Forum Ecological Sustainability in the Theatre / Green Ambassadors

The Forum Ecological Sustainability of Theatertreffen was created as a space for theatre makers to educate themselves and develop networks for issues of sustainable cultural production.

Green Ambassadors 2021

Green Ambassadors 2021

© Piero Chiussi

The Forum Ecological Sustainability provides stakeholders and institutions within the German-language theatre sector with a space to exchange ideas about sustainable cultural work. Representatives of the theatres and production houses nominated for the festival’s selection of 10 productions act as Green Ambassadors, taking part in networking events and workshops. They will discuss approaches and challenges of sustainable theatre work together and develop strategies and projects towards ecologically sustainable cultural production.

Within the framework of Theatertreffen and in cooperation with the action network “Nachhaltigkeit in Kultur und Medien”, the pilot project Forum Ecological Sustainability in the Theatre will take place for the first time. The aim of this series of events is to actively develop a long-term network for issues of sustainability in the theatre and to connect with already existing initiatives. Theatertreffen would like to serve as a dialogue platform and to repeat this format annually.

Forum Ecological Sustainability in the Theatre
Contact
Coordination: Katharina Fritzsche
+49 30 25489 208

Forum Ecological Sustainability in the Theatre 2021

The first Forum Ecological Sustainability in the Theatre began with a digital launch event on 13 April 2021, attended by delegates from various departments representing eight theatres, production houses and collectives. This was followed by the Forum’s first two-day analogue workshop on 30 September and 1 October 2021 in Berlin: A total of 15 Green Ambassadors exchanged ideas on ecological sustainability in their workplaces and discussed the opportunities and challenges of a theatre made fit for the future.

In conversations and interactive workshop sessions, the participants outlined various options for initiating sustainable transformation processes and developed strategies for implementing sustainability goals for operational structures and theatre productions. They were introduced to the EMAS Eco-Management and Audit Scheme and to the Creative Green Tools Calculator, two tools for sustainability-oriented structuring and accounting for cultural institutions and projects. As guest speakers, Charlotte Sieben, Managing Director of KBB GmbH and Thomas Oberender, Director of Berliner Festspiele, contributed examples and experiences from their own practice.

Green Ambassadors 2021

© Piero Chiussi

Green Ambassador 2021

© Piero Chiussi

As a result of their conversations during the workshops, the Green Ambassadors framed a first set of wishes and goals for their own houses and teams, which will be further debated, elaborated and discussed at a digital meeting planned for January 2022. The Green Ambassadors will once again get together in person in the context of the 2022 Theatertreffen, where they will also meet a new generation of Green Ambassadors who will begin the 2nd Forum Ecological Sustainability in the Theatre that year.

Ambassadors 2021

Catja Schilling

Catja Schilling

© Catja Schilling

“On the road towards more sustainability, you have to keep looking for the best places to get your energy.”

Catja Schilling
Deutsches SchauSpielHaus Hamburg
Costume painter and Compliance and Sustainability Officer

“We should never forget that we all have the same goal!”

Anne Brammen
Ballhaus Ost
Programme and Communication

David Heiligers

David Heiligers

© Arno Declair

“We are inside a bubble where we don’t have to convince each other that the topic of sustainability is relevant. But these are the crucial issues: How do we deal with conflicting goals (e.g. the freedom of art)? How do we deal with becoming dependent, e.g. on regulations and other protagonists? How can we achieve relevance when we are not the ones who make the decisions?”

David Heiligers
Deutsches Theater Berlin
Dramaturg

“As a trainee, I would like to make an active contribution and initiate a task force on sustainability.”

Leni von Creytz
Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel / Residenztheater
Trainee for Event Technology

Eva Hartmann

Eva Hartmann

© Filip Berte

“I think that wanting to do something is more powerful and interesting than being made to do something. Creating energy budgets is interesting for companies, too. We don’t have a venue, we tour. In order to create an energy account for our company, we would also need the accounts of the theatres that we perform at.”

Eva Hartmann
Gob Squad
Management

Wiebke Leithner

Wiebke Leithner

© Daniela Matejschek

“Culture must never lose its relevance! It doesn’t matter whether we’re in the mood for it. It’s important! We just have to start considering sustainability.”

Wiebke Leithner
Burgtheater Wien
Deputy Managing Director and Head of Touring

Paul Lehner

Paul Lehner

© Paul Lehner

“It shouldn’t matter which person in which position is interested in sustainability. It is and will be an arduous task. We should start with our own questions and the process will produce new questions. We have found sustainability reporting to be a useful method.”

Paul Lehner
Schauspielhaus Zürich
Head of Production and Workshops

“I find it both interesting and irritating how much resistance you meet when you suggest even the smallest changes towards more sustainability. People are still very lazy and the road ahead is still very long.”

Patrick Tucholski
HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Deputy Technical Director

Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Theater / Green Ambassadors

Das Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit des Theatertreffens ist ein für Theatermacher*innen geschaffener Ort der Weiterbildung und Vernetzung zu Themen nachhaltiger Kulturproduktion.

Green Ambassadors 2021

Green Ambassadors 2021

© Piero Chiussi

Das Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit bietet Akteur*innen und Institutionen der deutschsprachigen Theaterbranche einen Raum des Austauschs über nachhaltige Kulturarbeit. Vertreter*innen der für die 10er Auswahl des Festivals nominierten Theater und Produktionshäuser nehmen als Green Ambassadors/Grüne Botschafter*innen an Vernetzungstreffen und Workshops teil, in denen sie Ansätze und Herausforderungen nachhaltiger Theaterarbeit diskutieren und gemeinsam Strategien und Projekte für eine ökologisch nachhaltige Kulturproduktion entwickeln.

Im Rahmen des Theatertreffens 2021 und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Aktionsnetzwerk Nachhaltigkeit in Kultur und Medien findet das Pilotprojekt Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Theater erstmalig statt. Ziel der Veranstaltungsreihe ist die aktive Entwicklung eines langfristigen Netzwerks für Nachhaltigkeitsthemen im Theater und die Vernetzung mit bereits bestehenden Initiativen. Das Theatertreffen möchte in diesem Kontext als Plattform des Dialogs fungieren und das Format jährlich wiederaufnehmen.

Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Theater
Kontakt
Koordination: Katharina Fritzsche
+49 30 25489 208

Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Theater 2021

Das 1. Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Theater startete am 13. April 2021 mit einem digitalen Auftakttreffen, zu dem acht Theater, Produktionshäuser und Kollektive ihre Vertreter*innen aus den unterschiedlichsten Gewerken entsandten. Darauf aufbauend fand am 30. September und 1. Oktober 2021 in Berlin der erste analoge Workshop des Forums statt: Insgesamt 15 Grüne Botschafter*innen tauschten sich über ökologische Nachhaltigkeit an ihren Häusern aus und diskutierten Chancen und Herausforderungen eines zukunftsfähigen Theaters.

In Gesprächen und interaktiven Workshop-Einheiten entwarfen die Teilnehmer*innen verschiedene Einstiegsmöglichkeiten in nachhaltige Transformationsprozesse und erarbeiteten Strategien zur Realisierung von Nachhaltigkeitszielen für Betriebsstrukturen und Theaterproduktionen. Dabei lernten sie mit dem Umweltmanagementsystem EMAS und dem Creative Green Tools Rechner erste Werkzeuge für die nachhaltig ausgerichtete Strukturierung und Bilanzierung kultureller Betriebe und Projekte kennen. Als Gastredner*innen stellten Charlotte Sieben, Kaufmännische Geschäftsführerin der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH, und Thomas Oberender, Intendant der Berliner Festspiele, eigene Praxisbeispiele und Erfahrungen vor.

Green Ambassadors 2021

© Piero Chiussi

Green Ambassador 2021

© Piero Chiussi

Als Ergebnis der Dialoge während des Workshops formulierten die Grünen Botschafter*innen erste Wünsche und Ziele für ihre eigenen Häuser und Teams, die in einem für Januar 2022 geplanten digitalen Treffen weiter besprochen, ausgearbeitet und diskutiert werden. Im Rahmen des Theatertreffens 2022 können die Grünen Botschafter*innen wieder analog zusammenkommen und lernen gleichzeitig eine neue Generation Grüner Botschafter*innen kennen, die in diesem Jahr in das 2. Forum Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Theater starten werden.

Ambassadors 2021

Catja Schilling

Catja Schilling

© Catja Schilling

„Man muss auf dem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit immer wieder schauen, woher man seine Energie bekommt.“

Catja Schilling
Deutsches SchauSpielHaus Hamburg
Kostümmalerin und Compliance-Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragte

„Wir sollten nicht vergessen: Wir haben alle das gleiche Ziel!“

Anne Brammen
Ballhaus Ost
Programm und Kommunikation

David Heiligers

David Heiligers

© Arno Declair

„Wir sind eine Blase, in der wir uns gegenseitig nicht mehr von der Relevanz des Themas Nachhaltigkeit überzeugen müssen. Aber zentrale Fragen sind: Wie geht man mit Zielkonflikten um (z. B. Kunstfreiheit)? Wie mit Abhängigkeiten von Regularien und anderen Akteur*innen? Wie schafft man es, zu einer Relevanz zu kommen, selbst wenn man nicht in einer Entscheider*innenposition sitzt?“

David Heiligers
Deutsches Theater Berlin
Dramaturg

„Als Auszubildende möchte ich mich gerne aktiv einbringen und damit beginnen, eine Arbeitsgruppe Nachhaltigkeit einzurichten.“

Leni von Creytz
Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel / Residenztheater
Auszubildende Fachkraft für Veranstaltungstechnik

Eva Hartmann

Eva Hartmann

© Filip Berte

„Ich finde das Wollen stärker und interessanter als das Müssen. Energie-Bilanzen erstellen ist auch für Gruppen interessant. Wir haben kein Haus, sondern touren. Für eine Bilanzierung unserer Gruppe bräuchten wir auch die Bilanzen der Theater, zu denen wir touren.“

Eva Hartmann
Gob Squad
Management

Wiebke Leithner

Wiebke Leithner

© Daniela Matejschek

„Kultur darf die Relevanz nicht verlieren! Es ist keine Frage, ob wir dazu Lust haben. Es ist wichtig! Wir müssen einfach mit Nachhaltigkeit anfangen.“

Wiebke Leithner
Burgtheater Wien
Stellvertretende Kaufmännische Direktorin und Gastspielleitung

Paul Lehner

Paul Lehner

© Paul Lehner

„Es sollte egal sein, welche Person mit welcher Funktion Interesse an Nachhaltigkeit hat. Die Aufgabe ist zäh und das wird sie auch bleiben. Man sollte mit den eigenen Fragen anfangen und im Prozess ergeben sich neue Fragen. Für uns ist die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung eine Methode.“

Paul Lehner
Schauspielhaus Zürich
Produktions- und Werkstättenleiter

„Ich finde es spannend und irritierend zugleich, wie viel Gegenwind man schon bei kleinsten Veränderungen zu Gunsten von mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu spüren bekommen kann. Der Mensch ist immer noch so bequem und der Weg immer noch so lang.“

Patrick Tucholski
HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Stellvertretender Technischer Leiter