Jury 2022

The Stückemarkt-jury consists of artists from a wide range of disciplines. From all works submitted following an Open Call in a given year, they select five works to be presented during the Theatertreffen in a format corresponding with their artistic form. The members of the Stückemarkt-jury rotate each year. In 2022, they will be:

Olga Grjasnowa

Olga Grjasnowa

© Valeria-Mitelman

Olga Grjasnowa

Author

Olga Grjasnowa was born in Baku, Azerbaijan, in 1984. She has published four novels so far. For her highly commended debut novel “Der Russe ist einer, der Birken liebt (All Russians Love Birch Trees)” (2012), she received both the Klaus-Michael-Kühne-Prize and the Anna Seghers-Prize. Most recently, she published the novel “Der verlorene Sohn” (2020) and her first non-fiction book “Die Macht der Mehrsprachigkeit” (2021). Her works have been translated into 15 languages, adapted for the stage at several theatres and most recently made into a film in 2021.

Ogutu Muraya

Writer, theatre maker and storyteller

Ogutu Muraya is a writer and theater maker whose work is embedded in the practice of Orature. In his work, he searches for new forms of storytelling where socio-political aspects merge with the belief that art is an important catalyst for questioning certainties. He studied International Relations at the United States International University Africa and graduated in 2016 with a Master in Arts at DAS Theatre. He has been published in the Kwani? Journal, Chimurenga Chronic, rekto:verso, etcetera magazine, NTGent’s “The Golden Books” series, among others. His performative works and storytelling have featured in several theatres and festivals including La MaMa (New York City), Hay Festival (Wales), Harare International Festival of the Arts (Harare), SICK! Festival (Manchester), Ranga Shankara (Bangalore), Afrovibes Festival (Amsterdam), SPIELART (Munich), Zürcher Theater Spektakel (Zurich), Festival Theaterformen (Braunschweig), Theatre is a must forum (Alexandria), Theatre Commons (Tokyo) & within East Africa. Ogutu Muraya is based in Nairobi where he continues his artistic practice and also teaches part time at the department of film and performing arts at KCA University.

Portrait of Ogutu Muraya

Ogutu Muraya

© Diana Blok

Kevin Rittberger

Kevin Rittberger

© Birgit Kaulfuss

Kevin Rittberger

Author and director

Kevin Rittberger studied literature and communications studies at Freie Universität Berlin. Since 2004, he has been working as an author and director for theatres including Staatstheater Stuttgart, Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Deutsches Theater Berlin, Schauspielhaus Wien, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Schauspiel Frankfurt and Residenztheater München. In 2014, his play “Mulian Rescues Mother Earth” saw its world premiere at the Taipei Arts Festival. He was nominated for the Mülheim Dramatists’ Award for his plays “Kassandra oder die Welt als Ende der Vorstellung“ (2011) and “IKl. Radikalmensch” (2020). He received the Kurt Hübner Directing Prize in 2011 and the Jürgen Bansemer & Ute Nysser Dramatists’ Award in 2012. He has also been working as a curator and performer since 2012. Kevin Rittberger writes essays and articles for publications including Paragrana, Springerin, Berliner Zeitung, Berliner Gazette and nachtkritik.de. His most recent premieres were “The Männy. Eine Mensch-Tier-Verknotung”, based on Donna Haraway, at Schauspiel Hannover and “Schwarzer Block“ at Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin.

Gisèle Vienne

Director, choreographer and visual artist

Gisèle Vienne is a Franco-Austrian artist, choreographer and director. After graduating in Philosophy, she studied at the puppeteering school Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts de la Marionnette. She works regularly with, among others, the writer Dennis Cooper.

Over the past 20 years, her work has been touring in Europe and regularly performed in Asia and in America, among which, “I Apologize” (2004), “Kindertotenlieder” (2007), “Jerk” (2008), “This is how you will disappear” (2010), “LAST SPRING: A Prequel” (2011), “The Ventriloquists Convention” (2015) in collaboration with Puppentheater Halle and “Crowd” (2017). In 2020, she created with Etienne Bideau-Rey a fourth version of “Showroomdummies” at the Rohm Theatre Kyoto, originally created in 2001. In 2021, she made the film “Jerk” and created “L’Etang”, a show based Robert Walser’s short story “Der Teich” (The pond).

Gisèle Vienne has frequently been exhibiting her photographs and installations in museums among which the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in Buenos Aires and the the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève. She published two books: “JERK / Through Their Tears” with Dennis Cooper, Peter Rehberg and Jonathan Capdevielle in 2011 and “40 PORTRAITS 2003–2008”, in collaboration with Dennis Cooper and Pierre Dourthe in 2012. Her work has led to various publications and the original music of her shows to several albums.

Gisèle Vienne is an associate artist at Théâtre National de Bretagne and CN D Centre national de la danse.

For more information please visit: www.g-v.fr

Gisèle Vienne

Gisèle Vienne

© Karen Paulina Biswell

Anna-Katharina Müller

Anna-Katharina Müller

© Inke Johannsen

Anna-Katharina Müller

Dramaturg and Head of Stückemarkt

Anna-Katharina Müller has been a dramaturg at Theatertreffen since 2019 and became Head of Theatertreffen’s Stückemarkt in 2021. She was born in Moers and grew up in Magdeburg. She was a major Theatre student at Southeast Missouri State University and interned and assisted at Theater Magdeburg, Schauspiel Leipzig and Schauspiel Stuttgart. From 2012 to 2015, she studied Drama Studies at Universität Leipzig. This was followed by a Master’s degree at Akademie für Darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg. During her Master’s course, she worked with Anna-Elisabeth Frick, who won the Körber Studio für Junge Regie in 2016 for the production “Die Unerhörte”. From 2017 to 2019, she was part of Lars-Ole Walburg’s team at Schauspiel Hannover, first as an assistant dramaturg, then as a dramaturg, where she was in charge of the artistic direction of Cumberland, a venue of Schauspiel Hannover. Her work as a freelance dramaturg includes a collaboration with director Katerina Giannapoulou at the Athens & Epidaurus Festival 2021.

Jury 2022

Die Stückemarkt-Jury, die sich aus Künstler*innen verschiedenster Gebiete zusammensetzt, wählt aus den Einsendungen, die auf den Open Call des entsprechenden Jahres folgen, fünf Arbeiten aus, die im Mai beim Theatertreffen ihrer Form entsprechend präsentiert werden. Die Zusammensetzung der Stückemarkt-Jury wechselt jedes Jahr. 2022 besteht sie aus:

Olga Grjasnowa

Olga Grjasnowa

© Valeria-Mitelman

Olga Grjasnowa

Autorin

Olga Grjasnowa, geboren 1984 in Baku, Aserbaidschan, hat bislang vier Romane veröffentlicht. Für ihr viel beachtetes Debüt „Der Russe ist einer, der Birken liebt“ (2012) wurde sie mit dem Klaus-Michael Kühne-Preis und dem Anna Seghers-Preis ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt erschien von ihr der Roman „Der verlorene Sohn“ (2020) und ihr erstes Sachbuch „Die Macht der Mehrsprachigkeit“ (2021). Ihr Werk wurde in 15 Sprachen übersetzt, an mehreren Bühnen dramatisiert und zuletzt 2021 verfilmt.

Ogutu Muraya

Schriftsteller, Theatermacher und Geschichtenerzähler

Ogutu Muraya ist Schriftsteller und Theatermacher, dessen Arbeit sich mit der Praxis der Orature, dem mündlichen Erzählen, beschäftigt. Er sucht dabei nach neuen Formen des Geschichtenerzählens, in denen gesellschaftspolitische Aspekte mit der Überzeugung verschmelzen, dass Kunst ein wichtiger Katalysator ist, um Gewissheiten zu hinterfragen. Er studierte Internationale Beziehungen an der United States International University Africa und schloss 2016 mit einem Master of Arts am DAS Theater in Amsterdam ab. Seine Texte wurden u. a. im Kwani? Journal, in der Chimurenga Chronic, bei rekto:verso, etcetera magazine und in der Serie „The Golden Books“ des NTGent veröffentlicht. Seine performativen Arbeiten wurden in vielen Theatern und auf zahlreichen Festivals gezeigt, u. a. bei La MaMa (New York City), Hay Festival (Wales), Harare International Festival of the Arts (Harare), SICK! Festival (Manchester), Ranga Shankara (Bangalore), Afrovibes Festival (Amsterdam), SPIELART (München), Zürcher Theater Spektakel (Zürich), Festival Theaterformen (Braunschweig), Theatre is a must forum (Alexandria), Theatre Commons (Tokio) und in Ostafrika.

Ogutu Muraya lebt und arbeitet in Nairobi und unterrichtet außerdem am Department of Film and Performing Arts der KCA University.

Porträtfoto von Ogutu Muraya

Ogutu Muraya

© Diana Blok

Kevin Rittberger

Kevin Rittberger

© Birgit Kaulfuss

Kevin Rittberger

Autor und Regisseur

Kevin Rittberger studierte Literatur- und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin. Seit 2004 arbeitet er als Autor und Regisseur u. a. am Staatstheater Stuttgart, am Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg, am Deutschen Theater Berlin, am Schauspielhaus Wien, am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, am Schauspiel Frankfurt und am Residenztheater München. 2014 wurde beim Taipei Arts Festival sein Stück „Mulian Rescues Mother Earth“ uraufgeführt. Für seine Stücke „Kassandra oder die Welt als Ende der Vorstellung“ (2011) und „IKI. radikalmensch“ (2020) wurde er für den Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis nominiert. 2011 erhielt er den Kurt-Hübner-Regiepreis und 2012 den Jürgen Bansemer & Ute Nyssen Dramatikerpreis. Seit 2012 arbeitet er außerdem als Kurator und Performer. Kevin Rittberger publiziert regelmäßig Essays und Artikel u. a. für Paragrana, Springerin, Berliner Zeitung, Berliner Gazette sowie nachtkritik.de. Zuletzt war seine Uraufführung „The Männy. Eine Mensch-Tier-Verknotung“ nach Donna Haraway am Schauspiel Hannover zu sehen sowie „Schwarzer Block“ am Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin.

Gisèle Vienne

Regisseurin, Choreografin und Bildende Künstlerin

Die französisch-österreichische Künstlerin, Choreografin und Regisseurin Gisèle Vienne studierte nach einem Abschluss in Philosophie an der Hochschule für Puppenspielkunst Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts de la Marionnette. Sie arbeitet unter anderem regelmäßig mit dem Autor Dennis Cooper zusammen.

In den vergangenen 20 Jahren tourten ihre Arbeiten durch Europa und wurden regelmäßig in Asien und Amerika aufgeführt, darunter „I Apologize“ (2004), „Kindertotenlieder“ (2007), „Jerk“ (2008), „This is how you will disappear“ (2010), „LAST SPRING: A Prequel“ (2011), „Das Bauchrednertreffen“ (2015) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Puppentheater Halle und „Crowd“ (2017). 2020 kreierte sie am Rohm Theatre Kyoto gemeinsam mit Etienne Bideau-Rey eine vierte Version von „Showroomdummies“, das 2001 erstaufgeführt wurde. 2021 produzierte sie den Film „Jerk“ und den Theaterabend „L’Etang“ (Der Teich), basierend auf Robert Walsers gleichnamiger Kurzgeschichte.

Gisèle Vienne stellt regelmäßig ihre Fotografien und Installationen aus, unter anderem im Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, dem Centre Pompidou in Paris, dem Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in Buenos Aires und dem Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève. Sie veröffentlichte zwei Bücher: Im Jahr 2011 „JERK / Through Their Tears“ mit Dennis Cooper, Peter Rehberg und Jonathan Capdevielle und 2012 „40 PORTRAITS 2003–2008“ in Zusammenarbeit mit Dennis Cooper und Pierre Dourthe. Ihre Arbeiten mündeten in verschiedene Publikationen und die Originalmusik ihrer Inszenierungen in mehrere Alben.

Gisèle Vienne ist Associate Artist am Théâtre National de Bretagne und am CN D Centre national de la danse.

Weitere Informationen auf ihrer Website: www.g-v.fr

Gisèle Vienne

Gisèle Vienne

© Karen Paulina Biswell

Anna-Katharina Müller

Anna-Katharina Müller

© Inke Johannsen

Anna-Katharina Müller

Dramaturgin und Leiterin Stückemarkt

Anna-Katharina Müller ist seit 2019 Dramaturgin des Theatertreffens und leitet den Stückemarkt seit 2021. Sie wurde 1992 in Moers geboren, ist in Magdeburg aufgewachsen und studierte an der Southeast Missouri State University den Schwerpunkt Theatre und von 2012 bis 2015 Theaterwissenschaft an der Universität Leipzig. Im Anschluss folgte das Master-Studium Dramaturgie an der Akademie für Darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg. Im Rahmen des Studiums betreute sie als Dramaturgin u. a. die Produktion „Die Unerhörte“ in der Regie von Anna-Elisabeth Frick, die 2016 das Körber Studio für Junge Regie gewann. Von 2017 bis 2019 war Anna-Katharina Müller im Team von Lars-Ole Walburg am Schauspiel Hannover erst als Dramaturgieassistentin, dann als Dramaturgin engagiert und für die Ausrichtung der Spielstätte Cumberland verantwortlich. 2018 war sie Stipendiatin beim Internationalen Forum des Theatertreffens. Freie Arbeiten als Dramaturgin brachten sie u. a. mit der Regisseurin Katerina Giannopoulou für das Athens & Epidaurus Festival 2021 zusammen.