Johannesburgʼs skyline

Johannesburgʼs skyline

© Tseliso Monaheng

Inside the Scene: Johannesburg

Jozi – The Playground
1

A Feeling and an Experience

Johannesburg. Joburg. Jozi. Whatever moniker people choose to refer to this buzzing, bustling African metropolis, and whichever point of departure anyone views it from, the takeaway is always uniform: experiencing Johannesburg can be life-changing – literally.

Stencil art in the Maboneng district

Stencil art in the Maboneng district

© Tseliso Monaheng

For musicians who are based in the city, or who regularly come here for gigs, it is paradise. The people come out in numbers, and the love they show for the music is genuine. Siya Makuzeni, who has been based here for close to two decades, says: “There’s really some beauty to it, because I’ve managed to almost go through the births and deaths of the different cultural movements that have been happening in Johannesburg. But I think one thing that’s always stayed constant [...] is its sheer authenticity.”

Sibusile Xaba, who is based some 60 kilometres away in the city of Tshwane, echoes her sentiments: “In terms of performance, mainstream, Joburg is our playground, it’s our New York, straight. This is where we come, and all the opportunities [are here].”

Johannesburg is a feeling and an experience, something hard to put into words. It is also a city struggling with the same set of realities as other cities elsewhere: gentrification is driving out the lifeblood of the city – the artists and makers – and pushing them to the edges, while widespread corruption is making it hard for local government to maintain basic services. The roads leave a lot to be desired, and water and other basic human needs are a secondary consideration. There is also the reality of the COVID-19 pandemic, which has made it near-impossible for some to survive, and in the process led to key music venues having to shut their doors. Still, the city breathes and the city lives. And music is always available to fill in the gaps when words fail.

Bow players

Bow players

© Tseliso Monaheng

2021
Ups and Downs
2

Siya Makuzeni & Sibusile Xaba: On Local Music Scenes

Siya Makuzeni

Siya Makuzeni

Siya Makuzeni

© Tseliso Monaheng

Siya Makuzeni is an East London-born, Johannesburg-based trombonist, composer and vocalist. Though widely known for her work with Marcus Wyatt, her other contributions are equally important. She regularly ventures outside of the confines of jazz, and has landed in interesting, experimental territory with outfits like Mushroom Hour’s SPAZA project, or her own rock outfit IppYFuzE. For Jazzfest Berlin, Siya discusses her feelings about the Johannesburg music scene, as well as what the city has given her over the years.

Siya was chosen as Standard Bank’s Young Artist for Jazz in 2016, and released her project titled “Out Of This World” the same year. Her latest contribution is on the cross-continental “On Our Own Clock” album, which is a joint release between Johannesburg’s Mushroom Hour Half Hour label and London’s Total Refreshment Centre.

Siya Makuzeni

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

“Those with original authentic voices – I think this is the time for them now.”
– Siya Makuzeni

Sibusile Xaba

Sibusile Xaba

Sibusile Xaba

© Tseliso Monaheng

“From Zululand, we came straight to Pretoria – Tshwane land, beautiful land, you know,” says Sibusile Xaba. A farmer, a composer and a vocalist, he is part of a generation that has managed to tap into the roots of its past in order to get directions regarding the future. Sibusile Xaba is not one to be trapped in one domain. While his past output has been guitar-based African folk, what he has been cooking is a departure of sorts. IzangoMa, the outfit he forms with partner in music, AshK, is liberational space science in sonic form – an African odyssey most rare.

“We are so excited to present IzangoMa, a 15-piece ensemble. It’s a continental collaboration kind of a thing. My band from Mozambique is coming down to collaborate with my band from here. It’s a beautiful glimpse of the future that lies ahead", says Sibusile.

Sibusile Xaba

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

2021
Into the Tradition
3

Madosini & Nduduzo Makhathini: On Indigenous Knowledge Systems

What started out as an attempt to have a conversation between two highly regarded musicians about indigenous knowledge systems, turned into a joyful exchange of ideas and lessons across generations. Moderated by the healer and creative powerhouse Makhosi Khanyisa, and featuring the doyenne of bow music, Madosini, alongside visionary composer Nduduzo Makhathini, this sit-down explores the storied tradition of the instrument, and links this to its functions within the greater society.

Busi Mhlongo mural

Busi Mhlongo mural

© Tseliso Monaheng

Madosini delves deep into her journey as a young woman, while Nduduzo offers his views regarding how stories like hers make the learning process bearable, even fun, because the students have a sense of history to attach to it – in contrast to Western instruments and modes of teaching which have no real, consequential value to most Africans beyond getting a good grade and passing the course. Makhathini’s experience in the academy – he heads the Music programme at the University of Fort Hare – along with Madosini’s passion for education are evident throughout. A thoroughly satisfying exchange, full of warmth and mutual respect between all those involved.

Interview Madosini & Makhathini

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

2021
Artistic Energy through Collaboration
4

Shane Cooper: On Creating New (Sonic) Sentences

Shane Cooper

Shane Cooper

Shane Cooper

© Tseliso Monaheng

On his latest creative output, the collaborative project Happenstance, composer and bassist Shane Cooper set out to create a “multi-layered series of sound books” which he then took to the studio and re-arranged. The idea was to create an environment where he could invite collaborators and “generate a whole bunch of music content based on some basic ideas, some basic sketches“, as a way to have musical discussions around different topics.

This part was facilitated through the intervention of the artist William Kentridge’s Centre for the Less Good Idea, where collaborators ranged from Bokani Dyer, a member of Shane’s band MABUTA, to vocalist Zoë Modiga, percussionist Gontse Makhene and drummer Jonno Sweetman.

“This particular live performance at the festival with the Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble draws on experiences from the Happenstance project; it draws on the parts of that experience and the parts of that journey that I found very inspiring and very mobilizing in terms of artistic energy,” says Shane.

“It’s very much about creating environments that are comfortable, with the right amount of danger and the right amount of – not discomfort, but the unknown.“
– Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 1 – STATIC

Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 2 – SKINS

Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 3 – TONGUES

Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 4 – ECOTONES

Shane Cooper

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

2021
Skyline Johannesburg

Tseliso Monaheng

– text, videos & photos

Tseliso Monaheng has been a freelance writer, photographer, videographer and video editor for the past 10 years. Based in Johannesburg, his writing has appeared in print and online, and he has contributed to publications worldwide such as The Guardian, The Fader, Red Bull, Chimurenga, Rolling Stone and Africa is a Country.

Blick auf die Skyline von Johannesburg

Blick auf die Skyline von Johannesburg

© Tseliso Monaheng

Inside the Scene: Johannesburg

Jozi – musikalische Spielwiese
1

Gefühl und Erfahrung zugleich

Johannesburg. Joburg. Jozi. Welchen Namen auch immer man dieser pulsierenden afrikanischen Metropole geben möchte und von welchem Standpunkt aus man sie auch betrachtet, man gelangt immer zur gleichen Erkenntnis: Johannesburg zu erleben, kann das Leben verändern – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes.

Schablonenkunst im Stadtviertel Maboneng

Schablonenkunst im Stadtviertel Maboneng

© Tseliso Monaheng

Für Musiker*innen, die in Johannesburg leben oder regelmäßig hier auftreten, ist die Stadt ein Paradies. Die Menschen kommen in Scharen zu den Konzerten und ihre Liebe zur Musik ist echt. Siya Makuzeni, die seit fast zwei Jahrzehnten in Johannesburg lebt, sagt: „Das ist wirklich etwas Schönes. Ich habe fast alle der unterschiedlichen kulturellen Bewegungen miterlebt, die in Johannesburg entstanden sind. Und das, was in meinen Augen dabei immer gleich geblieben ist [...], ist ihre völlige Authentizität.“

Sibusile Xaba, der in der 60 Kilometer entfernten Stadt Tshwane lebt, schließt sich dieser Meinung an: „Was Auftritte und die Möglichkeit, ein breites Publikum zu erreichen, angeht, ist Joburg unsere Spielwiese, unser New York eben. Wir kommen her, weil wir hier alle Möglichkeiten haben.“

Johannesburg ist Gefühl und Erfahrung zugleich, etwas das sich nur schwer in Worte fassen lässt. Es ist aber auch eine Stadt, die mit denselben Realitäten zu kämpfen hat wie Städte anderswo: Die Gentrifizierung trifft den Lebensnerv der Stadt – die Künstler*innen und Macher*innen – und verdrängt sie an die Peripherie, während die weit verbreitete Korruption es den lokalen Behörden schwermacht, die Grundversorgung aufrechtzuerhalten. Der Zustand der Straßen lässt viel zu wünschen übrig und Wasser sowie andere menschliche Grundbedürfnisse werden als zweitrangig behandelt. Hinzu kommt die COVID-19-Pandemie, die manchen Menschen das Überleben fast unmöglich macht und dazu geführt hat, dass bedeutende Veranstaltungsorte ihre Türen schließen mussten. Doch die Stadt atmet und die Stadt lebt. Und Musik ist immer dort, wo Worte fehlen, um die Lücken zu füllen.

Musikbogen-Spielerinnen

Musikbogen-Spielerinnen

© Tseliso Monaheng

2021
Auf und Ab
2

Siya Makuzeni & Sibusile Xaba: Über lokale Musikszenen

Siya Makuzeni

Siya Makuzeni

Siya Makuzeni

© Tseliso Monaheng

Die Posaunistin, Komponistin und Sängerin Siya Makuzeni wurde in East London geboren und lebt seit vielen Jahren in Johannesburg. Sie ist vor allem für ihre Arbeit mit Marcus Wyatt bekannt, doch sind ihre anderen Projekte nicht minder bedeutend. Sie wagt sich regelmäßig über die Grenzen des Jazz hinaus und betritt experimentelles Terrain, beispielsweise mit Projekten wie SPAZA von Mushroom Hour oder mit ihrer eigenen Rockband IppYFuzE. Im Vorfeld ihres Konzertes beim Jazzfest Berlin spricht die Musikerin über ihre Gefühle zur Johannesburger Musikszene und erzählt, was die Stadt ihr im Lauf der Jahre gegeben hat.

Siya Makuzeni wurde 2016 zur Standard Bank’s Young Artist for Jazz gekürt und veröffentlichte im selben Jahr ihr Projekt „Out Of This World“. Ihr jüngster Beitrag ist auf dem interkontinentalen Album „On Our Own Clock“ zu hören, das gemeinsam vom Johannesburger Label Mushroom Hour Half Hour und Londons Total Refreshment Centre veröffentlicht wurde.

Siya Makuzeni

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

„Diejenigen, die besondere, authentische Stimmen haben – für die ist jetzt ihre Zeit gekommen.“
– Siya Makuzeni

Sibusile Xaba

Sibusile Xaba

Sibusile Xaba

© Tseliso Monaheng

„Wir sind aus Zululand direkt nach Pretoria gekommen – das Land von Tshwane, eine sehr schöne Gegend“, sagt Sibusile Xaba. Als Farmer, Komponist und Sänger gehört er zu einer Generation, der es gelungen ist, ihre historischen Wurzeln anzuzapfen und darin Orientierung für die Zukunft zu finden. Sibusile Xaba ist keiner, der sich auf einen bestimmten Sound festlegen lässt. Während er in der Vergangenheit eher für gitarrenbasierten afrikanischen Folk stand, tüftelt er in letzter Zeit an einer Art Aufbruch. IzangoMa, das Ensemble, das er mit seinem musikalischen Partner AshK gegründet hat, betreibt freiheitliche Weltraumforschung in Klangform – eine seltene afrikanische Odyssee.

„Wir freuen uns sehr, das 15-köpfige Ensemble IzangoMa zu präsentieren. Es ist eine Art interkontinentale Zusammenarbeit. Meine Band aus Mosambik kommt her, um mit meiner Band vor Ort zu arbeiten. Das ist ein schöner Ausblick auf die vor uns liegende Zukunft“, sagt Sibusile Xaba.

Sibusile Xaba

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

2021
Tradition und Gegenwart
3

Madosini & Nduduzo Makhathini: Über indigene Wissenssysteme

Was als Gespräch über indigene Wissenssysteme zwischen zwei hoch angesehenen Musiker*innen beginnt, entwickelt sich zu einem angeregten, generationsübergreifenden Austausch von Ideen und Lektionen. Unter Anleitung des Heilers und kreativen Denkers Makhosi Khnysa diskutiert Madosini, eine Ikone am Musikbogen, gemeinsam mit dem visionären Komponisten und Pianisten Nduduzo Makhathini die geschichtsträchtige Tradition ihres Instruments und dessen Funktion in der Gesellschaft.

Wandgemälde von Busi Mhlongo

Wandgemälde von Busi Mhlongo

© Tseliso Monaheng

Madosini taucht dabei tief in ihre Erlebnisse als junge Frau ein, während Nduduzo Makhathini darlegt, weshalb Geschichten wie ihre seiner Meinung nach für den Lernprozess junger Menschen förderlich sein können, ja sogar Freude am Lernen bereiten, weil die Schüler*innen ihnen einen historischen Sinn beimessen – wohingegen westliche Lehrmethoden für viele Afrikaner*innen keinen wirklichen Wert haben, der über das Erreichen guter Noten und das Bestehen von Kursen hinausgeht. Makhathinis Erfahrung im akademischen Bereich – er leitet das Musikprogramm an der Universität von Fort Hare – und Madosinis Leidenschaft für Wissensvermittlung sind durchweg spürbar. Ein vielschichtiger Austausch, der von Wärme und gegenseitigem Respekt zwischen allen Beteiligten geprägt ist.

Interview Madosini & Makhathini

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

Im Anschluss an die diesjährige Festivalausgabe ist ein weiteres Gespräch über indigenes Wissen im Jazz und in der kreativen Musik Südafrikas entstanden. Die Musikerin Lungiswa Plaatjies war gemeinsam mit Madosini und Cara Stacey beim Jazzfest Berlin 2021 zu erleben. Ihre Gedanken und Erfahrungen zu diesem Thema tauscht sie mit der Expertin für indigene Musik Nandipha Mnyani und der Journalistin und traditionellen Heilerin Vuyiswa Xekatwane aus.

Video "Indigenous Knowledge Systems in Jazz and Creative Music"

2021
Kreative Energie und künstlerische Zusammenarbeit
4

Shane Cooper: Über neue musikalische Erzählungen

Shane Cooper

Shane Cooper

Shane Cooper

© Tseliso Monaheng

Für sein neuestes Kooperationsprojekt Happenstance erstellte der Komponist und Bassist Shane Cooper eine „vielschichtige Reihe von Klangbüchern“, die er dann im Studio neu arrangierte. Seine Idee bestand darin, eine Umgebung zu schaffen, in die er befreundete Musiker*innen einladen konnte, um „auf der Basis einiger Ideen und Skizzen eine Fülle an Musik“ zu erzeugen und musikalische Diskussionen zu verschiedenen Themen zu führen.

Dies wurde möglich dank der Unterstützung des Centre for the Less Good Idea des Künstlers William Kentridge, wo Shane Cooper so vielseitige Musiker*innen wie Bokani Dyer, ein Mitglied von seiner Band MABUTA, die Sängerin Zoë Modiga, den Perkussionisten Gontse Makhene sowie den Schlagzeuger Jonno Sweetman um sich versammelte.

„Die spezielle Live-Performance beim Jazzfest Berlin mit dem Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble stützt sich auf Erfahrungen aus dem Happenstance-Projekt; sie basiert auf Teilen dieser Erfahrung und dieser Reise, die ich in ihrer künstlerischen Energie als sehr inspirierend empfand“, erläutert Shane.

„Es geht darum, eine Umgebung zu schaffen, in der sich alle wohl fühlen, und die das richtige Maß an Gefahr ausstrahlt – und das richtige Maß an, nicht Unbehagen, aber Unbekanntem.“
– Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 1 – STATIC

Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 2 – SKINS

Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 3 – TONGUES

Shane Cooper
Shane Cooper: Happenstance

Episode 4 – ECOTONES

Shane Cooper

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

2021
Skyline Johannesburg

Tseliso Monaheng

– Text, Videos & Fotos

Tseliso Monaheng arbeitet seit 10 Jahren als freiberuflicher Schriftsteller, Fotograf, Filmemacher und Videoredakteur. Er lebt in Johannesburg, schreibt für Print- und Online-Medien und hat Beiträge für Publikationen wie The Guardian, The Fader, Red Bull, Chimurenga, Rolling Stone und Africa is a Country verfasst.