Terrible Sounds, Film still

Terrible Sounds, Film still

© Philip Rizk

Inside the Scene: Cairo

Cairo and Jazz
1

Lineages of Improvised Music

When looking at the rich, global history of jazz music, the way it manifests itself in composition through improvisation, interpretation and performance perhaps tells a bigger story than we are led to believe. Regardless of whether or not it is driven by an explicit narrative, jazz music becomes an apt tool for critical reflection and historicity much in the same way Walter Benjamin once wrote of storytelling: “Traces of the storyteller cling to the story the way the handprints of the potter cling to the clay vessel”.

By using music as a vessel to travel through time, we can experience jazz music from Egypt and the multiplicity of stories told within the works presented by Maurice Louca and the artists he and the festival team have curated in this year’s Cairo focus at Jazzfest Berlin. And while jazz music might not be the first genre one thinks of when conjuring up the sounds of Egypt, the history of improvised music dates back to the earliest Tarab works: from Mounira El Mahdeya, Abdel-Latif El-Banna and Fatma Serry through to the more explicit jazz works of Salah Ragab and his collaborations with Hartmut Geerken and, later, Sun Ra.

Sun Ra performes in the flat of Hartmut Geerken

Sun Ra playing in Hartmut Geerken‘s living room in Cairo

© Hartmut Geerken, photo: Philip Rizk

As we will see in the Cairo programme of Jazzfest Berlin, this tradition of improvisation is a key element driving much of the works on show as well as the range of electronic-acoustic and contemporary instrumental music coming out of the SWANA region. And while the prolific portfolio of music that Maurice Louca has produced over the past two decades does not always fall under the umbrella of jazz, his ability to challenge form while using improvisation as a compositional element has led to some of his greatest works. That said, in his most recent release, “Elephantine”, which will be performed at Jazzfest Berlin, we encounter Maurice’s most explicit jazz album to date.

Maurice Louca

Maurice Louca

© Christer Nexmark

2021
Voices from the past
2

Nancy Mounir: “Nozhet El Nofous (Those who were not invited)”

Trailer „Nozhet El Nofous“

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

“If we break away from the assumptions that confine jazz as a genre, and focus on the core of what jazz has been and could be, we might find a lot of similarities with many different lineages of Arabic music”, Maurice Louca writes in his curatorial statement.
This idea becomes clearer when experiencing Nancy Mounir’s research project and album “Nozhet El Nofous”, whose release is planned for later this year.

At Jazzfest Berlin Nancy Mounir’s album and research will culminate within a video work exploring the lives and music of several female Egyptian singers from the 1920s who often worked with tuning systems beyond the scales standardised by the 1932 Congress of Arab Music in Cairo: a conference that some argue was responsible for erasing the future of Arabic music by standardising it to a Western tuning system, while at the same time excluding many of the leading artists performing at the time. Nancy has spent six years jamming with the ghosts of those excluded artists, such as Mounira El Mahdeya, Fatma Serry and Hayat Sabri among others, not only unearthing their narratives and musical genius but also exploring what it might mean for our future to transpose their music into the present.

Interview Nancy Mounir

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

2021
Poster for the event “Grand Opening for the Queen of Tarab”

Poster for the event “Grand Opening for the Queen of Tarab”

© Nancy Mounir

Clipping from the Teatro Magazine depicting Lady Mounira El Mahdeya in the role of the Quaintrelle Dandizette

Clipping from the Teatro Magazine depicting Lady Mounira El Mahdeya in the role of the Quaintrelle Dandizette

© Nancy Mounir

Mounira El Mahdeya in suit

Mounira El Mahdeya in suit

© Nancy Mounir

Quest for National Identity
3

Philip Rizk & Nadah El Shazly: Terrible Sounds

Also experimenting with temporality, improvisation, and exploring the quest for national identity, comes the commissioned video work “Terrible Sounds” by Philip Rizk in collaboration with Nadah El Shazly. As film-maker Philip Rizk says: “Music is extremely important in creating a kind of national imaginary of what constitutes the culture of a place.” The film explores this topic through original footage of the repeated opening of King Tutankhamun’s tomb in the 1920s, before and after independence, accompanied by two classical compositions created in imperialist and post-colonial contexts respectively. These are juxtaposed with recent recordings inspired by “Muharram 1392”, an experimental free jazz album by Salah Ragab and Hartmut Geerken recorded in 1972.

For their commissioned work at Jazzfest Berlin, Nadah El Shazly and Philip Rizk resurrected this out of print album and asked several musicians to respond musically to it, thus creating the music for the video. In addition to Nadah El Shazly, the recordings feature Maurice Louca, Ayman Asfour and Sharif Sehnaoui, as well as the recently tragically deceased musician Hartmut Geerken, who was the only contributor to the historic “Muharrahm” album. Their art allows us to listen to the dormant stories that have been overheard in the region’s colonially shaped history and its search for a national identity.

Terrible Sounds

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

A Space to Drift Off

Philip Rizk and Nadah El Shazly in conversation with Maha ElNawabi

Maha ElNawabi: Tell us a bit about the origins of this project, where the idea came from – and in essence, what kind of story are you trying to tell?

Philip Rizk: Most of the projects I work on are process-based, which means that there is a lot of improvisation. There are often pieces of a puzzle that only come together by the very end. The beginning of this project goes back to a conversation about Mohamed El Bayoumi, who is probably Egypt’s first cinematographer and filmmaker. One of the most important things he did was a film documenting the second opening of the tomb of Tutankhamun. This is one of the historical narratives that underpin our project called “Terrible Sounds”. The tomb was most famously discovered and opened by a British explorer and this was documented by an American cinematographer. But when the Egyptians were granted a pseudo-independence from the British occupation, the Egyptians proceeded to close and then reopen the tomb as a kind of official opening. In my projects, there are often different layers and narratives that somehow come together. The musical aspect is a kind of accompaniment to this historical narrative. The overarching issue that I am addressing is the creation and fabrication of the nation state – this is where music is critical. In the case of Egypt, the pharaohs are an essential part of that narrative, but then music is also extremely important in creating a kind of national imaginary of what constitutes the culture of a place. So, this is where two seemingly unrelated issues come together in this project.

Maha ElNawabi: Could you tell us a bit about your collaborative process? When did “Muharram”, the collaboration between Salah Ragab and Hartmut Geerken, come into the mix?

Philip Rizk: The last film we worked on together, called “Mapping Lessons”, looks quite different: it is a feature length fictional travel film, but again it addresses this issue of the creation of the nation state. In that case it deals with Syria and the Levant before the lines were drawn between these states. One of the things that was happening in the making of that film is I was trying to figure out what sounds would accompany the images. For me, these are not disconnected things. I do not work on a film and then create a soundtrack after the fact, or assign someone the task of making a soundtrack to something I am working on. They very much need to be in conversation with me.

Nadah El Shazly: What was really interesting to me in “Mapping Lessons” was Philip’s use of archival footage, and how he was very open to using the sound of the footage or not at all – how he was looking to reinterpret some sounds from the archive. There is a narrative at the end of “Mapping Lessons” that reimagines itself, and it was very clear that he wanted to use Salah Ragab and Hartmut Geerken’s “Muharram 1392”, which became the core of the work I’m doing with Philip. With that came the idea for “Terrible Sounds”: that we wanted to reimagine “Muharram 1392” and how it would sound today – because of many musicians’ parallel interest in playing improvised music and the way that currently evokes references to improvised music from the 1920s to the 1970s.

Maha ElNawabi: How did you work with the original “Muharram 1392” album? Did you reinterpret the scores together or did you create new scores inspired by it – and how did Hartmut’s input come in?

Nadah El Shazly: Through Philip’s connection to Hartmut and by finding a way to communicate with him, it was very clear to us that we wanted to understand how they had recorded this album, and how it came to be. They had a very interesting set up: in Hartmut’s apartment, he had mics set up that were running all the time. He invited people to come and play music -– I cannot remember for exactly how long …

Philip Rizk: He said they played for 14 hours straight, of which he archived around 2,5 hours in recordings.

Nadah El Shazly: The idea was that we should understand from Hartmut as much as possible how this record was made, and the spirit of this album – to use it as something you could play with as an improviser or musician. But we were all recording in different cities, so we were reacting to each other. Maurice and I started playing together because we were both in Cairo. We recorded two full takes and sent these out to the other musicians who are involved, Sharif Sehnaoui and Ayman Asfour. They then recorded themselves playing to the music they were listening to, to “Muharram 1392”, and it all came together when I got all the files. From there, I could see how they could line up and work together.

We used the spirit of the album as reference. For instance, Maurice and I were improvising with each other, then Ayman Asfour and Sharif responded to those recordings. But it was also very clear that the inspiration could come from your own palette – it did not necessarily have to respond to anyone. For example, the way Hartmut recorded gave us the whole palette of instruments and percussion that he was using. He recorded around 45 minutes of him playing in response to his own work, and then we responded to him. This was a very open process, looking for that dynamic interaction with each other and giving us all space to drift off.

Philip Rizk: I think something else to mention is that Hartmut is the only living, active musician from that 1972 session of “Muharram”. I was with him the day he recorded his music for “Terrible Sounds”, and that morning he had listened to the entire original album. He acts as a kind of bridge between that historical session and this new recording that we have made. Finding this recording from 1972 was an important discovery for me. In a way, the state has tried to eradicate a certain type of improvisation in music – or let’s at least say that it is not the agenda of the state. There is a drive for music to be ordered and organised according to a European imaginary, and this is something that happened prior to 1932 but it was solidified in the Congress and the years following. So, for me, this 1972 session, whether intentional or not, was a counterpoint to this state project. What was highly unusual is Salah Ragab – who is often mentioned as a key figure in the history of Egyptian jazz – was himself a military general and was in charge of the military band at the time in Egypt. So, for Salah and Hartmut Geerken, to be working with this very central state institution in a way subverts and undermines the energy of that project – again whether intentional or not.

Maha ElNawabi: Some people argue that the 1932 Congress erased the future of Arabic music by standardising its tonal systems. Could talk about these temporal elements, and the idea of taking inspiration from a distant past rather than a recent past to reclaim these lost narratives?

Nadah El Shazly: Let me start by saying that my own personal interest in this time began the first time I listened to Abdel-Latif El-Banna and Mounira El Mahdeya. I thought it was actually music from the future. I could not believe it was from the past. The level at which they were playing together, without all these rules to constrain them, made their playing a lot more open. I think the power of improvisation and opening up the imagination of what you can do musically, and the extent you can change many things that are considered wrong in the Arab world, for example Mahraganat musicians who are getting attacked for not knowing music theory, is really important. You can free yourself from those ideas, at the same time evoking musicians that actually existed and were important and respected in Egyptian history. I think this situation really speaks to us as musicians or artists who reimagine other ways of doing things from how they are done today in that institutional prison.

Philip Rizk: I think that is absolutely beautiful. And it sums up why I wanted to work with you and with someone who thinks about music in that way. I think in Egypt, as in so many places, we find ourselves in a moment where we are told that there is no place for imagining that things might be different. For me, it is very important that we do that: just to stay alive, we need to imagine that things can be different from the way they are. In a lot of ways, we are in a very oppressive and dark moment: so to be able to look beyond what surrounds us, it is important to engage the imagination in a way like this. This is why music plays such a significant role in a project like “Terrible Sounds” – it is the unspoken narrative that guides this film.

2021

Goodbye Hartmut Geerken

Obituary by Philip Rizk

In the summer of 2017, I was searching for sounds for my film “Mapping Lessons” when I discovered the out of print album “Muharram 1392”, a free improvisation session recorded in Hartmut Geerken’s living room in Cairo in 1972. When I found that he was still playing music, I called him. He was excited to receive a call from Cairo and to talk about his work there almost 50 years ago. Unsurprisingly, he accepted the invitation to record an album with contemporary musicians from the region.

Hartmut believed in a spiritual realm that did not need explanation or a system of logic. He was open to new experiences, and for him, there was no such thing as coincidences. So when, a short time after he arrived in Cairo in 1967, he ended up sitting at a reception with two musicians, one of whom was a jazz player, and the other an aspiring one, it didn’t take long for the three to form a band together. It helped that Salah Ragab was also an army general who led Egypt’s military band.

Hartmut was an eclectic director of the Goethe Institute in Cairo where he occasionally played alongside exiled Black Panther musicians. His “Music for Angela Davis” will be released later this year. But much of his time was devoted to helping Ragab’s soldier musicians unlearn their training in the European art of performing national anthems. Instead, he taught them the old skill of free improvisation, a practice that gets to the heart of the revolutionary movement that swept across Egypt and the region starting in 2011. It was also that year that Hartmut released “Muharram 1392”.

I only knew Hartmut for the last four years of his life. He was passionate, full of energy and did not act his age. He loved talking about his meetings with Sun Ra and the Arkestra in Egypt, and the adventures of playing jazz under military rule. He lived in a liberating way and was a beautiful soul.

You were a bridge, Hartmut. I miss you deeply.

Maha ElNabawi

— text & interviews

Cairo-based writer, music journalist, content producer Maha ElNabawi is a co-founder of the online journal Mada Masr. Her music writing was featured in the Wire UK, The Guardian, Spex, The National UAE and Norient. She is contributing author in the book “Ten Cities”, a socio-political critique through the lens of dance music and club culture, as well as co-creator of “Katalog”, an Arabic podcast featuring musicians from the MENA region. Maha ElNabawi is currently working on a second book about contemporary music from the Arab world and canceled futures .

Terrible Sounds, Film still

Terrible Sounds, Film still

© Philip Rizk

Inside the Scene: Kairo

Kairo und Jazz
1

Traditionslinien Improvisierter Musik

Betrachtet man die reichhaltige globale Geschichte des Jazz, so sagt die Art und Weise, wie sie sich in Komposition, Improvisation, Interpretation und Darbietung entfaltet, vielleicht mehr aus, als wir gemeinhin annehmen. Unabhängig davon, ob dieser Geschichte ein explizites Narrativ zugrunde liegt oder nicht, eignet sich die Musik als Instrument zur kritischen Reflexion und Geschichtsschreibung, ähnlich wie Walter Benjamin einst über das Erzählen von Geschichten schrieb: "An der Erzählung [haftet] die Spur des Erzählenden wie die Spur der Töpferhand an der Tonschale."

Indem wir im Medium der Musik durch die Zeit reisen, können wir nicht nur ägyptischen Jazz, sondern auch die vielfältigen Geschichten der Künstler*innen erleben, die im diesjährigen, von Maurice Louca co-kuratierten Kairo-Fokus des Jazzfest Berlin vertreten sind. Auch wenn man im Zusammenhang mit Musik und Ägypten nicht unbedingt als erstes an Jazz denkt, so reicht die Geschichte der improvisierten Musik dort bis zu den frühesten Werken des Taarab zurück: von Mounira El Mahdeya, Abdel-Latif El-Banna und Fatma Serry bis zu den eindeutiger dem Genre zuzuordnenden Free-Jazz-Sessions von Salah Ragab und seiner Zusammenarbeit mit Hartmut Geerken und später Sun Ra.

Sun Ra spielt in the der Wohnung von Hartmut Geerken

Sun Ra spielt in Hartmut Geerkens Wohnzimmer in Kairo

© Hartmut Geerken, Foto: Philip Rizk

Wie wir im Kairo-Fokus des Jazzfest Berlin sehen, ist die Tradition der Improvisation ein Schlüsselelement, das viele der präsentierten Werke sowie das Spektrum der elektroakustischen und zeitgenössischen Instrumentalmusik aus der SWANA-Region bestimmt. Und obwohl etwa das umfangreiche musikalische Portfolio, das Maurice Louca in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hervorgebracht hat, nicht immer in den Jazz-Kontext passt, hat seine Fähigkeit, musikalische Form herauszufordern und gleichzeitig die Improvisation als kompositorisches Element zu nutzen, zu einigen seiner besten Werke geführt. Sein jüngstes Projekt Elephantine, das er beim Jazzfest Berlin präsentiert, lässt sich dabei auch im engeren Sinne dem Jazz zuordnen.

Maurice Louca

Maurice Louca

© Christer Nexmark

2021
Stimmen der Vergangenheit
2

Nancy Mounir: „Nozhet El Nofous (Those who were not invited)“

Trailer „Nozhet El Nofous“

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

„Wenn wir uns davon lösen, Jazz als Genre zu beschreiben, und uns stattdessen auf den Kern dessen fokussieren, was Jazz war und sein könnte, finden wir etliche Gemeinsamkeiten zu arabischen Musiktraditionen“, schreibt Maurice Louca in seinem kuratorischen Statement. Dieser Gedanke wird beim Hören von Nancy Mounirs Forschungsprojekt und Album „Nozhet El Nofous“ verständlicher, dessen Veröffentlichung für Ende des Jahres geplant ist.

In ihrem Beitrag zum Jazzfest Berlin gipfeln das Album und die weiterführenden Recherchen Nancy Mounirs in einer filmischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Leben und der Musik mehrerer ägyptischer Sängerinnen aus den 1920er Jahren, die oft mit Stimmungssystemen und mikrotonalen Skalen arbeiteten, welche vom damaligen, 1932 im Ersten Kongress für Arabische Musik sanktionierten Standard abwichen. Im Zuge dieser kontroversen Konferenz, so behaupten einige, wurde die arabische Musik ihrer Zukunft beraubt, indem sie unter Ausschluss vieler der damals führenden Künstler*innen dem westlichen Prinzip einer einheitlichen Standardstimmung unterworfen wurde. Nancy Mournir hat sechs Jahre lang mit den Geistern einiger der ausgeschlossenen Künstler*innen gejammt, darunter Mounira El Mahdeya, Fatma Serry und Hayat Sabri, und nicht nur ihre Geschichten und ihr musikalisches Genie zum Vorschein gebracht, sondern auch erforscht, was die Überführung ihrer Musik in die Gegenwart für unsere Zukunft bedeuten könnte.

Interview Nancy Mounir

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

2021
Poster für die Veranstaltung „Grand Opening for the Queen of Tarab“

Poster für die Veranstaltung „Grand Opening for the Queen of Tarab“

© Nancy Mounir

Ausschnitt aus dem Teatro Magazin mit einer Darstellung Lady Mounira El Mahdeyas in der Rolle der Quaintrelle Dandizette

Ausschnitt aus dem Teatro Magazin mit einer Darstellung Lady Mounira El Mahdeyas in der Rolle der Quaintrelle Dandizette

© Nancy Mounir

Mounira El Mahdeya im Anzug

Mounira El Mahdeya im Anzug

© Nancy Mounir

Die Suche nach einer nationalen Identität
3

Philip Rizk & Nadah El Shazly: Terrible Sounds

Auch die Videoarbeit „Terrible Sounds“ von Philip Rizk experimentiert mit Zeitlichkeit und Improvisation und setzt sich mit der Suche nach einer nationalen Identität auseinander. So sagt Filmemacher Philip Rizk: „Musik ist äußerst wichtig bei der Schaffung einer Art nationaler Vorstellung davon, was die Kultur eines Ortes ausmacht.“ Der Film erforscht dieses Thema anhand originaler Filmaufnahmen von der wiederholten Öffnung des Grabs von König Tutanchamun in den 1920er-Jahren vor und nach der Unabhängigkeit, unterlegt von zwei klassischen Kompositionen, die in imperialistischen bzw. postkolonialen Kontexten entstanden sind. Diesen werden in einer Zusammenabeit von Nadah El Shazly und weiteren Musiker*innen aktuelle Aufnahmen gegenübergestellt, die von „Muharram 1392“ inspiriert sind, einem gemeinsamen Free-Jazz-Album von Salah Ragab und Hartmut Geerken, das 1972 aufgenommen wurde.

Für ihr Auftragswerk beim Jazzfest Berlin haben Nadah El Shazly und Philip Rizk dieses vergriffene Album wieder auferstehen lassen und mehrere Musiker*innen gebeten, musikalisch darauf zu reagieren und so die Musik zum Video zu kreieren. Neben Nadah El Shazly sind auf den Aufnahmen der kürzlich tragisch verstorbene Künstler Hartmut Geerken zu hören, der als einziger der Mitwirkenden auch an dem historischen "Muharram"-Album maßgeblich beteiligt war, sowie Maurice Louca, Ayman Asfour und Sharif Sehnaoui. Ihre Kunst ermöglicht es uns, den schlummernden Geschichten zu lauschen, die in der kolonial geprägten Geschichte der Region und ihre Suche nach einer nationalen Identität überhört worden sind.

Terrible Sounds

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

Raum zum Abdriften

Philip Rizk und Nadah El Shazly im Gespräch mit Maha ElNawabi

Maha ElNawabi: Erzählt uns ein bisschen was über die Ursprünge dieses Projekts: Woher kam die Idee und welche Art von Geschichte versucht ihr zu erzählen?

Philip Rizk: Meine Projekte sind in der Regel prozessorientiert, das heißt, es wird viel improvisiert. Oft gibt es nur Puzzleteile, die sich erst ganz am Ende zusammenfügen. Das Projekt begann mit einem Gespräch über Mohamed El Bayoumi, den wahrscheinlich ersten ägyptischen Filmemacher. In einem seiner wichtigsten Werke dokumentiert er die zweite Öffnung des Grabs von Tutanchamun. Dieser Film ist eine der historischen Erzählungen, die unserem Projekt „Terrible Sounds“ zugrunde liegen. Die erste Öffnung des Grabs erfolgte durch einen britischen Forscher und wurde von einem amerikanischen Kameramann dokumentiert. Nachdem Ägypten aber eine Pseudo-Unabhängigkeit von der britischen Besatzung erlangt hatte, schlossen die Ägypter*innen das Grab und öffneten es dann wieder in einer Art zweiten, offiziellen Öffnung. In meinen Projekten treffen oft solche verschiedenen Ebenen und Erzählungen aufeinander. Die Musik ist dabei eine Art Begleitung der historischen Erzählung. Das übergreifende Thema, mit dem ich mich beschäftige, ist die Erfindung und Schaffung des Nationalstaats – und hierbei ist Musik von entscheidender Bedeutung. Im Falle Ägyptens spielen die Pharaonen eine wesentliche Rolle in der Erzählung, aber auch die Musik ist äußerst wichtig bei der Schaffung einer Art nationaler Vorstellung davon, was die Kultur eines Ortes ausmacht. In diesem Projekt treffen also zwei scheinbar unverbundene Themen zusammen.

Maha ElNawabi: Könnt ihr uns den Prozess eurer Zusammenarbeit etwas genauer beschreiben? Und wann kam „Muharram 1392“ ins Spiel, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Salah Ragab und Hartmut Geerken?

Philip Rizk: Der letzte Film, bei dem wir zusammen gearbeitet haben, „Mapping Lessons“, sieht ganz anders aus: Es ist ein fiktionaler Reisefilm in Spielfilmlänge, aber auch hier geht es um die Schaffung eines Nationalstaats. In diesem Fall handelt er von Syrien und dem Vorderen Orient in der Zeit vor der Grenzziehung zwischen den Staaten in der Region. Bei den Dreharbeiten zu diesem Film habe ich unter anderem versucht herauszufinden, welche Klänge die Bilder begleiten könnten. Für mich sind das keine getrennten Elemente. Ich arbeite nicht an einem Film und erstelle dann erst den Soundtrack oder beauftrage jemanden damit. Andere müssen hierfür unbedingt mit mir im Gespräch bleiben.

Nadah El Shazly: Mich hat an „Mapping Lessons“ vor allem Philips Umgang mit dem Archivmaterial interessiert. Und seine Offenheit dafür, den Ton dieses Materials zu verwenden oder zu verwerfen und dann einige Klänge aus dem Archiv neu zu interpretieren. Am Ende von „Mapping Lessons“ gibt es eine Erzählung, die sich selbst reimaginiert, und es war sehr klar, dass Philip Salah Ragabs und Hartmut Geerkens „Muharram 1392“, eine experimentelle Free-Jazz-Aufnahme von 1972, verwenden wollte, die dann zum Kern unserer gemeinsamen Arbeit wurde. Daraus entstand die Idee für „Terrible Sounds“: Wir wollten „Muharram 1392“ neu erfinden und dabei imaginieren, wie es heute klingen würde – angesichts des breiten Interesses vieler Musiker*innen an improvisierter Musik und der Art und Weise, wie sie heute Bezüge zur improvisierten Musik der 1920er- bis 1970er-Jahre herstellen.

Maha ElNawabi: Wie habt ihr mit dem Originalalbum „Muharram 1392“ gearbeitet? Habt ihr die Aufnahme gemeinsam neu interpretiert – und wie kam Hartmuts Input dazu?

Nadah El Shazly: Durch Philips Verbindung zu Hartmut und nachdem wir einen Weg gefunden hatten, mit ihm zu kommunizieren, war uns klar, dass wir verstehen wollten, wie sie dieses Album aufgenommen haben. Das war sehr interessant: Hartmut hatte Mikrofone in seiner Wohnung aufgestellt, die die ganze Zeit liefen. Er lud Leute ein, vorbeizukommen und Musik zu machen – ich weiß nicht mehr genau, wie lange …

Philip Rizk: Er hat gesagt, dass sie 14 Stunden am Stück gespielt hätten, wovon er etwa 2,5 Stunden als Aufnahme archivierte.

Nadah: Wir wollten möglichst viel von Hartmut darüber erfahren, wie diese Platte gemacht wurde, und wir wollten den Geist dieses Albums verstehen – um ihn als etwas zu verwenden, zu dem man als Musiker*in spielen oder improvisieren kann. Aber wir haben die Musik in verschiedenen Städten aufgenommen, also haben wir sukzessiv aufeinander reagiert. Maurice und ich begannen, weil wir beide in Kairo waren. Wir nahmen zwei komplette Takes zusammen auf und schickten sie an die anderen beteiligten Musiker, Sharif Sehnaoui und Ayman Asfour. Dann nahmen diese sich selbst auf, während sie zu „Muharram 1392“ spielten, und als ich die Dateien bekam, fügte sich alles zusammen. Von da an konnte ich sehen, wie alles zusammenpasste und zusammenwirken konnten. Wir haben den Geist des Albums als Referenz verwendet. Es war aber auch ganz klar, dass die Inspiration von der eigenen Bandbreite stammen konnte – sie musste nicht unbedingt auf jemanden reagieren. Die Art und Weise, wie Hartmut aufnahm, bot uns zum Beispiel die ganze Palette seiner Instrumente. Er nahm etwa 45 Minuten auf, in denen er auf seine eigene Arbeit reagierte und wir reagierten dann wiederum auf ihn. Das war ein sehr offener Prozess, bei dem wir nach einer dynamischen Interaktion miteinander gesucht haben und der uns allen Raum gegeben hat, um auch abzudriften.

Philip Rizk: Ich denke, es ist auch erwähnenswert, dass Hartmut der einzige noch lebende, aktive Musiker aus dieser Session von 1972 ist. Ich war an dem Tag bei ihm, als er die Musik für „Terrible Sounds“ aufnahm, und er hatte sich an diesem Morgen das gesamte Originalalbum angehört. Er fungiert als eine Art Brücke zwischen der historischen Session und unserer neuen Aufnahme. Die Aufnahme von 1972 war eine wichtige Entdeckung für mich. In gewisser Weise hat der Staat versucht, eine bestimmte Art von Improvisation in der Musik auszurotten – oder sagen wir zumindest, dass sie nicht zur Agenda des Staats gehört. Es gibt ein Bestreben, die Musik nach europäischen Vorstellungen zu ordnen und zu organisieren. Das war schon vor 1932 so, wurde aber auf dem Kongress für arabische Musik in Kairo und in den folgenden Jahren nochmals verfestigt. Für mich war die Session von 1972, ob beabsichtigt oder nicht, ein Kontrapunkt zu diesem Staatsprojekt. Sehr ungewöhnlich war, dass Salah Ragab – der oft als Schlüsselfigur in der Geschichte des ägyptischen Jazz genannt wird – selbst ein Militärgeneral war und damals die Militärkapelle in Ägypten leitete. Die Zusammenarbeit von Salah und Geerken mit dieser äußerst zentralen staatlichen Institution untergräbt und unterminiert die Energie dieses Projekts in gewisser Weise – ob nun beabsichtigt oder nicht.

Maha ElNawabi: Manche sind der Meinung, dass der Kongress für arabische Musik in Kairo im Jahr 1932 die Zukunft der arabischen Musik durch die Standardisierung ihrer Tonsysteme auslöschte. Könntet ihr etwas über diese zeitlichen Elemente erzählen und die Idee erläutern, sich von der fernen statt der nahen Vergangenheit inspirieren zu lassen, um verlorene Narrative zurückzugewinnen?

Nadah El Shazly: Zuerst muss ich sagen, dass mein persönliches Interesse an dieser Zeit begann, als ich zum ersten Mal Abdel-Latif El-Banna und Mounira El Mahdeya hörte. Ich dachte, dies sei Musik aus der Zukunft. Ich konnte nicht glauben, dass sie aus der Vergangenheit stammte. Das Niveau, auf dem sie zusammenspielten, ohne all diese einschränkenden Regeln, machte ihr Spiel viel offener. Ich denke, die Kraft der Improvisation und die Erweiterung der Vorstellung davon, was musikalisch möglich ist, und das Ausmaß, in dem man viele Dinge ändern kann, die in der arabischen Welt als falsch angesehen werden – zum Beispiel werden Mahraganat-Musiker*innen angegriffen, weil sie keine Musiktheorie kennen – ist unglaublich wichtig. Man kann sich von diesen Vorstellungen befreien und zugleich auf Musiker*innen berufen, die es tatsächlich gab und die in der ägyptischen Geschichte auch wichtig und geachtet waren. Ich denke, diese Situation spricht uns als Musiker*innen oder Künstler*innen an, die alternative Ansätze gegenüber den Routinen des institutionellen Gefängnisses suchen und imaginieren.

Philip Rizk: Ich denke, das ist sehr schön formuliert. Und es fasst zusammen, warum ich mit dir arbeiten wollte als einer Person, die auf diese Weise über Musik denkt. Ich denke, dass wir in Ägypten, wie an so vielen Orten, gerade an einem Punkt sind, wo behauptet wird, dass es keinen Raum dafür gibt, sich die Dinge anders vorzustellen als sie sind. Für mich ist es sehr wichtig, dass wir genau das tun: Allein um am Leben zu bleiben, müssen wir uns vorstellen, dass die Dinge anders sein können als sie sind. In vielerlei Hinsicht befinden wir uns in einer sehr bedrückenden und dunklen Zeit – und um über diese hinauszublicken, müssen wir unsere Vorstellungskraft aktivieren. Deshalb spielt die Musik eine so wichtige Rolle in einem Projekt wie „Terrible Sounds“ – sie leitet diesen Film als unausgesprochene Erzählung.

2021

Goodbye, Hartmut Geerken

Ein Nachruf von Philip Rizk

Im Sommer 2017, als ich für meinen Film „Mapping Lessons“ nach Musik suchte, stieß ich auf das längst vergriffene Album „Muharram 1392“. Darauf zu hören war eine freie Impro-Session, aufgenommen 1972 in Hartmut Geerkens Wohnzimmer in Kairo. Ich fand heraus, dass er immer noch Musik machte, und rief ihn an. Er freute sich über meinen Anruf aus Kairo und erzählte begeistert von seiner Arbeit dort vor fast fünfzig Jahren. So war es wenig überraschend, dass er die Einladung annahm, ein Album mit zeitgenössischen Musiker*innen aus der Region aufzunehmen.

Hartmut glaubte an eine spirituelle Welt, die ohne Erklärungen oder ein logisches System auskam. Er war stets offen für neue Begegnungen, Zufälle gab es für ihn nicht. Als er 1967, kurz nach seiner Ankunft in Kairo, plötzlich mit zwei Musikern an einem Tisch saß, der eine Jazzmusiker, der andere auf dem Weg dahin, dauerte es nicht lang, bevor die drei eine Band gründeten. Dabei half, dass Salah Ragab Armeegeneral war und das ägyptische Militärorchester leitete.

Hartmut war mehrere Jahre lang für das Goethe-Institut in Kairo tätig und bestach durch seine Vielfältigkeit. Gelegentlich spielte er mit exilierten Black-Panther-Musiker*innen – sein „Music for Angelas Davis“ wird noch vor Jahresende erscheinen. Einen großen Teil seiner Zeit widmete er jedoch der Aufgabe, Ragabs Militärmusiker ihre auf das Aufführen europäischer Nationalhymnen ausgerichtete Ausbildung vergessen zu machen und ihnen stattdessen die freie Improvisation näherzubringen – eine Kunst, die der revolutionären Bewegung nahestand, die 2011 durch Ägypten rollte. In jenem Jahr veröffentlichte Hartmut auch „Muharram 1392“.

Ich konnte Hartmut nur in den letzten vier Jahren seines Lebens kennenlernen. Seine Leidenschaft und Energie ließen ihn auch in dieser Zeit ewig jung wirken. Er sprach gerne von seinen Begegnungen mit Sun Ra und dem Arkestra in Ägypten und seinen Abenteuern als Jazzmusiker unter der Militärherrschaft. Eine befreiende Lebensweise, eine schöne Seele.

Du warst eine Brücke, Hartmut. Ich vermisse dich sehr.

Maha ElNabawi

— Text & Interviews

Die in Kairo lebende Schriftstellerin, Musikjournalistin und Content-Producerin Maha ElNabawi ist Mitbegründerin der Online-Zeitschrift Mada Masr. Ihre Musikbeiträge wurden in The Wire UK, The Guardian, Spex, The National UAE und Norient veröffentlicht. Sie ist Mitautorin des Buches „Ten Cities“, einer soziopolitischen Kritik durch die Brille der Clubkultur, sowie Mitbegründerin von „Katalog“, einem arabischen Podcast, der Musiker*innen aus der SWANA-Region vorstellt. Maha ElNabawi arbeitet derzeit an einem Buch über zeitgenössische Musik in der arabischen Welt.