Breathing Exercises in the Year of Adversity

On the selection of the 2021 Theatertreffen

by Wolfgang Höbel

A green colour field shows slight abstract contours.

Ever since I have known the theatre, the people who work there have been worried that their art may not survive much longer. In the spring of 2021, I find their concern more plausible than in years before. What seemed like little more than an unreal, dark vision born of a cultural-pessimist greed for the money pots and a melodramatic raising of end-of-days scenarios has been made real by the Corona-pandemic: Now we know what the world looks like when the theatre – as I and many other theatre enthusiasts used to know it – simply doesn’t exist for a while.

This experience has been and still is a shock for me. Of course, I hope that the global threat of this virus threatening so many people will soon be vanquished with the aid of vaccines, medication and protective measures. And I wish that the theatres in Germany, Austria and Switzerland will continue to work at a similar energy level after the pandemic as they did before. At the same time, I wonder about the traces left in the consciousness of theatre enthusiasts by the experience of a complete standstill in our accustomed theatre world over weeks and months – and in the minds of politicians who are in charge of their subsidies.

Actor Sandra Gerlin in “Reich des Todes”.

Reich des Todes. Sandra Gerling

© Arno Declair

The rites and celebrations of culture exist not least, as philosopher Alexander Grau recently wrote, to give societies “a symbolic system of order that provides security”. This may sound surprising to all those people in the theatre sector who like to claim that the primary task of their cultural work is to subvert, undermine and question prevailing conditions. In recent months, there has neither been a lot of subversion nor that much security. The paralysis of the Corona-lockdown has paradoxically caused a feeling of acceleration in the minds of many people, and of a radical transformation of our living conditions. This, says Alexander Grau, contributes to a crumbling of our faith in “culture’s claim to eternity”. A few months before Grau wrote this, philosopher Elif Özmen formulated this diagnosis: “On a global scale, this pandemic proves to be an accelerant for existing political, social and ecological upheavals”. As far as the “post-pandemic world order” is concerned, Özmen says, “We should be reluctant to count on moral or civilising progress.” So – in how much danger is the future of our theatres really?

Many people who love the theatre have been outraged over the past months, because the politicians making decisions about measures to contain the pandemic obviously don’t consider the theatre as “system-relevant”. The Theatertreffen-selection for the year 2021 may serve as evidence that the performing arts have managed to survive this slight for the time being. Theatre makers who were repeatedly forced to lock down their venues for days and months at a time continued to create. They took advantage of the gaps between the months of lockdown (including all kinds of hygiene concepts) to perform in front of actual physically present spectators. Wherever that wasn’t possible, they turned their theatres into broadcasting houses, as it were, and entertained old and new audiences by transmitting recorded performances and live streaming. Often with astonishingly virtuoso, aesthetically original results – applauded and marvelled at by frequently unusually grateful viewers.

The theatre is a space for groups of “people assembled in their own essential emergency situation”, said actor Fabian Hinrichs, describing his idea of successful theatre in a speech during the Theatertreffen in May 2018, long before the Corona-pandemic. This cultish space, he said, was the place to create “an inkling of community, of dreaming together”.

Performer Berit Stumpf in “Show Me A Good Time”.

Show Me A Good Time. Berit Stumpf

© Dorothea Tuch

It seems to me as if it isn’t so much the hygiene-appropriate refinement, a uniting attitude critical of our times or the stories they tell that form the common thread between the ten performances which the jury considered to be remarkable this year. Rather, it is an existential urgency and the more than conjectured ability to create community that sets practically every piece in this selection apart.

The men and women of Gob Squad, for instance, have invented an often cheery and absolutely comforting community of necessity. The title of their review, which is many hours long, about the performing arts and life in times of Corona clearly demands: “Show Me A Good Time”. They deal with some rather dark subjects, like the death of one’s own parents – there is one scene that includes some pretty funny handling of the urn of a recently deceased mother. The show testifies to the enjoyment of music and silliness, even within the loneliness of a world of contact bans. It is a wild show-spectacle, with correspondents reporting back from some peculiar locations. In the midst of the pandemic, the Gob Squad-performers set out to “archive the present” (as performer Tatiana Saphir says at one point of this entertainment marathon) with harsh, impertinent, clever and at times amateurish theatre devices.

Actor Maja Beckmann in “Medea*”.

Medea*. Maja Beckmann

© Gina Folly

A different but no less heartfelt community of necessity is the one that the audience is confronted with in director Leonie Böhm’s version of the “Medea”-myth: “Medea*”. One of the world’s oldest tragedies – the story of Medea, who is taken from her home, jilted by her husband and finally takes revenge by murdering her own children – is retold in a kind of workshop. Actor Maja Beckmann and musician Johannes Rieder, who is the representative of all male characters here and accompanies her on guitar and piano, fantasise themselves into an essential love drama together. They kiss with their faces shrouded in fabric and talk about the sorrows of being betrayed. “I am not full of rage, I am full of pain”, says this Medea, and indeed, the pain that this production relates to is a universal one. Something quite similar is achieved by Sebastian Hartmann’s “Zauberberg (Magic Mountain)”-production, which at first glance is a blatant, highly artificial and mannered counter piece to Leonie Böhm’s archaic acting arrangement in a nest of white fabric. You might say: “Medea*” is set in a padded, primordial theatre cave, while this “Zauberberg” resides in a hypermodern high-tech studio with a digitally generated snow storm underneath artificial polar lights. But both productions achieve a notion of this “communal dreaming” that Fabian Hinrichs invokes.

A scene from “Der Zauberberg”; actors Linda Pöppel, Manuel Harder and Niklas Wetzel run across a white stage area.

Der Zauberberg. Linda Pöppel, Manuel Harder, Niklas Wetzel. . Probenfoto

© Arno Declair

At any rate, the boost in technology and digitalisation that the theatre has experienced during this past crisis-year is certainly the most gratifying development that we as jury members became aware of, and it provoked a great deal of debate amongst us. Older theatre enthusiasts remember the videotism of German-speaking theatres during the 1990s. In those days, some audiences rejected Frank Castorf’s camera images transmitted from inside stage bunkers and back rooms to a big screen on stage, for example, arguing that they were robbing the theatre of its very own devices and that they could not even be guaranteed to be live. Over the years since, many theatre makers have become proficient in the use of blue screens and green screens, hand-held and head-mounted cameras and thousands of other tricks of digital image production on stage. They put the theatre’s intellectual possibilities and emotional energy to the test, especially with film material, as exemplified by Christopher Rüping’s version of Xavier Dolan’s film “Einfach das Ende der Welt (It’s Only the End of the World)”, which is in turn a film adaptation of Jean-Luc Lagarce’s stage play. But this year of the Corona-lockdown will well and truly convince even the most conservative theatre enthusiasts of the benefits of the theatre’s technical upgrade.

Actor Maja Beckmann in “Medea*”.

Medea*. Maja Beckmann

© Gina Folly

The uniqueness and magic of live experiences at the theatre are irrefutable – but they are actually only slightly diminished when digital methods of recording and transmission are employed to simulate and conserve the enchantment of live events. The beauty and symbolic power of Olaf Altmann’s monumental hell-mouth of a set for Stefan Bachmann’s “Graf Öderland (Count Oederland)” can definitely also be felt by those viewers who unfortunately can only see the recording and not a live show at the theatre. The feminist cleverness, surprise and wit of actor Anne Tismer and director Marie Schleef work perfectly for the filmed lecture performance “NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+ (NAME HER. In Search of Women+)”. A duel that vibrates with blazing fever and cold rage like the one fought between the outstanding performers Franziska Machens and Julia Windischbauer, who portray the two queens in Anne Lenk’s “Maria Stuart (Mary Stuart)”-version, only loses a very small degree of its powers of conviction when watched “only” on a screen. And even the staggering intensity of Lucy Wilke’s and Paweł Duduś’ physical theatre in “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP” is communicated with heart-rending intensity in its video version.

Lucy Wilke and Pawel Dudus in “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“.

SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP. Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś

© Martina Marini-Misterioso

If anyone should be set, as tradition would have it, on identifying trends in the Theatertreffen-jury’s selection of this year, they should perhaps not merely count how many independent groups and how many theatres from which countries or regions have been invited in 2021. Perhaps some of the jurors are even a little proud of this selection’s lack of trends, of the wide range of theatre languages, the diversity of performers, the truly diverging political ambitions of the productions. In Anna Gmeyner’s “Automatenbüfett”, director Barbara Frey describes the brutal destructive force which the heroine of this great play is subjected to in a society shaped by male morality between the world wars of the 20th century. With her production of Rainald Goetz’ dramatic fit of rage “Reich des Todes (Empire of Death)”, Karin Beier sits in judgement on the lapse of US-American power politics during the second Iraq-war at the beginning of the 21st century. To me, these two productions especially testify to the vitality of a text-obsessed art of interpretation which has in recent years been reviled as “literary theatre” by the allegedly most progressive theatre makers.

Members of the acting company in a scene from the production “Automatenbüfett”.

Automatenbüfett. Ensemble

© Matthias Horn

In my view, all of the productions invited this year have the power of the absolute, of existential necessity, of the will to survive. All ten of them make me feel confident that the theatre will go on after all, once the pandemic has been truly overcome. In recent months, I have frequently read how often London’s theatres had to close down because of the plague in William Shakespeare’s time. Apparently, this was the rule: If more than 30 Londoners died of the plague in one week, the theatres had to close. It is said that during the years 1603 to 1613, the theatres were closed for a total of 78 months, which is an average of seven months a year. “We will cave for a short while”, Karin Beier said as artistic director of Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg when her theatre was shut down due to the second Corona-lockdown last autumn. “And then we will rear up again.”

Atemübungen im Jahr der Not

Zur Auswahl des Theatertreffens 2021

von Wolfgang Höbel

Eine grüne Fläche zeigt leichte abstrakte Konturen.

Seit ich das Theater kenne, reden die Menschen, die dort arbeiten, von der Furcht, dass ihre Kunst womöglich nicht mehr lange überleben wird. Im Frühjahr 2021 finde ich diese Sorge plausibler als in all den Jahren zuvor. Was früher nur als irreal düstere Vision erschien, die aus kulturpessimistischer Gier auf Geldtöpfe und pathetischer Untergangsbeschwörung geboren war, ist durch die Corona-Pandemie real geworden: Wir wissen nun, wie eine Welt aussieht, in der das Theater, wie ich und viele andere Theaterbegeisterte es kannten, für eine Weile nicht mehr existiert.

Für mich war und ist diese Erfahrung ein Schock. Natürlich hoffe ich, dass sich durch Impfungen, Medikamente und Schutzmaßnahmen die Bedrohung der Welt durch ein für viele Menschen gefährliches Virus bald erledigt hat. Und ich wünsche mir, dass die Theater in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz nach der Überwindung der Pandemie auf einem ähnlichen Energielevel weiterarbeiten werden wie zuvor. Zugleich frage ich mich, welche Spuren die Erfahrung, dass die gewohnte Theaterwelt über Wochen und Monate lahmgelegt war, im Bewusstsein der Theaterbegeisterten hinterlassen wird – und in den Köpfen der für ihre Förderung zuständigen Kulturpolitiker*innen.

Die Schauspielerin Sandra Gerling in der Inszenierung „Reich des Todes“.

Reich des Todes. Sandra Gerling

© Arno Declair

Die Rituale und Feste der Kultur seien nicht zuletzt dazu da, zivilisierten Gesellschaften „ein symbolisches Ordnungssystem, das Sicherheit stiftet“ zu bieten, schrieb der Philosoph Alexander Grau kürzlich. Das klingt überraschend für all jene Menschen im Theaterbetrieb, die gern behaupten, die vornehmste Aufgabe ihrer Kulturarbeit sei Subversion, die Aufweichung und Infragestellung der Verhältnisse. Weder mit der Subversion noch mit der Sicherheitsstiftung durch Kultur war es in den vergangenen Monaten weit her. Die Lähmung während der Corona-Lockdowns hat in den Köpfen vieler Menschen paradoxerweise den Eindruck einer Beschleunigung und radikalen Veränderung unserer Lebensverhältnisse bewirkt; dadurch bröckle, so Alexander Grau, auch der Glaube an den „Ewigkeitsanspruch der Kultur“. Schon ein paar Monate vor Grau formulierte die Philosophin Elif Özmen die Diagnose: „Global betrachtet erweist sich die Pandemie als Brandbeschleuniger für bestehende politische, soziale und ökologische Verwerfungen.“ Was die „post-pandemische Weltordnung“ angehe, so Özmen, „sollten wir mit moralischem oder zivilisatorischem Fortschritt eher nicht rechnen“. Wie gefährdet also ist die Zukunft unserer Theater wirklich?

Viele Menschen, die das Theater lieben, haben sich in den vergangenen Monaten darüber empört, dass es den Regierenden, die über Pandemiemaßnahmen entschieden, offensichtlich nicht „systemrelevant“ erschien. Die Theatertreffen-Auswahl für das Jahr 2021 darf erstmal als Beleg dafür gelten, dass die Bühnenkunst auch diese Kränkung fürs Erste überlebt hat. Die Theatermenschen, die über Tage und Monate wiederholt gezwungen waren, ihre Häuser zu verrammeln, haben weitergespielt. Sie haben die Lücken zwischen den Lockdown-Monaten (und allerlei Hygienekonzepte) dafür genutzt, vor tatsächlich leibhaftig anwesenden Zuschauer*innen zu spielen. Wo das nicht erlaubt war, haben sie ihre Theaterhäuser in gewisser Weise in Sendeanstalten verwandelt und mit dem Ausstrahlen von Aufführungsaufzeichnungen und Livestreams ihr altes und auch ein neues Publikum mit Theatermitteln unterhalten. Oft mit erstaunlich virtuosen, ästhetisch originellen Resultaten – und beklatscht und bestaunt von häufig ungewöhnlich dankbaren Zuschauer*innen.

Das Theater biete Raum für Gruppen von „in ihrer eigenen existenziellen Notsituation Versammelten“, hat der Schauspieler Fabian Hinrichs in einer Rede während des Theatertreffens im Mai 2018, lange vor der Corona-Pandemie, seine Vorstellung von geglücktem Theater beschrieben. In diesem kultischen Raum gelte es, „die Ahnung von Gemeinschaft, von einem gemeinsamen Träumen“ entstehen zu lassen.

Die Performerin Berit Stumpf in der Inszenierung „Show Me A Good Time“.

Show Me A Good Time. Berit Stumpf

© Dorothea Tuch

Mir scheint, dass es weniger die hygienegerechten Finessen, eine verbindende zeitkritische Haltung oder die erzählten Geschichten sind, die das Gemeinsame der zehn Aufführungen ausmachen, die von der Jury in diesem Jahr als bemerkenswert benannt wurden. Viel eher sind es eine existenzielle Dringlichkeit und die nicht bloß erahnte Fähigkeit zur Gemeinschaftsstiftung, durch die sich praktisch alle Arbeiten dieser Auswahl auszeichnen.

Eine oft aufgekratzte und unbedingt tröstliche Notgemeinschaft erfinden zum Beispiel die Männer und Frauen von Gob Squad. Ihre auf viele Stunden angelegte Revue über die Bühnenkunst und das Leben in Zeiten von Corona fordert schon im Titel: „Show Me A Good Time“. Sie handelt von durchaus finsteren Themen wie dem Sterben der eigenen Eltern – in einer Szene wird sogar ziemlich ulkig mit der Urne einer frisch gestorbenen Mutter hantiert. Sie zeugt vom Spaß an Musik und Alberei auch in der Einsamkeit der Kontaktverbotswelt. Sie ist ein wildes Show-Spektakel mit an merkwürdigen Orten operierenden Außenreporter*innen. Inmitten der Pandemie machen sich die Gob-Squad-Akteur*innen daran, mit schroffen, frechen, cleveren, manchmal auch dilettantischen Theatermitteln „Gegenwart zu archivieren“, wie es die Performerin Tatiana Saphir inmitten des Entertainment-Marathons formuliert hat.

Die Schauspielerin Maja Beckmann in der Inszenierung “Medea*“.

Medea*. Maja Beckmann

© Gina Folly

Eine andere, aber mindestens ebenso innige Notgemeinschaft ist es, mit der die Zuschauer*innen in der „Medea“-Version der Regisseurin Leonie Böhm mit dem Titel „Medea*“ konfrontiert sind. Eine der ältesten Tragödien der Welt, die Geschichte der erst in die Fremde verschleppten, dann von ihrem Mann verlassenen, schließlich aus Rache zur Kindermörderin werdenden Medea wird hier in einer Art Workshop neu erzählt. Die Schauspielerin Maja Beckmann und der für alle Männerrollen stellvertretend agierende Musiker Johannes Rieder, der sie mit Gitarre und Klavier begleitet, träumen sich gemeinsam hinein in ein essenzielles Liebesdrama, küssen sich mit stoffverhüllten Gesichtern und berichten vom Kummer des Verraten-Werdens. „Ich bin nicht voll Zorn, ich bin voll Schmerz“, sagt diese Medea, und tatsächlich ist es ein universaler Schmerz, von dem diese Aufführung erzählt. Ganz Ähnliches tut Sebastian Hartmanns „Zauberberg“-Inszenierung, die scheinbar ein krasses, hochartifizielles, manieriertes Gegenstück zur archaischen, in ein Nest von weißen Tüchern platzierten Spielanordnung von Leonie Böhm ist. Man könnte auch sagen: „Medea*“ spielt in einer wattierten Urzeithöhle des Theaters, „Der Zauberberg“ in einem hypermodernen Hightechstudio mit digital erzeugtem Schneegestöber unter künstlichen Polarlichtern – beiden Aufführungen aber gelingt eine Ahnung von jenem „gemeinsamen Träumen“, das Fabian Hinrichs beschworen hat.

Szene aus der Inszenierung „Der Zaubeberg“, die Schauspielerin Linda Pöppe und die Schauspieler Manuel Harder und Niklas Wetzel laufen durch einen weißen Bühnenraum.

Der Zauberberg. Linda Pöppel, Manuel Harder, Niklas Wetzel. . Probenfoto

© Arno Declair

Sowieso ist der Technik- und Digitalisierungsschub, den das Theater im abgelaufenen Krisenjahr erlebt hat, die sicher erfreulichste Entwicklung, die uns Juror*innen auffiel und natürlich auch unter uns zu Diskussionen Anlass gab. Ältere Theaterbegeisterte erinnern sich noch an die Videotisierung der deutschsprachigen Theaterbühnen in den Neunzigerjahren. Damals wurden beispielsweise Frank Castorfs Kameraübertragungen aus Bühnenbunkern und Hinterzimmern auf eine große Bühnenleinwand von manchen Zuschauer*innen mit dem Argument abgelehnt, hier werde das Theater seiner ureigensten Mittel beraubt, nicht mal sein Live-Charakter sei in jeder Szene noch nachprüfbar. In den Jahren seither haben viele Theaterleute gelernt, ganz selbstverständlich Bluescreens und Greenscreens, Hand- und Kopfkameras und tausend Tricks der digitalen Bilderzeugung auf der Bühne zu nutzen. Sie haben gelernt, gerade an Filmstoffen die intellektuellen Möglichkeiten und die emotionale Energie des Theaters auszuprobieren, wie es beispielhaft Christopher Rüping in seiner Version des Xavier-Dolan-Films „Einfach das Ende der Welt“ tut, der wiederum eine Adaption des Bühnenstücks von Jean-Luc Lagarce ist. Erst im Jahr der Corona-Lockdowns aber dürften die Vorzüge der technischen Theateraufrüstung auch den allerkonservativsten unter den Theaterbegeisterten restlos klar geworden sein.

Die Schauspielerin Maja Beckmann in der Inszenierung “Medea*“.

Medea*. Maja Beckmann

© Gina Folly

Die Einzigartigkeit und die Magie des Live-Erlebnisses im Theater sind unbestreitbar – aber es geht nur wenig von ihnen verloren, wenn sich Menschen mit digitalen Aufzeichnungs- und Übertragungsmethoden daranmachen, den Zauber des Live-Erlebnisses zu simulieren und zu konservieren. Die Schönheit und Symbolkraft des monumentalen Höllenschlund-Bühnenbildes, das Olaf Altmann für Stefan Bachmanns „Graf Öderland“-Inszenierung gebaut hat, vermittelt sich eindeutig auch jenen Zuschauer*innen, die leider nicht die Aufführung im Theater, sondern nur die Aufzeichnung zu Gesicht bekommen. Die feministische Cleverness, die Überraschungskunst und der Witz der Schauspielerin Anne Tismer und der Regisseurin Marie Schleef funktionieren auch im abgefilmten Frontalunterricht der Lecture Performance „NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ aufs Wunderbarste. Ein vor Fieberglut und kaltem Zorn vibrierendes Duell wie das zwischen den herausragenden Königinnendarstellerinnen Franziska Machens und Julia Windischbauer in der „Maria Stuart“-Version von Anne Lenk büßt nur unwesentlich an Überzeugungskraft ein, wenn es „nur“ auf einem Bildschirm betrachtet werden kann. Und selbst die wirklich schwindelerregende Intensität des Körpertheaters von Lucy Wilke und Paweł Duduś in „SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“ teilt sich in der Videoversion der Performance wirklich herzbewegend mit.

Lucy Wilke und Pawel Dudus in der Inszenierung „SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“.

SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP. Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś

© Martina Marini-Misterioso

Wer, wie es traditionsgemäß immer wieder vorkommt, unbedingt Trends in der Auswahl der Theatertreffen-Jury dieses Jahres erkennen will, sollte vielleicht nicht bloß abzählen, wie viele freie Gruppen und wie viele Theater aus welchen Länder- und Landesteilen 2021 eingeladen wurden. Möglicherweise sind einige der Juror*innen sogar ein bisschen stolz auf die Trendferne der Auswahl; auf die Vielfalt von Theaterhandschriften, die Unterschiedlichkeit der Darstellenden, die doch sehr verschiedenen politischen Ambitionen der eingeladenen Aufführungen. Die Regisseurin Barbara Frey schildert in Anna Gmeyners „Automatenbüfett“ die brutale Zerstörungskraft, der die Heldin dieses tollen Stücks in einer von Männermoral geprägten Gesellschaft zwischen den Weltkriegen des 20. Jahrhunderts ausgesetzt ist. Karin Beier hält in Rainald Goetz’ dramatischem Wutausbruch „Reich des Todes“ auf der Theaterbühne Gericht über den Sündenfall der US-amerikanischen Machtpolitik während des Zweiten Irakkriegs zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts. Für mich sind gerade diese beiden Aufführungen Belege für die Lebendigkeit einer textvernarrten Interpretationskunst, die von vorgeblich besonders fortschrittlichen Theatermenschen in den vergangenen Jahren gern als „Literaturtheater“ geschmäht wurde.

 Mitglieder des Schauspiel-Ensembles in einer Szene der Inszenierung „Automatenbüfett“.

Automatenbüfett. Ensemble

© Matthias Horn

Für mich haben alle in diesem Jahr eingeladenen Aufführungen die Kraft der Unbedingtheit, der existenziellen Not, des Überlebenswillens. Alle zehn machen mich zuversichtlich, dass es mit dem Theater, wenn die Pandemie wirklich überwunden ist, eben doch weitergehen wird. In den vergangenen Monaten habe ich häufig nachgelesen, wie oft zur Zeit William Shakespeares die LondonerTheater geschlossen werden mussten wegen der Pest. Angeblich ging die Regel so: Wenn in einer Woche mehr als 30 Londoner*innen an der Seuche starben, mussten die Theater schließen. Von den Jahren 1603 bis 1613 heißt es, dass die Theater insgesamt 78 Monate geschlossen blieben, das waren pro Jahr durchschnittlich sieben Monate. „Wir werden kurz einknicken“, hat Karin Beier in ihrem Job als Intendantin des Deutschen Schauspielhauses in Hamburg gesagt, als ihr Theater vergangenen Herbst in den zweiten Corona-Lockdown geschickt wurde. „Und dann werden wir uns wieder aufbäumen.“