Jury 2009

The Stückemarkt jury 2009 consisted of the following five theatre makers:

Beret Evensen

Hanover

Beret Evensen was born in Kiel in 1976 and studied German and Romance Languages in Hamburg. She began her career in 2001 as an assistant dramaturg at the Münchner Kammerspiele (Artistic Director Frank Baumbauer) and left in 2003 to work as a dramaturg at the Schauspielhaus Zürich (Artistic Director Christoph Marthaler). Since 2005 she has been a dramaturg at schauspielhannover in the team of Wilfried Schulz, with whom she will move in 2009 to the Staatsschauspiel Dresden.

Beret Evensen

Beret Evensen

© Arno Declair

Christian Kracht

Christian Kracht

© Anthony Shouan-Shawn

Christian Kracht

Buenos Aires

Christian Kracht was born in 1966 in Saanen, Switzerland. He worked as a journalist and went to New Delhi in the mid 90s as India Correspondent for Der Spiegel. He lived for several years in Bangkok and has travelled extensively in many Asian countries. Christian Kracht currently lives in Buenos Aires. He has published three novels which he himself describes as “a kind of triptych”: “Fibreland” (1995), “1979” (2001) and “I’m Going to be Here in Sunshine and Shade” (2008). “1979” has been adapted for the theatre and produced. He has also published three volumes of shorter texts: “The Yellow Pencil” (2000), “Holidays For Ever” (1998, with Eckhard Nickel) and the collection of stories “New Wave, A Compendium 1999 – 2006” (2006). His other works include the anthology “Mesopotamia”, the performance project “Tristesse Royale”, the North Korean photo volume “Total Memory” (with Eva Munz and Lukas Nikol) and “Metan” (with Ingo Niermann). Christian Kracht was editor of the literary magazine “Der Freund” (2004 to 2006). His books have been translated into 14 languages.

Iris Laufenberg

Berlin

Iris Laufenberg was born in Cologne in 1966 and studied Applied Theatre Studies at the Justus Liebig University in Gießen from 1986 to 1991. She was a dramaturg at Schauspiel Bonn (1992–1997) and the Bremer Theater (1997–2001). In 1994, 1996 and 2002 she was joint artistic director of the European Theatre festival Bonner Biennale – New Plays from Europe at Schauspiel Bonn with Tankred Dorst and Ursula Ehler. Iris Laufenberg has been director of the Theatertreffen since 2003. She taught the advanced masters class in Stage Design at the Technical University Berlin from 2004 to 2006 and Cultural Management at Hildesheim University for the Winter Term 2008/09.

Iris Laufenberg

Iris Laufenberg

© Bettina Keller

Roland Schimmelpfennig

Roland Schimmelpfennig

© Justine del Corte

Roland Schimmelpfennig

Berlin

Roland Schimmelpfennig was born in 1967 in Göttingen. He worked as a freelance journalist and writer in Istanbul before studying directing at the Otto-Falckenberg-Schule in Munich. On graduation he became an assistant director and subsequently assistant to the artistic director at the Münchner Kammerspiele. In 1999 he went to work as a dramaturg at the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, Berlin, and was writer in residence at the Deutsches Schauspielhaus in Hamburg from 2001. From 2000 to 2005 Schimmelpfennig taught dramaturgy at the Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee. Since April 2007 he has been a visiting professor at the German Literary Institute Leipzig. He has written commissioned works for the Stuttgart and Hanover State Theatres, the Deutsches Schauspielhaus in Hamburg, the Vienna Burgtheater, Schauspielhaus Zurich and the Deutsches Theater Berlin. His numerous stage plays include “Push up 1–3”, “Arabian Night”, “The Woman Before”, “Ambrosia”, “On Greifswalder Straße” und most recently “Alice in Wonderland”, which he is directing himself at the Deutsches Theater (opening 29th November 2008). Schimmelpfennig was awarded the Else-Lasker-Schüler-Prize in 1997 for “Fish After Fish” and a year later received the Schiller Memorial Prize. He was awarded Austria’s Nestroy Prize for Theatre in 2002.

Roger Vontobel

Hamburg

Roger Vontobel was born in 1977 and grew up in Zurich, the city he was born, and Johannesburg. He studied drama at the Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York and Pasadena and directing at the Institute of Theatre, Musical Theatre and Film in Hamburg. He founded the company VONTOBELhamburg in 2002, with whom his projects included “[fi'lo:tas]” which was invited to the Impulse Festival, the Zurich Theaterspektakel, the Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen and the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. During the course of his studies he directed at the Stuttgart State Theatre, the Thalia Theater Hamburg and the Theaterhaus Jena. Since 2005 Roger Vontobel has worked regularly at Schauspiel Essen, the Deutsches Schauspielhaus in Hamburg and the Münchner Kammerspiele. In 2006 he made his debut at the Salzburg Festival as part of the Young Directors Project. His productions were invited to the Radikal Jung festival at the Munich Volkstheater in both 2006 and 2007.

Roger Vontobel

Roger Vontobel

© Arno Declair

Jury 2009

Die Stückemarkt-Jury 2009 bestand aus folgenden fünf Theatermacher*innen:

Beret Evensen

Hannover

Beret Evensen wurde 1976 in Kiel geboren und studierte Germanistik und Romanistik in Hamburg. 2001 begann sie als Dramaturgieassistentin an den Münchner Kammerspielen (Intendanz Frank Baumbauer) und ging 2003 als Dramaturgin ans Schauspielhaus Zürich (Intendanz Christoph Marthaler). Seit 2005 ist sie Dramaturgin am schauspielhannover im Team von Wilfried Schulz, mit dem sie 2009 ans Staatsschauspiel Dresden wechselt.

Beret Evensen

Beret Evensen

© Arno Declair

Christian Kracht

Christian Kracht

© Anthony Shouan-Shawn

Christian Kracht

Buenos Aires

Christian Kracht,geboren 1966 in Saanen in der Schweiz, war als Journalist tätig und ging Mitte der 1990er Jahre als Indienkorrespondent des Spiegels nach Neu-Delhi. Er lebte mehrere Jahre in Bangkok und bereiste zahlreiche Staaten Asiens. Derzeit lebt Christian Kracht in Buenos Aires. Er veröffentlichte bisher drei Romane, die er selbst als eine „Art Triptychon“ bezeichnet: „Faserland“ (1995), „1979“ (2001) und „Ich werde hier sein im Sonnenschein und im Schatten“ (2008). „1979“ wurde für das Theater dramatisiert und aufgeführt. Daneben liegen drei Bände des Autors mit kürzeren Texten vor: „Der gelbe Bleistift“ (2000), „Ferien für immer“ (1998, mit Eckhard Nickel) und der Erzählband „New Wave, Ein Kompendium 1999 – 2006“ (2006). Darüber hinaus erschienen die Anthologie „Mesopotamia“, das Performance-Projekt „Tristesse Royale“, der Nord-Korea-Photoband „Die totale Erinnerung“ (mit Eva Munz und Lukas Nikol) und „Metan“ (mit Ingo Niermann). Christian Kracht war Herausgeber der Literaturzeitschrift „Der Freund“ (2004 bis 2006). Seine Bücher wurden in 14 Sprachen übersetzt.

Iris Laufenberg

Berlin

Iris Laufenberg, geboren 1966 in Köln, studierte von 1986 bis 1991 Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. Im Anschluss folgten Stationen als Dramaturgin am Schauspiel Bonn (1992 bis 1997) und am Bremer Theater (1997 bis 2001). In den Jahren 1994, 1996 und 2002 leitete sie gemeinsam mit Tankred Dorst und Ursula Ehler das europäische Theaterfestival Bonner Biennale – Neue Stücke aus Europa am Schauspiel Bonn. Seit 2003 ist Iris Laufenberg Leiterin des Theatertreffens der Berliner Festspiele. An der Technischen Universität Berlin unterrichtete sie von 2004 bis 2006 im weiterbildenden Masterstudiengang Bühnenbild, an der Universität Hildesheim im Wintersemester 2008/09 Kulturmanagement.

Iris Laufenberg

Iris Laufenberg

© Bettina Keller

Roland Schimmelpfennig

Roland Schimmelpfennig

© Justine del Corte

Roland Schimmelpfennig

Berlin

Roland Schimmelpfennig, geboren 1967 in Göttingen, arbeitete als freier Journalist und Autor in Istanbul, bevor er Regie an der Otto-Falckenberg-Schule in München studierte. Im Anschluss war er Regieassistent und später Mitarbeiter der künstlerischen Leitung der Münchner Kammerspiele. 1999 ging er als Dramaturg an die Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, Berlin, und war ab 2001 Hausautor am Deutschen Schauspielhaus in Hamburg. Von 2000 bis 2005 unterrichtete Schimmelpfennig Dramaturgie an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee, seit April 2007 ist er Gastprofessor am Deutschen Literaturinstitut in Leipzig. Er verfasste Auftragsarbeiten für die Staatstheater Stuttgart und Hannover, das Deutsche Schauspielhaus in Hamburg, das Burgtheater Wien, das Schauspielhaus Zürich und das Deutsche Theater Berlin. Zu seinen zahlreichen Theaterstücken gehören „Push up 1–3“, „Die arabische Nacht“, „Die Frau von früher“, „Ambrosia“, „Auf der Greifswalder Straße“ und zuletzt „Alice im Wunderland“, das er selbst als Regisseur im Deutschen Theater Berlin zur Aufführung bringt (Premiere 29. November 2008). 1997 erhielt Schimmelpfennig für „Fisch um Fisch“ den Else-Lasker-Schüler-Preis, im darauf folgenden Jahr wurde er mit dem Schiller-Gedächtnispreis gefördert. 2002 erhielt er den österreichischen Nestroy-Theaterpreis.

Roger Vontobel

Hamburg

Roger Vontobel, geboren 1977, wuchs in seinem Geburtsort Zürich und in Johannesburg auf. Er studierte Schauspiel an der American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York und Pasadena und Schauspielregie am Institut für Theater, Musiktheater und Film in Hamburg. 2002 gründete er die freie Gruppe VONTOBELhamburg, mit der er u.a. die Produktion „[fi'lo:tas]“ erarbeitete, die zum Impulse Festival, dem Theaterspektakel Zürich, den Ruhrfestspielen Recklinghausen und zum Edinburgh Fringe Festival eingeladen wurde. Im Rahmen seines Studiums inszenierte er am Staatstheater Stuttgart, am Thalia Theater Hamburg und am Theaterhaus Jena. Seit 2005 arbeitet Roger Vontobel regelmäßig am Schauspiel Essen, am Deutschen Schauspielhaus in Hamburg und an den Münchner Kammerspielen. 2006 gab er im Rahmen des Young Directors Project sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen. 2006 und 2007 wurden zwei seiner Inszenierungen zum Festival Radikal Jung am Volkstheater München eingeladen.

Roger Vontobel

Roger Vontobel

© Arno Declair