2022 Open Call

Theatertreffen-Blog

Information about the 2022 Open Call

The open call for participation in the newly oriented Theatertreffen-Blog is aimed at young arts journalists, authors and theatre enthusiasts who would like to attend and critically reflect the 2022 Theatertreffen. An academic or journalistic background is not necessarily a prerequisite to participate. What is required is a keen eye that will not only view the festival’s invited productions and its discursive programme in a variety of contexts, but also consider and challenge power structures in the field of culture. Furthermore, the 2022 Theatertreffen-Blog sees itself as a space of mutual learning, where already existing expertise can be applied to develop art and journalism.

The format is designed as a safer space and aims to grant access to the world of culture and the media to a broad range of voices from marginalised communities. In this process, qualifications will be honed, journalistic writing skills will be developed and new formats will be invented. Applicants with special needs are invited to state their wishes in their applications so that the editorial team of the Theatertreffen-Blog can become as inclusive as possible.

The scholarship includes accommodation, travel expenses, attendance at the festival’s events, and workshops on the use of social media as platforms for reviews and writing for cultural fields, as well as an allowance. There is no age limitation; however, the Theatertreffen-Blog sees itself as an initiative to promote emerging journalists. Experienced mentors will support the blog’s editorial team during the duration of the festival.

Prerequisites for participation are willingness to dedicated editorial work and a full-time presence in Berlin during the entire duration of the festival. Journalistic work may be submitted in English; however, a good knowledge of German is essential due to the blog’s organisation and procedures.

The Theatertreffen-Blog has firmly established itself in the media landscape as an autonomous digital brand. For more than ten years, it has been accompanying the festival with a team of five to seven young arts journalists who provide critical on-site coverage and are supported by experienced mentors. The 2022 Theatertreffen-Blog, the first one under the new direction of Antigone Akgün and Ozi Ozar, sees itself as a space for experimenting with ways of considering theatre and arts journalism through performative devices. The focus does not necessarily have to lie on the written word. Instead, the aim is to create multi-media coverage with an artistic vision. In this context, the journalistic suitability of social media platforms will be tested in particular. Furthermore, the Theatertreffen-Blog intends to create a closer network with the fellows of the International Forum and the authors and artists involved in the Stückemarkt.

The 2022 Theatertreffen-Blog will take place from 6 to 22 May.

Detailed information on the open call and the application regulations of the 2022 Theatertreffen-Blog can be found here:
2022 Open Call (, 172 KB)

Applications are no longer possible.

Deadline for applications: 6 February 2022.
The selected bloggers will be announced in March.

If you have any questions on the application process, please contact

Open Call 2022

Theatertreffen-Blog

Informationen zum Open Call 2022

Der Open Call des neu ausgerichteten Theatertreffen-Blogs richtet sich an junge Kulturjournalist*innen, Autor*innen und Theaterbegeisterte, die das Theatertreffen 2022 begleiten und kritisch reflektieren möchten. Die Bewerber*innen müssen nicht unbedingt einen akademischen oder journalistischen Hintergrund haben. Gefragt ist ein aufmerksamer Blick, der nicht nur die eingeladenen Produktionen des Festivals und das Diskursprogramm in verschiedenen Zusammenhängen betrachtet, sondern auch Machtstrukturen im kulturellen Bereich mitdenkt und hinterfragt. Zudem versteht sich das Theatertreffen-Blog 2022 als Raum, in dem voneinander gelernt wird und in dem mit bereits vorhandenen Expertisen künstlerisch wie journalistisch gearbeitet werden kann.

Das Format ist als Safer Space angelegt und möchte vielfältigen Stimmen aus marginalisierten Communities den Zugang zur Medien- und Kulturwelt ermöglichen. Dabei sollen Qualifikationen geschärft, journalistisches Schreiben entwickelt und neue Formate erfunden werden. Bewerber*innen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen können sehr gerne ihre Wünsche in der Bewerbung angeben, damit die Theatertreffen-Blogredaktion so inklusiv wie möglich gestaltet werden kann.

Im Stipendium enthalten sind Unterkunft, Reisekosten, Besuche von Festivalveranstaltungen, Workshops zur Nutzung sozialer Medien als Plattformen für Kritik und Schreiben für kulturelle Bereiche sowie eine Aufwandsentschädigung. Eine Altersbegrenzung gibt es nicht, wobei sich das Theatertreffen-Blog als Nachwuchsförderung für Journalist*innen versteht. Erfahrene Mentor*innen unterstützen die Blog-Redakteur*innen während der Festivalzeit.

Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme ist die Bereitschaft zu intensiver redaktioneller Arbeit und die Anwesenheit in Berlin für die gesamte Dauer des Festivals. Journalistische Arbeiten können in englischer Sprache abgegeben werden, gute Deutschkenntnisse sind jedoch aufgrund der organisatorischen Abläufe unerlässlich.

Das Theatertreffen-Blog ist als eigenständige digitale Marke fest in der Medienlandschaft etabliert. Seit über zehn Jahren begleitet es das Festival mit jeweils fünf bis sieben jungen Kulturjournalist*innen, die vor Ort kritisch berichten und von erfahrenen Mentor*innen unterstützt werden. Das Theatertreffen-Blog 2022 unter der neuen Leitung von Antigone Akgün und Ozi Ozar versteht sich als Erprobungsraum, Theater- und Kunstjournalismus performativ zu denken. Der geschriebene Text muss dabei nicht unbedingt im Mittelpunkt stehen. Vielmehr geht es um eine multimediale Berichterstattung mit künstlerischem Anspruch, für die insbesondere Social-Media-Plattformen auf ihre journalistische Eignung hin geprüft werden sollen. Außerdem wird eine stärkere Vernetzung mit den Stipendiat*innen des Internationalen Forums und den Autor*innen und Künstler*innen des Stückemarkts angestrebt.

Das Theatertreffen-Blog 2022 findet vom 6. bis 22. Mai statt.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Open Call sowie zu den Bewerbungsformalien des Theatertreffen-Blogs 2022 finden Sie hier:
Open Call 2022 (, 161 KB)

Bewerbungen sind leider nicht mehr möglich.

Bewerbungsschluss: 6. Februar 2022
Die ausgewählten Blogger*innen werden im März bekannt gegeben.

Bei Fragen zum Bewerbungsprozedere wenden Sie sich bitte an
.