Opening Speech Yvonne Büdenhölzer

What may have been lost? – we asked the theatres and companies from the German-language region this question and received 34 filmed answers on the current pandemic situation of the theatres, on the “gaps”, the “blanks” that have emerged.

A green colour field shows slight abstract contours.

Actors from DeutschesSchauSpielHaus Hamburg jumped into the river Alster at a temperature of 8 degrees, Markus & Markus set off table fireworks in their homes just to create a big bang, and a seat set out from the empty auditorium of Schauspielhaus Bochum, in search of its audience.

What may have been lost – and what may have been gained. My team and I operated permanently between these poles over the course of this preparatory year. Should we cancel? Postpone? De-centralise? Should it be in the open air? Hybrid? Streamed? We considered many different options, but none of them felt 100 percent right. And how could they?

Festivals are the opposite of lockdown and distance. Festivals are a concentration of events. Festivals create closeness, communication and encounters: between artists and audiences. The works of art also enter into correspondence with each other by being shown in one city, in a spatial and temporal context. This correspondence, this concentration within the city of Berlin will not be possible this year. Last year, Theatertreffen responded to the then acute situation and the streets were quite silent during the first lockdown. This year, the festival marks the beginning of a transformation in the context of a post-pandemic and increasingly digitalised society. A beginning that is rapidly developing into both an incredible experiment and an overextension.

As well as focusing on the topics that have long been important to us, such as gender, inclusion and ecological sustainability, we have added an interest in new formats. We first cooperated with the Academy for Theatre and Digitality and the Digital Dramaturgy in 2020 and our new showcase “Stages Unboxed” will be a continuation of this cooperation. For the first time, we will work with the Performing Arts Festival Berlin and ask ourselves: “What Are We Waiting For?” In talk rounds, we will reflect the lived realities of the performing arts and their professionals in times of the pandemic and we intend to draw attention to the current needs of the people who work in this sector. Another focus topic is an analysis of power and responsibility in the operations of city theatres. We have been dealing with the issue of ecological sustainability for some time, even beyond the actual festival period. We are working on our own footprint and hosting a forum for sustainability in the theatre, in cooperation with the network Nachhaltigkeit in Kultur und Medien (Sustainability in Culture and the Media).

What may have been gained? What characterises our (digital) Theatertreffen? Here is my answer: Of course, we all share the deeply felt wish to enjoy an analogue experience of art and theatre. But a digital festival also entails a kind of increased freedom and democratisation of watching. It is much easier to take part, we are exploring new forms of participation and interaction, present artists who are new to the festival and experience different, digital forms of storytelling. Who can be featured now? What will be the impact of these artistic developments on the criteria set by the Theatertreffen-jury in the future? How will the role of “spectating” evolve? In the digital sphere, the aspect of how politically aware an audience is and how opinions are formed are far more present. Isn’t it time to stop drawing these lines and to no longer weigh between “analogue” and “digital”? To achieve this, sustainable concepts will have to be created: by the art sector, but also by politics.

I am delighted that we will be able to show the complete selection of 10 productions, either as live streams or as recordings, as well as the works featured in Stückemarkt.

And I am sad that it has once again proven impossible for the fellows of the International Forum to travel to Berlin.

Today we begin twelve days of online Theatertreffen. We hope to give a sense of closeness in time by creating as many live moments as we can. To generate a sense of spatial togetherness, we have developed brand-new spaces: Our digital Festival Garden is already open – and we can guarantee that there will be no closing time or complaints about too much noise. We offer chats for nearly all events, our after-show talks and discussions are all live, and five productions of the selection of 10 will be streamed live. But in order to fill all these digital spaces with life and to build a festival community, we need you, our dear audience. Let me invite you! See for yourselves what might be gained! We will be here – and we hope that you will be too!

I would like to end by giving thanks to all our partners for their long-standing and reliable support, above all to the Federal Cultural Foundation, especially Hortensia Völckers and Kirsten Haß, and our media partner 3sat, who once again produced recordings of three productions from the selection of 10 productions! My heartfelt thanks go to the jury for their efforts in challenging pandemic times! And to the entire team of Berliner Festspiele, especially director Thomas Oberender and the communications and technical departments. To the developers’ team of the digital platform, Serve-u and Best Films Forever and my fantastic Theatertreffen-team. They are all working with joined forces to make this new festival a marvellous reality.

Welcome to Berliner Festspiele Digital: The 2021 Theatertreffen is open!

Yvonne Büdenhölzer
Director Theatertreffen

Rede Eröffnung Yvonne Büdenhölzer

Was verloren sein könnte – diese Frage haben wir den Bühnen und Gruppen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum gestellt und 34 filmische Antworten zur derzeitigen pandemischen Situation der Theater, zu den „Lücken“, den „Leerstellen“, die entstanden sind, erhalten.

Eine grüne Fläche zeigt leichte abstrakte Konturen.

Schauspieler*innen des Deutschen SchauSpielHaus Hamburg sind bei 8 Grad in die Alster gesprungen, Markus & Markus haben in ihren Wohnungen Tischfeuerwerke gezündet, um es mal wieder richtig funzeln zu lassen und aus dem Schauspielhaus Bochum macht sich ein Sessel hinaus aus dem leeren Theater auf die Suche nach seinem Publikum.

Was verloren – und was gewonnen sein könnte. Im Spannungsfeld dieser zwei Fragen haben mein Team und ich uns im Jahr der Vorbereitung ständig bewegt. Absagen? Verschieben? Dezentralisieren? Open Air? Hybrid? Streaming? Viele Optionen standen im Raum und doch fühlte sich keine zu 100 Prozent richtig an. Wie auch?

Festivals sind das Gegenteil von Lockdown und Distanz. Festivals sind die Verdichtung von Veranstaltungen. Festivals stellen Nähe, Austausch und Begegnung her: zwischen Künstler*innen und Zuschauer*innen. Und auch die Kunstwerke treten in Korrespondenz miteinander, indem sie in einer Stadt stattfinden, in einem räumlichen und zeitlichen Kontext. Diese Korrespondenz, die Ballung innerhalb der Stadt Berlin, kann es dieses Jahr nicht geben. Während das Theatertreffen im letzten Jahr auf die damals akute Situation reagierte und es im ersten Lockdown auf den Straßen ganz still war, ist das Festival dieses Jahr der Beginn einer Transformation unter den Vorzeichen einer post-pandemischen und zunehmend digitalisierten Gesellschaft. Ein Anfang, der sich im Highspeed-Tempo als reizvolles Experiment und zugleich als Überforderung entwickelt.

Wir haben in diesem Jahr unseren Fokus neben den uns wichtigen Themen wie Gender, Inklusion und ökologische Nachhaltigkeit zusätzlich auf neue Formate gelegt. Die im letzten Jahr begonnene Kooperation mit der Akademie für Theater und Digitalität und der Digitalen Dramaturgie setzen wir mit unserem neuen Showcase „Stages Unboxed“ fort. Und zum ersten Mal arbeiten wir mit dem Performing Arts Festival Berlin zusammen und fragen wir uns: „Worauf warten wir?“. In Talks reflektieren wir die pandemiebedingte Realität der darstellenden Künste und ihrer Akteur*innen und möchten auf aktuelle Bedürfnisse der Menschen aufmerksam machen, die in diesem Bereich arbeiten. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Macht und Verantwortung im Apparat Stadttheater. Auch außerhalb des Festivalzeitraums beschäftigen wir uns schon seit längerer Zeit mit ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit, arbeiten an unserer eigenen Klimabilanzierung und veranstalten ein Forum für Nachhaltigkeit im Theater gemeinsam mit dem Aktionsnetzwerk Nachhaltigkeit in Kultur und Medien.

Was könnte gewonnen sein? Was macht unser (digitales) Theatertreffen aus?

Meine Antwort darauf lautet: Natürlich teilen wir alle den tiefen Wunsch nach einem analogen Kunst- und Theatererlebnis. Aber ein digitales Festival ist auch eine Form von Freiheitsgewinn und Demokratisierung des Zuschauens. Es ist viel einfacher daran teilzunehmen, wir erkunden neue Formen der Partizipation und Interaktion, zeigen für das Festival neue Künstler*innen und erleben andere, digitale Erzählweisen. Wer kommt jetzt vor? Wie wird sich diese künstlerische Entwicklung auf die Kriterien der Theatertreffen-Jury perspektivisch auswirken? Wie entwickelt sich der Part des „Zuschauens“? Im Digitalen ist der Aspekt, wie politisch ein Publikum ist und wie Meinungsbildung stattfindet, viel stärker präsent. Ist es nicht längst an der Zeit, diese Grenzen nicht mehr zu ziehen und zwischen „analog“ und „digital“ nicht mehr abzuwägen? Und dafür sind zukunftsfähige Konzepte gefordert: aus der Kunst, aber auch aus der Politik.

Ich bin glücklich, dass es uns gelungen ist, die gesamte 10er Auswahl in Livestreams und Aufzeichnungen zu zeigen und ebenso die Arbeiten des Stückemarkts.

Und ich bin traurig darüber, dass die Stipendiat*innen des Internationalen Forums dieses Jahr wieder nicht anreisen konnten.

Nun geht es los mit 12 Tagen digitalem Theatertreffen. Zeitliche Nähe versuchen wir herzustellen durch möglichst viele Live-Momente, für die räumliche Nähe gibt es neue Orte: Unser digitaler Festspielgarten ist bereits geöffnet – garantiert ohne Schließzeiten und Lärmbeschwerden. Zu fast jeder Veranstaltung bieten wir einen Chat an, unsere Nachgespräche und Debatten sind alle live, auch fünf der Inszenierungen der 10er Auswahl werden live gestreamt. Aber um all diese digitalen Orte mit Leben zu füllen und eine Festivalcommunity zu bilden, brauchen wir Sie, liebes Publikum. Ich lade Sie ein! Überzeugen Sie sich selbst davon, was gewonnen sein könnte. Wir sind da – Sie hoffentlich auch!

Zum Schluss noch mein Dank an alle Partner*innen für die langjährige und verbindliche Unterstützung, insbesondere der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, namentlich Hortensia Völckers und Kirsten Haß, sowie unserem Medienpartner 3sat, der wieder drei Stücke der 10er Auswahl aufgezeichnet hat. Ich danke von Herzen der Jury für die pandemisch herausfordernde Arbeit! Und auch dem gesamten Team der Berliner Festspiele insbesondere dem Intendanten Thomas Oberender, der Kommunikation und der Technik. Dem Entwickler*innenteam der digitalen Plattform, Serve-u und Best Films Forever und meinem fantastischen Theatertreffen-Team. Alle arbeiten mit geballter Kraft, dieses neue Festival grandios umzusetzen.

Herzlich willkommen auf Berliner Festspiele Digital: Das Theatertreffen 2021 ist eröffnet!

Yvonne Büdenhölzer
Leiterin Theatertreffen