Stückemarkt – Open Call 2020

Open Call 2020 closed

The deadline for Stückemarkt 2020 has now expired. Submissions are not possible anymore. The jury’s decision will be announced here in February 2020.

Information about the Open Call 2020

Who tears down the walls of artistic and aesthetic conventions, who thinks about the theatre beyond what we are used to, who designs new worlds, who reflects and questions socially established models?

Under the heading “Against Separation”, Stückemarkt is looking for works from all parts of the world that explore the concept of solidarity from a perspective of art and aesthetics. What could our drafts for an open, equitable coexistence look like? How can they be expanded into the future? What exactly is an act of solidarity? What would a society where solidarity no longer exists look like? What happens when individuals no longer believe in the big picture, when the private has replaced the public sphere? And: Who owes what to whom exactly?

The Stückemarkt’s jury of renowned international artists will select a total of five works from among the submissions. One of the invited artists or groups will be awarded a commission of work, funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb). The commission entails 10,000 Euro for the realisation of a new production at a partner theatre in Germany. The partner theatre for the implementation of the 2020 commission of work is Schauspiel Dortmund under its artistic director Julia Wissert, who will take over the theatre from the 2020/21 season.

Various forms of authorship lead to a theatre piece, therefore submissions can include plays and projects – e.g. site-specific projects, theatrical interventions, narrative spaces – as well as performances that are based on documentary material and located on the interface of different artistic disciplines. We are particularly interested in young authors and artists who explore new narrations and perspectives, creating innovative, world-building languages.

Application details for the Stückemarkt 2020

Deadline for applications: 17 November 2019
Jury decision: mid-February 2020

Detailed information about the applications for the 2020 Stückemarkt can be found here:
Stückemarkt: Open Call 2020 PDF, 65 KB

Please file your personal data with our online tool. If this should not be possible, please use the application form as an alternative.

If you submit a theatre project, please add a cost calculation for your project and a technical rider. Please use our online tool to file your cost calculation. If this should not be possible for you, please use the cost calculation form PDF, 1.6 MB as an alternative.

For general questions regarding submissions, please write to .

Stückemarkt – Open Call 2020

Wer reißt die Grenzen künstlerisch-ästhetischer Konventionen ein, wer denkt Theater außerhalb des Gewohnten, wer entwirft neue Welten, wer reflektiert und befragt gesellschaftlich etablierte Modelle?

Unter dem Motto „Wider die Vereinzelung“ sucht der Stückemarkt weltweit nach Arbeiten, die das Konzept Solidarität künstlerisch-ästhetisch befragen. Wie können Entwürfe für ein offenes, gleichberechtigtes Zusammenleben aussehen und dabei über sich selbst hinausweisen? Was macht einen solidarischen Akt solidarisch? Wie sieht eine Gesellschaft aus, wenn es keine Solidarität mehr gibt? Was passiert, wenn die*der Einzelne nicht mehr an das große Ganze glaubt, das Private das Öffentliche ersetzt? Und: Wer schuldet wem eigentlich was?

Die internationale Künstler*innen-Jury des Stückemarkts wählt aus allen Bewerbungen fünf Arbeiten aus. An eine*n der eingeladenen Künstler*innen/-gruppen wird der von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb geförderte Werkauftrag vergeben. Der Werkauftrag ist mit 10.000 Euro für die Realisierung einer Arbeit an einem Partnertheater in Deutschland dotiert. Das Partnertheater für die Realisierung des Werkauftrags 2020 ist das Schauspiel Dortmund unter der Intendanz von Regisseurin Julia Wissert, die ab der Spielzeit 2020/21 die Leitung übernimmt.

Da verschiedenste Formen von Autor*innenschaft zu einer künstlerischen Arbeit führen, können sowohl Theatertexte als auch Theaterprojekte – zum Beispiel Site-Specific-Projekte, theatrale Interventionen, narrative Räume – und Performances, die auf dokumentarischem Material basieren und an der Schnittstelle verschiedener künstlerischer Disziplinen entstanden sind, eingesendet werden. Unser Interesse gilt dabei insbesondere jungen Autor*innen und Künstler*innen, die im Sinne eines erweiterten Begriffs von Autor*innenschaft neue Narrationen und Perspektiven aufzeigen und innovative, weltenerzeugende Sprachen entwickeln.

Bewerbungsformalien für den Stückemarkt 2020

Einsendeschluss: 17. November 2019
Juryentscheidung: Mitte Februar 2020

Detaillierte Informationen zu den Bewerbungsformalien für den Stückemarkt 2020 finden Sie hier:
Stückemarkt: Open Call 2020 PDF, 68 KB

Bitte erfassen Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten zeitgleich mit der Zusendung Ihrer Unterlagen mit unserem Online-Tool www.berlinerfestspiele.de/stueckemarkt-bewerbung. Sollte Ihnen die Nutzung des Online-Tools nicht möglich sein, nutzen Sie alternativ das Bewerbungsformular PDF, 1,6 MB .

Für Theaterprojekte benötigen wir zusätzlich die Kostenaufstellung für die Realisierung eines Gastspiels sowie einen Technical Rider. Bitte erfassen Sie die Kostenaufstellung ebenfalls in unserem Online-Tool www.berlinerfestspiele.de/stueckemarkt-bewerbung. Sollte Ihnen die Nutzung des Online-Tools nicht möglich sein, nutzen Sie alternativ das Budgetierungsformular PDF, 1,6 MB .

Bei Fragen zum Bewerbungsprozedere wenden Sie sich bitte an .