Jury 2017

The Stückemarkt jury consists of artists from a wide range of disciplines. From all works submitted following an open call in a given year, they select five works to be presented during the Theatertreffen in a format corresponding with their artistic form. The members of the Stückemarkt jury rotate each year. In 2017, they were:

The jury of the Stückemarkt

The jury of the Stückemarkt. F.l.t.r.: Mona el Gammal, Christina Zintl, Hakan Savaş Mican, Felicia Zeller, Armin Petras

© Alexander Janetzko

Mona el Gammal

Spacial artist, scenographer, performer – Berlin

Born in Bochum in 1986, Mona el Gammal studied scenography at Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe/ZKM and has been conceiving and directing interdisciplinary projects since then. She has worked with La Fura dels Baus and for Nationalgalerie Berlin, among others. Most recently, she worked as set and costume designer and performer with SIGNA at Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg and at the Republique Theatre Copenhagen.
She has been developing narrative spaces since 2006, parallel worlds which absorb the viewers and turn them into protagonists. Her narrative space “HAUS//NUMMER/NULL” received the Kölner Theaterpreis 2013 and was presented at the Stückemarkt of the Theatertreffen in 2014.
“RHIZOMAT”, the continuation of this work, was presented by the Berliner Festspiele as part of the new programme format “Immersion”.

Mona el Gammal

Mona el Gammal

© Torben Otten

Hakan Savaş Mican

Hakan Savaş Mican

© privat

Hakan Savaş Mican

Director, author – Berlin

Born in Berlin in 1978 and raised in Turkey, Hakan Savaş Mican studied architecture in Berlin before he decided to attend a directing course at the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie. Various film and television projects for ARTE and RBB were followed since 2008 by theatre productions at Ballhaus Naunynstraße, Staatstheater Mainz, Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin, Staatstheater Wiesbaden and Münchner Volkstheater. Hakan Savaş Mican is the author of numerous plays, among them “Der Besuch”, “Die Schwäne vom Schlachthof” or “Die Saison der Krabben”, which received the award for the best contemporary drama at the 2013 Hamburg Privattheatertage.
In 2014, his production “Schwimmen Lernen – ein Lovesong” was invited to the theatre festival Radikal jung at Münchner Volkstheater.
As a fellow of the cultural academy Tarabya in Istanbul, he shot the documentary feature film “Die Zeit der Haselnüsse” in 2014.

Armin Petras

Artistic director, director, author – Stuttgart

Armin Petras, born in Meschede in 1964 and raised in East Berlin, studied directing at the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst “Ernst Busch” in Berlin. He has directed plays at Nationaltheater Mannheim, Schauspiel Leipzig, Staatstheater Hannover, Thalia Theater Hamburg, Volksbühne Berlin and Münchner Kammerspiele, among others. He held leading positions at Theater Nordhausen, Staatstheater Kassel and Schauspiel Frankfurt and was the artistic director of the Berlin Maxim Gorki Theater from 2006 to 2013. His world premieres of the Fritz Kater plays “zeit zu lieben zeit zu sterben” (2003) and “WE ARE CAMERA / jasonmaterial” (2004) as well as his production of “Gertrud” (based on Einar Schleef, 2007) were presented at the Theatertreffen. In 2005, he received the Lessing-Award of the Free State of Saxony. Armin Petras has been the Artistic Director for Drama at Staatstheater Stuttgart since the summer of 2013.
His alter ego Fritz Kater writes theatre texts, among them the plays of the years of 2003 (“zeit zu lieben zeit zu sterben”) and 2004 (“WE ARE CAMERA / jasonmaterial”), as chosen by the magazine Theater heute. In 2003, “zeit zu lieben zeit zu sterben” won the Mülheim Dramatists’ Award. In 2008, Kater received the Else-Lasker-Schüler-Dramatists’ Prize.

Armin Petras

Armin Petras

© Fabian Schellhorn

Felica Zeller

Felica Zeller

© Ralf Hiemisch

Felicia Zeller

Author – Berlin

Felicia Zeller, born in Stuttgart in 1970, studied at Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. She has been writing plays since 1990 and her work has been produced at Theater Freiburg (“Kaspar Häuser Meer”, 2007), at Nationaltheater Mannheim (“Gespräche mit Astronauten”, 2009), at Schauspiel Frankfurt (“X-Freunde”, 2012, and “Zweite allgemeine Verunsicherung”, 2016) as well as at Saarländisches Staatstheater (“Wunsch und Wunder”, 2015).
In 1993, she received the Youth Theatre Award Baden-Württemberg for “immer einen hund gehabt / plane crazy (1928)” and in 2008, her play “Kaspar Häuser Meer” won the Audience Award at the festival Mülheimer Theatertage. Further nominations for the Mülheimer Dramatists’ Award followed in 2011 (“Gespräche mit Astronauten”) and in 2015 (“Wunsch und Wunder”).
In addition to her theatre texts, Felicia Zeller writes prose and works as an author and director in film and media art. Her prose miniatures “Einsam lehnen am Bekannten” received the Clemens Brentano Förderpreis for literature of the city of Heidelberg.

Christina Zintl

Dramaturg Theatertreffen, Stückemarkt – Berlin

Born in Bonn in 1980, Christina Zintl studied dramatic arts in Hildesheim and Aix-en-Provence. She was employed as an assistant dramaturg and dramaturg at Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel from 2006 to 2008 and as a dramaturg at Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus from 2008 to 2011, where she was mainly involved with contemporary drama, such as world premieres of plays by Juli Zeh, Thomas Jonigk and Juliane Kann. She curated PLAN B, a series of interdisciplinary projects in cooperation with North Rhine-Westphalia’s independent theatre scene, and UNTIL THE END OF THE WORLD!, a cooperation project with the international theatre network MITOS 21. Her dramaturgical work took her to Theater am Neumarkt, Schauspiel Leipzig and Staatstheater Nürnberg. She is one of the founding members of the performance group HOTEL EUROPA (who performed at Maxim Gorki Theater and Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin, among others) and taught at universities such as Freie Universität Berlin and the Salzburg Mozarteum. Since 2011, she has been a dramaturg for the Theatertreffen and the director of the Stückemarkt (with parental leave in 2016/17).

Christina Zintl

Christina Zintl

© Frank Eidel

Jury 2017

Die Stückemarkt-Jury, die sich aus Künstler*innen verschiedenster Gebiete zusammensetzt, wählt aus den Einsendungen, die auf den Open Call des entsprechenden Jahres folgen, fünf bis sieben Arbeiten aus, die im Mai beim Theatertreffen ihrer Form entsprechend präsentiert werden. Die Zusammensetzung der Stückemarkt-Jury wechselt jedes Jahr. 2017 bestand sie aus:

Die Jury des Stückemarkts

Die Jury des Stückemarkts. v.l.n.r.: Mona el Gammal, Christina Zintl, Hakan Savaş Mican, Felicia Zeller, Armin Petras

© Alexander Janetzko

Mona el Gammal

Raumkünstlerin, Szenografin, Performerin – Berlin

Geboren 1986 in Bochum, studierte Mona el Gammal Szenografie an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe/ZKM und konzipiert und inszeniert seitdem interdisziplinäre Projekte. Sie arbeitete u.a. mit La Fura dels Baus und an der Nationalgalerie Berlin. Zuletzt war sie als Set- und Kostümbildnerin sowie Performerin bei SIGNA am Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg und am Republique Theater Copenhagen tätig.
Seit 2006 entwickelt sie Narrative Spaces, Parallelwelten, die die Zuschauenden aufnehmen und sie zu Protagonist*innen machen. Ihr Narrative Space „HAUS//NUMMER/NULL“ erhielt 2013 den Kölner Theaterpreis und wurde 2014 zum Stückemarkt des Theatertreffens eingeladen.
Die Weiterführung dieser Arbeit „RHIZOMAT“ wurde im Rahmen des neuen Programmformats „Immersion“ an den Berliner Festspielen uraufgeführt.

Mona el Gammal

Mona el Gammal

© Torben Otten

Hakan Savaş Mican

Hakan Savaş Mican

© privat

Hakan Savaş Mican

Regisseur, Autor – Berlin

Geboren 1978 in Berlin und aufgewachsen in der Türkei, studierte Hakan Savaş Mican in Berlin Architektur und anschließend Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie. Nach verschiedenen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmarbeiten für ARTE und den RBB, inszeniert Hakan Savaş Mican seit 2008 Theaterstücke am Ballhaus Naunynstraße, am Staatstheater Mainz, am Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin, am Staatstheater Wiesbaden sowie am Münchner Volkstheater. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Theaterstücke wie „Der Besuch“, „Die Schwäne vom Schlachthof“ oder auch „Die Saison der Krabben“, welches 2013 bei den Hamburger Privattheatertagen mit dem Preis für das beste zeitgenössische Drama ausgezeichnet wurde.
2014 wurde seine Inszenierung „Schwimmen Lernen – ein Lovesong“ zum Theaterfestival Radikal jung am Münchner Volkstheater eingeladen.
Als Stipendiat der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Istanbul drehte er 2014 den dokumentarischen Spielfilm „Die Zeit der Haselnüsse“.

Armin Petras

Intendant, Regisseur, Autor – Stuttgart

1964 in Meschede im Sauerland geboren und aufgewachsen in Ostberlin, studierte Armin Petras Regie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“ Berlin. Er inszenierte u.a. am Nationaltheater Mannheim, Schauspiel Leipzig, Staatstheater Hannover, Thalia Theater Hamburg, an der Volksbühne Berlin und an den Münchner Kammerspielen. Armin Petras war Oberspielleiter am Theater Nordhausen, Schauspieldirektor am Staatstheater Kassel, Spielstättenleiter am Schauspiel Frankfurt und 2006 bis 2013 Intendant des Berliner Maxim Gorki Theaters. Seine Uraufführungen der Fritz Kater Stücke „zeit zu lieben zeit zu sterben“ (2003) und „WE ARE CAMERA / jasonmaterial“ (2004) als auch die Inszenierung „Gertrud“(2007) nach Einar Schleef wurden zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. 2005 erhielt er den Lessing-Preis des Freistaates Sachsen. Seit Sommer 2013 ist Armin Petras Schauspielintendant am Staatstheater Stuttgart.
Sein Autoren-Alter-Ego Fritz Kater schreibt Theatertexte, die von Theater heute 2003 („zeit zu lieben zeit zu sterben“) und 2004 („WE ARE CAMERA / jasonmaterial“) zum Stück des Jahres gewählt wurden. 2003 gewann er für „zeit zu lieben zeit zu sterben“ den Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis. 2008 wurde Kater für sein Gesamtwerk mit dem Else-Lasker-Schüler-Dramatikerpreis ausgezeichnet.

Armin Petras

Armin Petras

© Fabian Schellhorn

Felica Zeller

Felica Zeller

© Ralf Hiemisch

Felicia Zeller

Autorin – Berlin

Geboren 1970 in Stuttgart, studierte Felicia Zeller an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. Seit 1990 schreibt Zeller Theaterstücke, die u.a. am Theater Freiburg („Kaspar Häuser Meer“, 2007), am Nationaltheater Mannheim („Gespräche mit Astronauten“, 2009), am Schauspiel Frankfurt („X-Freunde“, 2012, sowie „Zweite allgemeine Verunsicherung“, 2016) und am Saarländischen Staatstheater („Wunsch und Wunder“, 2015) uraufgeführt wurden.
Für „immer einen hund gehabt / plane crazy (1928)“ erhielt sie 1993 den Jugendtheaterpreis Baden-Württemberg und wurde 2008 mit dem Publikumspreis der Mülheimer Theatertage für „Kaspar Häuser Meer“ ausgezeichnet. Weitere Nominierungen für den Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis folgten 2011 für „Gespräche mit Astronauten“, 2013 für „X-Freunde“ und 2015 für „Wunsch und Wunder“.
Neben ihren Theatertexten schreibt Felicia Zeller Prosa und arbeitet als Autorin und Regisseurin in Film- und Medienkunst. Ihre Prosaminiaturen „Einsam lehnen am Bekannten“ wurden 2012 mit dem Clemens Brentano Förderpreis für Literatur der Stadt Heidelberg ausgezeichnet.

Christina Zintl

Dramaturgin Theatertreffen, Stückemarkt – Berlin

Geboren 1980 in Bonn, studierte Christina Zintl Szenische Künste in Hildesheim und in Aix-en-Provence. Von 2006 bis 2008 arbeitete sie als Dramaturgieassistentin und Dramaturgin am Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel und 2008 bis 2011 als Dramaturgin am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus. Sie betreute vorwiegend Gegenwartsdramatik, u.a. Uraufführungen von Juli Zeh, Thomas Jonigk und Juliane Kann. Des Weiteren kuratierte sie PLAN B, eine Reihe für interdisziplinäre Projekte in Kooperation mit der freien Szene NRW und das Projekt UNTIL THE END OF THE WORLD!, eine Kooperation mit dem internationalen Theaternetzwerk MITOS 21. Weitere dramaturgische Arbeiten folgten am Theater am Neumarkt, Schauspiel Leipzig und Staatstheater Nürnberg. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied der Performancegruppe HOTEL EUROPA (Gastspiele u.a. am Maxim Gorki Theater und Hebbel am Ufer) und hatte Lehraufträge u.a. an der Freien Universität Berlin und dem Mozarteum Salzburg. Seit 2011 ist sie Dramaturgin des Theatertreffens und Leiterin des Stückemarkts (Elternzeit 2016/17).

Christina Zintl

Christina Zintl

© Frank Eidel