The Singing Project

Ayumi Paul

The Singing Project is an ever-changing singing sculpture that will begin to unfold at the Gropius Bau from August 2021. The artist-violinist, Ayumi Paul, will host workshops every month at the Gropius Bau and in Gropius Wood.

The Singing Project is a fluid composition that unfurls through time and space, forming a singing network. By unlearning our conditioning together, we activate worlds of sound, which rather than being predefined by the artist, are created afresh with each new moment. To prepare for these workshops, Ayumi Paul studied singing traditions ranging from opera, the Tao of voice and polyphonic overtones to healing techniques and historical and mythological approaches to passing down ritual songs. By combining what she learns and weaving it together with her own intuitive practice, she generates a flexible singing method rooted in the female voice and in collective learning processes. During the project Ayumi Paul will invite other artists and researchers to share their knowledge with participants.

Ayumi Paul studied classical violin at the Hanns Eisler School of Music in Berlin and Indiana University in the United States, she toured internationally from 2000–2015, playing at concert halls around the world. In recent years her works have increasingly been performed in museums and galleries. Her first institutional solo exhibition took place at the Kunsthalle in Osnabrück in the spring of 2020. In 2021 she was granted a residency at Villa Massimo in Rome.

Find all workshop dates below.

Ayumi Paul composing simultaneity, 2021

Wednesday, 6 October 2021

Saturday, 23 October 2021

Saturday, 20 November 2021

Saturday, 4 December 2021

Saturday, 18 December 2021

Past Events

Sunday, 19 September 2021

Saturday, 18 September 2021

Wednesday, 8 September 2021

Saturday, 21 August 2021

The Singing Project

Ayumi Paul

The Singing Project ist eine sich ständig neu formende singende Skulptur, die sich ab August 2021 im Gropius Bau entfalten wird. Dazu lädt die Violinistin und bildende Künstlerin Ayumi Paul monatlich zu Workshops in den Gropius Bau und Gropius Hain ein.

The Singing Project ist eine fluide Komposition, die raum- und zeitübergreifend zu einem singendem Netzwerk wird. Durch das gemeinsame Verlernen von Konditionierungen werden Klangwelten aktiviert, die nicht von der Künstlerin vorgegeben sind, sondern in jedem Moment neu entstehen. In Vorbereitung zu den Workshops studiert Ayumi Paul unterschiedlichste Gesangstraditionen – von Operngesang, dem Tao der Stimme und Obertongesängen bis hin zu Heilungsmethoden und historisch-mythologischen Überlieferungen von Gesangsritualen. Das Gelernte verbindet sie - verwoben mit ihrer eigenen intuitiven Praxis – zu einer beweglichen Methodologie des Singens, die in der weiblichen Stimme und kollektiven Lernprozessen verwurzelt ist. Im Laufe des Projekts wird Ayumi Paul weitere Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen dazu einladen, ihr Wissen mit den Teilnehmenden zu teilen.

Ayumi Paul absolvierte eine Ausbildung als klassische Violinistin an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin sowie der Indiana University in den USA und trat von 2000 bis 2015 international in Konzerthäusern auf. Seit einigen Jahren werden ihre Werke vermehrt in Museen und Galerien präsentiert; im Frühjahr 2020 fand ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in der Kunsthalle Osnabrück statt. 2021 wurde sie mit dem Praxisstipendium der Villa Massimo, Rom ausgezeichnet.

Eine Übersicht aller Workshoptermine finden Sie unten.

Ayumi Paul beim Komponieren von Gleichzeitigkeit, 2021

Samstag, 20.11.2021

Sonntag, 21.11.2021

Freitag, 3.12.2021

Samstag, 4.12.2021

Freitag, 17.12.2021

Samstag, 18.12.2021

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Samstag, 23.10.2021

Mittwoch, 6.10.2021

Sonntag, 19.9.2021

Samstag, 18.9.2021

Mittwoch, 8.9.2021

Samstag, 21.8.2021