Palast der Republik

Art, discourse & parliament

Which emancipatory movements and attitudes from the time preceding the German reunification have disappeared, but are still needed today? Between 8 and 10 March, we will symbolically resurrect the “Palast der Republik” at Haus der Berliner Festspiele: As a “Palace of Counter-Narratives” with discourse, performance, music and film – a new look at the events of the time of the reunification and beyond. Three days, three perspectives on empowerment: “Re-Vision” on 8 March, “1989/2019 – Come Together” on 9 March and “New Alliances for a Different Europe” on 10 March. On Sunday, our programme will culminate in the “Musikpalast”, a “live mixtape for the PEOPLE”.

Artists, philosophers, activists, musicians and theatremakers will fill the building and embark together on a three day journey. On Friday we will remember the progressive proposals advocated by the 1989 citizens’ movements including a draft constitution put forward at the time. On Saturday individual aspects of reform advocated in 1989 will come into contact with ideas and projects of today’s activists in a range of working parties ultimately coming together on Sunday as contributions to a transnational European constitution that will help in times of increasing populism and nationalism to carry visionary social ideas into the future.

The artistic works that will be on display in the “Palast der Republik” behave differently in relation to the discursive programme. Some prolong the echo of an unredeemed rebellion: they preserve the latency of an alternative course of history and the hope for a different world, which may remain unheard in daily political reality, and pour it into atmospheric, ephemeral spaces and images (Trajal Harrell, Alexander Giesche, Augusto Corrieri). Others repeat the horrors of the totalitarian regime of the GDR and banish them to images and rituals (Thomas Demand, Technosekte + Henrike Naumann) or shed light on parapolitical aspects of history and create their own public spheres – subcutaneous and subversive (Anna Zett, Bojana Kunst, Jeremy Wade, CHEAP). They offer themselves as resonating spaces and disturbances of what is said, sometimes quietly and sometimes loud. In the egalitarian juxtaposition of art and discourse, the idea of an interim use of the Palast der Republik also resonates, which in turn was based on the architectural concepts of a “University of the Street” by Cedric Price.

Sunday, 10 March 2019

Saturday, 9 March 2019

Friday, 8 March 2019

© Nikita Lünnemann

Recap: Palast der Republik

Three days full of discourse, performance, music and film. Impressions of the festival with Bernhard Schlink, Bénédicte Savoy, Yanis Varoufakis, Pan Daijing, Trajal Harrel and many others.

Curators: Maximilian Haas, Sebastian Kaiser, Thomas Oberender, Elske Rosenfeld, Joshua Wicke
Music curator: André de Ridder
House design: Dominic Huber

Palast der Republik

Kunst, Diskurs & Parlament

Welche emanzipatorischen Bewegungen und Haltungen der Wendezeit sind heute verschwunden, aber werden noch immer gebraucht? Vom 8. bis 10. März wollen wir im Haus der Berliner Festspiele den Palast der Republik symbolisch neu errichten: Als einen „Palast der Gegenerzählungen“ voller Diskurs, Performance, Musik und Film, der die Ereignisse der Wende- und Nachwendejahre neu betrachtet. Drei Tage, drei Perspektiven auf Empowerment: „Re-Vision“ am 8. März, „1989/2019 – Come Together“ am 9. März und „Neue Allianzen für ein anderes Europa“ am 10. März. Am Sonntag kulminiert unser Programm dann im „Musikpalast“, einem „live mixtape for the PEOPLE“.

Künstler*innen, Philosoph*innen, Aktivist*innen, Musiker*innen und Theaterleute bespielen das Haus und gehen gemeinsam auf eine dreitägige Reise. Am Freitag werden die progressiven Entwürfe der Bürgerbewegungen von 1989 erinnert, einschließlich eines damals entstandenen Verfassungsentwurfes. Am Samstag sollen in verschiedenen Ausschüssen einzelne Aspekte der Reformkonzepte von 1989 in Berührung mit Ideen und Projekten der Aktivist*innen von heute kommen. Am Sonntag schließlich werden diese Konzepte in Beiträge zu einer transnationalen europäischen Verfassung münden, die helfen, in Zeiten des zunehmenden Populismus und Nationalismus visionäre soziale Ideen in die Zukunft zu tragen.

Die künstlerischen Arbeiten, die im „Palast der Republik“ zu sehen sein werden, verhalten sich unterschiedlich zum diskursiven Programm: Mal verlängern sie das Echo eines unerlösten Aufbegehrens – bewahren die Latenz eines alternativen Geschichtsverlaufs und die Hoffnung auf eine andere Welt, die in der tagespolitischen Realität ungehört bleiben mag, und gießen sie in atmosphärische, ephemere Räume und Bilder (Trajal Harrell, Alexander Giesche, Augusto Corrieri). Ein anderes Mal wiederholen sie die Schrecken des totalitären Regimes der DDR und bannen sie in Bild und Ritual (Thomas Demand, Technosekte + Henrike Naumann) oder beleuchten parapolitische Aspekte einer Geschichte und entwerfen eigene Öffentlichkeiten, subkutan und subversiv (Anna Zett, Bojana Kunst, Jeremy Wade, CHEAP). Immer bieten sie sich als Resonanzräume und Störungen des Gesagten an, mal leiser und mal lauter. Im egalitären Nebeneinander von Kunst und Diskurs klingen auch die Ideen einer Zwischennutzung des Palastes der Republik nach, die sich ihrerseits an die architektonischen Konzepte einer „Universität der Straße“ von Cedric Price anlehnte.

Sonntag, 10.03.2019

Samstag, 09.03.2019

Freitag, 08.03.2019

© Nikita Lünnemann

Recap: Palast der Republik

Drei Tage voller Diskurs, Performance, Musik und Film. Impressionen des Festivals mit Bernhard Schlink, Bénédicte Savoy, Yanis Varoufakis, Pan Daijing, Trajal Harrel und vielen anderen.

Kurator*innen: Maximilian Haas, Sebastian Kaiser, Thomas Oberender, Elske Rosenfeld, Joshua Wicke
Musik-Kurator: André de Ridder
Hausgestaltung: Dominic Huber