Director

Olena Apchel (from 2023)

is an artivist, theatre director, playwright and curator of art projects. She holds a doctorate in Cultural History and Theory, lectures on contemporary theatre and teaches master classes in directing, acting and onstage movement. From 2010 to 2015, she taught at the Kharkiv State Academy of Culture. She has worked as a co-author and trainer at the TESTO Author’s School of Acting in Kharkiv since 2014. In her research practice, her interest lies in processes of alternative systems of existence and management of cultural institutions. As a director, she engages mainly with themes of personal and historical traumas and social violence. She also works with themes of alternate reality. She is author of the socio-theatrical project “Opositorium”, which explores zones of tolerance of interreligious dialogue in contemporary societies.

From 2017 to 2019, she was artistic director of the Lesya Ukrainka Lviv Academic Drama Theater, where, among other things, she created the award-winning post-documentary play “Horyzont 200”. From 2019 to 2020, she was involved in the conceptual development of the main exhibition at the Territory of Terror, the Memorial Museum of Totalitarian Regimes in Lviv. In 2019, she directed the autobiographical play “Wiezi” at the Wybrzeże Theatre in Gdańsk, earning her the award for Best Directorial Debut from the Festival of Previews in Bydgoszcz. In 2021, she directed “Kreszany”, which premiered at the Divine Comedy International Theatre Festival in Kraków. Olena Apchel currently has projects in the Social Projects department of the Nowy Teatr International Centre of Culture in Warsaw. In addition, she is co-author (with Yulia Krivich) of “Słownik/Словник/Vocabulary”, an open roundtable discussion on migration, as well as “New Neighbors” (co-author Helena Szwiegocka), a social project for people who have experienced migration.

Olena Apchel

Olena Apchel

© Jacobia Dahm

Marta Hewelt (from 2023)

is a managing director and production manager. She was born in Gdynia in Poland and grew up in Berlin. From 2004 to 2007, she trained as an events manager at HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin, and subsequently worked as a production manager for more than ten years, both in Berlin’s independent scene and nationwide. In addition to artist management, her expertise lay mainly in organising (international) festivals and site-specific productions. The projects she has led include the format “X Wohnungen” (“X Apartments”) at the Capital of Culture Košice (Slovakia) in 2013, “X Choreographers” at the international festival Tanz im August in 2012 and HOTEL shabbyshabby at the Theater der Welt festival in Mannheim in 2014. Together with Matthias Pees, she hosted the Latin America festivals “Libertad y Desorden” and “La Vida despues” at HAU Hebbel am Ufer in 2010 and 2012, respectively, in her capacity as production manager.

In 2014, she assumed the role of deputy managing director at the Neuköllner Oper in Berlin for one year. In 2015, she took over the executive management of the schwankhalle in Bremen and initiated its reopening. She opened and managed the reconceptualized theatre until June 2022, at first together with Pirkko Husemann and later with Florian Ackermann. In her work as managing director of the schwankhalle, she also strove to improve the labour and funding conditions of Bremen’s independent scene. As such, she is actively involved in the international network FREISCHWIMMEN as well as the NFT (Network of Free Theatres), two platforms that amplify exchange between theatres and strengthen artists’ production conditions.

Marta Hewelt

Marta Hewelt

© Jacobia Dahm

Carolin Hochleichter (from 2023)

is a dramaturg, curator, lecturer, mother to three children and founding member of the Keep It Real collective. She studied cultural science and aesthetic practice in Hildesheim as well as Utrecht, and completed the Cultures of the Curatorial graduate programme in Leipzig. During her studies in Hildesheim, she oversaw the artistic direction of the 2003 edition of transeuropa, an international performing arts festival.

From 2004 to 2007, she collaborated with Hannah Hurtzig on the project Mobile Academy and worked with Joanna Nuckowska in Warsaw in this context as well. Following her role as dramaturg at the Theater Freiburg from 2008 to 2011, she moved on to the international performing arts festival Foreign Affairs at the Berliner Festspiele, where she was dramaturg from 2012 to 2016. She was then curator for the Ruhrtriennale from 2017 to 2020, and co-curator for the international programme of the Athens Epidaurus Festival in 2019. In 2020 she was artistic director of Hildesheim’s bid to become European Capital of Culture 2025. Carolin Hochleichter regularly works as a production dramaturg, teaches dramaturgy at various academies, and has been a directing mentor at the Academy of Performing Arts Baden-Wuerttemberg in Ludwigsburg since 2021.

Carolin Hochleichter

Carolin Hochleichter

© Jacobia Dahm

Joanna Nuckowska (from 2023)

is a programmer, curator, cultural manager and founding member of the Culture for Climate collective. She was a two-time fellow of the US-American ISPA’s Fellowship Program and a guest lecturer at the Theatre Academy and University of Social Sciences and Humanities in Warsaw. Joanna Nuckowska is interested in social and environmental issues and tries to actively promote eco-sustainability in the context of the global performing arts community; she is also engaged in drawing up green recommendations for the cultural sectors.

She worked at the Nowy Teatr International Cultural Centre in Warsaw for 13 years, where she held the positions of vice-director and head of production and international relations. She was also curator of various transdisciplinary projects, such as Summer Camp Art Academy, the showcase Generation After, and International Festival New Europe. She worked on the “Mobile Academy Warsaw 2006” together with Carolin Hochleichter for two years. Joanna Nuckowska and Olena Apchel have also collaborated at the Nowy Teatr International Cultural Centre in 2021.

Joanna Nuckowska

Joanna Nuckowska

© Jacobia Dahm

Yvonne Büdenhölzer (until December 2022)

has been the Theatertreffen’s director since 2012. The Theatertreffen 2022 was the eleventh and last edition under her artistic direction. From January 2023 she will take over as director of Suhrkamp Theater Verlag. She was born in 1977 near Cologne and studied German philology and educational sciences and worked as a dramaturge for various municipal theatres and independent companies. At Theatertreffen 2019 she initiated and co-curated the Conference on Gender (In)Equality „Burning Issues Meets Theatertreffen“. From 2005 to 2011, Yvonne Büdenhölzer was Head of the Stückemarkt of the Berliner Festspiele’s Theatertreffen. In 2009/2010, she was curator and festival manager for the theatre biennial New Plays from Europe in Wiesbaden and Mainz. She was a lecturer at Freie Universität Berlin and a member of the Berlin Council for the Arts. In 2020 she received the Berlin Women's Prize for her commitment to equal opportunities in the theatre.

Yvonne Büdenhölzer

Yvonne Büdenhölzer

© Christoph Neumann

Leitung

Yvonne Büdenhölzer (bis 31.12.2022)

ist seit 2012 Leiterin des Theatertreffens der Berliner Festspiele. Das Theatertreffen 2022 war die elfte und letzte Ausgabe unter ihrer künstlerischen Leitung. Ab Januar 2023 übernimmt sie die Leitung des Suhrkamp Theater Verlages. Sie wurde 1977 bei Köln geboren, studierte Germanistik und Pädagogik in Bonn und arbeitete als Dramaturgin und Kuratorin an verschiedenen Theatern und in der Freien Szene. Beim Theatertreffen 2019 initiierte und mitkuratierte sie die zweite Konferenz zu Gender(un)gleichheit „Burning Issues meets Theatertreffen“. Von 2005 bis 2011 war Yvonne Büdenhölzer Künstlerische Leiterin des Stückemarkts beim Theatertreffen. In der Spielzeit 2009/10 war sie Kuratorin und Festivalmanagerin der Theaterbiennale Neue Stücke aus Europa in Wiesbaden und Mainz. Sie war Lehrbeauftragte an der Freien Universität Berlin und Mitglied im Rat für die Künste. 2020 erhielt sie den Berliner Frauenpreis für ihr Engagement für die Chancengleichheit am Theater.

Yvonne Büdenhölzer

Yvonne Büdenhölzer

© Christoph Neumann

Olena Apchel (ab 2023)

ist Artivistin, Theaterregisseurin, Dramatikerin und Kuratorin von Kunstprojekten, zudem promovierte sie in Kulturgeschichte und -theorie. Sie lehrt im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Theaters und unterrichtet Meisterklassen in Regie, Schauspiel und Bewegung auf der Bühne. Von 2010 bis 2015 lehrte sie an der Staatlichen Kulturakademie in Charkiw. Seit 2014 ist sie als Co-Autorin und Trainerin an der Autor*innenschule für Schauspiel und Darstellende Künste TESTO in Charkiw beschäftigt. In ihrer Forschungspraxis interessiert sie sich für Prozesse alternativer Systeme der Existenz und des Managements von Kultureinrichtungen. Als Regisseurin beschäftigt sie sich vor allem mit Themen wie persönlichen und historischen Traumata und sozialer Gewalt. Zudem widmet sie sich auch Fragestellungen der alternativen Realität. Sie ist Autorin des sozio-theatralen Projekts „Opositorium“, das Toleranzzonen des interreligiösen Dialogs in zeitgenössischen Gesellschaften erforscht.

Von 2017 bis 2019 war sie künstlerische Leiterin des Akademischen Dramatheaters Lesya Ukrainka Lviv, wo sie unter anderem das preisgekrönte post-dokumentarische Theaterstück „Horyzont 200“ inszenierte. 2019 und 2020 war sie an der Konzeptentwicklung der Hauptausstellung des Gedenkmuseums totalitärer Regime Territorium des Terrors in Lviv beteiligt. Im Jahr 2019 inszenierte sie das autobiografische Stück „Wiezi“ am Wybrzeże Theater in Danzig (Gdańsk), das beim Festival of Previews in Bydgoszcz den Preis für das beste Regiedebüt erhielt. 2021 brachte sie „Kreszany“ auf die Bühne, das beim Divine Comedy International Theatre Festival in Krakau uraufgeführt wurde. Olena Apchel ist derzeit in der Abteilung für soziale Projekte des Internationalen Kulturzentrums Nowy Teatr in Warschau tätig. Zudem ist sie Co-Autorin (mit Yulia Krivich) von „Słownik/Словник/Vocabulary“, einem Open Table zum Thema Migration, und Autorin von „New Neighbors“ (Co-Autorin Helena Szwiegocka), einem sozialen Projekt für Menschen mit Migrationserfahrung.

Olena Apchel

Olena Apchel

© Jacobia Dahm

Marta Hewelt (ab 2023)

ist Geschäfts- und Produktionsleiterin. Sie wurde in Gdynia in Polen geboren und wuchs in Berlin auf. Von 2004 bis 2007 absolvierte sie eine Ausbildung zur Veranstaltungskauffrau am HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Danach war sie über zehn Jahre lang in der freien Szene Berlins und überregional als Produktionsleiterin tätig, wobei ihr Schwerpunkt neben dem Künstler*innen-Management auf der Ausrichtung von (internationalen) Festivals und Site-Specific-Produktionen lag. Sie leitete u. a. das Format „X Wohnungen“ in der Kulturhauptstadt Košice (2013) in der Slowakei, das daran angelehnte Projekt „X Choreografen“ während des internationalen Festivals Tanz im August 2012 und HOTEL shabbyshabby im Rahmen des Festivals Theater der Welt in Mannheim (2014). Am HAU Hebbel am Ufer richtete sie als Produktionsleiterin gemeinsam mit Matthias Pees die Lateinamerika-Festivals „Libertad y Desorden“ (2010) und „La Vida despues“ (2012) aus.

2014 wurde sie für ein Jahr stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin an der Neuköllner Oper in Berlin. 2015 übernahm sie die Geschäftsführung der schwankhalle in Bremen und initiierte deren Neueröffnung. Mit neuem Konzept eröffnete und leitete sie das Theater zunächst gemeinsam mit Pirkko Husemann und später mit Florian Ackermann bis Juni 2022. In ihrer Tätigkeit als Geschäftsführerin der schwankhalle engagierte sie sich auch für die Verbesserung der Arbeits- und Förderbedingungen der freien Szene Bremens und ist aktiv im internationalen Netzwerk FREISCHWIMMEN sowie dem NFT – Netzwerk Freier Theater: zwei Plattformen, die den Austausch zwischen den Theaterhäusern intensivieren und die Produktionsbedingungen der Künstler*innen stärken.

Marta Hewelt

Marta Hewelt

© Jacobia Dahm

Carolin Hochleichter (ab 2023)

ist Dramaturgin, Kuratorin, Dozentin, Mutter von drei Kindern und Gründungsmitglied des Kollektivs Keep It Real. Sie hat Kulturwissenschaften und Ästhetische Praxis in Hildesheim sowie Utrecht und Kulturen des Kuratorischen in Leipzig studiert. Noch während ihres Studiums in Hildesheim übernahm sie die künstlerische Leitung für das internationale performing arts festival transeuropa 2003.

Von 2004 bis 2007 leitete sie mit Hannah Hurtzig die Mobile Akademie und arbeitete in diesem Zusammenhang mit Joanna Nuckowska in Warschau zusammen. Nach ihrer Zeit als Dramaturgin am Theater Freiburg von 2008 bis 2011 war sie von 2012 bis 2016 Dramaturgin des Festivals Foreign Affairs der Berliner Festspiele. 2017 bis 2020 war sie als Kuratorin für die Ruhrtriennale und 2019 zusätzlich als Co-Kuratorin für das internationale Programm des Athens Epidaurus Festival tätig. 2020 übernahm sie die künstlerische Leitung für den Bewerbungsprozess der Stadt Hildesheim als Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2025. Zusätzlich arbeitet sie regelmäßig als Produktionsdramaturgin, unterrichtet an verschiedenen Ausbildungsinstituten im Bereich Dramaturgie und ist seit 2021 Mentorin für Regie an der Akademie für darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg.

Carolin Hochleichter

Carolin Hochleichter

© Jacobia Dahm

Joanna Nuckowska (ab 2023)

ist Programmleiterin, Kuratorin, Kulturmanagerin und Gründungsmitglied des Kollektivs Culture for Climate. Sie war zweimal Fellow des amerikanischen ISPA-Fellowship-Programms und lehrte als Gastdozentin an der Theaterakademie und der Universität für Gesellschafts- und Geisteswissenschaften in Warschau. Joanna Nuckowska interessiert sich für den Themenbereich Gesellschaft und Umweltfragen und engagiert sich aktiv für die Förderung ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit im Kontext der globalen Performing-Arts-Community. Außerdem entwickelt sie „grüne Empfehlungen“ für die verschiedenen Kultursektoren.

Sie arbeitete 13 Jahre lang am Nowy Teatr Kulturzentrum in Warschau, wo sie die Positionen der Vizedirektorin und der Leitung der Abteilung Produktion und Internationale Beziehungen innehatte. Zudem war sie Kuratorin verschiedener disziplinübergreifender Projekte, wie der Summer Camp Art Academy, des Showcase-Projekts Generation After und des International Festival New Europe. Zusammen mit Carolin Hochleichter arbeitete sie zwei Jahre lang an dem Projekt „Mobile Akademie Warschau 2006“. Joanna Nuckowska und Olena Apchel arbeiteten 2021 zudem bereits am Nowy Teatr Kulturzentrum in Warschau zusammen.

Joanna Nuckowska

Joanna Nuckowska

© Jacobia Dahm