Questions & Answers

Opening Hours

The Gropius Bau is open every day except Tuesdays from 10:00 to 19:00. On holidays or other special occasions, exceptionsmay be made, which will be announced inside the building and on our website.

Admission Fees

Admission fees to Gropius Bau are based on the following price groups:
a. Regular € 15
b. Reduced € 10
Reduced admission fees apply to the following groups of persons upon presentation of a requisite pass:

  • Pupils, students, apprentices, people engaged in a voluntary social year
  • Recipients of Unemployment Benefits I
  • Pensioners
  • People with severe disabilities (more than 50% reduction in earning capacity)

c. Free admission
Free admission applies to the following groups upon presentation of relevant documentation or identification:

  • Children and adolescents up to the age of 16
  • Press representatives upon presentation of a valid press card
  • Recipients of social assistance or Unemployment Benefit II
  • Medically necessary assistants accompanying individuals with severe disabilities, if stated in the severely handicapped ID card
  • Lenders to the exhibitions or their agents
  • Members of the International Council of Museum upon presentation of a valid ICOM card
  • Members of the International Association of Art upon presentation of a valid IAA card
  • Members of the Professional Association of Visual Artists Berlin e.V. on presentation of a valid membership card
  • Members of the Federal Association of Visual Artists (BBK) upon presentation of a valid membership card

Tickets

Tickets can be purchased on site at the Gropius Bau and in our online shop. With our online tickets, you can choose a time slot and visit the exhibitions without long waiting times. We kindly ask you to bring along appropriate proof if you are eligible for reduced admission.

Cloakroom

The cloakroom at the Gropius Bau is free of charge. For safety reasons, coats and jackets, rucksacks, bags (larger than A4 size), photography bags, umbrellas, etc. cannot be brought into the exhibitions and must be stored in the cloakroom. The storage of suitcases is not possible due to limited space. For the cloakroom and valuables no liability is assumed. We ask for your understanding that we charge a replacement fee of € 5 each for lost cloakroom ticket.

Accessibility

Entering the Gropius Bau via the barrier-free entrance, located on the left of the main entrance, is suitable for people with reduced mobility, wheelchairs and strollers or prams. The building has barrier-free access to all three exhibition floors. Wheelchairs foldable stools can be borrowed from the cloakroom. Toilets are located on the basement level and the first floor and can be used by individuals with limited mobility. Medically necessary assistants accompanying individuals with severe disabilities receive free admission.

For safety reasons, we reserve the right to deny stroller and prams access to the exhibition spaces in the event of high visitor numbers.

Visitor Conduct in Exhibition Spaces

In order to satisfy ensure the safety of the works of art and all visitors, certain rules are indispensable. Our house rules apply to all visitors.

Carrying clothing over your arms or walking around with bulky luggage is not permitted in the exhibition spaces for reasons of conservation and safety. Please do not touch the artworks, unless it is specifically communicated that touching the work is permitted. Please step back from the artworks if our gallery attendants ask you to do so.

Eating and drinking is not allowed in the exhibition spaces. Carrying liquids is also not permitted in these rooms. For luggage, our cloakroom is available. Smoking is not permitted inside Gropius Bau.

Out of consideration for other visitors we ask you not to make phone calls in the exhibition spaces.

Children under the age of 12 are only allowed to visit the Gropius Bau when accompanied by an adult. Teachers, group leaders and guardians are responsible for the appropriate conduct of the children and adolescents in their company. Visitors are liable for any damages caused by their conduct. The obligation to reimburse costs also applies in the event of the intentional or negligent triggering of alarms.

Animals are not allowed inside the Gropius Bau. If you require the accompaniment of a guide dog, please contact us in advance by mail to organisation@gropiusbau.de to arrange an exception.

Guided Tours

Our guided tours will provide you with an overview of the themes of our current exhibitions. During the exhibition, we offer public tours every weekend. In addition, you can always book a private tour on your desired date.

Photography and Video

For private purposes, taking photographs without a flash is permitted inside the Gropius Bau. Photographing is also allowed in the exhibitions, unless otherwise indicated. For commercial or editorial photos, video and audio recordings, please contact the communications department at Gropius Bau prior to your visit presse@gropiusbau.de.

Gallery Attendants

Our gallery attendants are instructed to ensure that visitors adhere to our house rules. For this reason, the instructions of gallery attendants must be followed. If the house rules or gallery attendant instructions are not followed, a Gropius Bau representative may ban the individuals concerned from visiting the building.

Visiting Gropius Bau and Access

The Gropius Bau is located on Niederkirchner Straße 7 in 10963 Berlin.

You can reach the Gropius Bau by public transport:
U-Bahn U2 (Potsdamer Platz)
U-Bahn U6 (Kochstraße)
S-Bahn S1, S2, S25 (Potsdamer Platz or Anhalter Bahnhof)
Buses M29 (Anhalter Bahnhof), M41 (Abgeordnetenhaus)

Parking

Car park is located next to the Gropius Bau at Stresemannstraße 110, corner of Niederkirchnerstraße, and is open 24 hours a day.

Parking fees

1-3 hours, €1.50 per hour
Each additional hour €1.00
Daily rate €15.00

Waiting Times

We kindly ask for your understanding if you experience temporary waiting times at the entrance, the ticket desk or cloakroom depending on the number of visitors. You can avoid waiting times by purchasing an online ticket. With our online tickets, you can choose a time slot and visit the Gropius Bau without long waiting times.

Press Inquiries

Journalists, bloggers and online contributors will find our press releases, exhibition press photos and the Gropius Bau programme in our press section on the website. Please contact if we can provide any further assistance.

Rental

You can rent the Gropius Bau for your events. We have put together additional information on our premises for you here. If you have any questions related to renting the spaces, please contact .

Questions and suggestions

We are happy to help you with questions and suggestions. You can reach us by email at .

Fragen & Antworten

Öffnungszeiten

Der Gropius Bau ist täglich außer dienstags in der Zeit von 10:00 bis 19:00 geöffnet. Für Feiertage oder begründete Anlässe sind Sonderregelungen möglich, die im Hause und auf unserer Website angekündigt werden.

Eintrittspreise

Die Eintrittspreise im Gropius Bau richten sich nach folgenden Preisgruppen:
a. Regulär € 15
b. Ermäßigt € 10
Der ermäßigte Eintrittspreis gilt für folgende Personengruppen bei Vorlage eines entsprechenden Ausweises:

  • Schüler*innen, Studierende, Azubis, Freiwilligendienstleistende
  • Empfänger*innen von Arbeitslosengeld I
  • Rentner*innen
  • Personen mit schwerer Behinderung (mehr als 50% MdE)

c. Freier Eintritt
Freier Eintritt gilt für folgende Personengruppen bei Vorlage eines entsprechenden Ausweises:

  • Kinder und Jugendliche bis zum vollendeten 16. Lebensjahr
  • Pressevertreter*innen bei Vorlage eines gültigen Presseausweises
  • Empfänger*innen von Sozialhilfe oder Arbeitslosengeld II
  • Die ärztlich als notwendig anerkannte Begleitperson einer Person mit schwerer Behinderung, sofern dies im Schwerbehindertenausweis vermerkt ist.
  • Leihgeber*innen der Ausstellungen bzw. deren Beauftragte
  • Mitglieder des International Council of Museum bei Vorlage eines gültigen ICOM-Ausweises
  • Mitglieder der International Association of Art bei Vorlage eines gültigen IAA-Ausweises
  • Mitglieder des Berufsverband Bildender Künstler Berlins e.V. bei Vorlage eines gültigen Mitgliederausweises
  • Mitglieder des Bundesverband Bildender Künstlerinnen und Künstler (BBK) bei Vorlage eines gültigen Mitgliederausweises

Tickets

Tickets können Sie vor Ort im Gropius Bau und in unserem Onlineshop kaufen. Mit unseren Onlinetickets können Sie ein Zeitfenster wählen und ohne lange Wartezeiten die Ausstellungen besuchen. Wir bitten Sie, entsprechende Ermäßigungsnachweise mit sich zu führen.

Garderobe

Die Garderobe im Gropius Bau ist kostenfrei. Aus sicherheitstechnischen Gründen können Jacken, Rucksäcke, Taschen (größer als Din A4), Fotokoffer, Schirme usw. nicht mit in die Ausstellungen genommen werden und müssen an der Garderobe abgegeben werden. Die Aufbewahrung von Koffern und Trolleys ist aus Platzgründen nicht möglich. Für die Garderobe und Wertgegenstände wird keine Haftung übernommen. Wir bitten Sie um Ihr Verständnis, dass wir für abhanden gekommene Garderobenmarken einen Ersatz in Höhe von 5,00 Euro pro Stück berechnen.

Barrierefreiheit

Der Eingang zum Gropius Bau über den barrierefreien Zugang, linker Hand vom Haupteingang, ist für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität, Rollstühle und Kinderwagen geeignet. Das Haus verfügt über barrierefreie Zugänge zu allen drei Ausstellungsetagen. An der Garderobe können Rollstühle und mobile Hocker ausgeliehen werden. Im Sockelgeschoss und im ersten Obergeschoss befinden sich WCs, die auch bei eingeschränkter Mobilität genutzt werden können. Ärztlich notwendig anerkannte Begleitpersonen von Menschen mit schwerer Behinderung erhalten freien Eintritt.

Aus Sicherheitsgründen behalten wir uns vor, bei großem Aufkommen von Besucher*innen den Zugang zu Ausstellungsräumen mit Kinderwagen zu regulieren.

Verhalten in den Ausstellungsräumen

Um allen Besucher*innen und Ihren Interessen gerecht zu werden sowie die Sicherheit der Kunstwerke zu gewährleisten, sind gewisse Regeln unumgänglich. Unsere Hausordnung ist für alle Besucher*innen verbindlich.

Das Tragen von Kleidungsstücken über dem Arm sowie das Mitführen von sperrigen Gepäckstücken ist in den Ausstellungsräumen aus konservatorischen und Sicherheitsgründen nicht gestattet. Bitte berühren Sie nicht die Kunstwerke. Werden Sie von unserem Aufsichtspersonal dazu aufgefordert, treten Sie bitte zurück.

Essen und Trinken ist in den Ausstellungsräumen nicht erlaubt. Auch das Mitführen von Flüssigkeiten ist in diesen Räumen nicht gestattet. Für die Aufbewahrung steht Ihnen unsere Garderobe zur Verfügung. Rauchen ist im Gropius Bau generell nicht gestattet.

In Rücksichtnahme auf andere Besucher*innen bitten wir Sie in den Ausstellungsräumen nicht zu telefonieren.

Kindern unter 12 Jahren ist der Museumsbesuch nur in Begleitung Erwachsener gestattet. Lehrer*innen, Gruppenleiter*innen und Erziehungsberechtigte sind für angemessenes Verhalten von Kindern und Jugendlichen in ihrer Begleitung verantwortlich. Die Besucher*innen haften für alle durch ihr Verhalten entstandenen Schaden. Die Pflicht zur Kostenerstattung besteht auch bei vorsätzlichem oder fahrlässigem Auslösen von Alarmeinrichtungen.
Tiere sind im Gropius Bau nicht gestattet. Sollten Sie auf die Begleitung durch einen Blindenhund angewiesen sein, bitten wir Sie uns vorab per Mail an zu kontaktieren.

Führungen

Mit unseren Führungen erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die Themen unserer aktuellen Ausstellungen. Während der Ausstellungslaufzeiten bieten wir jedes Wochenende öffentliche Führungen an. Darüber hinaus können Sie jederzeit eine private Führung zu Ihrem Wunschtermin buchen.

Fotografieren und Filmen

Zu privaten Zwecken ist das Fotografieren ohne Blitz im Gropius Bau gestattet. Auch in den Ausstellungen ist das Fotografieren grundsätzlich erlaubt, sofern es nicht anders gekennzeichnet ist. Für gewerbliche oder redaktionelle Foto-, Film- und Audioaufnahmen wenden Sie sich bitte im Vorfeld Ihres Besuchs per Mail an .

Aufsichtspersonal

Unser Aufsichtspersonal ist angewiesen, darauf zu achten, dass die Hausordnung eingehalten wird. Aus diesem Grund ist den Anweisungen des Aufsichtspersonals Folge zu leisten. Werden die Hausordnung oder die Anweisungen des Aufsichtspersonals nicht befolgt, kann den betreffenden Personen durch einen Beauftragten des Gropius Bau der weitere Aufenthalt im Haus untersagt werden.

Verkehrsverbindungen und Anfahrt

Der Gropius Bau befindet sich in der Niederkirchner Straße 6 in 10963 Berlin.

Sie erreichen den Gropius Bau mit folgenden öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln:
U-Bahn U2 (Potsdamer Platz)
U-Bahn U6 (Kochstraße)
S-Bahn S1, S2, S25 (Potsdamer Platz oder Anhalter Bahnhof)
Busse M29 (Anhalter Bahnhof), M41 (Abgeordnetenhaus)

Parken

Unser Parkplatz befindet sich direkt neben dem Gropius Bau in der Stresemannstraße 110, Ecke Niederkirchnerstraße und ist 24 Stunden durchgehend geöffnet.

Parktarife
Erste bis dritte Stunde je 1,50 Euro
Jede weitere Stunde 1,00 Euro
Tagestarif 15,00 Euro

Wartezeiten

Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis, dass sich abhängig vom Besucher*innenaufkommen temporär Wartezeiten am Einlass sowie der Kasse und Garderobe ergeben können. Umgehen Sie Wartezeiten mit dem Kauf eines Onlinetickets. Mit unseren Onlinetickets können Sie ein Zeitfenster wählen und ohne lange Wartezeiten den Gropius Bau besuchen.

Presseanfragen

Journalist*innen, Blogger*innen und Online-Multiplikatoren finden unsere Pressemitteilungen und Pressebilder zu den Ausstellungen und dem Programm des Gropius Bau in unserem Pressebereich. Wenden Sie sich bitte an , wenn wir darüber hinaus behilflich sein können.

Vermietung

Sie können den Gropius Bau für Ihre Veranstaltungen mieten. Nähere Informationen zu unseren Räumlichkeiten haben wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt. Mit Fragen zur Vermietung wenden Sie sich bitte an .

Fragen und Anregungen

Gerne stehen wir Ihnen bei Fragen und Anregungen zur Verfügung. Sie erreichen uns per Mail an .