Texts and Projects Invited to Stückemarkt 2020

The jury announced its selection for the 2020 Stückemarkt. 20 works were considered in the final discussion.

Against Separation: Five innovative, aesthetically and substantially challenging works address this year’s Stückemarkt-motto in different ways and thus convinced the jury. 361 works from 63 countries were submitted in total. We would like to thank all artists for their exciting applications to our Open Call and congratulate the invited authors and theatre makers whose works will be presented at the 2020 Theatertreffen in May!

Aalaapi

Laurence Dauphinais (Canada – Project)

“Aalaapi” depicts a marginalised group that is hardly ever given a voice: the Inuit. With great skill, Laurence Dauphinais, radio creator Marie-Laurence Rancourt and the two performers have designed a quiet and poetic work that uses documentary material to tell the story of indigenous artists who oscillate between different realities of life: from a large Canadian city to remote places behind the Arctic Circle. “Aalaapi” invites the audience to experience an open encounter with the unknown, pointing beyond any real or imagined boundary.

Laurence Dauphinais

Laurence Dauphinais

© Anne-Marie Baribeau

Sam Max

Sam Max

© Anton Novolselov

Coop

Sam Max (USA – Text)

In “Coop”, Sam Max creates the story of a girl who lives on a farm, trapped in ritualised acts and isolated from the outside world. The absorption by her parents, the strict rhythm of everyday life and the extreme constriction/loneliness result in a murderous pact that frees the protagonist from her prison. “Coop” asks questions about the viability of coexistence, about a decline in values and the price of emancipation in an America where isolation has long since become a reality.

Dreams in Black Major

TaNia – Talia Paulette Oliveras und Nia Farrell (USA – Text)

In a ritualised, musical and collaged form, Nia Farrell and Talia Paulette Oliveras wrote the manifest “Dreams in Black Major” as a “celebration in five movements”. Starting from the concept of a space as a place of testimony, they consider the Black PoC movement in the USA as an Afro-futuristic movement. The text opens up a space for solidary discourse that radically questions classism and racism.

TaNia (Talia Paulette Oliveras and Nia Farrell)

TaNia (Talia Paulette Oliveras and Nia Farrell)

© Bianca Rogoff

Eve Leigh

Eve Leigh

© Anna Strickland

Midnight Movie

Eve Leigh (England – Text)

Written as a piece of autofiction, Eve Leigh’s “Midnight Movie” tells the story of a young woman who suffers from chronic pain. She spends her sleepless nights alone on the Internet, trying to escape reality tab by tab and story by story. The author skilfully combines descriptions of her own condition with stories from various Internet forums. “Midnight Movie” is a text of great sensitivity and poetry and reaches people whose physical absence in the theatre generally remains unquestioned.

Nanjing

Jude Christian (England – Project)

In her biographical solo performance “Nanjing”, Jude Christian deals with the sources of her own origins and identity. She has created a focused show that addresses the gaps in European historiography and collective memory, working against oblivion when she asks: What would the individual be ready to die for? “Nanjing” is a personal plea for resistance and a call to write history together.

Jude Christian

Jude Christian

© Manuel Harlan

Stückemarkt-Auswahl 2020/2021

Wider die Vereinzelung: Fünf innovative, ästhetisch und inhaltlich anspruchsvolle Arbeiten thematisieren das Stückemarkt-Motto auf je verschiedene Weise und haben so die Jury überzeugt. Insgesamt haben uns 361 Einsendungen aus 63 Ländern erreicht.

Da der Stückemarkt 2020 nicht stattfinden konnte, haben wir uns dazu entschieden, die Einladung an die bereits ausgewählten Künstler*innen 2021 erneut auszusprechen.

Aalaapi

Laurence Dauphinais (Kanada – Projekt)

„Aalaapi“ beschäftigt sich mit einer marginalisierten Gruppe, die kaum eine Stimme bekommt: den Inuit. Mit großem Geschick entwirft Laurence Dauphinais gemeinsam mit der Radio-Künstlerin Marie-Laurence Rancourt und den beiden Performerinnen Nancy Saunders und Ulivia Uviluk eine leise und poetische Arbeit – und erzählt anhand von dokumentarischem Material die Geschichte von indigenen Künstler*innen, die zwischen verschiedenen Lebensrealitäten pendeln: von der kanadischen Großstadt bis hinter den Polarkreis. „Aalaapi“ lädt das Publikum dazu ein, die Erfahrung einer offenen Begegnung mit dem Unbekannten zu machen und weist damit über jede reale oder erdachte Grenze hinaus.

Laurence Dauphinais

Laurence Dauphinais

© Anne-Marie Baribeau

Sam Max

Sam Max

© Anton Novolselov

Coop

Sam Max (USA – Text)

In „Coop“ entwirft Sam Max die Geschichte eines Mädchens, das auf einer Farm gefangen in ritualisierten Handlungen und in Abschottung von der Außenwelt lebt. Die Vereinnahmung durch die Eltern, der strenge Takt des Alltags und die extreme Enge/Einsamkeit haben einen mörderischen Pakt zur Folge, der die Protagonistin aus ihrem Gefängnis befreit. „Coop“ stellt Fragen nach einem möglichen Zusammenleben, nach dem Verfall der Werte und dem Preis der Emanzipation in einem Amerika, in dem Isolation längst Wirklichkeit geworden ist.

Dreams in Black Major

TaNia – Talia Paulette Oliveras & Nia Farrell (USA – Text)

In ritualisierter, musikalischer und collagierter Form manifestieren Nia Farrell und Talia Paulette Oliveras in „Dreams in Black Major“ eine „celebration in five movements“. Ausgehend von dem Raum als Ort von Zeug*innenschaft, setzen sie sich mit der Black PoC-Bewegung in den USA als afrofuturistischer Bewegung auseinander. Dabei öffnet der Text einen solidarischen Diskursraum, der Klassismus und Rassismus radikal befragt.

TaNia (Talia Paulette Oliveras & Nia Farrell)

TaNia (Talia Paulette Oliveras & Nia Farrell)

© Bianca Rogoff

Eve Leigh

Eve Leigh

© Anna Strickland

Midnight Movie

Eve Leigh (England – Text)

Verfasst als Autofiktionsstück, erzählt Eve Leighs „Midnight Movie“ von einer jungen Frau, die unter chronischen Schmerzen leidet. Ihre schlaflosen Nächte verbringt sie einsam im Internet, wo sie versucht, der Realität Tab für Tab und Story für Story zu entfliehen. Dabei verknüpft die Autorin geschickt Beschreibungen des eigenen Zustands mit Geschichten aus verschiedenen Internetforen. „Midnight Movie“ ist ein Text, der mit großer Sensibilität und Poesie auch die Menschen erreicht, deren physische Abwesenheit im Theater meist nicht hinterfragt wird.

Nanjing

Jude Christian (England – Projekt)

Jude Christian arbeitet sich in der biografischen Solo-Performance „Nanjing“ an den Ursprüngen der eigenen Herkunft und Identität ab. Sie kreiert einen konzentrierten Abend, der über die Lücken der europäischen Geschichtsschreibung und des kollektiven Gedächtnisses nachdenkt, gegen das Vergessen angeht und fragt: Wofür ist die*der Einzelne bereit zu sterben? „Nanjing“ ist ein persönliches Plädoyer für den Widerstand und die Aufforderung, eine gemeinsame Geschichte zu schreiben.

Jude Christian

Jude Christian

© Manuel Harlan