An Intelligent and Accomplished Finder of Cracks

Laudatory speech for Thiemo Strutzenberger, held by Andreas Klaeui on the occasion of the 3sat-Award-ceremony

A green colour field shows slight abstract contours.

He doesn’t make his entrance at the front of the stage, in the spotlight, this Graf Öderland in Stefan Bachmann’s Max Frisch-production from Basel. Instead, he glides in, hesitantly, almost reluctantly; he crouches, as it were, creeping into the light from the side. The high, narrow circular opening of the falling funnel, which set designer Olaf Altmann has invented as the location for Frisch’s fable, flares up like an optical lens – and there he comes, easing himself from the darkness of the fly gallery, actor Thiemo Strutzenberger: hunched over himself, one shoulder drawn upwards, with strangely – and in fact anatomically impossibly – knotted legs, his hands searching for support on the walls. Which is nowhere to be found, of course.

In Frisch’s play, general prosecutor Martin charms confessions from the accused with well calculated empathy, absorbing their stories with a saturated shudder. But one particular case unsettles him and turns his world upside down, transforming this bourgeois civil servant into an anarchist. He becomes “Graf Öderland with the axe in his hand”. A murder without motive is like a “crack in the wall”, as Thiemo Strutzenberger pants. This crack becomes his passion, henceforth permeating his character “from the top to the bottom” in an almost biblical manner. Öderland squeezes himself through this crack into the “juste milieu”, a monster, a nightmare of civil society. There is a feeling of coldness in Strutzenberger’s character, even when he talks about holidaying in Spain. An icy, inexorable branching out of power fantasies and helpless resentment that turns the outcast into a bourgeois spectre.

“Graf Öderland”, which Frisch called his favourite play, perhaps because he was freer in his dramaturgy than in most of his others, is also his most inaccessible. An irrational rampage from the midst of society. But where Frisch’s text is still haunted by the existentialist acte authentique and the red-baiting of the Cold War (and, alas, his problematic depiction of women), director Stefan Bachmann and actor Thiemo Strutzenberger reveal its pure, crude horror. A frenzy of insurgency, of power and violence, where alienation, cultural anxiety and a weariness of civil society shift into pure aggression. The way that Thiemo Strutzenberger develops this with a cold fever, how he manages to leave the divide between waking dream and panicked clarity permeable, is breath-taking.

Thiemo Strutzenberger is a high-risk player. He is never satisfied with developing his characters in your face, always looks for the cracks that he can squeeze himself through from the side. The first time that I noticed this – noticed him – was at Zurich’s Neumarkt theatre in 2009, where he was a member of Barbara Weber’s and Rafael Sanchez’ new company: as a Swiss hippie in an Alp-chalet in the musical grotesque “Hair”, as a Russian lover with exactly the necessary grain of playboy in all his narrow-mindedness in “Anna Karenina”. One year later, he joined artistic director Andreas Beck at the Vienna Schauspielhaus; he moved on to Basel with Beck’s company in 2015 and to Munich in 2019.

Maximilian Aue in “Die Wohlgesinnten” (2013), Gessler in “Wilhelm Tell” (2017), the Captain in Ulrich Rasche’s “Woyzeck”-production in the autumn of 2017, and finally Iago in “Othello X” (2018) – company management like to see Thiemo Strutzenberger as the villain. Perhaps he does, too. We, the audience, certainly do – because he always finds the cracks in these villains and – above all – the wretch.

And, of course, he also finds their suffering, as with – another lasting impression – his Gaveston in Ewald Palmetshofer’s Marlowe-rewrite “Edward II” at Schauspielhaus Wien, this initially frivolous, eroticized and later blood- and pain-riddled “intruder from fucker-Frenchie-land”. Passion in its double meaning.

Thiemo Strutzenberger plays for equally high stakes when it comes to his work on text and with language. He looks for cracks here, too, and squeezes himself inside the words. At times, he imposes his own rhythm onto them, dismembering them into their components of significance. He staged Édouard Louis’ autobiographical story “The End of Eddy” as a lesson in de-submission. He also writes, first as author-in-residence at Schauspielhaus Wien, then at Theater Basel. One example is “Wiederauferstehung der Vögel”: a de-contouring story of two cousins from a patrician family in Basel, Fritz and Paul Sarasin, who were both naturalists and lovers. Artful, committed, ingenious texts which probably need Renaissance-like universal players to be staged – players like him. An intelligent and accomplished finder of cracks across all categories. Yvonne Büdenhölzer, Wolfgang Horn and I offer our heart-felt congratulations on winning the 3sat-Award!

Kluger und versierter Risse-Aufspürer

Laudatio auf Thiemo Strutzenberger von Andreas Klaeui anlässlich der Verleihung des 3sat-Preises

Eine grüne Fläche zeigt leichte abstrakte Konturen.

Nicht an der Rampe im Scheinwerferlicht tritt er auf, der Graf Öderland in Stefan Bachmanns Basler Max-Frisch-Inszenierung. Er gleitet vielmehr rein, zögerlich, fast unwillig, duckt sich förmlich und schleicht sich von der Seite her ins Licht. Wie eine optische Linse leuchtet die hohe, schmale Kreisöffnung des fallenden Trichters auf, in dem Bühnenbildner Olaf Altmann Frischs Fabel verortet, und da schiebt er sich nun herein, aus dem Dunkel des Schnürbodens, der Schauspieler Thiemo Strutzenberger: in sich gekrümmt, eine Schulter hochgezogen, mit merkwürdig – anatomisch eigentlich unmöglich – verknäuelten Beinen, die Hände stützen sich an den Trichterwänden ab und suchen Halt. Natürlich gibt es keinen.

Wohlkalkuliert empathisch entlockt Staatsanwalt Martin bei Frisch den Angeklagten ihre Geständnisse und verleibt sich ihre Erzählungen mit saturiertem Schaudern ein. Aber ein Fall verstört ihn und stellt seine Welt auf den Kopf. Der bürgerliche Staatsdiener wandelt sich zum Anarchisten. Er wird zu „Graf Öderland mit der Axt in der Hand“. Ein Mord ohne Motiv – das ist „wie ein Riss in der Mauer“, stößt Thiemo Strutzenberger hervor. Es wird dieser Riss sein, den er nun zu seiner Passion macht, der seine Figur fortan geradezu biblisch durchzieht, „von oben an bis unten aus“. Durch den Riss schiebt sich Öderland ins satte Juste-Milieu, ein Monster, der Albtraum der Zivilgesellschaft. Es ist von Anfang an ein Frieren in Strutzenbergers Figur, selbst wenn von Urlaub in Spanien die Rede ist. Ein eisiges, unaufhaltsames Sich-Verzweigen der Machtfantasien und ohnmächtigen Ressentiments, das aus dem Outcast ein bürgerliches Gespenst macht.

„Graf Öderland“, das Frisch als sein Lieblingsstück bezeichnet hat, vielleicht weil er darin dramaturgisch so zwangfrei ist wie in kaum einem anderen, ist zugleich sein unzugänglichstes Stück. Ein irrationaler Amoklauf aus der sozialen Mitte heraus. Wo aber bei Frisch noch der existenzialistische acte authentique hineinspukte und die Kommunistenhetze des Kalten Kriegs (und leider auch sein schwieriges Frauenbild), machen Stefan Bachmann mit seiner Inszenierung und Thiemo Strutzenberger in seiner Darstellung den reinen, kruden Horror aus. Ein Rausch der Auflehnung, der Macht und der Gewalt, in dem Entfremdung, kulturelles Unbehagen, zivilgesellschaftlicher Überdruss in die pure Aggression umschlagen. Wie Thiemo Strutzenberger dies mit kaltem Fieber entwickelt, wie er die Trennlinien von Wachtraum und panischer Klarheit durchlässig macht, ist atemberaubend.

Thiemo Strutzenberger ist ein Hochrisikospieler. Niemals lässt er es bei einer Figurenfindung right in the face bewenden, immer sucht er die Risse, durch die er sich seitlich hineinschieben kann. Zum ersten Mal ist es mir – ist er mir – im Zürcher Neumarkt-Theater aufgefallen, als er 2009 im neuen Ensemble von Barbara Weber und Rafael Sanchez spielte: in der Musicalgroteske „Hair“ als Schweizer Hippie im Alpenchalet, in „Anna Karenina“ als russischer Lover mit exakt dem erforderlichen Quäntchen Playboy in der Borniertheit. Ein Jahr darauf ging er nach Wien zu Andreas Beck ans Schauspielhaus, mit Becks Ensemble zog er 2015 weiter nach Basel, 2019 nach München.

Maximilian Aue in „Die Wohlgesinnten“ (2013), Gessler in „Wilhelm Tell“ (2017), der Hauptmann in Ulrich Rasches „Woyzeck“-Inszenierung (Herbst 2017), endlich Jago in „Othello X“ (2018) – die künstlerischen Dispositionsbüros sehen Thiemo Strutzenberger gern als Bösewicht. Er sich selbst womöglich auch. Wir Zuschauenden ganz bestimmt – weil er auch im Bösen immer die Risse findet, und, besonders wichtig: den Wicht.

Freilich auch das Leid, wie – andere bleibende Erinnerung – bei seinem Gaveston in Ewald Palmetshofers Marlowe-Überschreibung „Edward II.“ am Schauspielhaus Wien, der erst frivole, erotisierte, erotisierende, dann aber blut- und schmerzüberströmte „Eindringling aus Ficker-Franzenland“. Passion in ihrer doppelten Bedeutung.

Thiemo Strutzenberger ist ein Hochrisikospieler auch in seiner Arbeit am Text und mit der Sprache. Auch hier sucht er die Risse, schiebt sich in die Worte hinein. Auferlegt ihnen bisweilen seinen eigenen Rhythmus, zerlegt sie in ihre Sinnbestandteile. Er inszeniert Édouard Louisʼ autobiografische Erzählung „Das Ende von Eddie“ als Lehrstück der Entunterwerfung. Er schreibt selbst, als Hausautor am Schauspielhaus Wien, danach am Theater Basel, zum Beispiel „Wiederauferstehung der Vögel“: die alle festen Umrisse auflösende Erzählung zweier Basler Patrizier-Cousins, Fritz und Paul Sarasin, die ein Naturforscher- und Liebespaar bildeten. Kunstvolle, engagierte, geistreiche Texte sind es, zu deren Aufführung es wohl renaissancehafter Universalspieler*innen bedarf, wie er selbst einer ist. Kluger und versierter, über die Kategorien schlenkernder Risse-Aufspürer. Yvonne Büdenhölzer, Wolfgang Horn und ich gratulieren von Herzen zum 3sat-Preis!