The 10 Selected Productions

Each year, ten remarkable productions are selected by an independent jury of critics from among around 400 shows within the German-language region and the viewing period.

Die Schutzbefohlenen

Die Schutzbefohlenen

© Piero Chiussi

Each May, they are presented at Haus der Berliner Festspiele and other venues throughout the city, depending on the individual productions’ staging requirements. Ever since the Theatertreffen’s foundation – when it was still known as “Berliner Theaterwettbewerb (Berlin Theatre Competition)” – this selection of 10 productions has been the festival’s core. An invitation to the Theatertreffen brings national recognition to the respective production teams – and often a boost to their careers.

The 10 Selected Productions 2020

On 28 January 2020, the jury for the 57th Theatertreffen announced its selection.
They attended 32 productions in 56 cities in the German-language region. 744 votes were given and each jury member watched between 87 and 120 productions. A total of 35 productions was nominated and discussed.

The selection period for the festival edition 2020 considered productions that had their premiere between 21 January 2019 and 26 January 2020.

We show some recordings of the performances of the 10 selected productions of the 2020 Theatertreffen between 1 and 9 May on our online platform Berliner Festspiele on Demand at Theatertreffen virtuell.

Theatertreffen-jury

The Theatertreffen-jury consists of seven theatre critics and selects the 10 productions to be invited. These honorary jurors are usually serving three years in succession. The jury is appointed by the head of the Theatertreffen and the director of the Berliner Festspiele.

Rules of Procedure

The conditions of the selection of 10 productions to be invited are regulated by the rules of procedure.

Theatertreffen Chronicle

The Theatertreffen Chronicle contains all the selected productions of previous years!

Die 10er Auswahl

Zehn bemerkenswerte Inszenierungen werden jedes Jahr von einer unabhängigen Kritiker*innenjury aus rund 400 Aufführungen des deutschsprachigen Raums innerhalb des Sichtungszeitraums ausgewählt und zum Theatertreffen eingeladen.

Die Schutzbefohlenen

Die Schutzbefohlenen

© Piero Chiussi

Die ausgewählten Inszenierungen werden im Mai im Haus der Berliner Festspiele und anderen Orten der Stadt gezeigt – je nachdem, welche Bedingungen die jeweilige Produktion benötigt. Seit der Gründung des Theatertreffens 1964 – damals noch „Berliner Theaterwettbewerb“ – stellt diese 10er Auswahl das Zentrum des Theatertreffens dar, und eine Einladung zum Theatertreffen ist für die entsprechenden Produktionsteams mit überregionaler Anerkennung und oft mit einem Karriereschub verbunden.

Die 10er Auswahl 2020

Am 28. Januar 2020 hat die Jury die Auswahl für das 57. Theatertreffen bekannt gegeben.
Es wurden 432 Inszenierungen in 56 deutschsprachigen Städten besucht. 744 Voten gingen ein und die einzelnen Juror*innen haben jeweils zwischen 87 und 120 Inszenierungen gesehen. Insgesamt wurden 35 Inszenierungen vorgeschlagen und diskutiert.

Die Auswahlperiode für die Festivalausgabe 2020 berücksichtigte Premieren, die im Zeitraum vom 21. Januar 2019 bis 26. Januar 2020 stattfanden.

Die Festivalausgabe 2020 musste abgesagt werden. Wir zeigen einige Aufzeichnungen der Aufführungen der 10er Auswahl des Theatertreffen 2020 zwischen 1. und 9. Mai auf unserer Online-Plattform Berliner Festspiele on Demand beim Theatertreffen virtuell.

Theatertreffen-Jury

Die Theatertreffen-Jury legt die 10er Auswahl fest und besteht aus sieben Theaterkritiker*innen. Die ehrenamtlichen Juror*innen bleiben in der Regel drei aufeinanderfolgende Jahre im Amt. Berufen wird die Jury von der Theatertreffen-Leitung und der*dem Intendant*in der Berliner Festspiele.

Verfahrensordnung

Unter welchen Bedingungen die 10er Auswahl zustande kommt, regelt die Verfahrensordnung.

Theatertreffen-Chronik

Welche Inszenierungen in den vergangenen Jahren ausgewählt wurden, verrät die Theatertreffen-Chronik!