Theatertreffen-Blog

There’s no fake news here! Selected young arts journalists, photographers, video journalists, bloggers and radio journalists cover the Theatertreffen on www.theatertreffen-blog.de.

Key visual Theatertreffen-Blog 2020

© Eike Walkenhorst

No Open Call for 2021

In 2020, the Theatertreffen-Blog could only be realised in a significantly reduced special edition due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Because we place great value on practising solidarity in the fields of arts and culture and on sustainable support for artists, we have decided to forego an Open Call for 2021 and to re-invite the bloggers who took part in the 2020 special edition.

We are looking forward to receiving applications for the 2022 Theatertreffen-Blog in the autumn of 2021!

Different, but not cancelled

Of course, this was supposed to be a different text. It was supposed to be about the anticipation of those wonderful days in May, of those wonderful and wonderfully diverse young journalists who we had hoped would accompany this year’s Theatertreffen with their critical coverage on our Blog. But now, everything is different, “due to the current situation”, as the phrase goes.

What can we do in spite of everything? – we asked ourselves in March. Simply cancelling this year’s edition made no sense to us. After all, the Theatertreffen-Blog has always been what everybody wants to, or rather, has to be nowadays: It’s digital. And what’s more, we had already found our authors. The only thing that was missing was the customary content.

So we decided to create our own content and to see the crisis as a magnifying glass, helping to reveal conditions that have prevailed for quite some time. Silhouetted against this global pandemic, our dependencies on smoothly operating value chains become more apparent than perhaps ever before, and this goes for art and the theatre, too. If the essentially cynical talk of “the crisis as an opportunity” can be justified in any aspect, it is in cases where the crisis lets us see more clearly and, ideally, even learn something new.

This is what we want to attempt – in a reduced but ambitious “skeleton edition” of our Blog. With not that much festival, but still lots of theatre. And for next year’ festival, we will return to normality with this year’s crew. Let’s hope that the rest of the world will be granted this return much sooner.

The Bloggers 2020

Seven culture bloggers are invited to write for a reduced but ambitious “skeleton edition” of the 2020 Blog.
To the bloggers

Theatertreffen-Blog

Contact

Project Leader: Janis El-Bira

www.theatertreffen-blog.de

The Theatertreffen-Blog

Days will turn into nights and nights into days for the editorial staff of the Theatertreffen-Blog. Five to seven young arts journalists with various fields of expertise and focuses will provide swift and critical on-site coverage of the Theatertreffen with the support of experienced mentors. They are not only busy writing reviews and keeping a critical eye on the festival from a wide range of angles, but also concerned with developing new formats, working together as a close-knit editorial team and honing their own journalistic skills. Potential participants can apply to take part in the Theatertreffen-Blog following an open call which is posted at the end of each year.

History

Relocating the festival newspaper – which was produced from 2005 to 2008 in cooperation with the Berliner Zeitung – to the internet expanded the reach and transparency of the festival’s coverage: discussions on the productions invited to the festival could be followed independently of time or place, and audiences were able to contribute their views via the comments section. The expansion of the call for submissions to include not only German but also English-speakers participants led to a more international tenor in the debates. And not least of all, requiring participants to have their own blog produced a selection of contributors who were already active online.

The TT-Blog has developed into its own independent digital brand, and was linked by Guardian Online, nachtkritik.de and the feminist blog maedchenmannschaft.net, among others, as an original source. The TT-Blog’s media partners include the Berliner Zeitung, EXBERLINER, 3sat/Kulturzeit, kultiversum.de, Theater der Zeit, ZEIT ONLINE and blogger Mary Sherpe from http://stilinberlin.blogspot.com as well as Johanna von Stülpnagel from http://redenswinger.de/blog. These partners have given staff support to the blog editorial team and its work by releasing journalists from work to act as mentors, media support in terms of linking, and content support through their own reviews and postings.

From 2011 to 2015 the TT-Blog was funded by the Rudolf Augstein Foundation. Since 2016 the TT-Blog has been funded by Stiftung Presse-Haus NRZ.

The TT-Blog was founded in 2009 by Nikola Richter, who was its head until 2013. In 2014 and 2015, Bianca Praetorius took over this position. Since 2016, Janis El-Bira has been heading the TT-Blog.

Funded by
Logo Stiftung Presse-Haus NRZ   


Media Partner
Exberliner     Logo Berliner Zeitung

Motiv Theatertreffen-Blog 2020

© Eike Walkenhorst

Theatertreffen-Blog

Fake news gibt’s hier nicht! Ausgewählte junge Kulturjournalist*innen, Fotograf*innen, Videojournalist*innen, Blogger*innen und Radiojournalist*innen begleiten das Theatertreffen auf www.theatertreffen-blog.de.

Anders, aber nicht abgesagt

Natürlich hätte auch dieser Text ein anderer sein sollen. Von Vorfreude wäre zu sprechen gewesen auf die tollen Tage im Mai, auf die wunderbaren und wunderbar verschiedenen jungen Journalist*innen, die auch dieses Theatertreffen für das Blog kritisch begleitet hätten. Nun ist aber alles anders – „aus den bekannten Gründen“, wie es momentan überall heißt.

Was wir trotz allem tun könnten, haben wir uns im März gefragt. Diesen Jahrgang einfach ausfallen zu lassen, erschien uns dabei schnell widersinnig. Schließlich war das Theatertreffen-Blog schon immer, was jetzt alle sein wollen oder viel mehr sein müssen: digital. Und auch die Autor*innen hatten wir ja bereits gefunden. Bloß die gewohnten Inhalte, die fehlten nun.

Also haben wir entschieden, unsere eigenen zu schaffen und die Krise als ein Vergrößerungsglas zu begreifen, durch das schon viel länger bestehende Verhältnisse deutlich erkennbar werden. Vor dem Hintergrund der globalen Pandemie zeichnen sich unsere Abhängigkeiten von reibungslosen Wertschöpfungsketten auch in der Kunst, auch am Theater, klarer ab als vielleicht je zuvor. Wenn das eigentlich zynische Sprechen von der „Krise als Chance“ in einer Hinsicht berechtigt ist, dann dort, wo sie uns besser sehen und im Idealfall sogar lernen lässt.

Das wollen wir versuchen – in einer verkleinerten, aber ambitionierten „Notausgabe“ des Blogs. Mit wenig Festival, aber trotzdem viel Theater. Nächstes Jahr kehren wir dann mit den Gesichtern von diesem zur Normalität zurück. Der Rest der Welt darf es hoffentlich schon viel früher.

Die Blogger*innen 2020

Sieben Kultur-Blogger*innen sind eingeladen, für die verkleinerte, aber ambitionierte „Notausgabe“ des Blogs 2020 zu schreiben.
Zu den Blogger*innen

Reduzierte Ausgabe des Theatertreffen-Blog 2020

Da das Theatertreffen-Blog 2020 nur in einer reduzierten Ausgabe stattfinden kann, haben wir uns dazu entschieden, die Einladung an die Blogger*innen nächstes Jahr erneut auszusprechen.

Theatertreffen-Blog

Kontakt

Leitung: Janis El-Bira

www.theatertreffen-blog.de

Open Call 2020

Der Open Call 2020 richtete sich an junge Kulturjournalist*innen und Autor*innen, die sich für Theater begeistern!
Zum Open Call 2020

Das Theatertreffen-Blog

Die Tage werden zu Nächten und die Nächte zu Tagen für die Theatertreffen-Blogredaktion. Fünf bis sieben junge Kulturjournalist*innen mit unterschiedlichsten Expertisen und Schwerpunkten berichten kritisch und schnell vor Ort vom Theatertreffen. Dabei werden sie von erfahrenen Mentor*innen unterstützt. Es geht nicht nur darum, Rezensionen zu schreiben und einen kritischen, multiperspektivischen Blick auf das Festival zu werfen, sondern auch um das Entwickeln neuer Formate, um die Zusammenarbeit im engen Verbund einer Redaktion und um die Weiterentwicklung der journalistischen Fähigkeiten der Teilnehmer*innen. Bewerben können diese sich für das Theatertreffen-Blog im Rahmen eines Open Calls, der jeweils in den letzten Wochen des Jahres veröffentlicht wird.

Geschichte

Der Umzug der Festivalzeitung, die von 2005 bis 2008 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Berliner Zeitung entstand, in das Internet vergrößerte die Reichweite und die Transparenz der Festivalberichterstattung: Diskussionen über die zum Festival eingeladenen Produktionen konnten nun orts- und zeitunabhängig verfolgt werden und das Publikum hatte die Möglichkeit, sich über die Kommentarfunktion kritisch zu beteiligen. Die Ausweitung der Ausschreibung auf nicht nur deutsch-, sondern auch englischsprachige Teilnehmer*innen führte zu einer Internationalisierung der Debatten. Und schließlich führte die Voraussetzung, ein eigenes Blog zu haben, zu Teilnehmer*innen, die bereits aktiv im Netz sind.

Das TT-Blog hat sich in den letzten zehn Jahren als eigenständige digitale Marke entwickelt und wurde als Originalquelle etwa bei Guardian Online, nachtkritik.de oder bei dem feministischen Blog maedchenmannschaft.net verlinkt. Zu den Medienpartnern des TT-Blogs zählten bisher die Berliner Zeitung, EXBERLINER, 3sat/Kulturzeit, kultiversum.de, Theater der Zeit, ZEIT ONLINE und die Bloggerinnen Mary Sherpe von http://stilinberlin.blogspot.com und Johanna von Stülpnagel von http://redenswinger.de/blog. Die Partner unterstützten die Arbeit der Blog-Redaktion personell durch die Freistellung von Redakteur*innen als Mentor*innen, medial durch die Verlinkung, inhaltlich durch eigene Beiträge.

Gefördert wurde das TT-Blog von 2011 bis 2015 von der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung. Seit 2016 wird das TT-Blog von der Stiftung Presse-Haus NRZ gefördert.

Gegründet wurde das TT-Blog 2009 von Nikola Richter, die es bis 2013 leitete. In den Jahren 2014 und 2015 übernahm Bianca Praetorius die Projektleitung. Seit 2016 leitet Janis El-Bira das TT-Blog.

Gefördert von der
Logo Stiftung Presse-Haus NRZ   

Medienpartner
Exberliner     Logo Berliner Zeitung