Grupo Oito: Bodies Object(s) Borders & Corners

Gropius Bau Giving Space: Selected project 2020/21

Where do we dissolve our boundaries and where do they keep us apart? How do we negotiate responsibility and privilege in a (post)pandemic society – and what does this do to our understanding of public and private space? How can the common grow out of our differences and despite of our physical distance? These are some of the questions the educational project by Grupo Oito deals with.

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Grupo Oito is an intercultural dance collective founded in 2006 by the choreographer Ricardo de Paula in Berlin. Through movement, Grupo Oito explores the body as a political microcosmos and looks for physical potentials of transformation. At the Gropius Bau, Grupo Oito creates encounters between people, objects, and space. In doing so, Grupo Oito examines the stories and social structures that arise through these encounters. The encounters give rise to an assemblage that makes the Gropius Bau a common space and an experiment in social practice: How can a public space become a playground for civil action? How can physical places become ambiguous spaces of encounter and negotiation of differences?

ALMOST THERE

Virtual education platform

During the closure of the house, Grupo Oito created the virtual platform ALMOST THERE. It follows the physical traces that the dance collective left behind at the Gropius Bau. ALMOST THERE is an archive of what was created in September and October 2020. It is also a space for the ideas that could no longer be materialised.

To the platform

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Events

Saturday, 4 September 2021

Friday, 3 September 2021

Thursday, 2 September 2021

Sunday, 27 June 2021

Friday, 25 June 2021

Tuesday, 25 May 2021

Sunday, 7 March 2021

Friday, 5 March 2021

Thursday, 5 November 2020

Sunday, 4 October 2020

Grupo Oito: Körper Objekt(e) Grenzen & Ecken

Raum geben: Ausgewähltes Projekt 2020/21

Wo entgrenzen wir uns und wo werden wir ausgegrenzt? Wie verhandeln wir Verantwortung und Privileg in einer (post)pandemischen Gesellschaft – und was macht das mit unserem Verständnis von öffentlichem und privatem Raum? Wie kann das Gemeinsame trotz physischer Distanz aus unseren Differenzen wachsen? Das sind einige der Fragen, die in dem Vermittlungsprojekt der Grupo Oito verhandelt werden.

Foto: Laura Fiorio

Grupo Oito ist ein interkulturelles Tanzkollektiv, das 2006 von dem Choreografen Ricardo de Paula in Berlin gegründet wurde. Mit Bewegung erforscht Grupo Oito den Körper als politischen Mikrokosmos und sucht nach physischen Potentialen der Transformation. Im Gropius Bau gestaltet Grupo Oito Begegnungen zwischen Menschen, Objekten und dem Raum. Dabei richtet das Kollektiv den Blick auf die Geschichten und sozialen Strukturen, die durch Begegnungen entstehen. Aus den Begegnungen wächst eine Assemblage, die den Gropius Bau zu einem gemeinsamen Gestaltungsort und zum Experiment einer sozialen Praxis werden lässt: Wie kann ein öffentlicher Raum zur Spielwiese zivilen Handelns werden? Wie können physische Räume zu mehrdeutigen Räumen der Begegnung und Aushandlung von Differenzen werden?

FAST DA

Virtuelle Vermittlungsplattform

Während der Schließung des Gropius Bau ist die virtuelle Plattform FAST DA entstanden. Sie folgt den physischen Spuren, die das Tanzkollektiv im Haus hinterlassen hat. FAST DA ist ein Archiv dessen, was im September und Oktober 2020 entstanden ist. Es ist auch ein Raum für die Ideen, die dort ihren Anfang nahmen, aber nicht mehr materialisiert werden konnten.

Zur Plattform

Foto: Laura Fiorio

Veranstaltungen

Samstag, 4.9.2021

Freitag, 3.9.2021

Donnerstag, 2.9.2021

Sonntag, 27.6.2021

Freitag, 25.6.2021

Dienstag, 25.5.2021

Sonntag, 7.3.2021

Freitag, 5.3.2021

Donnerstag, 5.11.2020

Sonntag, 4.10.2020