Jazzfest Berlin – New York

As an intercontinental celebration of the cutting edge scenes of Berlin and New York, Jazzfest Berlin presents a two-day concert marathon from the Roulette in Brooklyn and the silent green in Berlin Wedding, made up of six tandem performances, each consisting of one set as a live concert and one set as a live stream.

Keyvisual Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Both the pandemic and the resurgent political unrest that has recently flared up again around the issue of racism have shaken the USA to the core. Since its first edition in 1964 – coinciding with the legendary visit to Berlin by Dr. Martin Luther King, who contributed a foreword to the first ever edition of Berliner Jazztage – the festival has continued to have a particularly profound relationship with jazz artists from the USA.

Since March 2020, however, touring American musicians have largely vanished from European stages due to the international travel restrictions related to Covid-19. Jazzfest Berlin – taking place against the background of what is anticipated to be a momentous US Presidential election on 3 November – remains committed to transatlantic exchange: spread over two days, Jazzfest Berlin – New York forms the centrepiece of the 57th edition of the festival.

A diverse selection of twelve groups from the two cities will be presented live in situ and by livestream to a local audience at and by both venues while simultaneously being streamed on the internet for the global online community. In this unique scenario, six brilliant, stylistically very different New York-Berlin tandems will play a form of musical ping pong. Jumping from one venue to the other, bands will be streamed via dedicated line from the festival’s partner location in New York, the famous Roulette in Brooklyn, virtually bringing them into the Betonhalle at silent green – and vice versa. In order to create a near-live concert experience in spite of the distance, a multi-channel audiovisual streaming environment has been developped especially for the underground concrete hall at silent green.

Transatlantic dialogue has also been encouraged through a series of commissions. TRAINING, the Berlin duo consisting of Max Andrzejewski and Johannes Schleiermacher, will collaborate with the American guitarist John Dieterich (Deerhoof) and the Berlin-based Turkish video artist Işıl Karataş. In another project, winner of the Berlin Jazz Prize Silke Eberhard will perform the music of the legendary American multi-instrumentalist Henry Threadgill.

The recordings of the concerts of this focus at the 2020 Jazzfest Berlin will be available after the festival on Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Friday, 6 November 2020

Saturday, 7 November 2020

Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Als internationalen Brückenschlag zwischen zwei Avantgarde-Szenen präsentiert das Jazzfest Berlin – New York einen zweitägigen Konzertmarathon mit zwölf innovativen Projekten in sechs transatlantischen Tandems: je ein Set als Livekonzert in der Betonhalle des silent green und ein Set als Livestream aus dem Roulette in New York.

Keyvisual Jazzfest Berlin – New York

Sowohl die Pandemie als auch politische Unruhen haben die Vereinigten Staaten in diesem Jahr massiv erschüttert. Seit der ersten Ausgabe im Jahr 1964 – rund um den legendären Berlin-Besuch von Dr. Martin Luther King, der der allerersten Ausgabe der Jazztage Berlin ein Geleitwort widmete – sind die Beziehungen des Festivals zu Jazzkünstler*innen aus den USA besonders intensiv gewesen.

Seit März 2020 sind tourende amerikanische Musiker*innen aufgrund der internationalen Reiseeinschränkungen von europäischen Bühnen weitgehend verschwunden. Das Jazzfest Berlin hält – nicht zuletzt vor dem Hintergrund der als folgenreich zu erwartenden US-amerikanischen Präsidentschaftswahlen, die am 3. November stattfinden – am transatlantischen Austausch fest: Das zweitägige Jazzfest Berlin – New York bildet das Herzstück der 57. Festivaledition.

Eine Auswahl von zwölf Projekten aus beiden Städten wird live vor Ort und per Livestream von und zu beiden Veranstaltungsorten einem lokalen Publikum präsentiert und zeitgleich für die globale Online-Community live ins Netz übertragen. Im Pingpong spielen in diesem außergewöhnlichen Szenario sechs stilistisch vielfältige New York-Berlin-Tandems: Von einem Ort zum anderen springend werden Bands per Streaming-Standleitung aus unserer Partnerlocation in New York, dem renommierten Veranstaltung- und Produktionsort für Jazz und experimentelle Musik Roulette, virtuell in die Betonhalle des silent green geholt – und umgekehrt die Bands aus Berlin auf die gleiche Weise virtuell nach New York und in die Welt gestreamt. Um Konzerterlebnisse auf Distanz zu ermöglichen, die der physischen Live-Erfahrung vor Ort so nah wie möglich kommen, wurde eigens für das silent green Kulturquartier eine mehrkanalige, audiophile Multiscreen-Streaming-Umgebung entwickelt.

Darüber hinaus wird der transatlantische Dialog in Auftragsarbeiten aufrecht erhalten: TRAINING, das Berliner Duo bestehend aus Max Andrzejewski und Johannes Schleiermacher, trifft auf den amerikanischen Musiker John Dieterich (Deerhoof) und die in Wien lebende türkische Video-Künstlerin Işıl Karataş. In einem weiteren innovativen Projekt widmet sich Silke Eberhard, 2020 mit dem Jazzpreis Berlin ausgezeichnet, der Musik des legendären amerikanischen Multiinstrumentalisten Henry Threadgill.

Die Aufzeichnungen der Konzerte dieses Schwerpunkts beim Jazzfest Berlin 2020 werden nach dem Festival auf Jazzfest Berlin on Demand veröffentlicht.

Freitag, 6.11.2020

Samstag, 7.11.2020