Jury 2008

The Stückemarkt jury 2008 consisted of the following five theatre makers:

Stückemarkt Jury

Stückemarkt Jury. Nuran David Calis, Viola Hasselberg, Dea Loher, Iris Laufenberg and Koen Tachelet

© Jason Kassab Bachi

Nuran David Calis

Munich

Nuran David Calis was born in Bielefeld in 1976. The son of Armenian Jewish immigrants from Turkey, studied directing at the Otto-Falkenberg-Schule in Munich from 1996 to 2000. During this time he was also an assistant director at the Münchner Kammerspiele and the Schauspielhaus Zurich. From 2000 to 2002 he produced music clips for hip-hop artists. In 2005 he was invited to the playwrights’ workshop at the Stückemarkt with John von Düffel. Nuran David Calis lives in Munich and works as a director and writer for stage and screen.

Nuran David Calis

Nuran David Calis

© Promo

Viola Hasselberg

Viola Hasselberg

© Promo

Falk Richter

Freiburg

Viola Hasselberg was born in Bonn and studied Applied Theatre Studies and Music in Hildesheim where she also worked as an actress with Theater Aspik. After a research fellowship in Krakau, she worked as a lecturer at the University of Hildesheim. In 1999 she became chief dramaturg of the Luzerner Theater, and in 2003 dramaturg of schauspielhannover. With the 2006/07 season, Viola Hasselberg became theatre director and leading dramaturg at the Theater Freiburg.

Iris Laufenberg

Berlin

Iris Laufenberg was born in Cologne in 1966 and studied Applied Theatre Studies at the Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen from 1986 to 1991. She was a dramaturg at Schauspiel Bonn until 1997, and then until 1999 at the Bremer Theater. In 1994, 1996 and 2002 she was artistic director of the European Theatre festival Bonner Biennale. She teaches the advanced class in Stage Design at the Technische Universität Berlin. Iris Laufenberg has been director of the Theatertreffen since 2003.

Iris Laufenberg

Iris Laufenberg

© Bettina Keller

Dea Loher

Dea Loher

© Promo

Dea Loher

Berlin

Dea Loher was born in Traunstein, Bavaria in 1964. She studied Philosophy and German in Munich and Dramatic Writing in Berlin. Since 1992 she has attracted public attention with a series of plays including “Olgas Raum”, “Tätowierung”, “Leviathan”, “Blaubart – Hoffnung der Frauen”, “Klaras Verhältnisse”, “Das Leben auf der Praça Roosevelt”, and most recently “Land ohne Worte” (2007) and “Das letzte Feuer” (2008), all represented by Verlag der Autoren. She has also published a volume of stories, “Hundskopf” (Wallstein Verlag, 2005). Her work has been recognized with a number of distinguished awards including the Mülheimer Playwriting Prize and the Bertolt Brecht Prize. Dea Loher lives and works in Berlin.

Koen Tachelet

Gent

Koen Tachelet was born in 1964 and is dramaturg of NTGent. He previously worked for the theaters Het Zuidelijk Toneel in Eindhoven, de Singel in Antwerp and ZTHollandia (Eindhoven). Er also worked for the Flanders Theatre Institute in Brussels and Antwerp University. In 2000 he founded the postgraduate course for theatremakers in Antwerp APT (Advanced Performance Training). Tachelet regularly works as a dramaturg in other countries, e.g. at the Münchner Kammerspiele, the Opéra Bastille in Paris and the Nederlandse Opera in Amsterdam. For NTGent and the Münchner Kammerspiele he has created numerous adaptations of non-theatre texts such as the novels of Houellebecq, Joseph Roth and Arnon Grünberg as well as film scripts like “Opening Night” by John Cassavetes and “Die zehn Gebote” by Krzysztof Kieslowski.

Koen Tachelet

Koen Tachelet

© Promo

Jury 2008

Die Stückemarkt-Jury 2008 bestand aus folgenden fünf Theatermacher*innen:

Stückemarkt-Jury

Stückemarkt-Jury. Nuran David Calis, Viola Hasselberg, Dea Loher, Iris Laufenberg und Koen Tachelet

© Jason Kassab Bachi

Nuran David Calis

München

Nuran David Calis, geboren 1976 in Bielefeld. Sohn armenisch-jüdischer Einwanderer aus der Türkei, studierte von 1996 bis 2000 Regie an der Otto-Falkenberg-Schule in München. Gleichzeitig war er Assistent an den Münchner Kammerspielen und am Schauspielhaus Zürich. Von 2000 bis 2002 produzierte er Musikclips für HipHop-Bands. 2005 war er im Rahmen des Stückemarktes zum Dramatikerworkshop mit John von Düffel eingeladen. Nuran David Calis lebt in München und arbeitet als Regisseur sowie Theater- und Drehbuchautor.

Nuran David Calis

Nuran David Calis

© Promo

Viola Hasselberg

Viola Hasselberg

© Promo

Viola Hasselberg

Freiburg

Viola Hasselberg, geboren in Bonn, studierte angewandte Theaterwissenschaft und Musik in Hildesheim und war dort auch als Schauspielerin beim Theater Aspik engagiert. Nach einem Forschungsstipendium in Krakau arbeitete sie als Dozentin an der Universität Hildesheim. 1999 ging sie als Chefdramaturgin ans Luzerner Theater, 2003 als Dramaturgin ans schauspielhannover. Seit der Spielzeit 2006/07 ist Viola Hasselberg Schauspieldirektorin und Leitende Dramaturgin am Theater Freiburg.

Iris Laufenberg

Berlin

Iris Laufenberg, geboren 1966 in Köln, studierte von 1986 bis 1991 Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. Im Anschluss folgten Stationen als Dramaturgin am Schauspiel Bonn (1992 bis 1997) und am Bremer Theater (1997 bis 2001). In den Jahren 1994, 1996 und 2002 leitete sie gemeinsam mit Tankred Dorst und Ursula Ehler das europäische Theaterfestival Bonner Biennale – Neue Stücke aus Europa am Schauspiel Bonn. Seit 2003 ist Iris Laufenberg Leiterin des Theatertreffens der Berliner Festspiele. An der Technischen Universität Berlin unterrichtete sie von 2004 bis 2006 im weiterbildenden Masterstudiengang Bühnenbild, an der Universität Hildesheim im Wintersemester 2008/09 Kulturmanagement.

Iris Laufenberg

Iris Laufenberg

© Bettina Keller

Dea Loher

Dea Loher

© Promo

Dea Loher

Berlin

Dea Loher, geboren 1964 in Traunstein (Bayern), studierte Philosophie und Germanistik in München sowie Szenisches Schreiben in Berlin. Seit 1992 ist sie mit zahlreichen Theaterstücken hervorgetreten, u.a. „Olgas Raum“, „Tätowierung“, „Leviathan“, „Blaubart – Hoffnung der Frauen“, „Klaras Verhältnisse“ und „Das Leben auf der Praça Roosevelt“, zuletzt „Land ohne Worte“ (2007) und „Das letzte Feuer“ (2008), alle erschienen im Verlag der Autoren. Daneben veröffentlichte sie 2005 unter dem Titel „Hundskopf“ einen Band mit Erzählungen (Wallstein Verlag). Sie erhielt viele renommierte Auszeichnungen, darunter den Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis und den Bertolt-Brecht-Preis. Dea Loher lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Koen Tachelet

Gent

Koen Tachelet, geboren 1964, ist Dramaturg am Theater NTGent. Zuvor war er an den Bühnen Het Zuidelijk Toneel in Eindhoven, de Singel in Antwerpen und bei ZTHollandia (Eindhoven) engagiert. Er arbeitete am Flämischen Theaterinstitut in Brüssel und an der Universität Antwerpen. 2000 gründete er in Antwerpen den Postgraduierten-Studiengang für Theatermacher APT (Advanced Performance Training). Tachelet ist als Dramaturg auch regelmäßig im Ausland tätig, u. a. an den Münchner Kammerspielen, der Opéra Bastille in Paris und der Nederlandse Opera in Amsterdam. Für das NTGent und die Münchner Kammerspiele verfasste er zahlreiche Adaptionen von Nicht-Theatertexten, so von Romanen Houellebecqs, Joseph Roths, Arnon Grünbergs u. a. sowie von Filmscripts wie „Opening Night“ von John Cassavetes und „Die zehn Gebote“ von Krzysztof Kieslowski.

Koen Tachelet

Koen Tachelet

© Promo