibition Texts

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社

Back to the exhibition

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo (b. 1974, Beijing, lives and works on Lantau Island, Hong Kong) was the Gropius Bau’s In House: Artist in Residence in 2020. His background is in activism and socially engaged art. Collaborating with communities of people and, most recently, plants, he is interested in reshaping responses to climate crisis and creating equality for all species.

His residency began by asking the unusual question, “how can we humans sense the ways plants practice politics?” rather than, “what roles do plants play in human politics?” Combining ecological and participatory social practice, his new body of work includes drawing, filmmaking and leading workshops that consider this question from both scientific and spiritual angles.

The COVID-19 pandemic forced Zheng Bo to slow down. Walking and drawing became part of his daily rhythm. Wanwu Council 萬物社 reflects the time he spent with plants in Hong Kong and Berlin. For him, art is a way of developing what he calls “ecosensibility” and considering all forms of life on Earth. Accordingly, this exhibition also takes place outside. Zheng Bo invites you to join him every afternoon for Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習 in the Gropius Wood, where you can get to know the community of plane trees.

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Drawing Life 寫生

2020-2021
366 drawings, displayed in 24 solar term sets
Pencil on paper

Drawing Life (Grain Rain)
寫生 (谷雨)
19.4. – 4.5.2020

Drawing Life (Beginning of Summer)
寫生 (立夏)
5.5. – 19.5.2020

Drawing Life (Lesser Fullness of Grain)
寫生 (小滿)
20.5. – 4.6.2020

For Zheng Bo, drawing means spending time getting to know plants. Sitting down to look closely at his “plant neighbours”, he describes how this peaceful practice “feels like a meditation.” This series of 366 daily drawings is called Drawing Life 寫生, a title that inverts the artistic practice of life drawing in which people are depicted, signalling instead how Zheng Bo focuses his attention beyond the human.

This room and the next bring together studies of local plant life on Lantau Island, Hong Kong. Living in a village on the island’s south side, Zheng Bo would climb a nearby hill each morning, stopping to draw plants that intrigued him. Using variations of line and shading, he sketched the flowers, leaves and stems of small plants.

The drawings are arranged on tables according to solar terms, 24 periods in the traditional East Asian lunisolar calendar, rather than dividing the year into twelve months. Zheng Bo believes that “to develop our ecological sensibility, it’s crucial to start with the way we think about time.” The solar terms are 14 to 16 days long and their names signal the changing seasons. The relevant solar term and date are written on each drawing in Mandarin Chinese.

Drawing Life (Grain in Beard)
寫生 (芒種)
5.6. – 20.6.2020

Drawing Life (Summer Solstice)
寫生 (夏至)
21.6. – 5.7.2020

Drawing Life (Lesser Heat)
寫生 (小暑)
6.7. – 21.7.2020

Drawing Life (Greater Heat)
寫生 (大暑)
22.7. – 6.8.2020

Hong Kong’s subtropical climate has produced a dense evolution of luscious plants, which grow together as collective habitats. Zheng Bo would initially try to identify the species of each plant that he was drawing using apps, websites and books. However, he subsequently changed his approach to just being with what he describes as “the collective”.

For Zheng Bo, this means having a physical experience opposite to the fast-paced life of constantly moving. The COVID-19 pandemic forced him to spend more time at home. With thousands of plants growing on Lantau Island, he would hike for twenty minutes before leaving the main route for an old trail. Drawing became a way of sitting with multiple species, slowing down, looking carefully and appreciating nature.

Every plant is fascinating if you look closely enough, even the least respected of plants, such as those labelled weeds. The mind-set of pre-modern Chinese artists was ecological because they saw humans as just a small part of nature, which is reflected in how they drew classical landscapes. Zheng Bo continues this tradition. While drawing is a simple practice, it is also a way to see life, to sense life and to record life in all of its complexity.

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Detail, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, detail, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Drawing Life (Beginning of Autumn)
寫生 (立秋)
7.8. – 21.8.2020

Drawing Life (End of Heat)
寫生 (處暑)
22.8. – 6.9.2020

Drawing Life (White Dew)
寫生 (白露)
7.9. – 21.9.2020

Drawing Life (Autumn Equinox)
寫生 (秋分)
22.9. – 7.10.2020

In August 2020, Zheng Bo arrived in Berlin as part of his residency at the Gropius Bau. This room and the next bring together drawings from the artist’s time in Europe, including works from Berlin, Frankfurt and Lisbon. There is a clear change from Hong Kong’s subtropical plant life to the flora of northern and southern Europe.

He began to draw trees for the first time in Berlin. Looking out from his studio on the second floor of the Gropius Bau, he saw an extensive canopy of plane trees and realised that there is a small forest living next to the building. Rising between the cobblestones of the car park, Zheng Bo called this Gropius Wood. Observing their vitality he said, “They grew more each day in summer, produced lots of hanging fruits in autumn, and then all of sudden decided to shed their leaves when winter arrived. There are many birds, as well as bacteria, air, light and energy flowing through this place.”

Zheng Bo increasingly spent time outside with this community of over 100 plane trees. Planted in 1987, Gropius Bau’s trees have been practicing politics together for 34 years. Fossil records of plane trees show that they have existed for 115 million years, originating from the Lower Cretaceous period.

Drawing Life (Cold Dew)
寫生 (寒露)
8.10. – 22.10.2020

Drawing Life (Frost’s Decent)
寫生 (霜降)
23.10. – 6.11.2020

Drawing Life (Beginning of Winter)
寫生 (立冬)
7.11. – 21.11.2020

Drawing Life (Lesser Snow)
寫生 (小雪)
22.11. – 6.12.2020

Many of the drawings in this room depict urban foliage from areas around Moabit, where the artist in residence flat is located. Zheng Bo often visited the nearby lake Plötzensee, where he focused on sketching the ecosystem by the water. This small glacial lake formed in the last ice age and is surrounded by a variety of dense vegetation with various flora and fauna. The artist believes that “plants should never be considered alone – they are bridges to other forms of life.”

During Zheng Bo’s residency programme back in 2020, which was titled Botanical Comrades 植物同志, as well as drawing Berlin’s plant life he organised outdoor group events for each new solar term. This was a way of developing understandings of the politics of plants. Activities included drawing weeds in Gropius Wood and walk-readings in Tiergarten, where people would read passages from the Dao De Jing to the trees.

Attributed to the 6th Century BCE sage Laozi, Dao De Jing is a foundational Chinese text about ecological thinking where humans are just one of many life forms sharing the universe. Speaking of the walk-reading experience Zheng Bo emphasised how “trees, birds, soil and spores help us to breathe deeply and to sense expansively.”

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, The Political Life of Plants 植物的政治生活, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, The Political Life of Plants 植物的政治生活, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

The Political Life of Plants 植物的政治生活

2021
4K video, black and white, colour, 2 channel sound
31 Min., Loop

Zheng Bo focuses on the molecular level of plant life, considering how they build communities and practice politics with their bodies. In the forest, trees work with fungi for nutrition and insects for pollination. Zheng Bo’s new film is a portrait of Grumsin, an ancient beech forest in Brandenburg and one of Germany’s UNESCO World Heritage sites.

He speculates about the forest’s political life by experimenting with image and sound, and is influenced by the style of early 20th century Soviet cinema. Zheng Bo’s film is also underpinned by his conversations with the leading ecologists and biologists in Berlin. They include Roosa Laitinen, who investigates plant adaptation, and Matthias Rillig, specialising in biodiversity and soil ecology. This scientific aspect is met with close-ups of branches, reminiscent of Zheng Bo’s drawings, and images of the forest’s canopy and lakes. Zheng Bo sees the forest as a queer assembly where the trees take part in a congress of their own unique more-than-human form. He believes that “if we really want to move into a future where humans are not the centre of the world, we need to treat other forms of life and materiality with full respect, biologically, intellectually and politically.”

Ecosensibility: Zheng Bo
Cinematography: Raban Jakob Friedrich
Sound recording: Joscha Eickel
Editor: David Roeglin
Sound design and music: Filip Caranica & Contemporary Sound
In cooperation with the Schering Stiftung

Drawing Life (Beginning of Spring)
寫生 (立春)
3.2. – 17.2.2021

Drawing Life (Rain Water)
寫生 (雨水)
18.2. – 4.3.2021

Drawing Life (Waking of Insects)
寫生 (驚蟄)
5.3. – 19.3.2021

Drawing Life (Spring Equinox)
寫生 (春分)
20.3. – 3.4.2021

Drawing Life (Pure Brightness)
寫生 (清明)
4.4. – 19.4.2021

The Drawing Life 寫生 series is on-going and continues wherever Zheng Bo travels. The works in this room and the next were done after Zheng Bo’s Gropius Bau residency, having returned to Hong Kong’s subtropical climate.

One set, drawn in quarantine, depicts the growth of a small fern that accompanied Zheng Bo over a whole solar term. Others were drawn in Kowloon near the university where Zheng Bo teaches, and on Lantau Island, where he lives. This spring the lychee trees in his village bloomed spectacularly. Zheng Bo’s neighbour asked him to draw a lychee tree planted by her late-father on the family’s land, highlighting the history that plants hold within them and the stories they can tell.

The artist has emphasised the sustainability of drawing as a simple practice. He says, “I only need to have a piece of paper and a 6B pencil. For one year, I have used only three pencils, so this practice needs very few resources.” Committed to reusing materials, here the drawings are collectively displayed on wooden boards. These boards rest on granite stones that have been removed from around the trees in Gropius Wood, connecting the inside and outside of the exhibition.

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習

Drinking Sun Exercise 飲⽇功, 15 Min.
Drawing Weeds Practice 繪稊修, 60 Min.
Collecting Tree Qi 採樹氣, 90 Min.
Maypole Dance 五⽉柱, 60 Min.
Sacred Grove Ritual 神森禮, 60 Min.
Grass Wood Song 草⽊歌, 15 Min.

During his residency, Zheng Bo tested simple everyday methods to connect with plants, aiming “to move away from the human-centric ways of our contemporary life.” Believing that bodily exercises are as important as theoretical discussions, he sketched weeds, sang to trees and honoured forests. These became daily practices called Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習.

The videos in this room provide an introduction to the exercises. You are invited to join Zheng Bo on the platform in the Gropius Wood to practice the exercises in the afternoon. The times for these exercises are listed on the wall.

Inspired by many cultures, he learnt to sense tree energy with a qigong master in Hong Kong, researched a Japanese ritual honouring trees as sacred beings and was taught the Drinking Sun Exercise by Indigenous Mari artist Joulia Strauss.

Wanwu Council 萬物社

2021
Three day meeting

In Daoist philosophy the word wanwu means “myriad happenings” or “ten thousand things”, including all forms of existence in the universe. Zheng Bo invited twelve artists, scientists, activists and gardeners to form what he has termed the Wanwu Council. He asked them to channel the voices of light, plane trees, water, bees, foxes, weeds, seasons, soil, histories, communities, spirits and microbes.

Meeting over three days this summer, and wearing the scarves presented here, they will write a manifesto about the Gropius Bau becoming wanwu, embracing a more-than-human future. You too can write your suggestions for the manifesto and place them in the nearby box, a selection of which is displayed on the wall.

Zheng Bo believes that becoming wanwu means “we will stop treating plants as dumb beings; we will respect their intelligence; hear their voices; understand their ideologies and preferences; engage them as equal partners in making decisions, from local to planetary.”

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, platform in Gropius Wood, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installation view, platform in Gropius Wood, 2021, Gropius Bau © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst

Gropius Wood

Planted in 1987

In 2020 Zheng Bo was the Gropius Bau’s In House: Artist in Residence. The artist’s studio is located on the second floor of the building. When Zheng Bo looked out of the studio window in summer, he saw a flourishing forest of plane trees. He has renamed the car park Gropius Wood to reflect the vibrant community who live here.

This platform is an invitation to spend time with the trees, who have been living here since 1987. You can join in with Zheng Bo’s Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習 here every afternoon from Wednesday to Monday.

Ausstellungstexte

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社

Zurück zur Ausstellung

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo (geb. 1974, Beijing, lebt und arbeitet auf Lantau Island, Hongkong) war 2020 In House: Artist in Residence im Gropius Bau. Seine künstlerische Praxis ist von politischem Aktivismus und sozialem Engagement geprägt. In seiner Zusammenarbeit mit Gemeinschaften von Menschen und neuerdings auch Pflanzen ist er daran interessiert, neue Formen der Auseinandersetzung mit der Klimakrise und eine Gleichstellung der unterschiedlichen Arten zu schaffen.

Die Residency begann er mit der ungewöhnlichen Frage: „Wie können wir Menschen eine Sensibilität für die Politik der Pflanzen entwickeln?“, anstatt: „Welche Rolle spielen Pflanzen in der Politik von Menschen?“ Seine aktuellen Arbeiten, die ökologische und partizipative soziale Praxis verbinden, umfassen Zeichnungen, Filme und von ihm geleitete Workshops, welche sich dieser Frage aus wissenschaftlicher und spiritueller Perspektive annähern.

Durch die COVID-19-Pandemie wurde Zheng Bos Alltag entschleunigt und das Spazieren und Zeichnen Teil seines Tagesrhythmus. Wanwu Council 萬物社 spiegelt seine Zeit wider, die er in Hongkong und Berlin mit Pflanzen verbrachte. Kunst ist für ihn die Möglichkeit, eine, wie er sagt, „ökologische Sensibilität“ zu erlernen, die alle Formen des irdischen Lebens einbezieht. Die Ausstellung wird daher sowohl im Innen- als auch im Außenbereich des Gropius Bau präsentiert. Zheng Bo lädt jeweils nachmittags zu seinen Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習 im Gropius Hain ein, um diese Gemeinschaft von Platanen kennenzulernen.

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Drawing Life 寫生

2020-2021
366 Zeichnungen, gruppiert nach 24 Halbmonaten
Bleistift auf Papier

Drawing Life (Regen auf die Saat)
寫生 (谷雨)
19.4. – 4.5.2020

Drawing Life (Sommeranfang)
寫生 (立夏)
5.5. – 19.5.2020

Drawing Life (Ährenbildung)
寫生 (小滿)
20.5. – 4.6.2020

Für Zheng Bo bedeutet Zeichnen, sich Zeit zu nehmen, um Pflanzen kennenzulernen. Er setzt sich nah vor seine „Pflanzen-Nachbarinnen“, um sie aufmerksam zu betrachten, und beschreibt dies als friedliche Praxis, die „sich wie eine Meditation anfühlt.“ Die Serie Drawing Life 寫生 besteht aus 366 Zeichnungen, die er täglich anfertigte. Der Titel spielt auf die künstlerische Praxis des Aktzeichnens (life drawing) an, bei der der Mensch im Fokus steht, während sich Zheng Bo dem Mehr-als-Menschlichen zuwendet.

In diesem und im nächsten Raum sind Studien der Pflanzenwelt von Lantau Island, Hongkong, versammelt. Zheng Bo lebt in einem Dorf im Süden der Insel und bestieg jeden Morgen einen nahegelegenen Hügel, um dort zu pausieren und Pflanzen zu zeichnen, die ihn faszinierten. Mit wechselnder Linienführung und Schattierung skizzierte er die Blüten, Blätter und Stängel von kleinen Pflanzen.

Die Zeichnungen sind auf Tischen arrangiert, die für die 24 Halbmonate des traditionellen ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalenders stehen, statt das Jahr in zwölf Monate einzuteilen. Zheng Bo ist überzeugt, dass „wir bei unserem Denken über Zeit ansetzen müssen, um eine ökologische Sensibilität zu entwickeln.“ Die Halbmonate sind jeweils zwischen 14 und 16 Tage lang und ihre Namen beziehen sich auf die wechselnden Jahreszeiten. Der Name und die Dauer des jeweiligen Halbmonats sind in Mandarin auf die einzelnen Zeichnungen geschrieben.

Drawing Life (Körner mit Grannen)
寫生 (芒種)
5.6. – 20.6.2020

Drawing Life (Sommersonnenwende)
寫生 (夏至)
21.6. – 5.7.2020

Drawing Life (Kleine Hitze)
寫生 (小暑)
6.7. – 21.7.2020

Drawing Life (Große Hitze)
寫生 (大暑)
22.7. – 6.8.2020

Das subtropische Klima Hongkongs hat eine üppige Flora hervorgebracht, in der verschiedene Arten als Pflanzengemeinschaften zusammenleben. Anfangs versuchte Zheng Bo, die einzelnen Pflanzen, die er zeichnete, mithilfe von Apps, Webseiten und Büchern zu bestimmen. Doch schließlich ging er dazu über, einfach mit dem „Kollektiv“, wie er es nennt, zusammen zu sein.

Für Zheng Bo bedeutet das, eine körperliche Erfahrung zu machen, die einen Gegenpol zum hektischen, ununterbrochenen Unterwegssein darstellt. Aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie verbrachte er mehr Zeit zu Hause. Er ging oft spazieren, erst zwanzig Minuten einen Wanderweg entlang, um dann auf einen alten Pfad abzubiegen und die Tausenden von Pflanzen zu erkunden, die auf Lantau Island wachsen. Das Zeichnen wurde zu einer Gelegenheit, mit den verschiedenen Arten zusammenzusitzen, zu entschleunigen, aufmerksam hinzuschauen und die Natur wertzuschätzen.

Für den genauen Blick sind alle Pflanzen faszinierend, sogar die am wenigsten geschätzten, wie etwa sogenanntes Unkraut. Vormoderne chinesische Künstler*innen dachten ökologisch, da sie die Menschen nur als kleinen Teil der Natur sahen. Davon zeugt auch die Art, wie sie klassische Landschaften zeichneten. Zheng Bo schreibt diese Tradition fort. Das Zeichnen ist zwar eine einfache Praxis, doch zugleich eine Möglichkeit, das Leben zu sehen, es zu spüren und in all seiner Vielschichtigkeit festzuhalten.

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Detail, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Detail, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Drawing Life (Herbstanfang)
寫生 (立秋)
7.8. – 21.8.2020

Drawing Life (Ende der Hitze)
寫生 (處暑)
22.8. – 6.9.2020

Drawing Life (Weißer Tau)
寫生 (白露)
7.9. – 21.9.2020

Drawing Life (Herbst-Tagundnachtgleiche)
寫生 (秋分)
22.9. – 7.10.2020

Im August 2020 reiste Zheng Bo für seine Residency im Gropius Bau nach Berlin. In diesem und im nächsten Raum sind in Europa angefertigte Zeichnungen zu sehen, darunter Arbeiten, die in Berlin, Frankfurt und Lissabon entstanden. Die Unterschiede zwischen der subtropischen Pflanzenwelt Hongkongs und der nord- und südeuropäischen Flora sind deutlich erkennbar.

In Berlin begann Zheng Bo erstmals, Bäume zu zeichnen. Als er aus dem Fenster seines Ateliers im zweiten Geschoss des Gropius Bau ein weitläufiges Blätterdach aus Platanen sah, fiel ihm auf, dass gleich neben dem Gebäude ein kleiner Wald lebt. Er nannte die Bäume, die zwischen den gepflasterten Parkplätzen wachsen, Gropius Hain. Mit der Zeit sah er ihre Lebendigkeit: „Im Sommer wachsen sie jeden Tag ein Stück, im Herbst tragen sie viele Früchte, und zum Winteranfang werfen sie plötzlich ihre Blätter ab. Hier leben viele Vögel, aber auch Mikroorganismen, Luft, Licht und Energie durchströmen diesen Ort.“

Zheng Bo verbrachte mehr und mehr Zeit draußen mit diesem Kollektiv von über 100 Platanen. Die 1987 am Gropius Bau gepflanzten Bäume bilden seit 34 Jahren eine politische Gemeinschaft. Sogar fossile Funde von Platanen aus der frühen Kreidezeit vor 115 Millionen Jahren sind bekannt.

Drawing Life (Kalter Tau)
寫生 (寒露)
8.10. – 22.10.2020

Drawing Life (Reif)
寫生 (霜降)
23.10. – 6.11.2020

Drawing Life (Winteranfang)
寫生 (立冬)
7.11. – 21.11.2020

Drawing Life (Mäßiger Schnee)
寫生 (小雪)
22.11. – 6.12.2020

Die Zeichnungen in diesem Raum zeigen zumeist das Blätterwerk von Stadtpflanzen, die in der Gegend rund um Moabit wachsen, wo Zheng Bo während seines Aufenthalts in Berlin wohnte. Er spazierte oft zum nahegelegenen Plötzensee und zeichnete vor allem das Ökosystem entlang des Gewässers. Der kleine See entstand durch eine Gletscherschmelze in der letzten Kaltzeit und ist von einer üppigen Vegetation umgeben, die eine vielseitige Pflanzen- und Tierwelt beherbergt. Zheng Bo glaubt, dass „Pflanzen nie einzeln betrachtet werden sollten – denn sie sind Brücken zu anderen Lebensformen.“

Im Rahmen seiner Residency organisierte Zheng Bo unter dem Titel Botanical Comrades 植物同志 Zeichnungs-Spaziergänge in Berlins Pflanzenwelt und andere öffentliche Veranstaltungen. Diese fanden jeweils an den Halbmonaten des ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalenders statt und hatten das Ziel, die Teilnehmenden für die Politik der Pflanzen zu sensibilisieren. Dazu gehörten Workshops im Gropius Hain, bei denen Unkraut gezeichnet wurde, und Lese-Spaziergänge in den Tiergarten, bei denen die Teilnehmenden den Bäumen aus dem Daodejing vorlasen.

Das Daodejing wird dem Weisen Laozi aus dem 6. Jahrhundert v. u. Z. zugeschrieben und ist ein grundlegender chinesischer Text über ökologisches Denken. Menschen sind darin nur eine von zahlreichen Lebensformen, die gemeinsam das Universum bewohnen. Mit Blick auf die Erfahrung des Lese-Spaziergangs betont Zheng Bo: „Bäume, Vögel, Boden und Sporen helfen uns, tief durchzuatmen und unsere Sinneswahrnehmungen zu erweitern.“

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, The Political Life of Plants 植物的政治生活, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, The Political Life of Plants 植物的政治生活, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

The Political Life of Plants 植物的政治生活

2021
4K Video, Schwarz-Weiß und Farbe, Zweikanalton
31 Min., Loop

Zheng Bo nimmt die molekulare Ebene des Pflanzenlebens in den Blick und untersucht, wie Pflanzen Gemeinschaften bilden und dabei Politik als körperliche Praxis leben. Im Wald tauschen Bäume und Pilze miteinander Nährstoffe aus, während Insekten für die Bestäubung verantwortlich sind. Der neue Film von Zheng Bo porträtiert Grumsin, einen alten Buchenwald in Brandenburg, der zum UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe in Deutschland zählt.

Durch Experimente mit Bild und Ton, die stilistisch an das sowjetische Kino des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts anknüpfen, spekuliert Zheng Bo über das politische Leben des Waldes. Er stützt sich dabei auf Gespräche mit bedeutenden Ökolog*innen und Biolog*innen in Berlin. Im Film sprechen Roosa Laitinen, die zur Anpassung von Pflanzen an ihre Umwelt forscht, und Matthias Rillig, dessen Spezialgebiete Biodiversität und Bodenökologie sind. Der Film verbindet die wissenschaftliche Perspektive mit Nahaufnahmen von Zweigen, die an die Zeichnungen von Zheng Bo erinnern, sowie mit Bildern von Baumkronen und Seen. Der Künstler sieht den Wald als eine queere Versammlung, als einen Ort, an dem die Bäume einem Kongress beiwohnen, der im Zeichen des Mehr-als-Menschlichen steht. Zheng Bo ist überzeugt: „Wenn wir tatsächlich eine Zukunft erleben wollen, in welcher die Menschen nicht der Mittelpunkt der Welt sind, dann müssen wir anderen Formen von Leben und Materialität mit allem Respekt begegnen, sowohl in biologischer als auch in intellektueller und politischer Hinsicht.“

Ökosensibilität: Zheng Bo
Kamera: Raban Jakob Friedrich
Ton: Joscha Eickel
Schnitt: David Roeglin
Sounddesign und Musik: Filip Caranica & Contemporary Sound
In Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung

Drawing Life (Frühlingsanfang)
寫生 (立春)
3.2. – 17.2.2021

Drawing Life (Regen)
寫生 (雨水)
18.2. – 4.3.2021

Drawing Life (Erwachen der Insekten)
寫生 (驚蟄)
5.3. – 19.3.2021

Drawing Life (Frühlings-Tagundnachtgleiche)
寫生 (春分)
20.3. – 3.4.2021

Drawing Life (Klar und hell)
寫生 (清明)
4.4. – 19.4.2021

Drawing Life 寫生 ist eine fortlaufende Serie, an der Zheng Bo auch auf seinen Reisen weiterarbeitet. Die in diesem und im nächsten Raum präsentierten Arbeiten entstanden nach seiner Rückkehr in das subtropische Klima Hongkongs.

Eine Gruppe von Zeichnungen, die er in Quarantäne anfertigte, zeigt einen kleinen, heranwachsenden Farn, der Zheng Bo einen Halbmonat lang begleitete. Andere Zeichnungen entstanden in Kowloon, nahe der Universität, an der Zheng Bo lehrt, und auf Lantau Island, wo er lebt. In diesem Frühling standen die Litschibäume in seinem Dorf in prachtvoller Blüte. Seine Nachbarin bat ihn darum, einen Litschibaum zu zeichnen, den ihr verstorbener Vater auf dem Grundstück der Familie gepflanzt hatte. Dies verdeutlicht, dass Pflanzen Geschichte in sich tragen und dass sie Geschichten zu erzählen haben.

Zheng Bo betont die Nachhaltigkeit der einfachen Praxis des Zeichnens: „Ich brauche nur ein Blatt Papier und einen 6B-Bleistift. In einem Jahr habe ich nur drei Bleistifte verbraucht. Es schont also Ressourcen.“ Seine Zeichnungen werden hier in Gruppen auf Holzplatten präsentiert, die wiederverwendet werden können. Die Platten liegen auf Steinen aus dem Gropius Hain, die eine Verbindung zwischen dem Innen- und Außenbereich der Ausstellung herstellen.

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, Drawing Life 寫生, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習

Drinking Sun Exercise (Sonnenlicht trinken) 飲⽇功, 15 Min.
Drawing Weeds Practice (Unkraut zeichnen) 繪稊修, 60 Min.
Collecting Tree Qi (Das Qi des Baumes sammeln) 採樹氣, 90 Min.
Maypole Dance (Maibaum-Tanz) 五⽉柱, 60 Min.
Sacred Grove Ritual (Ritual des heiligen Hains) 神森禮, 60 Min.
Grass Wood Song (Gras-Holz-Lied) 草⽊歌, 15 Min.

Während seiner Residency experimentierte Zheng Bo mit einfachen Alltagspraktiken, um eine Beziehung zur Pflanzenwelt zu entwickeln und sich so „von den anthropozentrischen Vorstellungen unserer gegenwärtigen Lebensweise zu entfernen.“ Zheng Bo glaubt, dass körperliche Übungen dabei genauso wichtig sind wie theoretische Diskussionen. Daher zeichnete er Unkraut, sang mit den Bäumen und bewunderte die Wälder. Seine täglichen Übungen nannte er schließlich Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習.

Die in diesem Raum gezeigten Videos sind Einführungen in diese Übungen. Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, gemeinsam mit Zheng Bo jeweils nachmittags auf der Plattform im Gropius Hain an den Übungen teilzunehmen. Die Uhrzeiten finden Sie an der Wand.

Zheng Bo ist von zahlreichen Kulturen beeinflusst und lernte bei einer Qigong-Meisterin in Hongkong, die Energie von Bäumen aufzunehmen. Außerdem erlernte er ein japanisches Ritual, bei dem das heilige Wesen der Bäume verehrt wird, und die Künstlerin Joulia Strauss, die den Mari angehört, führte ihn in die Drinking Sun Exercise (Sonnenlicht trinken) ein.

Wanwu Council 萬物社

2021
Dreitägiges Treffen

In der daoistischen Philosophie bedeutet wanwu „Vielzahl von Ereignissen“ oder „zehntausend Dinge“ und umfasst sämtliche Existenzweisen im Universum. Ausgehend von diesem Begriff hat Zheng Bo das Wanwu Council ins Leben gerufen. Zwölf Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Gärtner*innen sind eingeladen, andere Lebensformen oder Materien wie Licht, Platanen, Wasser, Bienen, Füchse, Unkraut, Jahreszeiten, Boden, Geschichte, Gemeinschaften, Geister und Mikroben zu vertreten.

Die Teilnehmenden versammeln sich in diesem Sommer für drei Tage, um ein gemeinsames Manifest zu verfassen. Sie tragen dabei die hier gezeigten Tücher und erklären in ihrem Manifest, wie der Gropius Bau wanwu werden und eine mehr-als-menschliche Zukunft willkommen heißen kann. Auch Sie als Besucher*in können Ihre Vorschläge für das Manifest aufschreiben und in die nebenstehende Box einwerfen. Ausgewählte Vorschläge werden hier an der Wand präsentiert.

Zheng Bo zufolge bedeutet wanwu zu werden, „dass wir aufhören, Pflanzen als stumme Wesen zu behandeln; dass wir ihre Intelligenz anerkennen, ihre Stimmen hören, ihre Ansichten und Vorlieben begreifen und sie als gleichgestelltes Gegenüber in Entscheidungen einbeziehen, angefangen bei lokalen bis hin zu planetarischen Fragen.“

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, Plattform im Gropius Hain, 2021, Gropius Bau

Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, Installationsansicht, Plattform im Gropius Hain, 2021, Gropius Bau © Foto: Eike Walkenhorst

Gropius Hain

Gepflanzt im Jahr 1987

2020 war Zheng Bo In House: Artist in Residence im Gropius Bau. Das Atelier befindet sich im zweiten Geschoss des Gebäudes. Als Zheng Bo dort im Sommer aus dem Fenster schaute, sah er einen üppigen Wald voller Platanen. Er benannte den Parkplatz in Gropius Hain um, um diese lebendige Gemeinschaft wertzuschätzen.

Diese Plattform ermöglicht es, Zeit mit den Bäumen zu verbringen, die hier seit 1987 leben. Von Mittwoch bis Montag lädt Zheng Bo hier jeweils nachmittags zu seinen Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習 ein.