1 / 1

The New Infinity 2021

As part of Berlin Art Week, the fourth edition of “The New Infinity” will take place at Zeiss-Großplanetarium from 17 to 19 September 2021 and turn it into a gallery of the future as well as an immersive experiential space of the present. Together with the Stiftung Planetarium Berlin, we present the world premieres of “Grey Interiors”, a post-industrial symphony by British musician Darren J. Cunningham aka Actress and the artist collective Actual Objects, and “SPIN”, a sound sculpture by Lucas Gutierrez & Robert Lippok, centered around two rotating bodies between which constantly changing sound fields unfold. We also present the premiere of “PERSPICUS”, an audiovisual show by Florence To & Bendik Giske & Bridget Ferrill. In their three-part composition, the space constantly takes on new forms and perspectives, both tonally and architecturally, which emerge from the breathing movements of the artists.

The “Visual Music” programme track, which features historical avant-garde films by visual artists adapted for the dome space, will feature two psychedelic light paintings by light artist Bill Ham and Canadian composer Kara-Lis Coverdale, as well as a previously unpublished work by computer graphics pioneer John Whitney. These new adaptations are complemented by the meditative colour symphonies of American light artist Thomas Wilfred, whose lumia instruments establish a new art form at the intersection of technology and modern art.

Emeka Ogboh has adapted for the planetarium his celebrated multi-channel sound installation “The Way Earthly Things Are Going”, which the artist conceived for documenta 14 in Athens. We present the fulldome work “VHW7” by Greek digital artist Theo Triantafyllidis and American experimental musician Sun Araw that explores the eponymous planetoid like a galactic sculpture. And we show a revival of David OReilly’s touching Corona collage “The End of Stories”, which presents 37 audible stories of anonymous callers about their individual experience with the pandemic.

So far, planetariums have mainly been places of science and education, and rarely spaces to experience contemporary art. Yet planetariums occupy the largest screens of our time – and the fulldome, with its sophisticated 360-degree sound technology, offers a unique spatial sound. Since 2017, the Berliner Festspiele’s programme “The New Infinity” has commissioned a series of works by contemporary artists that have been presented in planetariums and at fulldome festivals around the world. After the 2017 and 2018 programmes attracted almost 40,000 visitors to our mobile dome on Mariannenplatz, “The New Infinity” has been taking place at the Zeiss-Großplanetarium in Prenzlauer Allee since last year.

The New Infinity 2021

The New Infinity 2021. Video Trailer

© Makusu Matsutake

© Berliner Festspiele

Thomas Oberender about “The New Infinity”

Thomas Oberender, director of the Berliner Festspiele and initiator of “The New Infinity” talks about the programme series, planetariums as galleries of the future and the special features of the dome architecture.

More Berliner Festspiele

1 / 1

The New Infinity 2021

Die vierte Ausgabe von „The New Infinity“ bespielt vom 17. bis 19. September 2021 im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week das Zeiss-Großplanetarium als Galerie der Zukunft und als immersiven Erfahrungsraum der Gegenwart. Gemeinsam mit der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin präsentieren wir die Weltpremieren „Grey Interiors“, eine postindustrielle Sinfonie des britischen Musikers Darren J. Cunningham aka Actress & des Künstler*innenkollektivs Actual Objects, sowie „SPIN“, eine Soundskulptur von Lucas Gutierrez & Robert Lippok, in deren Zentrum zwei rotierende Körper stehen, zwischen denen sich ständig wechselnde Klangfelder entfalten. Außerdem bringen wir die AV-Show „PERSPICUS“ von Florence To & Bendik Giske & Bridget Ferrill zur Uraufführung. In der dreiteiligen Komposition nimmt der Raum klanglich und architektonisch ständig neue Formen und Perspektiven an, die aus den Atembewegungen der Künstler*innen entstehen.

In der Programmlinie „Visual Music“, die historische Avantgardefilme bildender Künstler*innen für den Kuppelraum adaptiert, werden zwei psychedelische Light-Paintings des Lichtkünstlers Bill Ham und der kanadischen Komponistin Kara-Lis Coverdale gezeigt sowie eine bisher unveröffentlichte Arbeit des Computergrafik-Pioniers John Whitney. Ergänzt werden diese Neuadaptionen durch die meditativen Farbsymphonien des amerikanischen Lichtkünstlers Thomas Wilfred, dessen Lumia-Apparaturen eine neue Kunstform an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und moderner Kunst bilden.

Emeka Ogboh, dessen Arbeit „Ámà: The Gathering Place“ zeitgleich im Lichthof des Gropius Bau zu sehen ist, hat für das Planetarium seine gefeierte Mehrkanal-Soundinstallation „The Way Earthly Things Are Going“ adaptiert, die der Künstler für die documenta 14 in Athen konzipierte. Außerdem präsentieren wir die Fulldome-Arbeit „VHW7“ des griechischen Digitalkünstlers Theo Triantafyllidis und des amerikanischen Experimentalmusikers Sun Araw, die den gleichnamigen Planetoiden als galaktische Skulptur erkundet. Und als Wiederaufnahme zeigen wir David OReillys berührende Corona-Collage „The End of Stories“, die 37 Geschichten von anonymen Anrufer*innen über die individuellen Erfahrungen mit der Pandemie hörbar macht.

Planetarien sind bislang hauptsächlich Orte der Wissenschaft und Bildung und nur selten Räume der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Dabei bespielen Planetarien die größte Bildfläche unserer Zeit – und der Fulldome bietet mit seiner hochentwickelten 360-Grad-Klangtechnik einen einzigartigen Raumklang. Seit 2017 produziert die Programmreihe „The New Infinity“ der Berliner Festspiele daher Auftragsarbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen, die in Planetarien und auf Fulldome-Festivals weltweit gezeigt werden. Nachdem das Programm in den Jahren 2017 und 2018 knapp 40.000 Besucher*innen in unseren Mobile Dome auf dem Mariannenplatz zog, findet „The New Infinity“ seit dem letzten Jahr im Zeiss-Großplanetarium in der Prenzlauer Allee statt.

The New Infinity 2021

The New Infinity 2021. Videotrailer

© Makusu Matsutake

© Berliner Festspiele

Thomas Oberender über „The New Infinity“

Thomas Oberender, Intendant der Berliner Festspiele und Initiator von „The New Infinity“, spricht über die Programmreihe, Planetarien als Galerien der Zukunft und die Besonderheiten der Kuppelarchitektur.

Mehr Berliner Festspiele