Programme Preview 2019

Berliner Festspiele will launch the Jazzfest Berlin 2019 on 31 October with a transatlantic cooperation – the third performance worldwide of Anthony Braxton’s “Sonic Genome”. With this project, artistic director Nadin Deventer continues the festival’s orientation with international encounters and interdisciplinary border crossings. Until 3 November, around 200 musicians from 15 countries will perform in a wide range of formations over four festival days. The programme will include 28 musical acts and an accompanying programme focusing on the work and impact of Anthony Braxton.

The advance ticket sale for “Sonic Genome” already started. Advance ticket sales for the complete festival programme (published on 3 September) will begin on 10 September.

“Sonic Genome” by US-American composer and multi-instrumentalist Anthony Braxton recurs to his integrating system of “Ghost Trance Music”. It allows 60 musicians to draw from up to 450 of his compositions in a continuous, six-hour performance. Over the course of the performance, the 60 artists will congregate as large, conducted ensembles, fracture into groups of four to twelve musicians and perpetually form new communities while moving freely – like the visitors – through the premises of Gropius Bau. The opening night will give the opportunity to immerse oneself in Braxton’s œuvre and to experience contemporary art in Berliner Festspiele’s exhibition venue.

Thursday, 31 October 2019

Once again, the festival’s main venue – Haus der Berliner Festspiele – will undergo a redesign. The classic theatre set-up of the Main Stage will be transformed into a flexible performance area, surrounded by the audience on three sides. Late on Friday nights, three trios led by Anja Lauvdal, Petter Eldh and Lukas König will share this space for the first of two Late Night Labs, a new format at Jazzfest Berlin 2019. On Saturday night, the same venue will see an encounter of 14 renowned improvisation artists from Europe, the USA and Brazil, including Mette Rasmussen, Julien Desprez, Susana Santos Silva, Guilherme Granado, Lotte Anker and Rob Mazurek, in an interdisciplinary performance. The musicians are entirely free in their use of the time and space in the 100 minutes at their disposal, and the protagonists of both encounters will develop the music together in the run-up to the events. New elements will emerge from reinterpretations of their repertoires in constantly shifting combinations and merge them into an integrated dramaturgy.

The commissioned work “Mass of Hyphae” by the 13-strong KIM Collective promises to be another festival highlight. With a sound installation, this collective from Berlin will leave the “UN(TER)ORT” it created in the previous year to spread across the foyer like a rhizome over the course of the festival, cumulating in a “Fungus Opera” performed on the Main Stage on the final night.

Saxophonist Mia Dyberg will be this year’s Berlin representative in the extraordinary line-up of the prestigious European cooperation project melting pot. Following concerts in Saalfelden and Oslo, they will perform at A-Trane in Berlin.

The concerts of the 2019 Jazzfest Berlin will be recorded by ARD and Deutschlandfunk Kultur, some of them to be broadcast LIVE.

Late Night Lab 1 (creation):
Kaos Puls: Petter Eldh, bass | Lukas König, drums | Otis Sandsjö, sax
Mopcut (German premiere): Julien Desprez, e-guitar | Lukas König, drums | Audrey Chen, vocals, electronics, cello
Moskus (German premiere): Anja Lauvdal, piano, synth| Fredrik Luhr Dietrichson, double bass | Hans Hulbækmo, drums

Late Night Lab 2 (creation):
T(r)opic (German premiere): Susana Santos Silva, trumpet | Mette Rasmussen, sax | Isabel Sorling, vocals, electronics | Lotte Anker, sax | Mauricio Takara, e-percussions | Gerald Cleaver, drums | Ingebrigt Haker Flaten, bass | Rob Mazurek, trumpet, cornet, electronics | Julien Desprez, e-guitar | Mathieu Constans, 3D video maker, light designer
São Paolo Underground: Mauricio Takara, e-percussions | Guilherme Granado, keys, electronics | Rob Mazurek, trumpet, cornet
COCO (German premiere): Julien Desprez, e-guitar | Julien Loutelier, percussion | Pauline Simon, Dance, performance | Ana Rita Teodoro, dance, performance

Garden of Hyphae / The Mass Of Hyphae - a KIM Collective fungus opera (creation):
KIM Collective: Max Andrzejewski | Paul Berberich | Brad Henkel | Simon Kanzler | Liz Kosack | Raphael Meinhart | Dora Osterloh | Julia Reidy | Otis Sandsjo | Max Santner | Elias Stemeseder | Dan Peter Sundland | Laura Winkler
Georg Schütky, stage director | Jonas Hinz, sound design

Melting pot (creation): Mia Dyberg, sax | Signe Emmeluth, sax | Kobe Boon, bass | Zbigniew Kozera, bass | Katharina Ernst, drums
Partner Melting Pot: Jazztopad, Breslau; Handelsbeurs, Gent; Nasjonal Jazzscene Victoria, Oslo; International Jazzfestival Saalfelden

Programmvorschau 2019

Die Berliner Festspiele eröffnen das Jazzfest Berlin 2019 am 31. Oktober mit einer transatlantischen Kooperation, der dritten Aufführung weltweit von Anthony Braxtons „Sonic Genome“. Die künstlerische Leiterin Nadin Deventer setzt damit ihre bereits im letzten Jahr begonnene Ausrichtung des Festivals mit Freiräumen für internationale Begegnungen und interdisziplinären Grenzgängen fort. Bis zum 3. November werden an vier Tagen rund 200 Musiker*innen aus 15 Ländern in verschiedensten Formationen auftreten. Das Festival präsentiert 28 musikalische Acts und ein Rahmenprogramm, das rund um das Werk und Wirken Anthony Braxtons konzipiert ist.

Der Kartenvorverkauf für „Sonic Genome“ läuft, und beginnt für alle weiteren Acts am 10. September (Programmveröffentlichung am 3. September).

Der US-amerikanische Komponist und Multi-Instrumentalist Anthony Braxton greift in „Sonic Genome“ auf das Prinzip seiner „Ghost Trance Music“ zurück. Dieses ermöglicht es 60 Musiker*innen, in einer ca. sechsstündigen Performance aus bis zu 450 seiner Kompositionen zu schöpfen und sich mal im dirigierten Großensemble, mal in vier- bis zwölfköpfigen Ensembles immer wieder neu zu formieren und – wie auch das Publikum – frei durch die Räumlichkeiten des Gropius Bau zu bewegen. Der Eröffnungsabend bietet damit die Gelegenheit, in das mehr als fünf Jahrzehnte umspannende, einzigartige Œuvre Braxtons einzutauchen – und dabei zeitgenössische Kunst im Ausstellungshaus der Berliner Festspiele zu erleben.

Donnerstag, 31.10.2019

Der Hauptspielort des Festivals – das Haus der Berliner Festspiele – wird auch in diesem Jahr umgestaltet. Die Hauptbühne wird vom klassischen Theatersaal in eine flexible Auftrittsfläche verwandelt, die von drei Seiten mit Publikum umgeben ist. Am Freitagabend zu später Stunde teilen sich drei Trios um Anja Lauvdal, Petter Eldh und Lukas König diese Fläche im ersten von zwei Late Night Labs, einem neuen Format beim Jazzfest Berlin 2019. Samstagnacht begegnen sich an gleicher Stelle im zweiten Lab vierzehn renommierte Improvisationskünstler*innen aus Europa, den USA und Brasilien – darunter Mette Rasmussen, Julien Desprez, Susana Santos Silva, Guilherme Granado, Lotte Anker und Rob Mazurek – in einer interdisziplinären Performance. Wie die Musiker*innen den Raum und die Zeit in den jeweils ca. 100 Minuten gestalten, ist ihnen völlig freigestellt und wird von den Akteuren beider Begegnungen im Vorfeld gemeinsam erarbeitet. In ständig wechselnden Besetzungen werden sie ihr Repertoire neu interpretieren und mit neuen Elementen zu einer ganzheitlichen Dramaturgie verbinden.

Ein weiteres Highlight verspricht das Auftragswerk „Mass of Hyphae“ des 13-köpfigen KIM Collective. Mit einer Klanginstallation verlässt das Berliner Kollektiv seinen im Vorjahr geschaffenen „UN(TER)ORT“ auf der Unterbühne des Festspielhauses und breitet sich im Verlauf des Festivals rhizomartig über das Foyer aus, um am Abschlussabend mit einer „Fungus Opera“ die Große Bühne zu bespielen.

Die Saxophonistin Mia Dyberg ist dieses Jahr die Berliner Vertreterin beim europäischen Kooperationsprojekt für Nachwuchsinnovator*innen melting pot, welches nach Auftritten in Saalfelden und Oslo Station im A-Trane in Berlin machen wird.

Die Konzerte des Jazzfest Berlin 2019 werden von den ARD-Rundfunkanstalten und Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und teilweise LIVE gesendet.

Late Night Lab 1 (creation):
Kaos Puls: Petter Eldh, bass | Lukas König, drums | Otis Sandsjö, sax
Mopcut (German premiere): Julien Desprez, e-guitar | Lukas König, drums | Audrey Chen, vocals, electronics, cello
Moskus (German premiere): Anja Lauvdal, piano, synth| Fredrik Luhr Dietrichson, double bass | Hans Hulbækmo, drums

Late Night Lab 2 (creation):
T(r)opic (German premiere): Susana Santos Silva, trumpet | Mette Rasmussen, sax | Isabel Sorling, vocals, electronics | Lotte Anker, sax | Mauricio Takara, e-percussions | Gerald Cleaver, drums | Ingebrigt Haker Flaten, bass | Rob Mazurek, trumpet, cornet, electronics | Julien Desprez, e-guitar | Mathieu Constans, 3D video maker, light designer
São Paolo Underground: Mauricio Takara, e-percussions | Guilherme Granado, keys, electronics | Rob Mazurek, trumpet, cornet
COCO (German premiere): Julien Desprez, e-guitar | Julien Loutelier, percussion | Pauline Simon, Dance, performance | Ana Rita Teodoro, dance, performance

Garden of Hyphae / The Mass Of Hyphae - a KIM Collective fungus opera (creation):
KIM Collective: Max Andrzejewski | Paul Berberich | Brad Henkel | Simon Kanzler | Liz Kosack | Raphael Meinhart | Dora Osterloh | Julia Reidy | Otis Sandsjo | Max Santner | Elias Stemeseder | Dan Peter Sundland | Laura Winkler
Georg Schütky, stage director | Jonas Hinz, sound design

Melting pot (creation): Mia Dyberg, sax | Signe Emmeluth, sax | Kobe Boon, bass | Zbigniew Kozera, bass | Katharina Ernst, drums
Partner Melting Pot: Jazztopad, Breslau; Handelsbeurs, Gent; Nasjonal Jazzscene Victoria, Oslo; International Jazzfestival Saalfelden