Greeting

Andrea Zietschmann

Welcome to the Musikfest Berlin 2022!

As by a small miracle, Musikfest Berlin managed to present an impressive programme in the past two years – through a pandemic and despite numerous constraints and adjustments.

This year, the festival will once again build musical bridges between medieval and Renaissance works and German premieres of recently created compositions. Moreover, several composers and their music will be especially acknowledged: Florence Price, Sofia Gubaidulina, Liza Lim, Gerald Barry and Wolfgang Rihm. Charles Mingus and Iannis Xenakis were both born 100 years ago, occasion enough for a special musical remembrance.

As cooperation partners of Musikfest Berlin / Berliner Festspiele, the Berliner Philharmoniker are delighted to welcome many international orchestras and ensembles to the Philharmonie – and to contribute two programmes to festival themselves.

Hope and freedom are the central topics of the opera “Il prigioniero”, a manifest against war and violence, which Luigi Dallapiccola began to compose in the midst of the Second World War in 1944 and which creates an oppressive resonance with our current situation. “You have to hope during every hour of the day. You have to live to be able to hope”, the jailer admonishes his prisoner. But the latter has no idea that there is a cruel knowledge behind these words – the only thing awaiting him is the stake. Kirill Petrenko will conduct the concertante performance of this impressive work. It will be combined with Iannis Xenakis’ “Empreintes”, which means “imprints” or “traces” in English, and Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s second version of his Symphony in One Movement from 1953. The words that Zimmermann sent to his fellow composer Karl Amadeus Hartmann about this work seem more topical than ever: He wrote that he was searching for an expression of “disunity” and a “reflection of the current situation in the history of thought, which none of us can escape”.

The second programme of Berliner Philharmoniker will be conducted by Thomas Adès who has previously worked with the orchestra as a composer and will now be standing at its conductor’s desk for the first time. As many as two works by Adès will be presented: his Concert for Violin and Orchestra op. 23 “Concentric Paths”, featuring Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto, and “The Exterminating Angel Symphony”. These works will be contrasted by Gerald Barry’s impelling “Cheveaux-de-frise” and what is probably Hector Berlioz’ first orchestral work, the overture to the unfinished opera “Les Francs-juges” (The Free Judges), a piece about the liberation of a political prisoner.

I hope that the tireless work and creativity of Winrich Hopp and his team will result in the success of all their plans and projects – and I wish inspiring concerts to all artists.

Dear audience, we hope that you will very much enjoy the Musikfest Berlin 2022.

Andrea Zietschmann
General Manager Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation

Grußwort

Andrea Zietzschmann

Herzlich Willkommen zum Musikfest Berlin 2022!

Wie durch ein kleines Wunder ist es dem Musikfest Berlin gelungen, durch die Pandemie hindurch und trotz etlicher Einschränkungen und Änderungen, in den vergangenen zwei Jahren mit beeindruckenden Programmen stattzufinden.

Auch in diesem Jahr wird das Festival musikalische Brücken von der Musik des Mittelalters und der Renaissance bis zu deutschen Erstaufführungen von jüngst uraufgeführten Kompositionen schlagen. Zudem werden mehrere Komponistinnen und Komponisten musikalisch besonders gewürdigt: Florence Price, Sofia Gubaidulina, Liza Lim, Gerald Barry und Wolfgang Rihm. Auch wird Charles Mingus und Iannis Xenakis musikalisch gedacht, die vor 100 Jahren geboren wurden.

Die Berliner Philharmoniker freuen sich sehr, als Kooperationspartner des Musikfest Berlin der Berliner Festspiele wieder für viele internationale Orchester und Ensembles Gastgeber in der Philharmonie zu sein – und auch darauf, mit zwei eigenen Programmen das Festival zu bereichern.

Hoffnung und Freiheit sind die zentralen Themen in der Oper „Il prigioniero“, ein Manifest gegen Krieg und Gewalt, das Luigi Dallapiccola inmitten des Zweiten Weltkrieges im Jahre 1944 zu komponieren begann und welches in der heutigen Situation einen beklemmenden aktuellen Bezug schafft. „Du musst zu jeder Stunde des Tages hoffen. Du musst leben, um hoffen zu können“, so mahnt der Kerkermeister den Gefangenen. Doch dieser ahnt nicht, dass grausames Wissen hinter den vernommenen Worten steht – nichts anderes als der Scheiterhaufen wartet auf ihn. Kirill Petrenko wird die konzertante Aufführung dieses eindrücklichen Werkes leiten. Es erklingt in Kombination mit Iannis Xenakis „Empreintes“, zu Deutsch „Abdrücke“ oder „Spuren“, sowie Bernd Alois Zimmermanns zweiter Fassung der Sinfonie in einem Satz aus dem Jahr 1953. Aktueller denn je wirken seine Zeilen über dieses Werk gegenüber seinem Komponistenkollegen Karl Amadeus Hartmann, in denen er schrieb, es ginge ihm um den Ausdruck einer „Zerrissenheit“ und um eine „Spiegelung der geistesgeschichtlichen Situation unserer Zeit, der wir alle nicht entrinnen können“.

Das zweite Programm der Berliner Philharmoniker wird von Thomas Adès dirigiert, der schon als Komponist mit dem Orchester zusammengearbeitet hat und nun erstmals am Pult dieses Orchesters steht. Es werden gleich zwei Werke von Adès in diesem Konzert erklingen: sein Konzert für Violine und Orchester op. 23 „Concentric Paths“ mit dem finnischen Geiger Pekka Kuusisto und „The Exterminating Angel Symphony“. Gegenübergestellt werden diesen Werken Gerald Barrys treibendes „Chevaux-de-frise“ und Hector Berlioz’ wahrscheinlich erstes Orchesterwerk, die Ouvertüre zur unvollendeten Oper „Les Francs-juges“ (Die Femerichter), ein Werk über die Befreiung eines politisch Gefangenen.

Der unermüdlichen Arbeit und Kreativität von Winrich Hopp und seinem Team wünsche ich die erfolgreiche Umsetzung aller Pläne und Projekte – und auch allen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern inspirierende Konzerte.

Liebes Publikum, haben Sie viel Freude mit und am Musikfest Berlin 2022.

Andrea Zietzschmann
Intendantin der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker