One on One on One

Film project by Marcus Gaab

From 2015 to 2019 photographer and director Marcus Gaab has been producing short films for the festival. One actor, one camera, one scene!

“I believe that the theatre is much more pop than people think – especially German theatre”, says Marcus Gaab. This thought was one of the points of departure for his film project One on One on One, which will now be concluded after five years. With 61 actors from the ten selected productions, the director and photographer shot in total 47 films between 2015 and 2019. Their aim was to translate the core of the respective production to be presented at the Theatertreffen – with free rein given to the actors as to how they wanted to achieve it. The films turned out to be extremely diverse, both in aesthetics and content, but they always had two things in common: the collaborative working process of their creation and their focus on performance at the moment it happened. Marcus Gaab himself described his films as “portraits of performances”. He sees the second core idea of the project in the attempt to transport the live energy of acting into another medium without losing it. Some films were shot in one take; they are the documentation of a single acting process. Others required more time and attracted outside attention, for example, when an actor moved through Kreuzberg in a painted full bodysuit or when another performed unusual movements on the roof of a theatre.

For the finale, all of Marcus Gaab’s One on One on One films were screened during the Theatertreffen in a cinema box inside the Festspielhaus’ Kassenhalle. They are still available on 1on1on1.tv.

Mathias Weibel

2019

With the artists:
Majd Feddah, Katja Jung, Moritz Kienemann & Johannes Nussbaum, Ursina Lardi, Karin Lithman, Michael Wächter, Mathias Weibel, Uwe Schmieder, She She Pop (Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf), Nadja Stübiger

2018

With the actors:
Benny Claessens, Carolin Conrad, Ernest Allan Hausmann, Nicola Mastroberardino, Thomas Niehaus & Paul Schröder, Wiebke Puls, Daniel Zillmann

Wiebke Puls
Ingo Günther

With the actors:
Andreas Beck, Ingo Günther, Anna Keil, Jerry Killick, Roland Koch, Barbara Nüsse, Sebastian Schneider, Valery Tscheplanowa, Graham F. Valentine, “Five Easy Pieces” cast: Rachel Dedain, Maurice Leerman, Pepijn Loobuyck, Willem Loobuyck, Polly Persyn, Elle Liza Tayou, Winne Vanacker.

2016

With the actors:
Jan-Peter Kampwirth, Marcel Kohler, Antonia Mohr, Caroline Peters, Ruth Rosenfeld, Dimitrij Schaad, Steven Scharf, Markus Scheumann, Kate Strong, Michael Wittenborn

Kate Strong
Aurel Manthei

2015

With the actors:
Maja Beckmann, Wolfram Koch, Sophie Kraus, Aurel Manthei, Orit Nahmias, Josef Ostendorf, Stefanie Reinsperger, Sebastian Rudolph, Anna Mara Sturm, Christiane von Poelnitz

In cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Theatertreffen and 3sat

One on One on One

Filmprojekt von Marcus Gaab

2015 bis 2019 produzierte der Fotograf und Regisseur Marcus Gaab Kurzfilme für das Theatertreffen. Ein*e Schauspieler*in, eine Kamera, eine Szene!

„Ich finde, Theater ist viel mehr Pop, als Leute denken – gerade deutsches Theater“, meint Marcus Gaab. Dieser Gedanke war einer der Ausgangspunkte für sein Filmprojekt One on One on One, das nun nach fünf Jahren zu Ende geht. Mit 61 Schauspieler*innen der 10er Auswahl hat der Regisseur und Fotograf von 2015 bis 2019 insgesamt 47 Kurzfilme gedreht, bei denen es darum ging, den Kern der jeweils zum Theatertreffen eingeladenen Produktion zu transportieren – auf welche Art und Weise, war den Schauspieler*innen freigestellt. Dabei entstanden ästhetisch und inhaltlich extrem unterschiedliche Filme, die jedoch immer zwei Dinge gemeinsam hatten: den kollaborativen Arbeitsprozess, in dem sie entstanden sind, und die Fokussierung auf die Darstellung in dem Moment, in dem sie passierte. Marcus Gaab selbst bezeichnet seine Filme als „Portraits von Performances“ und nennt als zweite Kernidee des Projekts den Versuch, die Live-Energie des Spielens medial zu transportieren, ohne dass diese Energie verloren geht. Manche Filme wurden in nur einem Take gedreht, sind quasi Dokumentation eines einzigen Spielvorgangs. Andere benötigten mehr Zeit und erregten Aufsehen in der Öffentlichkeit, zum Beispiel, als sich ein Schauspieler im bemalten Ganzkörper-Bodysuit durch die Straßen Kreuzbergs bewegte oder ein anderer auf dem Dach eines Theaters außergewöhnliche Bewegungen vollführte.

Zum Finale waren alle One-on- One-on-One-Filme von Marcus Gaab in einer Kinobox in der Kassenhalle während des Theatertreffens zu sehen. Sie sind nach wie vor verfügbar auf 1on1on1.tv.

Mathias Weibel

2019

Mit den Künstler*innen:
Majd Feddah, Katja Jung, Moritz Kienemann & Johannes Nussbaum, Ursina Lardi, Karin Lithman, Michael Wächter, Mathias Weibel, Uwe Schmieder, She She Pop (Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf), Nadja Stübiger

2018

Mit den Schauspieler*innen:
Benny Claessens, Carolin Conrad, Ernest Allan Hausmann, Nicola Mastroberardino, Thomas Niehaus & Paul Schröder, Wiebke Puls, Daniel Zillmann

Wiebke Puls
Ingo Günther

2017

Mit den Schauspieler*innen:
Andreas Beck, Ingo Günther, Anna Keil, Jerry Killick, Roland Koch, Barbara Nüsse, Sebastian Schneider, Valery Tscheplanowa, Graham F. Valentine, „Five Easy Pieces“ Cast: Rachel Dedain, Maurice Leerman, Pepijn Loobuyck, Willem Loobuyck, Polly Persyn, Elle Liza Tayou, Winne Vanacker.

2016

Mit den Schauspieler*innen:
Jan-Peter Kampwirth, Marcel Kohler, Antonia Mohr, Caroline Peters, Ruth Rosenfeld, Dimitrij Schaad, Steven Scharf, Markus Scheumann, Kate Strong, Michael Wittenborn

Kate Strong
Aurel Manthei

2015

Mit den Schauspieler*innen:
Maja Beckmann, Wolfram Koch, Sophie Kraus, Aurel Manthei, Orit Nahmias, Josef Ostendorf, Stefanie Reinsperger, Sebastian Rudolph, Anna Mara Sturm, Christiane von Poelnitz

In Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Theatertreffen und 3sat