Sundays for Hong Kong II

Films about a ruptured city

Dear Audience, the film series had to be cancelled due to the current developments connected with the spreading of the Coronavirus.

But our film series “Sundays for Hong Kong” continues online: From 9 April to 7 May we will be presenting four films from the series originally planned for the Gropius Bau on our website. To the videos

Many Undulating Things

“Many Undulating Things” (film still)

Our cinematic action “Sundays for Hong Kong” continues! The series is an initiative of the Berliner Festspiele and a sign of solidarity in view of the violent conflicts in Hong Kong since summer 2019. It unfolds some of the multiple layered backgrounds in the culture, history and reality of the former British Crown colony, through the screening of emblematic documentaries and feature films by exceptional film-makers and producers from the legendary film city of Hong Kong.

Mass protests in Hong Kong have continued for more than eight months now. In the meantime, the street protests are shifting to the digital sphere. This January, Moody’s rating agency has once more downgraded Hong Kong’s ratings on grounds of the continuing unrests. Not only Hong Kong’s economic future remains unclear – and highly disputed – the same goes for the city’s political and cultural future.

What has made the situation in which Hong Kong finds itself so unique? What does the predicament in Hong Kong tell the rest of the world? What are similarities and differences with regards to freedom struggles in other parts in the world? This film series is an opportunity to learn about the city, its dynamics and its inhabitants, and to understand why Hong Kong is a portent of many of the challenges contemporary democracies are facing today.

Sunday, 26 April 2020

Sunday, 19 April 2020

Sunday, 29 March 2020

Sunday, 22 March 2020

Sunday, 15 March 2020

Sundays for Hong Kong II

Filme über eine zerrissene Stadt

Liebes Publikum, die Filmreihe musste im Zusammenhang mit der Ausbreitung des Coronavirus abgesagt werden.

Unsere Kino-Aktion „Sundays for Hong Kong“ geht aber online weiter: Vom 9. April bis 7. Mai 2020 präsentieren wir vier Filme der ursprünglich für den Gropius Bau geplanten Reihe auf unserer Website. Zu den Videos

Many Undulating Things

„Many Undulating Things“ (Filmstill)

Unsere Kino-Aktion „Sundays for Hong Kong“ geht weiter! Sie ist eine Initiative der Berliner Festspiele und ein Zeichen der Anteilnahme angesichts der gewaltsamen Auseinandersetzungen in Hongkong seit Sommer 2019. Ihr Ziel ist es, durch die Präsentation von weniger bekannten Dokumentar- und Spielfilmen bemerkenswerter Filmemacher*innen aus der berühmten Filmstadt Hongkong die vielschichtigen Hintergründe von Kultur, Geschichte und Lebenswirklichkeit der früheren britischen Kronkolonie zu beleuchten.

Mehr als acht Monate dauern die Hongkonger Massenproteste inzwischen an. Mittlerweile verlagern sich die Proteste von der Straße ins Digitale. Die Ratingagentur Moody’s hat die Bonität Hongkongs im Januar aufgrund der andauernden Unruhen erneut heruntergestuft. Nicht nur die wirtschaftliche, sondern auch die politische und kulturelle Zukunft Hongkongs bleibt unklar – und höchst umstritten.

Was macht die Lage, in der sich Hongkong befindet, so einzigartig? Was haben die Probleme in der Stadt der übrigen Welt zu sagen? Wo liegen Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschiede hinsichtlich der Freiheitsbemühungen in anderen Teilen der Welt? Während die Filme dieser Reihe hier in Berlin gezeigt werden, wird die Geschichte Hongkongs vor Ort neu geschrieben. Durch diese Filmreihe erhalten wir die Gelegenheit, mehr über die Stadt, ihre Menschen und Dynamiken zu erfahren und zu verstehen, warum Hongkong ein Sinnbild für viele der Herausforderungen ist, mit denen zeitgenössische Demokratien konfrontiert sind.

Sonntag, 26.4.2020

Sonntag, 19.4.2020

Sonntag, 29.3.2020

Sonntag, 22.3.2020

Sonntag, 15.3.2020