The New Infinity 2020

11 to 13 September 2020

Almost every large city has a planetarium but hardly any of them use it as a space to experience contemporary art. The Berliner Festspiele’s programme “The New Infinity” explores planetariums as the galleries of the future and has commissioned a series of works by contemporary artists since 2017 that have been presented in planetariums and fulldome festivals around the world. After previous years’ programmes attracted almost 40,000 visitors to our mobile dome on the Mariannenplatz, this year’s edition will be held for the first time in the Zeiss-Großplanetarium.

The New Infinity 2020

© Makusu Matsutake

In addition to this new venue, we will also present a new strand of programming in collaboration with Stiftung Planetarium Berlin that adapts classic avant-garde films of “visual music” for the domed space. The expression “visual music” refers firstly to the application and transposition of musical structures into visual images but additionally to methods or devices that are able to translate sounds or music into a related visual presentation. The interaction of sound and visuals generates a new receptive experience – the synaesthetic qualities of “visual music” would appear to find their ideal “screen” in the immersive, hi-tech visual and experiential space provided by the planetarium.

This new strand of programming will open this year with the meditative, northern lights-like colour symphonies of Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968). With his lumia instruments that created compositions from electrical, mechanical and reflective elements, the American light artist created a new art form at the crossroads between technology and modern art. The light paintings he composed earned him a place in the Museum of Modern Art, New York as part of the exhibition “15 Americans” in 1952 together with Jackson Pollock and Mark Rothko.

Alongside visionary works from avant-garde art history there will also be a retrospective of selected films created in the years 2018 and 2019 as part of “The New Infinity”, which will include works by David OReilly, Agnieszka Polska, Robert Lippok and Lucas Gutierrez, and also by Fatima Al Qadiri and Transforma. The programme is completed by invited works by Jan Kounen and Joanie Lemercier. We are particularly looking forward to the opening event of our three-day programme: the world premiere of Caterina Barbieri and Ruben Spini’s new audio-visual show “Aurora Wounds”, specially developed for the planetarium.

Friday, 11 September 2020

Saturday, 12 September 2020

Sunday, 13 September 2020

The programme “Immersion” was made possible by an initiative of the German Bundestag and with the support of the Minister of State for Culture and the Media.

Logo Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

A co-production with

Logo Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

Partners

Logo: Berlin Art Week 2020    Logo Cee Cee    Exberliner

Monopol – Magazin für Kunst und Leben     Logo Wall AG    Yorck Kinogruppe

The New Infinity

11. bis 13. September 2020

Nahezu jede größere Stadt besitzt ein Planetarium, doch kaum eine nutzt dessen Räume als Erfahrungsort zeitgenössischer Kunst. Die Programmreihe „The New Infinity“ der Berliner Festspiele erprobt Planetarien als Galerien der Zukunft und produziert seit 2017 Auftragsarbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen, die in Planetarien und auf Fulldome-Festivals weltweit gezeigt werden. Nachdem das Programm in den vergangenen beiden Jahren knapp 40.000 Besucher*innen in unseren Mobile Dome auf dem Mariannenplatz zog, findet die diesjährige Ausgabe erstmals im Zeiss-Großplanetarium in der Prenzlauer Allee statt.

The New Infinity 2020

© Makusu Matsutake

Neben der neuen Spielstätte gibt es auch eine neue Programmlinie, die wir in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin präsentieren und die klassische Avantgardefilme der „Visual Music“ für den Kuppelraum neu adaptiert. Der Ausdruck „Visual Music“ bezieht sich einerseits auf die Verwendung und Übersetzung musikalischer Strukturen in visuelle Bilder und darüber hinaus auf Methoden oder Geräte, die Töne oder Musik in eine verwandte visuelle Präsentation übersetzen können. Das Zusammenspiel von Sound und Visuellem führt zu einer neuen Rezeptionserfahrung – die synästhetischen Qualitäten der „Visual Music“ scheinen im immersiven und hochtechnologischen Bild- und Erfahrungsraum des Planetariums ihre ideale „Leinwand“ zu finden.

Den Beginn der neuen Programmlinie bilden in diesem Jahr die meditativen, nordlichtartigen Farbsymphonien von Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968). Der amerikanische Lichtkünstler schuf mit seinen Lumia-Apparaturen, die eine Komposition aus elektrischen, mechanischen und reflektierenden Elementen bilden, eine neue Kunstform an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und moderner Kunst. Seine lichtmalerischen Kompositionen brachten ihm 1952 im Rahmen der Ausstellung „15 Americans“ einen Platz neben Jackson Pollock und Mark Rothko im Museum of Modern Art in New York ein.

Den visionären Werken aus der Kunstgeschichte der Avantgarde stellen wir eine retrospektive Werkschau ausgewählter, in den Jahren 2018 und 2019 im Rahmen von „The New Infinity“ entstandener Filme zur Seite, darunter Arbeiten von David OReilly, Agnieszka Polska, Robert Lippok und Lucas Gutierrez, sowie von Fatima Al Qadiri und Transforma. Vervollständigt wird das Programm von eingeladenen Arbeiten von Jan Kounen und Joanie Lemercier. Besonders freuen wir uns auch auf die Auftaktveranstaltung unseres dreitägigen Programms: die Weltpremiere von Caterina Barbieris und Ruben Spinis speziell für das Planetarium entwickelter audiovisueller Show „Aurora Wounds“.

Sonntag, 13.9.2020

Samstag, 12.9.2020

Freitag, 11.9.2020

Das Programm Immersion wurde ermöglicht durch eine Initiative des Deutschen Bundestags und dank der Unterstützung der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Logo Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

Eine Koproduktion mit dem

Logo Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

Partner

Logo: Berlin Art Week 2020    Logo Cee Cee    Exberliner

Monopol – Magazin für Kunst und Leben     Logo Wall AG    Yorck Kinogruppe