SERAFINE1369

visions

In House: Artist in Residence 2021–2022

Following in the footsteps of Wu Tsang, Otobong Nkanga and Zheng Bo, SERAFINE1369 will take up a studio in the Gropius Bau in 2021–2022 as part of the programme In House: Artist in Residence. As an artist and dancer, SERAFINE1369 engages deeply with questions of intimacy, technology, alienation and boundaries. Their practice unfolds at the interstices of dance, philosophy and divination.

SERAFINE1369, 2020

SERAFINE1369, 2020

Foto: Katarzyna Perlak, © Jamila Johnson-Small

Understanding dance as a radical, transformative practice, they work to give space for others, creating awareness of the spaces shared by performers and audiences. At the Gropius Bau, SERAFINE1369 will investigate what they term “Oracular Practice”, the idea that movement and dance can act as a tool for divination, and that such messages can find form through choreography.

Collaborating with other artists plays a vital role in the genesis of SERAFINE1369’s atmospheric landscapes, which are composed of video, sound, sculpture and movement. This collaborative approach will be reflected in the programme visions, a series of events created by SERAFINE1369 together with other artists for the Gropius Bau. November 2021 will see the premiere of their new work, When we speak I feel myself, Opening: a duo performance together, with Fernanda Muñoz-Newsome, created in close collaboration with their design team, AGF HYDRA, Josh Anio Grigg and Jackie Shemesh (a co-production with the Berliner Festspiele).

According to Director Stephanie Rosenthal, “SERAFINE1369’s work begins from an awareness that space is embodied, from the way we breathe in different atmospheres to the way we move across borders. As our latest In House: Artist in Residence they will teach us to become more sensorily aware, to help us understand how bodies and spaces produce knowledge, and how we can work to make space for others.”

ABOUT SERAFINE1369
SERAFINE1369, previously known as Last Yearz Interesting Negro (2016–2020), is the artist and dancer Jamila Johnson-Small. They work with dancing as a “philosophical undertaking”, as “a political project with ethical psycho-spiritual ramifications for being-in-the-world”, as they term it. Their work is informed by research into movement and dance as a tool for divination to be processed through the medium of choreography. Recent projects include CA2M, Madrid (2020), MDT, Stockholm (2020), Silencio, Paris (2019), Transmediale, Berlin (2019), Barbican, London (2019), Café Oto, London (2019), ICA, London (2018), Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2018), amongst others.

Partner:

null

SERAFINE1369

visions

In House: Artist in Residence 2021/2022

Nach Wu Tsang, Otobong Nkanga und Zheng Bo wird SERAFINE1369 in den Jahren 2021/22 im Rahmen des Programms In House: Artist in Residence ein Atelier im Gropius Bau beziehen. Als Künstler*in und Tänzer*in setzt sich SERAFINE1369 intensiv mit Fragen von Intimität, Technologie, Entfremdung und Grenzen auseinander. Die künstlerische Praxis von SERAFINE1369 entfaltet sich in den Zwischenräumen von Tanz, Philosophie und Weissagung.

SERAFINE1369, 2020

SERAFINE1369, 2020

Foto: Katarzyna Perlak, © Jamila Johnson-Small

SERAFINE1369 versteht Tanz als eine radikale, transformative Praxis und arbeitet daran, anderen Raum zu geben – durch die Schaffung eines Bewusstseins für jene Räume, die sich Performer*in und Publikum teilen. Im Gropius Bau wird die Erforschung dessen, was SERAFINE1369 als „Oracular Practice“ [orakelhafte Praxis] bezeichnet, im Mittelpunkt stehen: die Idee, dass Bewegung und Tanz als Werkzeug zur Weissagung fungieren – und dass solche Botschaften durch Choreografie eine Form finden können.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstler*innen spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entstehung der atmosphärischen Landschaften von SERAFINE1369, die sich aus Video- und Soundinstallationen, skulpturalen Elementen und Bewegung zusammensetzen. Dieser kollaborative Ansatz spiegelt sich im Programm visions wider, einer Veranstaltungsreihe, die SERAFINE1369 gemeinsam mit anderen Künstler*innen für den Gropius Bau entwickelt. Im November 2021 wird in Koproduktion mit den Berliner Festspielen SERAFINE1369s neue Arbeit When we speak I feel myself, Opening uraufgeführt: eine Duo-Performance mit Fernanda Muñoz-Newsome, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Designteam von SERAFINE1369, AGF HYDRA, Josh Anio Grigg und Jackie Shemesh entstanden ist.

Laut Direktorin Stephanie Rosenthal „beginnt die Arbeit von SERAFINE1369 mit dem Bewusstsein, dass Raum verkörpert wird; von der Art, wie wir in verschiedenen Atmosphären atmen, bis hin zu der Art, wie wir uns über Grenzen hinweg bewegen. Als In House: Artist in Residence wird SERAFINE1369 uns helfen, unser sensorisches Bewusstsein zu schulen, damit wir besser verstehen, wie Körper und Räume Wissen produzieren – und wie wir daran arbeiten können, Raum für andere zu schaffen.“

Über SERAFINE1369
SERAFINE1369, früher bekannt als Last Yearz Interesting Negro (2016–2020), ist Künstler*in und Tänzer*in Jamila Johnson-Small. SERAFINE1369 bezeichnet Tanz als ein „philosophisches Unterfangen“, als „politisches Projekt mit ethischen, psycho-spirituellen Auswirkungen auf das In-der-Welt-Sein“. SERAFINE1369s Arbeit ist geprägt von der Erforschung von Bewegung und Tanz als Werkzeuge der Weissagung, die mit Mitteln der Choreografie verarbeitet wird. Jüngste Projekte fanden u. a. auf der Liverpool Biennale (2021), im Tai Kwun, Hong Kong (2021), im CA2M, Madrid (2020), im MDT, Stockholm (2020), im Silencio, Paris (2019), auf der Transmediale, Berlin (2019), im Barbican, London (2019), im Café Oto, London (2019), im ICA, London (2018), und im Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2018) statt.

Partner:

null