Programme 2018

Specials

10 acts – 5 stages – 7 hours programme

New cooperation projects and innovative formats, performances and installations will allow Jazzfest Berlin to leave the concert hall behind. The festival’s Specials will populate the “Haus of Jazz”, inviting guests to exchange and contemplation. They will bring different art forms to the Festspielhaus and carry the festival outside its walls and into the city.

New cooperation projects and innovative formats, performances and installations will allow Jazzfest Berlin to leave the concert hall behind. The festival’s Specials will populate the “Haus of Jazz”, inviting guests to exchange and contemplation. They will bring different art forms to the Festspielhaus and carry the festival outside its walls and into the city. Two works have emerged from a cooperation project with the Cologne Academy for Media Arts: Lia Sáile’s installation “Trans Lucent” will let the Festspielhaus shine with a new light from within, while Charlotte Triebus and her performance “Lunatic Cloud Ten” will find the way out of the building. In addition, the house will take on a new shape through the projection of visuals and moving images by Juno Meinecke and others on the glass facade. For the performance “Future- Leaks: Trading Point for Future Visions”, people with a common refugee-background will invite us to join them in asking questions to the future as part of Berlin Mondiale. A “Mash Machine” and a workshop from the “Parallel Worlds”-series on Saturday will give young festival guests an opportunity to use digital consoles to get an insight into the principles of musical improvisation and to try them out via app at the interactive family concert by Tin Men and the Telephone.

Sunday morning will be a time for different realms of experience: Special guided tours through a current exhibition of Arthur Jafa at the Julia Stoschek Collection Berlin will build a bridge to the work of this filmmaker and artist. For the “Kiezkonzerte”, Jazzfest Berlin is taking musical occupation of a living room, a hair salon and a gallery, only to follow this by bringing peace and quiet to the Festspielhaus for the “Silence Meal”, confronting culinary delights with an audio experience with a difference.

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Thursday, 1 November 2018

Friday, 2 November 2018

Saturday, 3 November 2018

Sunday, 4 November 2018

Programm 2018

Specials

Mit neuen Kooperationen und innovativen Formaten, Performances und Installationen lässt das Jazzfest Berlin den Konzertsaal hinter sich und wirft den Blick über den musikalischen Tellerrand. Die Specials bevölkern das „Haus of Jazz“ und laden ein zu Austausch und Kontemplation. Sie bringen verschiedene Kunstformen in das Festspielhaus und tragen das Festival hinaus in die Stadt.

Mit neuen Kooperationen und innovativen Formaten, Performances und Installationen lässt das Jazzfest Berlin den Konzertsaal hinter sich und wirft den Blick über den musikalischen Tellerrand. Die Specials bevölkern das „Haus of Jazz“ und laden ein zu Austausch und Kontemplation. Sie bringen verschiedene Kunstformen in das Festspielhaus und tragen das Festival hinaus in die Stadt. Gleich zwei künstlerische Arbeiten gehen aus einer Kooperation mit der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln hervor: Lia Sáiles Installation „Trans Lucent“ lässt das Festspielhaus von innen heraus in neuem Licht erstrahlen, während Charlotte Triebus mit ihrer Performance „Lunatic Cloud Ten“ den Weg ins Freie sucht. Außerdem nimmt das Haus durch die Bespielung der gläsernen Front mit Projektionen von Visuals und Bewegtbildern u. a. von Juno Meinecke neue Gestalt an. Bei der Performance „FutureLeaks: Umschlagplatz der Visionen“ laden Menschen mit Fluchterfahrung im Rahmen der Berlin Mondiale dazu ein, gemeinsam Fragen an die Zukunft zu stellen. Eine „Mash Machine“ und ein Workshop am Samstag aus der Reihe Parallelwelten bieten jungen Festivalgästen die Möglichkeit, an digitalen Konsolen spielerisch Einblicke in die Prinzipien der musikalischen Improvisation zu erlangen, welche anschließend beim interaktiven Familienkonzert mit Tin Men and the Telephone per App in der Praxis erprobt werden können.

Der Sonntagvormittag steht im Zeichen anderer Erfahrungsräume: Eine Brücke zum Werk des Filmemachers und Künstlers Arthur Jafa schlagen die Sonderführungen durch dessen aktuelle Ausstellung in der Julia Stoschek Collection Berlin. Mit den „Kiezkonzerten“ hält das Jazzfest Berlin musikalischen Einzug in ein Wohnzimmer, einen Friseursalon und eine Galerie rund um den Fasanenplatz, um anschließend beim „Silence Meal“ auch mal Stille ins Festspielhaus einkehren zu lassen und kulinarischen Hochgenuss mit einer Hörerfahrung der anderen Art zu konfrontieren.

Mittwoch, 1.11.2017

Donnerstag, 1.11.2018

Freitag, 2.11.2018

Samstag, 3.11.2018

Sonntag, 4.11.2018