Awards

The award winners of the 2020 Theatertreffen

Theatre-Award-Berlin by Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

awarded to Sandra Hüller

Actor Sandra Hüller will be distinguished for her extraordinary services to German-language theatre. The jury states: “On the one hand, when asked who exactly is standing on stage when she is playing Hamlet, she would probably say that she is putting herself at the character’s disposal […], but on the other hand, she is of course aware that she is also on stage as her character’s director, dramaturg and author, and that in the theatre, literature is not everything. So, on the one hand, there’s a little old school – embodying the character, literary theatre, ensemble theatre –, on the other hand, there’s self-determination, authorship, crossing boundaries, curiosity. The daily bread of the city theatre and the glamour of the film world. Extreme earnestness and bold absoluteness are just as much part of her acting as her slightly mocking, amiably reserved look at the world and the things that she is doing. In the process, her acting keeps getting simpler and the strength and mystery behind it keep growing.”

Theatre-Award-Jury 2020
Shirin Sojitrawalla, Michael Börgerding, Thomas Oberender, Yvonne Büdenhölzer (advisory)

The public award ceremony has unfortunately had to be cancelled in 2020.
You can find the complete jury statement on stiftung-seehandlung.de.

3sat-Award

awarded to Alexander Giesche

Every year since 1997, 3sat has bestowed the 3sat-Award for an artistically innovative achievement to one or more artists from the circle of invited ensembles. In 2020, director Alexander Giesche will be distinguished for his production “Der Mensch erscheint im Holozän (Man in the Holocene)” . The jury comments: “Alexander Giesche’s staging of ‘Man in the Holocene’ is the first large-scale production on the topic of climate change. He opens up a new interpretation of Max Frisch’s 1979 novella and renders a local thunderstorm (a parable for the protagonist’s fragility and mortality) tangible as a planetary event. Giesche’s subtle staging, his iridescent, visually impressive images, ranging between white noise and club ambience, introduce a meditative pitch that is still rare in the theatre. It opens up space for a kind of thinking that has no moral imperative, but an all the more staggering effect. This could be what the future will sound like.”

The award ceremony will be held at a later date.

3sat-Award-Jury 2020
Margarete Affenzeller, Yvonne Büdenhölzer, Wolfgang Horn

Alfred-Kerr-Acting-Award

Unfortunately, it will not be possible to bestow the Alfred-Kerr-Foundationʼs Alfred-Kerr-Acting-Award (juror: Ursina Lardi) in 2020. The award recognises the outstanding achievement by a young actor in one of the productions invited to the Theatertreffen.

Preise

Die Preisträger*innen des Theatertreffen 2020

Theaterpreis Berlin der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

an Sandra Hüller

Für ihre außerordentlichen Verdienste um das deutschsprachige Theater wird die Schauspielerin Sandra Hüller ausgezeichnet. In der Jurybegründung heißt es: „Einerseits würde sie auf die Frage, wer da eigentlich auf der Bühne stehe, wenn sie Hamlet spiele, vermutlich sagen, dass sie sich der Figur zur Verfügung stelle […], andererseits weiß sie natürlich, dass sie auch als Regisseurin, Dramaturgin, Autorin ihrer Figur auf der Bühne steht und dass Literatur im Theater nicht alles ist. Also einerseits ein wenig Old School – Figurenverkörperung, Literaturtheater, Ensembletheater –, auf der anderen Seite Selbstbestimmtheit, Autor*innenschaft, Grenzüberschreitung, Neugierde. Das Brot des Stadttheaters und der Glanz der Filmwelt. Extreme Ernsthaftigkeit und waghalsige Unbedingtheit gehören zu ihrem Spiel genau wie ihr leicht spöttischer, freundlich distanzierter Blick auf die Welt und die Dinge, die sie da tut. Ihr Spiel wird immer einfacher dabei und die Kraft und das Geheimnis dahinter immer größer.“

Theaterpreis-Jury 2020
Shirin Sojitrawalla, Michael Börgerding, Thomas Oberender, Yvonne Büdenhölzer (beratend)

Die öffentliche Preisverleihung muss 2020 leider entfallen.
Die vollständige Jurybegründung finden Sie auf stiftung-seehandlung.de.

3sat-Preis

an Alexander Giesche

Seit 1997 vergibt 3sat jährlich im Rahmen des Theatertreffens den 3sat-Preis für eine künstlerisch innovative Leistung an eine*n oder mehrere Künstler*innen aus dem Kreis der eingeladenen Ensembles. 2020 wird der Regisseur Alexander Giesche für „Der Mensch erscheint im Holozän“ ausgezeichnet. In der Jurybegründung heißt es: „Alexander Giesche legt mit ‚Der Mensch erscheint im Holozän‘ die erste große Inszenierung zum Thema Klimawandel vor. Für Max Frischs Erzählung aus dem Jahr 1979 erschließt er eine neue Lesart, nach der ein lokales Unwetter (das parabelhaft für die Gebrechlichkeit und Vergänglichkeit des Protagonisten steht) als planetares Ereignis wahrnehmbar wird. Giesches unaufdringlicher Inszenierungsgestus, seine irisierenden, visuell beeindruckenden Bilder zwischen Fernsehrauschen und Club-Atmosphäre bringen eine meditative Tonlage ins Spiel, die am Theater noch selten ist. Sie eröffnet Denkräume ohne moralischen Imperativ, indes mit wuchtiger Wirkung. So könnte die Zukunft klingen.“

Die Preisverleihung wird zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nachgeholt.

3sat-Preis-Jury 2020
Margarete Affenzeller, Yvonne Büdenhölzer, Wolfgang Horn

Alfred-Kerr-Darstellerpreis

Der Alfred-Kerr-Darstellerpreis, in diesem Jahr mit Ursina Lardi als Jurorin, kann 2020 leider nicht verliehen werden. Der Preis würdigt die herausragende Leistung einer*s jungen Schauspieler*in in einer der zum Theatertreffen eingeladenen Inszenierungen.