About Jazzfest Berlin

Presenting both style-defining icons of jazz and young positions from a wide variety of styles, Jazzfest Berlin presents a festival programme full of creative border-crossings and collective visions.

Founded in 1964 the Berlin Jazz Festival is one of the longest running European festivals of international renown.

Known as Berliner Jazztage until 1980 it was directed by Joachim-Ernst Berendt (1964-72), George Gruntz (1973-94), Albert Mangelsdorff (1995-2000), Nils Landgren (2001, 2008-11), John Corbett (2002), Peter Schulze (2003-07), Bert Noglik (2012-14) and Richard Williams (2015-17) and is curated since 2018 by the curator Nadin Deventer.

Whereas famous US-jazz celebrities set the tone during the first decades, the Berlin Jazz Festival increasingly has presented artists from all around the globe, with an increasing emphasis on contemporary European jazz.

Presently residing at Haus der Berliner Festspiele, a 1000-seater theatre run by the festival’s parent company Berliner Festspiele, plus a couple of satellite venues, the festival mostly draws capacity audiences, with media partners ARD (public)radio(system) and Deutschlandradio documenting the musical scope by simulcasts and live-recordings.

Das Jazzfest Berlin

Rund um stilbildende Ikonen des Jazz wie auch junge Positionen aus verschiedensten Stilrichtungen entwirft das Jazzfest Berlin ein Festivalprogramm voller kreativer Grenzgänge und kollektiver Visionen.

Als Berliner Jazztage 1964 gegründet, zählt das Jazzfest Berlin zu Europas ältesten und renommiertesten Festivals seiner Art.

Nach Joachim-Ernst Berendt (1964-72), George Gruntz (1973-94), Albert Mangelsdorff (1995-2000), Nils Landgren (2001, 2008-11), John Corbett (2002), Peter Schulze (2003-07), Bert Noglik (2012-14) und Richard Williams (2015-17) liegt die künstlerische Verantwortung ab 2018 bei der Kuratorin Nadin Deventer.

Während die ersten beiden Festival-Dekaden geprägt waren von den stilbildenden und populären Jazzgrössen aus den Vereinigten Staaten, hat sich das Spektrum inzwischen global geweitet - mit einem ebenso deutlichen wie naheliegenden Schwerpunkt beim gegenwärtigen Jazz europäischer Provenienz.

Ein Theatergebäude, das Haus der Berliner Festspiele, mit ca. 1000 Sitzen, betrieben von den Berliner Festspielen, unter deren Dach das Jazzfest Berlin veranstaltet wird, ist aktueller Dreh- und Angelpunkt des musikalischen Geschehens vor zumeist ausverkauftem Haus. Die ARD Hörfunkstationen und das Deutschlandradio sind mit live-Übertragungen und Konzert-Mitschnitten am Erfolg des Jazzfest Berlin maßgeblich beteiligt.