The jury of the Theatertreffen 2019

f.l.t.r. Dorothea Marcus, Christian Rakow, Shirin Sojitrawalla, Andreas Klaeui, Eva Behrendt, Wolfgang Höbel, Margarete Affenzeller

© Iko Freese / drama-berlin.de

Jury 2019

The jury for the Theatertreffen chooses the ten productions invited to Theatertreffen and is made up of seven theatre critics. These honorary jurors are usually serving three years in succession. The jury is appointed by the director of the Theatertreffen and the director of the Berliner Festspiele.

Margarete Affenzeller

Born in Freistadt/Upper Austria in 1971, she studied German Philology and History at the University of Vienna. She has been a permanent member of the arts section of the Austrian daily newspaper der Standard since 1997; since 2007, her editorial focus has been on writing about theatre. She has been a member of various juries for several years, including the Nestroy Theatre Award and the Ö1 Award for Radio Plays. She is a correspondent for the magazine Theater der Zeit.

Margarete Affenzeller

Margarete Affenzeller

© Matthias Cremer

Eva Behrendt

Eva Behrendt

© Michael Witte

Eva Behrendt

Born in 1973, she studied History, Literature and Theatre Studies in Mainz, Dijon and Berlin. Since 2001, she has been a freelance editor for the magazine Theater heute as well as a writer for the newspaper taz, the public radio channel Deutschlandfunk Kultur and others. She has been on the juries for the festival Impulse, the Berlin Senate, the Berlin Theatertreffen from 2008 – 2010, the festival Politik im Freien Theater (Politics in Independent Theatre) and for the Capital Cultural Fund.

Wolfgang Höbel

Born in Kaufbeuren in 1962, he studied Modern German Literature and Journalism in Munich. He has been a music and theatre critic for Süddeutsche Zeitung and Tempo since 1985 and an arts editor of Der Spiegel since 1994.

Wolfgang Höbel

Wolfgang Höbel

© Arno Declair

Andreas Klaeui

Andreas Klaeui

© privat

Andreas Klaeui

Born in Basel in 1960, he studied German Philology and worked as an arts editor for the Swiss broadcasting channel SRF 2. Until 2008, Andreas Klaeui was senior editor of du – Die Zeitschrift für Kultur. Since then, he has been writing reviews and reports for various media, including Neue Zürcher Zeitung, NZZ am Sonntag as well as several German daily newspapers, radio and professional publications such as nachtkritik.de and Theater heute. His areas of expertise are theatre and classical music as well as the communication of cultural events from the French-language region and their backgrounds. Andreas Klaeui lives in Zurich and Paris. He is on the board of foundation of Schweizerische Goethe-Stiftung für Kunst und Wissenschaft (Swiss Goethe-Foundation for Art and Science) and on the board of Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Theaterkultur (Swiss Society for Theatre Culture).

Dorothea Marcus

Born in 1969, she studied German Philology and History at FU Berlin. She has been a freelance cultural journalist since 1999 – first based in Freiburg, then in Cologne – for the newspaper taz, the public radio channels Deutschlandfunk and WDR, for the magazine Theater heute and the online portal nachtkritik.de, among others. She was a jury member for the Cologne Theatre Award, NRW-Theatertreffen and the NRW Jugendtheatertreffen Westwind (conference of theatres for young people in North Rhine-Westphalia). From 2009 to its termination in 2014, she was editor-in-chief for the theatre magazine aKT in Cologne. She teaches “Writing about dance and theatre” for the degree course Dance and movement culture at the German Sport University Cologne.

Dorothea Marcus

Dorothea Marcus

© privat

Christian Rakow

Christian Rakow

© Thomas Aurin

Christian Rakow

Born in Rostock in 1976, he studied German Philology and Philosophy in Rostock, Sheffield and Berlin. In 2010, he obtained a doctorate in Literary Studies at the University of Münster, supervised by Prof Dr Moritz Baßler. His dissertation “Die Ökonomien des Realismus – Kulturpoetische Untersuchungen zur Literatur und Volkswirtschaftslehre 1850–1900” (The Economies of Realism – Cultural poetic investigations on literature and political economy 1850–1900) was published by DeGruyter in 2013. Christian Rakow is an editor for the online portal nachtkritik.de and a theatre critic for Theater heute and Berliner Zeitung, among others.

Shirin Sojitrawalla

Born in Freiburg/Breisgau in 1968, she studied German Philology, Political Science and Comparative Studies, followed by a traineeship with the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. Since 2000, she has been working as a freelance cultural journalist for various media. Her chief interest lies in theatre and literature, with excursions into the fields of visual arts and film. Currently, she mainly writes for the online portal nachtkritik.de, the newspaper taz, Theater der Zeit, Frankfurter Rundschau and the public radio channel Deutschlandfunk as well as “Wiener Zeitung. Furthermore, she organizes festivals, conducts interviews and moderates readings.

Shirin Sojitrawalla

Shirin Sojitrawalla

© Dirk Ostermeier

New in the Jury for the 2020 Theatertreffen

Eva Behrendt, Dorothea Marcus and Christian Rakow are finishing their work for the Theatertreffen-jury after 3 years in 2019. Cornelia Fiedler, Georg Kasch and Franz Wille are taking over their positions.

Therefore, the jury of the Theatertreffen 2020 consists of the following members: Margarete Affenzeller, Eva Behrendt, Wolfgang Höbel, Andreas Klaeui, Dorothea Marcus, Christian Rakow and Shirin Sojitrawalla.

Cornelia Fiedler

Cornelia Fiedler

© Simon Fiedler

Cornelia Fiedler

Cornelia Fiedler was born in 1978 and studied Ethnology and Cultural Journalism in Munich. She has been working as a freelance journalist and critic since 2008, writing for media like Süddeutsche Zeitung, nachtkritik.de, Theater heute and Münchner Feuilleton. She also works as a lecturer in Media and Creative Writing seminars (both at universities and as part of trade union education programmes), as a ghost writer and a moderator. She was a jury member for Körber Studio Junge Regie in Hamburg (2015) and for the Mülheimer Theatertage (2017–2019).

Georg Kasch

Georg Kasch was born in 1979 and studied Modern German Literature, Theatre Studies and Cultural Journalism in Berlin and Munich. Following a traineeship in Nürnberg, he returned to Berlin in 2010 and has since been working as an editor for nachtkritik.de. He also writes for daily newspapers like Berliner Morgenpost and magazines like Oper!, ZITTY and the Amnesty Journal and teaches at universities in Berlin, Munich and Mainz. He has been a jury member for the Brüder-Grimm-Preis and the Theaterpreis des Bundes, among others.

Georg Kasch

Georg Kasch

© Thomas Aurin

Franz Wille

Franz Wille

© Max Zerrahn

Franz Wille

Franz Wille was born in Munich in 1960. He studied Theatre Studies as well as German and English Philology in Munich and obtained a D.Phil. From 1982–1986, he was a dramaturg at Theater der Freien Volksbühne in Berlin (Artistic Director Kurt Hübner). He has been editor of the magazine Theater heute since 1990.

Die Jury des Theatertreffens 2018

v.l.n.r. Dorothea Marcus, Christian Rakow, Shirin Sojitrawalla, Andreas Klaeui, Eva Behrendt, Wolfgang Höbel, Margarete Affenzeller

© Iko Freese / drama-berlin.de

Jury 2019

Die Theatertreffen-Jury beschließt die 10er Auswahl und besteht aus sieben Theaterkritiker*innen. Die ehrenamtlichen Juror*innen bleiben in der Regel drei aufeinander folgende Jahre im Amt. Berufen wird die Jury von der Theatertreffen-Leitung und der*dem Intendant*in der Berliner Festspiele.

Margarete Affenzeller

Geboren 1971 in Freistadt/Oberösterreich. Studium der Germanistik und Geschichte an der Universität Wien. Seit 1997 feste Mitarbeiterin in der Kulturredaktion der österreichischen Tageszeitung der Standard, davon seit 2007 als Redakteurin mit Schwerpunkt Theaterberichterstattung. Mehrjährige Jurytätigkeit u.a. beim Nestroy-Preis sowie beim Ö1-Hörspielpreis. Korrespondentin für die Zeitschrift Theater der Zeit.

Margarete Affenzeller

Margarete Affenzeller

© Matthias Cremer

Eva Behrendt

Eva Behrendt

© Michael Witte

Eva Behrendt

Geboren 1973, studierte Geschichte, Literatur und Theaterwissenschaft in Mainz, Dijon und Berlin. Seit 2001 freie Redakteurin der Zeitschrift Theater heute sowie Autorin für taz, Deutschlandfunk Kultur und andere. Sie war u. a. Jurorin für das Festival Impulse, den Berliner Senat, das Berliner Theatertreffen von 2008 – 2010, das Festival Politik im Freien Theater und für den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

Wolfgang Höbel

Geboren 1962 in Kaufbeuren. Studium der Neuen Deutschen Literatur und der Diplom-Journalistik in München, von 1985 an Musik- und Theaterkritiker bei der Süddeutschen Zeitung und bei Tempo, seit 1994 Kulturredakteur beim Spiegel.

Wolfgang Höbel

Wolfgang Höbel

© Arno Declair

Andreas Klaeui

Andreas Klaeui

© privat

Andreas Klaeui

Geboren 1960 in Basel, Studium der deutschen Philologie. Kulturredakteur beim Schweizer Radio SRF 2. Bis 2008 war Andreas Klaeui verantwortlicher Redakteur von du – Die Zeitschrift für Kultur, seither verfasst er Kritiken und Reportagen für verschiedene Medien, darunter die Neue Zürcher Zeitung, NZZ am Sonntag sowie deutsche Tageszeitungen, Rundfunk und Fachpublikationen wie nachtkritik.de und Theater heute. Seine Spezialgebiete sind Theater und klassische Musik, aber auch die Vermittlung von kulturellen Ereignissen und ihren Hintergründen aus dem französischen Sprachgebiet. Lebt in Zürich und Paris. Andreas Klaeui ist Stiftungsrat der Schweizerischen Goethe-Stiftung für Kunst und Wissenschaft und Vorstand der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Theaterkultur.

Dorothea Marcus

Geboren 1969, Studium der Germanistik und Geschichte an der FU Berlin. Seit 1999 freiberufliche Kulturjournalistin und Theaterkritikerin erst in Freiburg, dann in Köln u. a. für taz, Deutschlandfunk, WDR, Theater heute, nachtkritik.de. War Jurorin des Kölner Theaterpreises, des NRW-Theatertreffens und des NRW-Jugendtheatertreffens Westwind. Von 2009 bis zu deren Ende 2014 war sie Chefredakteurin der Kölner Theaterzeitung aKT. Lehrauftrag „Schreiben über Tanz und Theater“ der Deutschen Sporthochschule in Köln im Studiengang Tanz- und Bewegungskultur.

Dorothea Marcus

Dorothea Marcus

© privat

Christian Rakow

Christian Rakow

© Thomas Aurin

Christian Rakow

Geboren 1976 in Rostock, studierte Germanistik und Philosophie in Rostock, Sheffield und Berlin. 2010 promovierte er in Literaturwissenschaft an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster bei Prof. Dr. Moritz Baßler. Die Dissertation „Die Ökonomien des Realismus – Kulturpoetische Untersuchungen zur Literatur und Volkswirtschaftslehre 1850–1900“ erschien 2013 in den Schriften zur deutschen Literatur bei De Gruyter. Rakow arbeitet als Redakteur von nachtkritik.de und Theaterkritiker u. a. für Theater heute und die Berliner Zeitung.

Shirin Sojitrawalla

Geboren 1968 in Freiburg im Breisgau, studierte Germanistik, Politikwissenschaft und Komparatistik. Danach absolvierte sie ein Volontariat bei der F.A.Z. Seit dem Jahr 2000 ist sie als freiberufliche Kulturjournalistin für verschiedene Medien tätig. Hauptsächlich beschäftigen sie Theater und Literatur, mit Ausflügen in die bildende Kunst und ins Kino. Zurzeit arbeitet sie vornehmlich für nachtkritik.de, die taz, Theater der Zeit, die Frankfurter Rundschau, den Deutschlandfunk und die Wiener Zeitung. Zudem organisiert sie Festivals, führt Interviews und moderiert Lesungen.

Shirin Sojitrawalla

Shirin Sojitrawalla

© Dirk Ostermeier

Neu in der Jury für das Theatertreffen 2020

Turnusgemäß scheiden Eva Behrendt, Dorothea Marcus und Christian Rakow nach 3 Jahren aus der Jury des Theatertreffens aus. Ihre Positionen übernehmen die Journalist*innen Cornelia Fiedler, Georg Kasch und Franz Wille.

Somit besteht die Jury des Theatertreffens 2020 aus folgenden Mitgliedern: Margarete Affenzeller, Cornelia Fiedler, Wolfgang Höbel, Georg Kasch, Andreas Klaeui, Shirin Sojitrawalla und Franz Wille.

Cornelia Fiedler

Cornelia Fiedler

© Simon Fiedler

Cornelia Fiedler

Geboren 1978, studierte Ethnologie und Kulturjournalismus in München. Seit 2008 freiberuflich als Journalistin und Kritikerin tätig, u. a. für die Süddeutsche Zeitung, nachtkritik.de, Theater heute und das Münchner Feuilleton. Arbeitet zudem als Dozentin für Medienseminare und Kreatives Schreiben (sowohl an Universitäten als auch im Rahmen von gewerkschaftlicher Bildungsarbeit), als Ghostwriterin und Moderatorin. War 2015 Jurorin beim Körber Studio Junge Regie in Hamburg und von 2017–2019 im Auswahlgremium der Mülheimer Theatertage.

Georg Kasch

Georg Kasch, geboren 1979, studierte Neuere deutsche Literatur, Theaterwissenschaft und Kulturjournalismus in Berlin und München. Nach einem Volontariat in Nürnberg kehrte er 2010 nach Berlin zurück und ist seitdem Redakteur bei nachtkritik.de. Daneben schreibt er für Tageszeitungen wie die Berliner Morgenpost, Magazine wie Oper!, ZITTY und das Amnesty Journal und lehrt an Hochschulen in Berlin, München und Mainz. Er war u. a. Mitglied in der Jury für den Brüder-Grimm-Preis und für den Theaterpreis des Bundes.

Georg Kasch

Georg Kasch

© Thomas Aurin

Franz Wille

Franz Wille

© Max Zerrahn

Franz Wille

Franz Wille, geboren 1960 in München. Studium der Theaterwissenschaft, Germanistik und Anglistik, Dr. phil. 1982–1986 Dramaturg am Theater der Freien Volksbühne in Berlin (Intendant Kurt Hübner). Seit 1990 Redakteur der Zeitschrift Theater heute.