Das Internat (The Boarding School)

By Ersan Mondtag
Text by Alexander Kerlin and Matthias Seier

Schauspiel Dortmund
World Premiere 9 February 2018

Ersan Mondtag’s first production at Schauspiel Dortmund is a dance of powerful images and nightmares which lead us from Romanticism to the war scenes of our present times – with sublime music by T.D. Finck von Finckenstein.

Video trailer

© Schauspiel Dortmund

This production cannot be shown at the 2019 Theatertreffen.

Sat 4 May Awarding 3sat Prize to Ersan Mondtag & Theatertreffen Tribute for “Das Internat”

A boarding school at the end of space and time, with 17 uniformed wards whose lives are governed by rituals and whose hearts beat in time with terror. Who is a victim, who is a perpetrator? Who is this child whose voice we are hearing? “Das Internat” by Ersan Mondtag is a series of images that look painted, leading us from the Romantics to war-torn landscapes of our present times, accentuated with music by T.D. Finck von Finckenstein. An intense trip into the abysses of human coexistence and a story of trauma, war and time.

Jury Statement

From papier-mâché and naïve drawings, Ersan Mondtag has created a visually spectacular rapture-like Goth ghost-train at Schauspiel Dortmund: the kind of night-terrors we wouldn’t want to dream of in our worst nightmares. Ever new dark chambers open out onto a revolving stage, with 17 trained and uniformed wards skulking among them, executing mechanically rhythmical everyday routines, like eating, sleeping, torturing. The Internat (the boarding school) and its rich realm of associations in cultural history are presented as an eternal cycle of becoming the oppressor and the oppressed, of victimhood and perpetration, fear and paranoia. This archaic and artificial scenario provokes great philosophical questions: What is a just revolution? When does it tip over into fascism? From what point on is violence allowed? “Das Internat” describes a process of brainwashing where ideologies are continually reversed: a dark metaphor for the world.

Cast

Directed by / Stage and Costume Design by Ersan Mondtag
Composition T. D. Finck von Finckenstein
Lighting Design Rainer Casper
Realisation of the Costumes, Costume Painting Annika Lu Hermann
Video-Art Tobias Hoeft
Dramaturgy Alexander Kerlin

With
Massiamy Diaby, Klara Eham, Christian Freund, Frank Genser, Johannes Hoff, Bettina Lieder, Max Poerting, Philipp Joy Reinhardt, Jojo Rösler, Uwe Rohbeck, Alicja Rosinski, Ansgar Sauren, Vera Hannah Schmidtke, Uwe Schmieder, Nairi Sevinc, Philipp Steinheuser, Merle Wasmuth
Voice of the Child Alicja Rosinski

Das Internat

von Ersan Mondtag
Text von Alexander Kerlin und Matthias Seier

Schauspiel Dortmund
Uraufführung 9. Februar 2018

Ersan Mondtags erste Arbeit am Schauspiel Dortmund ist ein mächtiger Bilderreigen von Träumen und Alpträumen, die uns von der Romantik in die Kriegslandschaften der Gegenwart führen – mit grandioser Musik von T.D. Finck von Finckenstein.

Videotrailer

© Schauspiel Dortmund

Diese Inszenierung kann leider beim Theatertreffen 2019 nicht gezeigt werden.

Sa 4.5.
Verleihung 3sat-Preis an Ersan Mondtag & Theatertreffen-Ehrung für „Das Internat“

Ein Internat am Ende von Raum und Zeit, darin 17 uniformierte Zöglinge, deren Leben von Ritualen beherrscht werden und deren Herzen im Takt der Angst schlagen. Wer ist Opfer, wer Täter? Wer ist dieses Kind, dessen Stimme wir hören? „Das Internat“ von Ersan Mondtag ist ein wie gemalt wirkender Bilderreigen, der von der Romantik in die Kriegslandschaften der Gegenwart führt, untermalt mit Musik von T.D. Finck von Finckenstein. Ein intensiver Trip in die Abgründe des menschlichen Zusammenlebens und eine Geschichte über Trauma, Krieg und Zeit.

Statement der Jury

Es ist eine optisch spektakuläre Welt-Entrückung, die Ersan Mondtag aus Pappmaché und naiven Zeichnungen als Gothic-Geisterbahn am Schauspiel Dortmund erschafft: Angsträume, die wir uns nicht in kühnsten Albträumen ausmalen möchten. Immer neue dunkle Kammern öffnen sich auf der Drehbühne, durch die 17 dressierte und uniformierte Zöglinge schleichen und mechanisch-rhythmische Alltagsroutinen vollziehen: essen, schlafen, quälen. Das Internat – und sein reicher kulturhistorischer Assoziationsraum – wird gezeigt als ewiger Kreislauf von Unterdrückung und Unterdrücktsein, Opfer- und Täter*innentum, Angst und Paranoia. Das archaisch-künstliche Szenario löst große philosophische Fragen aus: Was ist eine gerechte Revolution? Wann schlägt sie um in Faschismus? Ab wann ist Gewalt erlaubt? „Das Internat“ ist die Geschichte einer Gehirnwäsche, in der die Ideologien beständig umschlagen: eine düstere Weltmetapher.

Besetzung

Regie, Bühne, Kostüme Ersan Mondtag
Komposition T. D. Finck von Finckenstein
Licht-Design Rainer Casper
Realisierung des Kostüms, Kostümmalerei Annika Lu Hermann
Video-Art Tobias Hoeft
Dramaturgie Alexander Kerlin

Mit
Massiamy Diaby, Klara Eham, Christian Freund, Frank Genser, Johannes Hoff, Bettina Lieder, Max Poerting, Philipp Joy Reinhardt, Jojo Rösler, Uwe Rohbeck, Alicja Rosinski, Ansgar Sauren, Vera Hannah Schmidtke, Uwe Schmieder, Nairi Sevinc, Philipp Steinheuser, Merle Wasmuth
Stimme des Kindes Alicja Rosinski