History

In 2001 the Berliner Festspiele found a congenial home in one of the most significant theatre buildings of post-war Germany.

The Haus der Berliner Festspiele is among the best known buildings by the Berlin architect Fritz Bornemann. Imbedded in a public park area and in close proximity to the University of the Arts on Bundesallee, today it is home to the festivals and programme series of Berliner Festspiele and an attractive venue for a wide range of performances by international guests.

Berliner Festspiele have been hosting their year-round programme at the house since 21 April 2001. Their own festivals set the pace for Berlin’s annual calendar of events. Each spring, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues uses the spaces of the Festspielhaus both for concerts and for its discourse and workshop series “Thinking Together”. The well-known festival Theatertreffen follows in May: Ten productions, selected by a jury of theatre critics, the Stückemarkt and the International Forum take over the house for three weeks. In September, the city’s concert season is launched by Musikfest Berlin, which cooperates closely with the Foundation Berliner Philharmoniker and has its main venue at the Philharmonie. Jazzfest Berlin closes the annual series of festivals in November. They are interspersed by Berliner Festspiele’s four Bundeswettbewerbe (National Contests): Theatertreffen der Jugend, Tanztreffen der Jugend, Treffen junge Musik-Szene and Treffen junge Autor*innen.

Furthermore, the Haus der Berliner Festspiele is a venue for discussion events, symposia and conferences on relevant issues of social and cultural politics. Award ceremonies, for the European Film Awards and the Theatre Prize Berlin and others, also take place here. In February of every year, the Festspielhaus plays host to the Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale), bringing exceptional cinematic art and international guests to Schaperstraße. And each year, the festivals Tanz im August and internationales literaturfestival berlin (in September) are also welcome guests of the house.

Extensive refurbishments of the auditorium and all technical stage facilities between 2009 and 2011 have rendered the Festspielhaus one of the most modern theatres in Berlin and a popular venue for international touring. Artists like Jan Fabre, Robert Wilson, Sophie Rois, Chilly Gonzales and leading companies like Forced Entertainment, The Forsythe Company, Pina Bausch/Tanztheater , Sasha Waltz & Guests, Hofesh Shechter Company, Gauthier Dance Company, Nederlands Dans Theater and, most recently, Shanghai Kunqu Opera have been and will be performing at Haus der Berliner Festspiele. In the coming years, dance performances will continue to play a major role at Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

The construction of the current building of Berliner Festspiele as “Theater der Freien Volksbühne” on the site of the former Joachimsthalersches Gymnasium to the north of Gerhart-Hauptmann-Anlage coincided with the building of the Berlin Wall. It was opened in 1963, under the artistic directorship of Erwin Piscator. Piscator and his successors Kurt Hübner and Hans Neuenfels turned the venue on Schaperstraße into a major venue for political theatre in Berlin, with directors like Rudolf Noelte, Luc Bondy and Klaus Michael Grüber contributing important works. In 1992, three years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Freie Volksbühne was closed and the house was used as a venue for musicals from 1993 and 1997. In 1999, the former owners Verein Freie Volksbühne were forced to sell the building because public subsidies were cancelled. In December 2000, Berliner Festspiele moved into the theatre building, initially as tenants, re-opening the house on 21 April 2001. In 2014, the federal German government acquired the house, securing it as a venue for Berliner Festspiele and the reunified city.

Fritz Bornemann (1912-2007), the architect of the building on Berlin’s Schaperstraße, is considered one of the most outstanding architects of the post-war period, along with his colleagues Paul Baumgarten, Werner Düttmann and Egon Eiermann, who all connected their work with the International Style after 1945. Among his best-known buildings in Berlin are Deutsche Oper in Charlottenburg, the former Dahlem Museums and the American Memorial Library in Kreuzberg. Another great success was the spherical pavilion which he designed together with Karlheinz Stockhausen for the World Expo in Osaka of 1970, not least because of the concerts of Stockhausen’s works performed there during the expo and composed especially for the site.

With its generous glass façade, the Haus der Berliner Festspiele opens up to its urban environment, a visible example of the democratic architectural ideals in post-war modernity. Regarding the theatre architecture of those times, concepts like “democratic architecture” were associated with “free flooding spaces, transparent architectures and a non-hierarchical arrangement of the audience” (Nikolaus Bernau). The internal architecture upholds this democratic ideal: The events on stage can be seen and heard equally well from all seats.

Our theatre is also available to rent.

Geschichte

Seit 2001 sind die Berliner Festspiele in einem der herausragenden Theaterbauten der Nachkriegsmoderne beheimatet.

Das Haus der Berliner Festspiele zählt zu den bekanntesten Bauten des Berliner Architekten Fritz Bornemann. Eingebettet in eine Grünfläche und in nächster Nähe zur Universität der Künste, Bundesallee, ist es heute das Zentrum der Festivals und Programmreihen der Berliner Festspiele und attraktiver Spielort für zahlreiche internationale Gastspiele.

Die Berliner Festspiele bespielen das Haus seit dem 21. April 2001 das ganze Jahr über. Die von ihnen veranstalteten Festivals fungieren dabei als Taktgeber im Veranstaltungskalender Berlins. Im Frühjahr nutzt MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen die Räume des Festspielhauses für Konzerte und seine Diskurs- und Workshopreihe „Thinking Together“. Das bekannte Theatertreffen mit den von einer Kritiker*innenjury ausgewählten zehn Inszenierungen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum, dem Stückemarkt und dem Internationalen Forum folgt im Mai und bespielt in dichter Folge drei Wochen lang das Haus. Die Saison des Musiklebens der Stadt eröffnet Anfang September das Musikfest Berlin, das in Kooperation mit der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker seinen Hauptspielort in der Philharmonie Berlin hat. Das Jazzfest Berlin beschließt den Festivalreigen im November. Dazwischen gelagert sind vier Bundeswettbewerbe der Berliner Festspiele: das Theatertreffen der Jugend, das Tanztreffen der Jugend, das Treffen junge Musik-Szene und das Treffen junge Autor*innen.

Darüber hinaus ist das Haus der Berliner Festspiele ein Ort für Diskussionsveranstaltungen, Symposien und Kongresse zu gesellschafts- und kulturpolitisch relevanten Fragen. Auch Preisverleihungen finden hier statt. Jeweils im Februar ist das Festspielhaus Spielstätte der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (Berlinale) und bringt herausragende Filmkunst und internationale Gäste in die Schaperstraße. Alljährlich ist das Festival Tanz im August und kurz darauf, im September, das internationale literaturfestival berlin im Haus zu Gast.

Die umfassende technische Erneuerung des Zuschauerraums und der gesamten Bühnentechnik in den Jahren 2009 bis 2011 machen das Festspielhaus zu einer der modernsten Bühnen Berlins und zu einer beliebten Adresse für internationale Gastspiele. Künstler*innen wie Jan Fabre, Robert Wilson, Sophie Rois, Chilly Gonzales und führende Ensembles wie Forced Entertainment, The Forsythe Company, Pina Pausch/Tanztheater Wuppertal, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Hofesh Shechter Company, Gauthier Dance Company, Nederlands Dans Theater und zuletzt die Shanghai Kunqu Opera Company waren und sind zu Gast im Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Auch in den nächsten Jahren werden Gastspiele aus der Sparte Tanz eine besondere Rolle im Haus der Berliner Festspiele spielen.

Die Errichtung des heutigen Gebäudes der Berliner Festspiele als „Theater der Freien Volksbühne“ auf dem Gelände des früheren Joachimsthalerschen Gymnasiums nördlich der Gerhart-Hauptmann-Anlage fiel in die Zeit des Mauerbaus in Berlin. Unter der Intendanz Erwin Piscators wurde es 1963 eröffnet. Er und seine Nachfolger Kurt Hübner und Hans Neuenfels machten das Haus an der Schaperstraße zu einem bedeutenden Ort politischen Theaters in Berlin. Prägend wirkten Regisseure wie Rudolf Noelte, Luc Bondy und Klaus Michael Grüber. 1992, drei Jahre nach dem Fall der Mauer, wurde die Freie Volksbühne geschlossen und das Haus von 1993 bis 1997 als Musical Theater Berlin bespielt. 1999 musste es von seinem damaligen Besitzer, dem Verein Freie Volksbühne Berlin, verkauft werden, weil die öffentliche Förderung eingestellt wurde. Im Dezember 2000 zogen die Berliner Festspiele zunächst als Mieter in das Theatergebäude ein und eröffneten es schließlich am 21. April 2001 neu. 2014 erwarb der Bund das Haus und sicherte es so als Spielort für die Berliner Festspiele.

Der Architekt des Gebäudes an der Schaperstraße in Berlin Wilmersdorf, Fritz Bornemann (1912–2007) zählt neben Paul Baumgarten, Werner Düttmann und Egon Eiermann zu den herausragenden Architekten der Nachkriegszeit, die nach 1945 an die Architektur des Internationalen Stils anknüpften. Zu seinen bekanntesten Bauten in Berlin zählen die Deutsche Oper in Charlottenburg, die ehemaligen Dahlemer Museen und die Amerika-Gedenkbibliothek in Kreuzberg. Auch der von ihm gemeinsam mit Karlheinz Stockhausen entworfene Kugelpavillon bei der Weltausstellung in Osaka 1970 war ein großer Erfolg, nicht zuletzt durch die über die Dauer der Weltausstellung dort stattfindenden und auf den Raum bezogenen Werke Stockhausens.

Das Haus der Berliner Festspiele öffnet sich mit einer weitläufigen Glasfassade seiner urbanen Umgebung und macht so das demokratische Architekturideal der Nachkriegsmoderne sichtbar. Bezogen auf die Theaterarchitektur der Zeit wurden Begriffe wie „Demokratische Architektur“ mit „freiflutenden Räumen, durchsichtigen Architekturen und einer nicht-hierarchischen Aufteilung des Publikums assoziiert“ (Nikolaus Bernau). Im Inneren setzt sich das demokratische Architekturideal der Nachkriegsmoderne fort: Das Geschehen auf der Bühne ist von allen Plätzen aus gleichermaßen gut sicht- und hörbar.

Sie können die Räume des Haus der Berliner Festspiele auch mieten.