Jazzfest Berlin Off Stage

Jazzfest Berlin goes online and employs artistic work commissions, video statements, and interviews as extensions of the festival into space and time. It builds creative bridges into the city, into Europe and across the Atlantic, leaving behind conventional concert stages in order to listen out for the dissonances in the world ‘out there’.

The videos of this focus of the 2020 Jazzfest Berlin are available at Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Keyvisual Jazzfest Off Stage

In response to the COVID-19 crisis and its devastating impact on the live music sector, Jazzfest Berlin 2020 has not only designed a robust online-concert-platform, it also commissioned artists to create video statements that go beyond the mere broadcasting of musical performances and focus more on the audiovisual extension of the means of expression.

The Berlin-based KIM Collective has created a series of video productions artistically documenting the events or the ghostly absence of any events at Berlin locations affected by the crisis – for example in the closed Hotel HENRI. TRAINING, the Berlin duo of drummer Max Andrzejewski and reedist and synthesist Johannes Schleiermacher, produced a series of music videos with the American guitarist John Dieterich (Deerhoof) and the Vienna-based Turkish visual artist Işıl Karataş, employing an accretive back-and-forth process using looped 2-5 second audiovisual field recordings each musician made in their cities as a starting point. Musicians from the recent Jazzfest community and influential American multi-media artists Jason Moran, Camae Ayewa (aka Moor Mother), and Matana Roberts were commissioned by Jazzfest Berlin to create open-ended video works in response to the roiling social upheaval in the US this year. The platform will also include a series of video interviews with this year’s Jazzfest Berlin artists. The videos will be published regularly on the festival website beginning on 2 October on Jazzfest Berlin Off Stage, leading up to the festival, when all of the videos will be shown at silent green on the final evening of the festival.

Jazzfest Berlin Off Stage

Mit künstlerischen Auftragsarbeiten, Videostatements und Interviews erweitert sich das Festival in Raum und Zeit, schlägt kreative Brücken in die Stadt, nach Europa und über den Atlantik und lässt die Bühne hinter sich, um nach den Dissonanzen in der Welt ‚da draußen‘ zu horchen.

Die Videos dieses Schwerpunkts beim Jazzfest Berlin 2020 finden Sie auf Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Keyvisual Jazzfest Off Stage

Als Reaktion auf die Corona-Krise und ihre gravierenden Auswirkungen auf den Live-Musik-Sektor hat das Jazzfest Berlin nicht nur ein umfassendes Online-Konzertangebot geschaffen, es hat außerdem Künstler*innen mit Videostatements beauftragt, die über die reine Übertragung von musikalischen Aufführungen hinausweisen und stärker das kreative Potential der audiovisuellen Ausdrucksmittel in den Vordergrund stellen.

Das Berliner KIM Collective hat eine Serie von Videoproduktionen kreiert, in der es das Geschehen bzw. die geisterhafte Abwesenheit jeglichen Geschehens an Berliner Orten, die von der Krise betroffen sind, künstlerisch dokumentiert – zum Beispiel im monatelang geschlossenen Hotel HENRI. TRAINING, das Berliner Duo von Max Andrzejewski am Schlagzeug und Johannes Schleiermacher an mehreren Holzblasinstrumenten und am Synthesizer, hat in Kooperation mit dem Deerhoof-Gitarristen John Dieterich aus den USA und der in Wien ansässigen türkischstämmigen Künstlerin Işıl Karataş eine Reihe von Musikvideos produziert. Den Ausgangspunkt für die Arbeiten bilden zwei- bis fünfsekündige audiovisuelle „field recordings“, die die Künstler*innen in ihren jeweiligen Städten aufgenommen haben und sich zur Weiterverarbeitung hin- und herschickten. Darüber hinaus konnte das Festival für Jazzfest Berlin Off Stage einflussreiche amerikanische Multimedia-Künstler*innen und Musiker*innen aus der Jazzfest-Community der letzten Jahre wie Camae Ayewa (Moor Mother), Jason Moran und Matana Roberts dafür gewinnen, Videostatements zu entwickeln, die sich mit den rasanten sozialen Umwälzungen in den USA auseinandersetzen. Außerdem werden auf der Plattform Interviews mit diesjährigen Jazzfestkünstler*innen präsentiert. Die Videos werden ab dem 2. Oktober sukzessive bis zum Start des Festivals auf Jazzfest Berlin Off Stage veröffentlicht und außerdem am letzten Festivalabend im Rahmen einer Abschlussperformance des KIM Collective und weiterer Berliner Künstler*innen im silent green gezeigt.