Theatertreffen Award

© Piero Chiussi

Theatertreffen Award

As a souvenir of their invitation to the Theatertreffen, the companies of the ten selected productions are presented with a small piece of art designed by Eva Veronica Born since 2016.

Promptbooks and “ice-trophys”

In researching her design for the Theatertreffen Award, Eva Veronica Born went looking for something to give form to memories. Just as the audience take home an individual experience of an evening of theatre, she wants the artists to be presented with a part of their own experiences. Resonating with their creative work and development, these experiences feed on encounters with people and texts. The textbook is a symbol for this process and most appropriate for containing such a treasure of memories. And so since 2017, the creative teams of the 10 selected productions have been presented with their own promptbooks, die-cut in the form of a trophy.
Eva Veronica Born also designed the Theatertreffen Award in 2016, this time in the form of an “ice-trophy”. Her basic inspiration was the moment between absence and presence and an examination of the form of the permanent trophy, which stands in contrast with a moment in the theatre, which is both immediately experienceable and fleeting. Its consistency cannot be archived and will ultimately melt; what remains is an individual memory.

Eva Veronica Born (*1981) studied architecture at the Berlin University of the Arts and has been working as a freelance stage designer ever since. She has worked at Münchner Kammerspiele, Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg and Ruhrtriennale, among others. In 2012 and 2013, she was invited to the Theatertreffen together with director Johan Simons. She has been designing the Theatertreffen’s festival spaces at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele since 2015. Since 2016 she has created the official trophy for the Theatertreffen.

Theatertreffen Award 2016

Theatertreffen Award 2016

© Piero Chiussi

Theatertreffen Award 2015

Theatertreffen Award 2015

© Piero Chiussi

Creased Aluminium

Prior to 2016, Munich-based sculptor Olaf Mentzel designed the trophy, tying it in with the “Focus Fassbinder” series of events and the exhibition “Fassbinder – NOW” at Gropius Bau. In form, the Theatertreffen Award was a continuation of “Fassbinderfragmente”, Metzel’s series of reliefs from the year 2012. Aluminium plates received prints on both sides and were then bent, formed, creased and folded to suggest crumpled paper. The print templates consisted of pages from Fassbinder’s screenplays, manuscripts, film stills, portraits, reviews and other documents.

Twined bars of reinforcement steel

In 2014, the Theatertreffen Award was created by Ai Weiwei. His trophies for the teams of the selected productions addressed an event that had drastic consequences for his society: The trophies were worked from twined bars of reinforcement steel – remnants of school buildings destroyed during the devastating 2008 earthquake in Sichuan. Ai Weiwei created several of the works that were presented at Gropius Bau as part of the exhibition “Evidence” from the debris that he collected by the ton at the sites of the disaster. Through his choice of material for the trophies, the artist wants to remind us particularly of the children among the nearly 100,000 victims of this catastrophe.

Theatertreffen Award 2014

Theatertreffen Award 2014. design by Ai Weiwei

© Piero Chiussi

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung

© Piero Chiussi

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung

Als Erinnerung an ihre Theatertreffen-Einladung erhalten die Teams der 10er Auswahl ein kleines Kunstwerk, das seit 2016 von Eva Veronica Born gestaltet wird.

Textbücher und Eispokale

Eva Veronica Born begab sich mit ihrer Variante der Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung auf die Suche nach etwas, das Erinnerungen eine Form gibt. So wie die Zuschauer*innen mit ihrem Theaterbesuch eine individuelle Erfahrung mit nach Hause nehmen, soll auch den Künstler*innen ein Teil ihrer eigenen Erinnerungen zurückgegeben werden. Diese speisen sich im Nachhall des gemeinsamen kreativen Arbeitens und Entwickelns aus Begegnungen und der Auseinandersetzung mit Menschen und Texten. Das Textbuch ist das Sinnbild dafür – es kann am ehesten diesen Erinnerungsschatz bergen. Seit 2017 bekommen die Teams der 10er Auswahl daher ihre eigenen Regiebücher, als Pokal gestanzt, überreicht.
Auch 2016 gestaltete Eva Veronica Born die Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung, die in diesem Jahr die Form eines „Eispokals“ hatte. Als Grundlage dafür nahm sie den Augenblick zwischen Ab- und Anwesenheit und hinterfragte die Form der bleibenden Auszeichnung, die im Gegensatz zur unmittelbaren Erlebbarkeit aber auch Vergänglichkeit eines Theatermomentes steht. Ihre nicht archivierbare Konsistenz schmilzt und zurück bleibt eine individuelle Erinnerung.

Eva Veronica Born (*1981) arbeitet nach ihrem Architekturstudium an der Universität der Künste Berlin als freie Bühnenbildnerin u. a. an den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg und der Ruhrtriennale. In den Jahren 2012 und 2013 war sie als Bühnenbildnerin mit dem Regisseur Johan Simons zum Theatertreffen eingeladen. Für das Theatertreffen entwirft sie seit dem Jahr 2015 die Festival-Räume im Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Seit 2016 gestaltet sie als Künstlerin die offizielle Auszeichnung des Theatertreffens.

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2016

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2016

© Piero Chiussi

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2015

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2015

© Piero Chiussi

Geknülltes Aluminium

Davor war die Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung vom Münchner Bildhauer Olaf Metzel entworfen worden, der mit seiner Version an den „Focus Fassbinder“ und die parallel im Gropius Bau gezeigte Ausstellung „Fassbinder – JETZT“ anknüpfte. Formal war die Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2015 eine Weiterentwicklung von Metzels Reliefserie „Fassbinderfragmente“ von 2012. Aluminiumplatten wurden beidseitig bedruckt und anschließend so verbogen, verformt, geknickt und gefaltet, dass die Assoziation an geknülltes Papier entstand. Als Druckvorlagen dienten Seiten aus Drehbüchern Fassbinders, Manuskriptseiten, Filmstills, Portraits, Kritiken und anderes.

Gewundenes Armierungseisen

2014 gestaltete die Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung Ai Weiwei, der mit seinen Trophäen für die Produktionsteams ein gesellschaftlich einschneidendes Ereignis aufgriff: Die Kunstwerke waren aus gewundenem Armierungseisen gearbeitet – Überreste von Schulgebäuden, die beim verheerenden Erdbeben in Sichuan 2008 zerstört wurden. Schon mehrere Arbeiten, die auch in der Ausstellung „Evidence“ im Gropius Bau zu sehen waren, hatte Ai Weiwei aus dem Schutt hergestellt, den er damals tonnenweise an den Unglücksorten aufgesammelt hatte. Durch das gewählte Material der Trophäen erinnerte der Künstler bewusst an die Kinder unter den fast 100.000 Toten.

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2014

Theatertreffen-Auszeichnung 2014. gestaltet von Ai Weiwei

gestaltet von Ai Weiwei

© Piero Chiussi