Anton Steenbock

BPA at Gropius Studios

Blooming Landscapes // Blühende Landschaften

Thrown onto the first floor of the Gropius Bau, across from the Berlin House of Representatives (Abgeordnetenhaus von Berlin), lie some objects which call to mind the public space of Berlin’s urban life. Our eyes are immediately drawn to the green scaffold standing upright in contrast to its surroundings; a reminder for the “Berliner” of the constant construction sites popping up everywhere in their city.

The exhibition is a statement about the ongoing drastic changes Berlin has been going through over recent years: from the transformation of its logo, to its aggressive start-up occupancy, and finally to its mass-produced, hip, new arts scene.

The art pieces are bridged together by their underlying link to the world of aspirations and dreams. Berlin, the modern phantasmagoric metropolitan, sells its diverse audience the fantasies they are striving for; be it the promise of the real estate advertisements in attaining the unattainable (Dream of the New Berlin Blue), the highly speculative nature of the start-ups (Angel Investor), or the lure of the arts to attract more capital assets (The Ornamental Hermit).

What tends to be neglected is that one light sweep of the broom (Untitled) shatters its whole façade (Eiertanz)! Read more

Text: Noushin Afzali

Anton Steenbock, Blühende Landschaften, exhibition view, BPA at Gropius Studios, 2020

Anton Steenbock, Blühende Landschaften, exhibition view, BPA at Gropius Studios, 2020

Photo: Eric Bell

Discover

Anton Steenbock

Discover the artist booklet here

Bio

Anton Steenbock lives and works in Berlin and Rio de Janeiro. For the past ten years he established a fictitious real estate network called da Silva Brokers, operating in digital and public space. His interventions, consisting of fake architecture campaigns, showrooms and widely spread propaganda, were shown among others in solo exhibitions at the Museum for contemporary art MAC – Rio de Janeiro, the Centro Cultural de Sao Paulo and the Biennale SUR – Argentina.

Video

Blooming Landscapes // Blühende Landschaften

This one-minute video provides insights into Anton Steenbock’s work Blooming Landscapes // Blühende Landschaften, which the artist installed in the Gropius Bau’s gallery spaces in 2020.

Anton Steenbock

BPA at Gropius Studios

Blooming Landscapes // Blühende Landschaften

Gegenüber des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin, im ersten Stock des Gropius Bau, erinnern auf den Boden geworfene Gegenstände an den öffentlichen Raum des Berliner Stadtlebens. Der Blick wird jedoch sofort auf das grüne Gerüst gelenkt, das im Kontrast zu seiner Umgebung aufrecht steht; für die „Berliner*in“ eine Erinnerung an die Baustellen, die ständig überall in der Stadt auftauchen.

Die Ausstellung ist ein Statement über die andauernden drastischen Veränderungen, die Berlin in den letzten Jahren durchgemacht hat; von der Transformation seines Logos, über die aggressive Besetzung durch Start-ups bis hin zur massenproduzierten hippen neuen Kunstszene.

Was die Kunstwerke miteinander verknüpft, ist die zugrundeliegende Verbindung zur Welt der Imaginationen und Träume. Berlin, die moderne phantasmagorische Metropole, verkauft ihrem vielfältigen Publikum die Fantasie, nach der es strebt; sei es das Versprechen der Immobilienanzeigen, das Unerreichbare zu erreichen (Dream of the New Berlin Blue), die hochspekulative Natur der Start-ups (Angel Investor) oder die Verheißung der Künste, mehr Kapitalvermögen anzulocken (The Ornamental Hermit).

Was dabei gerne vernachlässigt wird: Ein leichter Besenstreich (Untitled) zertrümmert die ganze Fassade (Eiertanz)! Mehr erfahren

Text: Noushin Afzali

Anton Steenbock, Blühende Landschaften, Ausstellungsansicht, BPA at Gropius Studios, 2020

Anton Steenbock, Blühende Landschaften, Ausstellungsansicht, BPA at Gropius Studios, 2020

Foto: Eric Bell

Entdecken

Anton Steenbock

Entdecken Sie hier das Künstler*innen-Booklet

Vita

Anton Steenbock lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Rio de Janeiro. In den letzten zehn Jahren etablierte er ein fiktives Immobiliennetzwerk namens Da Silva Brokers, mit dem er im digitalen und öffentlichen Raum agiert. Seine Interventionen – gefälschte Architekturkampagnen, Showrooms und großflächige Propaganda – wurden unter anderem in Einzelausstellungen im Museum for Contemporary Art MAC, Rio de Janeiro, dem Centro Cultural de Sao Paulo und der Biennale SUR, Argentinien, gezeigt.

Video

Blooming Landscapes // Blühende Landschaften

Dieses knapp einminütige Video gibt Einblicke in Anton Steenbocks Arbeit Blooming Landscapes // Blühende Landschaften, die der Künstler 2020 in den Räumen des Gropius Bau installiert hat.