Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

© Cassimano

Inside the Scene: São Paulo

The Ears of the Metropolis
1

Peripheries and Public Spaces

The last decade has been an especially fruitful one for jazz and improvised music in São Paulo. The scene has been invigorated by projects that occupy public spaces and institutions that are willing to host the creation and performance of free music, as well as groups with the most diverse styles creating their own sounds, causing fissures in the hard concrete of social inequality by stimulating the ears of the metropolis. The traditional venues focused on the genre are still there, but it is in the movement that goes from the centre of the city to the periphery – and vice versa – that we see bold ideas of curatorship emerging.

Jazz na Kombi

A customised Volkswagen camper van parks in different places in the city of São Paulo and opens its doors to become a sound system that disseminates the musical research of its directors, creating space for concerts by jazz groups and other street artists. Jazz Na Kombi was born in February 2014 and has since organised independent jazz festivals with musicians from different generations, fulfilling a mission to put jazz on the road and make it more popular.

Jazz na Kombi

Jazz na Kombi – Átrio Jazz, Joy Salles

Jazz na Kombi – Átrio Jazz, Joy Salles

© Caru Laet

Jazz na Kombi – Fanta Konatê and Grupo Djembedon

Jazz na Kombi – Fanta Konatê and Grupo Djembedon

© Rodrigo Zaim – R.U.A Foto Coletivo

Jazz na Kombi – Loquazz

Jazz na Kombi – Loquazz

© Will Cavagnolli

Jazz na Kombi – Vinicius Chagas and Renato Alves

Jazz na Kombi – Vinicius Chagas and Renato Alves

© Caru Laet

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

© Cassimano

Jazz na Kombi – Chaiss na Mala

Jazz na Kombi – Chaiss na Mala

© Rodrigo Zaim – R.U.A Foto Coletivo

Many Brazils
2

São Paulo as a Cultural Hub

Like all of Brazil, São Paulo is a city of contrasts. Musically speaking, however, it is possible to distinguish it from other Brazilian regions in terms of its relationship with local and foreign culture. With a population of over 12 million people, São Paulo gathers together several countries, and, we could also say, many Brazils. The most striking features of its music come from outside – whether from immigration or other parts of the country – unlike cities like Rio de Janeiro, Salvador or Recife, where there are strong local traditions. Perhaps this is the main reason why the city is such a favourable territory for experimentation, as its musical identity is constantly being (re)created by culturally diverse artists.

A espetacular Charanga do França

Charanga do França is a carnival procession that drags thousands of people through the streets of the Santa Cecília neighbourhood of downtown São Paulo, playing well-known carnival songs, melodies influenced by African tradition and classical sambas, all in instrumental arrangements. It is led by the saxophonist Thiago França, who started his career playing jazz and choro.

A espetacular Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – The spectecular Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

The way these global influences connect and blend with regional styles and traditions is different each time, producing such disparate musical results as the driving, stylistically eclectic arrangements of Méta Méta and the free jazz-fuelled collages of Radio Diaspora, a duo formed by the drummer Wagner Ramos and the trumpeter Rômulo Alexis. When listening to the more than 10 albums released by the latter, we hear sound phrases that start as fast as accurate shots travelling along colourful lines and waves. Its themes are guided by references to the sounds of the African diaspora, as its name suggests, including deconstructing (or highlighting) elements that form the main rhythms of Brazilian music, such as samba and Black popular music. Radio Diaspora also features references well-known to the Black community by including samples of speeches or striking voices, such as those of Martin Luther King jr. and Muhammad Ali.

Rádio Diáspora

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

AFROJAM-SP

AFROJAM-SP is a musical project whose premise is the musical celebration and promotion of the prominence of independent black artists. At each edition, new artists are invited to introduce themselves and join one big session, transforming the meeting into an exchange of knowledge and experiences, seeking to build more egalitarian relationships and spaces.

AFROJAM-SP

AFROJAM-SP – 5 Edition

AFROJAM-SP – 5 Edition

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Ballet Afro Koteban

AFROJAM-SP – Ballet Afro Koteban

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Funmilayo Afrobeat Orquestra

AFROJAM-SP – Funmilayo Afrobeat Orquestra

AFROJAM-SP – Hever Alvz, Spike and Taylan Vargas

AFROJAM-SP – Hever Alvz, Spike and Taylan Vargas

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Paulinho Preto, Pedro Vagão, Julio Lino, Matheus Cassimiro and Melifona

AFROJAM-SP – Paulinho Preto, Pedro Vagão, Julio Lino, Matheus Cassimiro and Melifona

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Pedro Vagão, Renata and Naaya Lelis

AFROJAM-SP – Pedro Vagão, Renata and Naaya Lelis

© Sérgio Fernandes

Beyond Genres
3

Popular Culture Meets Avant-Garde

In the intersection between genres and languages, São Paulo’s urban scene has also served as a breeding ground for unruly musical movements such as the so-called Vanguarda Paulista, fraying the limits of the song format, so familiar to Brazilian culture, since the 1980s. Artists such as Arrigo Barnabé, Itamar Assumpção, and the sisters Tetê and Alzira Espíndola have explored the creative possibilities of the genre, incorporating influences as diverse as serialism and comic books among traditions of African origin such as “batuque de umbigada”.

Years before, in different ways, other artists had similar experiences, such as Walter Franco, who incorporated concrete poetry, and Tom Zé, an artist from Bahia who lives in São Paulo and who was one of the precursors of the Tropcália movement. They opened paths for names from newer generations, with whom some of them actually maintain artistic partnerships, as is the case with Arrigo Barnabê and the musicians of Quartabê, most of which once were members of his large ensemble.

74 CLUB

On the edges of the immense São Paulo, there is a region known as ABC Paulista, that is made up of seven cities. One of these is Santo André, where several influential musicians in the current regional and national scene came from. One of the places where you can find these musicians is the 74 Club, which hosts everything from experimental jazz to punk and hardcore bands.

74 CLUB

74 Club – Fábrica de Animais

74 Club – Fábrica de Animais

© fZerbini

74 Club – Giallos

74 Club – Giallos

© fZerbini

74 Club – Nomade Orquestra

74 Club – Nomade Orquestra

© fZerbini

74 Club – Otis Trio

74 Club – Otis Trio

© fZerbini

74 Club – Projeto Nave

74 Club – Projeto Nave

© fZerbini

Another contemporary representative of this (anti-)tradition is Negro Leo. With a vast musical oeuvre, his compositions move fluidly through different genres, bringing to the surface the intense combination of lyrics and melody that characterises the craft of Brazilian popular song, while becoming tangled in threads of rhythmic deconstruction, travelling through sound textures and playing with improvisations. His sounds and lyrics are at times provocative, at times amusing. With a keen sense of understanding and criticism of the reality around him, expressed in a crude and sometimes mocking way, he is able to broadly address society’s structural deficits while also targeting specific issues, in a kind of sociological zoom out and anthropological zoom in.

Negro Leo

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

Embracing the Musical Heritage
4

Re-Inventing Tradition – Experimentalism & Improvisation

The laboratory-like character of São Paulo’s creative music scene also becomes manifest in the growing interest in improvisation, especially free improvisation, that has been gaining ground over the last decade with new artists, organisers, producers, labels, websites and multidisciplinary alternative spaces – and with large festivals such as Sesc Jazz and Nublu Jazz Festival alongside independent initiatives happening around the city.

Sesc Jazz Festival

Pompeia Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

Pompeia Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

© Taba Benedicto

Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

© Taba Benedicto

Dee Dee Bridgewater

Dee Dee Bridgewater

© Alexandre Nunis

Jazz na Fab – Archie Shepp

Jazz na Fab – Archie Shepp

© Tatit Brandao

Terri Lyne Carrington

Terri Lyne Carrington

© Pedro Abude

Again, what makes the local scene unique is how the free improvisation movement is rooted in a broad range of styles and musical contexts and, rather than turning a blind eye to tradition in an elitist gesture of emancipation, how it embraces the musical heritage of both the city and the rural regions that surround it. Musicians such as Juçara Marçal and Thiago França from Metá Metá and Mauricio Takara from São Paulo Underground appear in a variety of musical projects within the scene, representing both traditional aspects of urban musical culture and regional styles as well as highly experimental settings and free improvisation.

2021

Leviatã

Leviatã is a publisher and cultural centre sited in downtown São Paulo. It opened in March 2018, when it first began developing its own events and editorial projects in collaboration with contemporary artists from Brazil and other countries around sound, visual, body and textual art, unfolding in video performances, audiovisual albums, films, videoclips, music albums, documentaries and articles, available through the publisher’s digital platforms.

Leviatã

Leviatã – Projection by Felipe Texeira

Leviatã – Projection by Felipe Texeira

© Iago Mati

Leviatã – Retrigger

Leviatã – Retrigger

© Iago Mati

Leviatã – Thomas Rohrer, Kiko Dinucci, Rodrigo Campos and Juçara Marçal

Leviatã – Thomas Rohrer, Kiko Dinucci, Rodrigo Campos and Juçara Marçal

© Allis Bezerra

Leviatã – Romulo Alexis

Leviatã – Romulo Alexis

© Iago Mati

Leviatã – Ut So by Thiago Salas

Leviatã – Ut So by Thiago Salas

© Iago Mati

This special relationship between experimentation and tradition has been documented in a yet-to-be released film project by Luan Cardoso, focusing on the ongoing collaboration between experimental violinist Thomas Rohrer and folklorist Nelson da Rabeca, a local legend in building and playing traditional fiddles, along with other musicians in the project Tradição Improvisada. The director has agreed to provide an exclusive preview of the film for Jazzfest Berlin.

The fiddle arrived in Brazil with the colonisers and today it is associated with traditional popular culture, especially in the north east of the country. Its sound is always characterized as harsh, but it also has a strident voice, typical of the voices of singers who sang work songs or of the troubadours who sang of daily life indoors. In “Tradição Improvisada” [improvised tradition], this world of a deep Brazil, represented by Nelson da Rabeca and his wife Benedita, from Alagoas, encounters experiments with free improvisation by Thomas Rohrer, a Swiss musician based in São Paulo.

The result expands the scope for creativity and – in keeping with the project’s name – establishes a dialogue between two traditions with completely different temporalities, where the melody is often invented as it is played, but influenced by Brazilian rhythms like xaxado, and the performance is less concerned with any kind of rhythmic pattern but focused on timbres, following on from free jazz and European schools of improvisation. It was in São Paulo that this combination materialised in an album, released by Selo Sesc in 2018.

Tradição Improvisada

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

A different but similarly striking example of traditional craftsmanship merging with experimental aesthetics in Brazilian music can be seen in a practice that the São Paulo-based luthier Cadós Sanches has turned into an art form of its own: the use of self-built instruments. Sanches’ musical work is a poetic practice that highlights how sound processes are composed in layers and project themselves openly. As an experimental instrument builder, he plays with the forms of traditional instruments and turns many other objects, sometimes considered waste, trinkets and artefacts, into devices for composition and the exploration of timbres. His fluid artistry tempts the eyes to listen and the ears to see, redirecting sensory experience.

Cadós Sanchez

Please click on the CC button in the player to select the subtitles.

Text written by:

Pérola Mathias

Pérola Mathias holds a PhD in Sociology, researching contemporary Brazilian music, and works as an independent music journalist. In 2015, she created a blog named Poro Aberto, which later became a programme on antenAZero online radio, and for which she curated shows between 2019 and early 2020. Pérola has a monthly column in A Palavra Solta magazine and publishes weekly on @resenhasmiudas, an Instagram magazine. She also writes and presents a podcast for São Paulo Municipal Department of Culture.

Manoela Wright

Cultural agent, curator, researcher and artistic manager Manoela Wright is the Artistic Director and curator of CHIII – Creative Music Festival. She founded Uirapuru Produtora in 2012 in São Paulo, Brazil. Uirapuru Produtora works in artistic management, booking shows in Brazil and abroad, and the conception and realisation of projects focused on experimental music. She has toured Brazilian artists to Latin America, Europe and Asia as well as presenting European, North American and Latin artists in Brazil.

Juliano Gentile

Juliano Gentile is a musician and curator. He is a guitarist and a composer with the band Berberes. He is also part of the duo César & Juliano, where he has worked on interdisciplinary projects. As a curator, Juliano has worked with institutions such as the Centro Cultural São Paulo, one of the largest cultural centres in Latin America, where he has co-ordinated a series of concerts and workshops about improvisation. He is currently one of the music curators at both the CHIII – Creative Music Festival and the Instituto Moreira Salles (IMS).

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

© Cassimano

Inside the Scene: São Paulo

Die Antennen der Metropole
1

Peripherien und öffentlicher Raum

Das letzte Jahrzehnt war für Jazz und improvisierte Musik in São Paulo ein besonders fruchtbares. Die Szene wurde von Projekten bereichert, die die Musik in den öffentlichen Raum tragen, und von Institutionen, deren Säle für die Produktion und Darbietung freier Musik gleichermaßen offen stehen wie für Gruppen unterschiedlichster Stilrichtungen, die mit ihrem originellen Sound das Trommelfell der Metropole kitzeln und Risse im harten Asphalt der sozialen Ungleichheit entstehen lassen. Die traditionellen Jazz-Venues gibt es noch immer. Doch echte kuratorische Wagnisse gehen zunehmend von einer Bewegung aus, die vom Stadtzentrum in die Peripherie führt – und umgekehrt.

JAZZ NA KOMBI

Ein ausgebauter Volkswagen Kombi parkt an verschiedenen Orten im Stadtgebiet São Paulos und öffnet seine Türen, um sich in ein mobiles Soundsystem für Live-Konzerte von Jazzbands und anderen künstlerischen Ensembles im öffentlichen Raum zu verwandeln. Jazz na Kombi wurde im Februar 2014 ins Leben gerufen und organisiert seitdem unabhängige Konzerte mit Musiker*innen aus verschiedenen Generationen, um Jazz auf die Straße zu bringen und populärer zu machen.

Jazz na Kombi

Jazz na Kombi – Átrio Jazz, Joy Salles

Jazz na Kombi – Átrio Jazz, Joy Salles

© Caru Laet

Jazz na Kombi – Fanta Konatê und Grupo Djembedon

Jazz na Kombi – Fanta Konatê und Grupo Djembedon

© Rodrigo Zaim – R.U.A Foto Coletivo

Jazz na Kombi – Loquazz

Jazz na Kombi – Loquazz

© Will Cavagnolli

Jazz na Kombi – Vinicius Chagas und Renato Alves

Jazz na Kombi – Vinicius Chagas und Renato Alves

© Caru Laet

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

Jazz na Kombi – Praça Roosevelt

© Cassimano

Jazz na Kombi – Chaiss na Mala

Jazz na Kombi – Chaiss na Mala

© Rodrigo Zaim – R.U.A Foto Coletivo

Viele Brasiliens
2

São Paulo als kultureller Hotspot

Wie Brasilien insgesamt ist auch São Paulo eine Stadt der Gegensätze. In musikalischer Hinsicht unterscheidet sie sich jedoch von anderen brasilianischen Regionen hinsichtlich ihres Verhältnisses von einheimischer und ausländischer Kultur. Mit über 12 Millionen Einwohner*innen vereint São Paulo eine Vielzahl an Nationalitäten und – so könnte man sagen – auch „viele Brasiliens“. Im Gegensatz zu Städten wie Rio de Janeiro, Salvador oder Recife, wo es starke lokale Traditionen gibt, kommen die auffälligsten Charakteristika der Musik hier von außerhalb – sei es durch Einwanderung oder aus anderen Teilen des Landes. Vielleicht ist dies der entscheidende Grund, weshalb die Stadt ein so günstiges Terrain für Experimente bietet: weil ihre musikalische Identität durch kulturell diverse Künstler*innen ständig (neu) geschaffen wird.

A espetacular Charanga do França

Charanga do França ist ein dem Karneval gewidmeter Umzug, bei dem Tausende von Menschen durch die Straßen des Viertels Santa Cecília in der Innenstadt von São Paulo ziehen und bekannte Karnevalslieder, von afrikanischer Tradition beeinflusste Melodien und klassische Sambas spielen – alles rein instrumental und angeführt von dem Saxofonisten Thiago França, dessen musikalische Karriere mit Jazz und Choro begann.

A espetacular Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

Santa Cecilia – Der spektakuläre Bloco da Charanga do França

© Alexandre Pereira

Die Art und Weise, wie sich diese globalen Einflüsse mit regionalen Stilen und Traditionen verbinden und mischen, gestaltet sich jedes Mal neu und führt zu so unterschiedlichen musikalischen Ergebnissen wie den treibenden, eklektischen Arrangements von Metá Metá und den Free Jazz-inspirierten Collagen des Duos Radio Diaspora, das sich aus dem Schlagzeuger Wagner Ramos und dem Trompeter Rômulo Alexis zusammensetzt. Auf den mehr als zehn Alben des Duos hört man musikalische Phrasen, die wie präzise Schüsse starten, um sich dann entlang bunter Linien und Wellen zu entfalten. Wie der Name schon sagt, ist die Musik von Verweisen auf die Klänge der afrikanischen Diaspora geprägt, einschließlich der Dekonstruktion – oder Hervorhebung – dessen, was etwa im Samba oder in der Schwarzen Popmusik die wichtigsten Rhythmen der brasilianischen Musik prägt. Mit Samples von Reden oder markanten Stimmen wie der von Martin Luther King oder Muhammad Ali stellt Radio Diaspora auch Bezüge zum kollektiven Gedächtnis der afroamerikanischen Community her.

Rádio Diáspora

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

AFROJAM-SP

AFROJAM-SP ist ein Musikprojekt, das sich die Verbreitung der Musik und Förderung der Bekanntheit unabhängiger schwarzer Künstler*innen zur Aufgabe gemacht hat. Bei jeder Ausgabe werden neue Künstler*innen eingeladen, sich vorzustellen und an einer großen gemeinsamen Session teilzunehmen, um das Treffen zu einem Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrungen zu erweitern und gleichberechtigtere Beziehungen und Räume zu schaffen.

AFROJAM-SP

AFROJAM-SP – 5 Edition

AFROJAM-SP – 5 Edition

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Ballet Afro Koteban

AFROJAM-SP – Ballet Afro Koteban

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Funmilayo Afrobeat Orquestra

AFROJAM-SP – Funmilayo Afrobeat Orquestra

AFROJAM-SP – Hever Alvz, Spike und Taylan Vargas

AFROJAM-SP – Hever Alvz, Spike und Taylan Vargas

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Paulinho Preto, Pedro Vagão, Julio Lino, Matheus Cassimiro und Melifona

AFROJAM-SP – Paulinho Preto, Pedro Vagão, Julio Lino, Matheus Cassimiro und Melifona

© Sérgio Fernandes

AFROJAM-SP – Pedro Vagão, Renata und Naaya Lelis

AFROJAM-SP – Pedro Vagão, Renata und Naaya Lelis

© Sérgio Fernandes

Jenseits von Genregrenzen
3

Popkultur trifft Avantgarde

An den Schnittstellen von Sprachen und Genres hat sich die urbane Szene São Paulos als fruchtbarer Nährboden für so widerspenstige musikalische Bewegungen wie die Vanguarda Paulista erwiesen, die seit den 1980er-Jahren die Grenzen der für die brasilianische Kultur so bedeutsamen Liedform immer wieder neu auslotet. Künstler*innen wie Arrigo Barnabé, Itamar Assumpção und die Schwestern Tetê und Alzira Espíndola haben die kreativen Möglichkeiten des Genres erforscht und dabei so unterschiedliche Einflüsse wie den Serialismus und die Comic-Buchkultur mit Traditionen afrikanischen Ursprungs wie dem batuque de umbigada verbunden.

Jahre zuvor hatten andere Künstler*innen auf unterschiedliche Weise ähnliche Erfahrungen gemacht, darunter Walter Franco, der konkrete Poesie in seine Musik einbezog, und Tom Zé, der zwar aus Bahia stammt aber in São Paulo lebt und einer der Vorreiter der Tropcália-Bewegung war. Sie ebneten den Weg für Vertreter*innen jüngerer Generationen, mit denen einige von ihnen auch künstlerische Partnerschaften pflegen, wie im Fall von Arrigo Barnabê und den Musiker*innen von Quartabê, von denen die meisten einst Mitglieder seines Ensembles waren.

74 Club

Am Rande des riesigen Stadtgebiets von São Paulo gibt es eine Region, die als ABC Paulista bekannt ist und heute aus sieben Städten besteht. Eine davon ist Santo André, wo mehrere Musiker*innen herkommen, die heute die regionale und nationale Szene prägen. Einer der Orte, an denen diese Musiker*innen anzutreffen sind, ist der 74 Club, wo von experimentellem Jazz bis Punk- und Hardcore-Bands alles vertreten ist.

74 CLUB

74 Club – Fábrica de Animais

74 Club – Fábrica de Animais

© fZerbini

74 Club – Giallos

74 Club – Giallos

© fZerbini

74 Club – Nomade Orquestra

74 Club – Nomade Orquestra

© fZerbini

74 Club – Otis Trio

74 Club – Otis Trio

© fZerbini

74 Club – Projeto Nave

74 Club – Projeto Nave

© fZerbini

Ein weiterer zeitgenössischer Vertreter dieser (Anti-)Tradition ist Negro Leo. Die Kompositionen seines umfangreichen musikalischen Oeuvres bewegen sich fließend durch verschiedene Genres und bringen das präzise Zusammenspiel von Text und Melodie, das für das Handwerk des brasilianischen Volkslieds charakteristisch ist, an die Oberfläche. Zugleich verstricken sie sich in Fäden der rhythmischen Dekonstruktion, verweben unterschiedliche Klangtexturen und spielen mit Improvisationen. Musik und Text sind mal provokant, mal amüsant. Mit einem ausgeprägten Verständnis und kritischen Blick auf die ihn umgebende Realität bringt er die strukturellen Defizite der Gesellschaft im Großen und Ganzen zum Ausdruck – teils auf krude und teilweise auf spöttische Weise. In einer Art soziologischem Zoom-out und anthropologischem Zoom-in spricht er dabei konkrete Problemstellungen an.

Negro Leo

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

Neuer Umgang mit dem musikalischen Erbe
4

Tradition neu denken – Experiment & Improvisation

Der Laborcharakter der kreativen Musikszene São Paulos zeigt sich auch im wachsenden Interesse an Improvisation, insbesondere an der freien Improvisation, die in den letzten zehn Jahren mit neuen Künstler*innen, Veranstalter*innen, Produzent*inneen, Labels, Websites und multidisziplinären, unabhängigen Räumen an Boden gewonnen hat – und ebenso in großen Festivals wie dem Sesc Jazz und dem Nublu Jazz Festival vertreten ist.

Sesc Jazz Festival

Pompeia Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

Pompeia Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

© Taba Benedicto

Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

Abert Sesc Jazz do Sun Ra Arkestra

© Taba Benedicto

Dee Dee Bridgewater

Dee Dee Bridgewater

© Alexandre Nunis

Jazz na Fab – Archie Shepp

Jazz na Fab – Archie Shepp

© Tatit Brandao

Terri Lyne Carrington

Terri Lyne Carrington

© Pedro Abude

Was die lokale Szene wiederum einzigartig macht, ist die Tatsache, dass die Bewegung der freien Improvisation hier in einem breiten Spektrum von Stilen und musikalischen Kontexten verwurzelt ist. Statt in einer elitären Geste der Emanzipation die Augen vor der Tradition zu verschließen, bezieht sie das musikalische Erbe sowohl der Stadt als auch der umliegenden ländlichen Regionen mit ein. Musiker*innen wie Juçara Marçal und Thiago França von Metá Metá und Mauricio Takara von São Paulo Underground sind in ganz verschiedene musikalische Projekte und Szenen innerhalb der Szene involviert und repräsentieren sowohl traditionelle Aspekte der urbanen Musikkultur und regionale Stile als auch hochgradig experimentelle Ansätze und freie Improvisation.

2021

Leviatã

Leviatã ist ein Verlag und Kulturzentrum in der Innenstadt von São Paulo. Seit März 2018 werden dort eigene Veranstaltungen und redaktionelle Projekte in Zusammenarbeit mit zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen aus Brasilien und anderen Ländern rund um Klang-, Bild-, Körper- und Textkunst entwickelt, die sich in Videoperformances, audiovisuellen Arbeiten, Filmen, Videoclips, Musikalben, Dokumentationen und Artikeln entfalten und auf den digitalen Plattformen des Verlags verfügbar sind.

Leviatã

Leviatã – Projektion von Felipe Texeira

Leviatã – Projektion von Felipe Texeira

© Iago Mati

Leviatã – Retrigger

Leviatã – Retrigger

© Iago Mati

Leviatã – Thomas Rohrer, Kiko Dinucci, Rodrigo Campos und Juçara Marçal

Leviatã – Thomas Rohrer, Kiko Dinucci, Rodrigo Campos und Juçara Marçal

© Allis Bezerra

Leviatã – Romulo Alexis

Leviatã – Romulo Alexis

© Iago Mati

Leviatã – Ut So by Thiago Salas

Leviatã – Ut So by Thiago Salas

© Iago Mati

Ein eindrucksvolles Beispiel für dieses spezifische Verhältnis von Experiment und Tradition wurde in einem noch unveröffentlichten Filmprojekt von Luan Cardoso dokumentiert. Es konzentriert sich auf die unter dem Titel Tradição Improvisada laufende Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem experimentellen Geiger Thomas Rohrer und dem Folkloristen Nelson da Rabeca, einer lokalen Legende im Bau und Spiel einer traditionellen Geigenart, sowie anderen Musiker*innen. Der Regisseur hat sich bereit erklärt, für das Jazzfest Berlin eine exklusive Vorschau auf den Film zu geben.

Die Geige kam mit den Kolonisatoren nach Brasilien und ist heute vor allem im Nordosten des Landes mit der traditionellen Volkskultur verbunden. Ihr Klang wird immer als rau charakterisiert, aber sie hat auch eine schrille Stimme, die den Stimmen früherer Sänger*innen von Arbeitsliedern ähnelt, oder denen der Troubadoure, die vom täglichen Leben sangen. In Tradição Improvisada trifft diese Welt eines ‚tiefen‘ Brasiliens, repräsentiert durch Nelson da Rabeca und seine Frau Benedita aus Alagoas, auf die Experimente mit freier Improvisation von Thomas Rohrer, einem in São Paulo lebenden Schweizer Musiker.

Das Ergebnis erweitert den kreativen Spielraum und stellt – ganz im Sinne des Projektnamens – einen Dialog zwischen zwei zeitlich völlig unterschiedlichen Traditionen her. Dabei wird die Melodie oft erst während des Spielens erfunden, aber von brasilianischen Rhythmen wie dem Xaxado beeinflusst, und die Aufführungen orientieren sich weniger an rhythmischen Mustern als vielmehr an Klangfarben – in Anlehnung an den Free Jazz und europäische Improvisationsschulen. In São Paulo mündete diese Zusammenarbeit in einem Album, das 2018 bei Selo Sesc erschien.

Tradição Improvisada

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

Ein weiteres Beispiel für die Verschmelzung traditioneller Handwerkskunst mit experimenteller Ästhetik in der brasilianischen Musik ist in einer Praxis zu sehen, die auch der in São Paulo ansässige Geigenbauer Cadós Sanches zu einer eigenen Kunstform erhoben hat: die Verwendung von selbstgebauten Instrumenten. Sanches’ musikalische Arbeit ist poetische Praxis. Sie verdeutlicht, wie sich Klangprozesse in Schichten bilden und offenlegen lassen. Als experimenteller Instrumentenbauer spielt er mit den Formen traditioneller Instrumente und verwandelt Objekte, in denen andere Abfall, Schmuckstücke oder sonstige Artefakte sehen würden, in Geräte zur Komposition und Erforschung von Klangfarben. Seine virtuose Kunstfertigkeit verführt die Augen zum Hören und die Ohren zum Sehen und lenkt die Sinneserfahrung in neue Bahnen.

Cadós Sanchez

Klicken Sie auf den CC-Button im Player, um die Untertitel einzublenden.

Pérola Mathias

Pérola Mathias hat einen Doktortitel in Soziologie und arbeitet als freie Musikjournalistin. Im Jahr 2015 gründete sie den Blog Poro Aberto, der auch in das Programm des Online-Radio-Senders Antena Zero aufgenommen wurde, für das sie zwischen 2019 und Anfang 2020 Sendungen kuratierte. Pérola hat eine monatliche Kolumne in der Zeitschrift A Palavra Solta und veröffentlicht wöchentlich in @resenhasmiudas, einem Instagram-Magazin. Außerdem macht sie einen Podcast für die Kulturabteilung der Stadt São Paulo.

Manoela Wright

Die Kuratorin und Booking Agentin Manoela Wright ist künstlerische Leiterin des CHIII - Creative Music Festival. 2012 gründete sie die Agentur Uirapuru Produtora in São Paulo, die in den Bereichen Management und Booking sowie Konzeption und Realisierung von Projekten mit einem Schwerpunkt auf experimenteller Musik arbeitet. Sie organisierte Konzerte mit brasilianischen Künstler*innen in Lateinamerika, Europa und Asien sowie mit europäischen, nordamerikanischen und lateinamerikanischen Künstler*innen in Brasilien.

Juliano Gentile

Juliano Gentile ist Musiker und Kurator. Er ist Gitarrist und Komponist in der Band Berberes sowie Teil des Duos César & Juliano, mit dem er in interdisziplinären Projekten arbeitet. Als Kurator hat Juliano mit Institutionen wie dem Centro Cultural São Paulo, einem der größten Kulturzentren Lateinamerikas, zusammengearbeitet, wo er eine Reihe von Konzerten und Workshops zum Thema Improvisation koordiniert hat. Derzeit ist er einer der Musikkuratoren des CHIII – Creative Music Festivals und des Instituto Moreira Salles (IMS).