We’ll be making lots of noise

Giving Space: Selected project 2019/20

What is noise? Is it only loud, disturbing, unnecessary, even ugly? Can noise be something beautiful? Where does noise come from and how is it made? Can it be quiet, can it be gentle, can it inspire us to take action? These are some of the questions the project We’ll be making lots of noise deals with.

© Catriona Shaw, Frèd Bigot, 2019

Artist Catriona Shaw and musician Fréd Bigot have been working together since 2002 in the context of various art, sound and educational projects. Their project, specially conceived for the Gropius Bau, focuses on the production, reception and investigation of noise in its different spatial and aesthetic manifestations. Shaw and Bigot’s events and workshop programme for school classes and visitors addresses issues such as the artistic and activist potential of noise, explores urban noise and noise reduction, and invites visitors to sound experiments and interpretive “scorings” of the building and exhibitions. In addition to a stage area, the Gropius Bau’s spaces were outfitted with noise machines and a listening station, which will continue to evolve as part of the events.

Participate: Home Challenges

Workshops to do at home

Due to the protective measures in connection with the spread of the coronavirus, it is currently not possible to hold workshops at the Gropius Bau. Therefore, Catriona Shaw and Frédéric Bigot from We'll be making lots of noise bring their project to you. Whether it’s a noise quiz or an audio expedition at your home – you basically don’t need much more than a pen, some paper, a recording device and your ears to participate. All home challenges can be found here.

Logo We’ll be making lots of noise

Explore: Sound Map of the Gropius Bau

What noise does an exhibition hall make?

During the workshop Noise from the inside on 18 December 2019, students from the Braunschweig University of Art (class Asta Gröting) documented and mapped the Gropius Bau’s unique sounds. After a “listening walk” through the building they recreated what they had heard, using simple tools such as guitar amps, paper or their voice. The tracks in the playlist on the right are the result of this workshop and form an acoustic map of the basement of the Gropius Bau. They can also be found here on our SoundCloud profile, accompanied by a map of the building.

Listen in: Sound Experiments and Compositions

Audio recordings from the Gropius Bau

In different workshops and event formats, Catriona Shaw and Fréd Bigot together with visitors explored the variety of noise production in and around the Gropius Bau. Starting with the opening of their project space they collected acoustic impressions, which you can find in the playlist on the right. All audio recordings from the project can be found here.

Events

Saturday, 27 June 2020

Friday, 26 June 2020

Monday, 30 March 2020

Friday, 27 March 2020

Saturday, 21 March 2020

Friday, 6 March 2020

Wednesday, 22 January 2020

Monday, 30 December 2019

Wednesday, 4 December 2019

Friday, 22 November 2019

Wednesday, 13 November 2019

Wednesday, 6 November 2019

Catriona Shaw & Fréd Bigot: We’ll be making lots of noise

Raum geben: Ausgewähltes Projekt 2019/20

Was ist Lärm? Ist er nur laut, störend, unnötig und sogar hässlich? Kann Lärm auch etwas Schönes sein? Woher kommt Lärm und wie entsteht er? Kann er leise, kann er sanft sein, kann er uns inspirieren aktiv zu werden? Das sind einige der Fragen, die in dem Vermittlungsprojekt We’ll be making lots of noise verhandelt werden.

© Catriona Shaw, Frèd Bigot, 2019

Die Künstlerin Catriona Shaw und der Musiker Fréd Bigot arbeiten seit 2002 im Kontext verschiedener Kunst-, Sound- und Vermittlungsprojekte zusammen. In ihrem für den Gropius Bau entwickelten Projekt We’ll be making lots of noise steht das Entstehen, Aufnehmen und Untersuchen von Lärm in seinen unterschiedlichen Formen im Fokus. Shaws und Bigots Veranstaltungen und Workshops für Schulklassen und Besucher*innen gehen Fragen nach den künstlerischen und aktivistischen Möglichkeiten von Lärm nach, beschäftigen sich mit Stadtlärm und Lärmschutz, aber laden auch zu Soundexperimenten ein – und stellen die Frage: Wie klingen der Gropius Bau und die gezeigten Ausstellungen? In den Räumlichkeiten des Gropius Bau wurden neben einem Bühnenbereich auch Lärm-Maschinen und eine Hörstation eingerichtet, die sich durch die Veranstaltungen immer weiterentwickeln.

Mitmachen: Home Challenges

Workshops für Zuhause

Aufgrund der Schutzmaßnahmen im Zusammenhang mit der Ausbreitung des Coronavirus können leider aktuell keine Workshops im Gropius Bau stattfinden. Deswegen bringen Catriona Shaw und Frédéric Bigot von We’ll be making lots of noise ihr Projekt zu euch. Ob Geräusch-Quiz oder eine Audio-Expedition bei euch zuhause – im Grunde braucht ihr nicht viel mehr als einem Stift, etwas Papier, ein Aufnahmegerät und natürlich eure Ohren, um mitzumachen. Alle Home Challenges findet ihr hier.

Logo We’ll be making lots of noise

Erkunden: Soundmap des Gropius Bau

Welche Geräusche macht ein Ausstellungshaus?

Während des Workshops Noise from the inside am 18. Dezember 2019 dokumentierten und kartierten Studierende der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (Klasse Asta Gröting) die Klänge des Gropius Bau. Nach einem „Hörspaziergang“ durch das Gebäude bildeten sie das Gehörte mit einfachen Mitteln wie Gitarrenverstärkern, Papier oder ihrer Stimme nach. Die Tracks in der Playlist auf der rechten Seite sind das Ergebnis dieses Workshops und bilden eine akustische Karte des Untergeschosses des Gropius Bau. Sie sind auch hier auf unserem SoundCloud-Profil zu finden, ergänzt durch eine Karte vom Gebäude.

Reinhören: Soundexperimente und Kompositionen

Audioaufnahmen aus dem Gropius Bau

In verschiedenen Workshop- und Veranstaltungsformaten haben Catriona Shaw und Fréd Bigot zusammen mit Besucher*innen die Vielfalt der Lärmproduktion im und um den Gropius Bau erkundet. Angefangen bei der Eröffnung ihres Projektraums haben sie dabei akustische Eindrücke gesammelt, die ihr in der Playlist auf der rechten Seite hören könnt. Alle Ergebnisse und bisherigen Audioaufnahmen des Projekts gibt es hier.

Veranstaltungen

Samstag, 27.6.2020

Freitag, 26.6.2020

Montag, 30.3.2020

Freitag, 27.3.2020

Samstag, 21.3.2020

Freitag, 6.3.2020

Mittwoch, 22.1.2020

Montag, 30.12.2019

Mittwoch, 4.12.2019

Freitag, 22.11.2019

Mittwoch, 13.11.2019

Mittwoch, 6.11.2019