Jury

Shida Bazyar

Shida Bazyar was invited to the Young Authors' Meeting in 2004 as a prize winner. She graduated from the University of Hildesheim with a bachelor's degree in creative writing and cultural journalism and a master's degree in literary writing. Afterwards, she worked as an educator for young people doing voluntary service and as a freelance writer. Her first novel "Nachts ist es leise in Teheran" was published by Kiepenheuer & Witsch in 2016 and was awarded the Cultural Promotion Prize of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hanover, the Blogger Prize for Literature, the Ulla Hahn Author Prize and the Uwe Johnson Promotion Prize. Her second novel "Drei Kameradinnen" was published in 2021 and was nominated for the German Book Prize.

Marcus Braun

Berlin

Marcus Braun was born in 1971 in Bullay an der Mosel. He studied German, Philosophy and Law at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and the Freie Universität Berlin. He lives as a novelist and painter in Berlin. His debut novel “Delhi” was published by Berlin Verlag in 1999, and his latest novel to date, “Der letzte Buddha,” was published by Verlag Hanser Berlin in 2017. In 2020, he was awarded the Wolfgang Koeppen Literature Prize for his complete works to date.

Yevgeniy Breyger

Frankfurt/Main

Yevgeniy Breyger was born in 1989 in Kharkiv, Ukraine. He studied Cultural Journalism at the University of Hildesheim, Literary Writing at the German Literature Institute in Leipzig and Curatorial Studies at the Städelschule, Frankfurt/Main. In 2016, his debut book “flüchtige monde” was published by kookbooks. In 2019, he won the Leonce and Lena Prize of the city of Darmstadt. His second poetry collection “gestohlene luft” was also published by kookbooks in 2020 and was supported by grants from Deutscher Literaturfonds and Herrenhaus Edenkoben. At the end of 2020, Breyger was a fellow at the Schriftstellerhaus in Stuttgart. In 2021 he received the Munich Poetry Prize and in 2022 the Villa Massimo Casa Baldi scholarship. He is a visiting professor of Literary Writing & Translation at the University of Hildesheim and at the Ruhr University Bochum. Breyger lives and works in Frankfurt/Main. He is a laureate of the Treffen Junger Autor*innen 2010.

Rabea Edel

Berlin

Rabea Edel, born in 1982, is a writer and photographer. Her debut novel “Das Wasser, in dem wir schlafen” was published in 2006, the second novel “Ein dunkler Moment” in 2011 by Luchterhand Literaturverlag. She studied literature in Italy and photography at the Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie, among others with Sven Marquardt and Ute Mahler. As an artist she works in projects at the interface between art, cultural industries and journalism, as well as in collaborations with other artists. In 2021, her radio play “Ihre Geister sehen” (Deutschlandfunk, with Sandra Hüller) won the Audience Award of the ARD Radiotage. In 2021, her photo art book “A Second Beating Heart” was published by SHIFT BOOKS and was shortlisted by Stiftung Buchkunst.

Awards (selection): Belfast Photo Festival 2021, shortlisted Portrait of Humanity 2021, Roger Ballen MasterClass 2019, fellow at Alfred-Döblin-Haus 2018, artist in residence at Goethe-Institut Ljubljana 2016, working scholarship literature of the state of Lower Saxony 2016, city writer in Beijing at Goethe-Institut 2015, Research Fellowship of the Berlin Senate 2015, Working Fellowship of the German Literature Fund 2014, Fellowship of the Berlin Senate 2013, Fellow of the Künstlerhaus Edenkoben 2012, Fellow at Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo Casa Baldi 2009, Literature Prizes Berlin 2007, Nicolas-Born-Förderpreis 2007, Winner of the 12. open mike 2004, Treffen junger Autor*innen 1996 and 1998.

Sulaiman Masomi

Cologne

Sulaiman Masomi, born in Kabul, Afghanistan in 1979 and raised in Krefeld, Germany, completed his studies in General Literature, Media Studies and Cultural Anthropology at the University of Paderborn. Sulaiman Masomi is a writer, poet, rapper, poetry slammer and literary scholar. For over ten years he has been performing on German stages and - at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut - traveling the world as a cultural ambassador, including Cairo, Riga, San Francisco, Mexico City and Jerusalem. In 2013 he became NRW state poetry slam champion and was in the final of the German-language championships in the same year. He is co-founder of the cult reading stage LMBN in Dortmund and has already had more than 1500 performances. Besides, he is a pretty cool guy, very cute and likes to write his press releases himself.

 www.sulaiman.de

Rudi Nuss

Berlin

Rudi Nuss, born in 1994, lives on the Internet. When he does find himself in the real world, he has a funny feeling. He is studying comparative literature at Freie Universität Berlin and also works at wortbau e. V. for the promotion of young literature and is an editor at Epilog - Magazin zur Gegenwartskultur. He was a prize winner at the Treffen junger Autor*innen 2013 and 2015 and at the open mike 2016 and has published in BELLA triste, mikrotext and VICE, among others. In 2020, he received a literary scholarship from the Berlin Senate for his novel project "Die Realität kommt“.

 www.rudinuss.de

Rike Scheffler

Berlin

Rike Scheffler, born 1985 in Berlin, is a poet and musician. For her, poetry is a space of possibility, a transformative practice. Scheffler is a member of the Berlin poetry collective G13, studied psychology in Berlin and literary writing at the German Literature Institute. For her work, she has received working scholarships from the German Literature Fund, the German Academy Villa Massimo (Casa Baldi), Akademie der Künste Berlin, Stiftung Brandenburger Tor, and the Wiesbaden Orphil Debut Prize for Poetry for her poetry collection "der rest ist resonanz," which was published by kookbooks in 2014. Most recently, she has realized presentations of her poems, performances, and sound installations at venues including the Palais de Tokyo, Paris, Copenhagen's Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, the Neue Nationalgalerie, and the Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart in Berlin, as well as at (literary) festivals around the globe.

SchwarzRund

Berlin

SchwarzRund came to Bremen as a Black German Dominican at the age of three and has lived in Berlin for almost ten years. Since 2013 she has been publishing on her blog schwarzrund.de and in various magazines. She negotiates multidimensional realities of life inside and outside of communities in performance texts, lectures and event series. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Cultural Studies and Gender Studies, in the latter she is currently completing a Master’s degree. Her research focuses on fields of intervention of Black queer music videos. In 2016, her Afropolitan Berlin novel “Biskaya” was published by zaglossus Verlag.

Daniela Seel

Berlin

Daniela Seel, born 1974 in Frankfurt/Main, lives as an author, translator and publisher of kookbooks in Berlin and occasionally teaches. Numerous international performances and collaborations, including with the illustrator Andreas Töpfer, the dancer David Bloom and the musicians Roland Dahinden and Hildegard Keeb. Daniela Seel most recently published the poetry collections “was weißt du schon von prärie”, kookbooks 2015, and “Auszug aus Eden”, Verlag Peter Engstler 2019, she is currently working on “Nach Eden”. Works published in translation include “Die Unsterblichen” by Anne Boyer, Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2021, “Die verlorenen Zaubersprüche” by Robert Macfarlane, Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2021, and “Call Us What We Carry ‒ Was wir mit uns tragen” by Amanda Gorman (co-authored with Marion Kraft), Hoffmann und Campe 2022. Daniela Seel has received numerous awards for her work, such as the Mondseer Lyrikpreis, the Friedrich-Hölderlin-Förderpreis of the city of Bad Homburg, and the top prize at the 1st German Publishing Prize 2019. Daniela Seel is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain and PEN Berlin.

 http://danielaseel.wordpress.com |  http://danielaseel.tumblr.com |  www.kookbooks.de

Jury

Shida Bazyar

Shida Bazyar war 2004 als Preisträgerin zum Treffen junger Autor*innen eingeladen. Sie absolvierte an der Universität Hildesheim den Bachelorstudiengang Kreatives Schreiben und Kulturjournalismus und den Masterstudiengang Literarisches Schreiben. Danach arbeitete sie als Pädagogin für Jugendliche, die einen Freiwilligendienst machen, und als freie Autorin. Ihr erster Roman „Nachts ist es leise in Teheran“ erschien 2016 bei Kiepenheuer & Witsch und wurde mit dem Kulturförderpreis der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirche Hannover, dem Bloggerpreis für Literatur, dem Ulla-Hahn-Autorenpreis und dem Uwe-Johnson-Förderpreis ausgezeichnet. Ihr zweiter Roman „Drei Kameradinnen“ erschien 2021 und war für den Deutschen Buchpreis nominiert.

Marcus Braun

Berlin

Marcus Braun geb. 1971 in Bullay an der Mosel, studierte Germanistik, Philosophie und Rechtswissenschaft an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und der Freien Universität Berlin. Er lebt als Romancier und Maler in Berlin. Sein Debütroman „Delhi“ erschien 1999 im Berlin Verlag, 2017 erschien sein bislang letzter Roman „Der letzte Buddha“ im Verlag Hanser Berlin. 2020 wurde er für sein bisheriges Gesamtwerk mit dem Wolfgang-Koeppen-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Yevgeniy Breyger

Frankfurt am Main

Yevgeniy Breyger wurde 1989 in Charkiw in der Ukraine geboren. Er studierte Kulturjournalismus an der Universität Hildesheim, Literarisches Schreiben am Deutschen Literaturinstitut Leipzig und Curatorial Studies an der Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main. 2016 erschien sein Debütband „flüchtige monde“ bei kookbooks. 2019 gewann er den Leonce-und-Lena-Preis der Stadt Darmstadt. Sein zweiter Gedichtband „gestohlene luft“ ist 2020 ebenso bei kookbooks erschienen und wurde durch Stipendien des Deutschen Literaturfonds und des Herrenhauses Edenkoben gefördert. Zum Ende des Jahres 2020 war Breyger Stipendiat im Stuttgarter Schriftstellerhaus. 2021 erhielt er den Lyrikpreis München und 2022 das Stipendium der Deutschen Akademie Rom Villa Massimo Casa Baldi. Er ist Gastprofessor für Literarisches Schreiben und Übersetzen an der Universität Hildesheim und an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Breyger lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main. Er ist Preisträger des Treffens Junger Autor*innen 2010.

Rabea Edel

Berlin

Rabea Edel, geboren 1982, ist Schriftstellerin und Fotografin. Ihr Debüt-Roman „Das Wasser, in dem wir schlafen“ erschien 2006, der zweite Roman „Ein dunkler Moment“ 2011 im Luchterhand Literaturverlag. Sie studierte Literaturwissenschaften in Italien und Fotografie an der Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie, u. a. bei Sven Marquardt und Ute Mahler. Als Künstlerin arbeitet sie in Projekten an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst, Kulturwirtschaft und Journalismus sowie in Kooperationen mit anderen Künstler*innen zusammen. 2021 wurde ihr Hörspiel »“Ihre Geister sehen“ (Deutschlandfunk, mit Sandra Hüller) mit dem Publikumspreis der ARD Hörspieltage ausgezeichnet. 2021 erschien ihr Foto-Kunstbuch „A Second Beating Heart“ bei SHIFT BOOKS, das auf der Shortlist der Stiftung Buchkunst stand.

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Belfast Photo Festival 2021, Shortlist Portrait of Humanity 2021, Roger Ballen MasterClass 2019, Stipendiatin im Alfred-Döblin-Haus 2018, Artist in Residence am Goethe-Institut Ljubljana 2016, Arbeitsstipendium Literatur des Landes Niedersachsen 2016, Stadtschreiberin in Peking am Goethe-Institut 2015, Recherche-Stipendium des Berliner Senats 2015, Arbeitsstipendium des Deutschen Literaturfonds 2014, Stipendium des Berliner Senats 2013, Stipendiatin des Künstlerhauses Edenkoben 2012, Stipendiatin in der Deutschen Akademie Rom Villa Massimo Casa Baldi 2009, Literaturpreise Berlin 2007, Nicolas-Born-Förderpreis 2007, Preisträgerin des 12. open mike 2004, Treffen junger Autor*innen 1996 und 1998.

Sulaiman Masomi

Köln

Sulaiman Masomi, geboren 1979 in Kabul, Afghanistan und aufgewachsen in Krefeld, schloss sein Studium in Allgemeiner Literaturwissenschaft, Medienwissenschaft und Kulturwissenschaftlicher Anthropologie an der Universität Paderborn ab. Sulaiman Masomi ist Schriftsteller, Poet, Rapper, Poetry-Slammer und Literaturwissenschaftler. Seit über zehn Jahren ist er auf deutschen Bühnen und – auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts – als kultureller Botschafter in der Welt unterwegs, u. a. in Kairo, Riga, San Francisco, Mexiko-Stadt und Jerusalem. 2013 wurde er NRW-Landesmeister im Poetry-Slam und stand im selben Jahr im Finale der deutschsprachigen Meisterschaften. Er ist Mitbegründer der Kult-Lesebühne LMBN in Dortmund und hatte bereits mehr als 1500 Auftritte. Nebenbei ist er ein ziemlich cooler Typ, sehr süß und schreibt seine Pressetexte gerne selbst.
 www.sulaiman.de

Rudi Nuss

Berlin

Rudi Nuss, geboren 1994, lebt im Internet. Wenn er mal in der echten Welt anzutreffen ist, hat er ein ganz komisches Gefühl. An der Freien Universität Berlin studiert er Komparatistik und arbeitet daneben beim wortbau e. V. zur Förderung junger Literatur und ist als Redakteur bei der Epilog – Magazin zur Gegenwartskultur tätig. Er war Preisträger des Treffens junger Autor*innen 2013 und 2015 sowie beim open mike 2016 und veröffentlichte u. a. in der BELLA triste, mikrotext und VICE. Für sein Romanprojekt „Die Realität kommt“ erhielt er 2020 das Literaturstipendium des Berliner Senats.
 www.rudinuss.de

Rike Scheffler

Berlin

Rike Scheffler, geboren 1985 in Berlin, ist Dichter*in und Musiker*in. Poesie ist für sie Möglichkeitsraum, transformative Praxis. Scheffler ist Mitglied im Berliner Lyrikkollektiv G13, studierte Psychologie in Berlin und Literarisches Schreiben am Deutschen Literaturinstitut. Für ihr Schaffen erhielt sie u. a. Arbeitsstipendien des Deutschen Literaturfonds, der Deutschen Akademie Villa Massimo (Casa Baldi), Akademie der Künste Berlin, Stiftung Brandenburger Tor sowie den Wiesbadener Orphil-Debütpreis für Lyrik für ihren Gedichtband „der rest ist resonanz“, welcher 2014 bei kookbooks erschien. Zuletzt realisierte sie Präsentationen ihrer Gedichte, Performances und Soundinstallationen, u. a. im Palais de Tokyo, Paris, im Kopenhagener Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, in der Neuen Nationalgalerie und im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart in Berlin sowie auf (Literatur-)Festivals rund um den Globus.

 rikescheffler.tumblr.com

SchwarzRund

Berlin

SchwarzRund kam als Schwarze Deutsche Dominikaner*in mit drei Jahren nach Bremen, lebt seit fast zehn Jahren in Berlin. Seit 2013 publiziert sie auf ihrem Blog schwarzrund.de und in diversen Magazinen. Mehrdimensionale Lebensrealitäten inner- und außerhalb von Communitys verhandelt sie in Performance-Texten, Vorträgen und Veranstaltungsreihen. Sie hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Kulturwissenschaften und Gender Studies, in letzterem Fachbereich absoviert sie derzeit einen Master. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt sind Interventionsfelder Schwarzer Queerer Musikvideos. 2016 erschien ihr afropolitaner Berlin-Roman „Biskaya“ im zaglossus Verlag.

Daniela Seel

Berlin

Daniela Seel, geboren 1974 in Frankfurt am Main, lebt als Autorin, Übersetzerin und Verlegerin von kookbooks in Berlin und unterrichtet gelegentlich. Zahlreiche internationale Auftritte und Kollaborationen, u. a. mit dem Illustrator Andreas Töpfer, dem Tänzer David Bloom und den Musiker*innen Roland Dahinden und Hildegard Keeb. Daniela Seel veröffentlichte zuletzt die Gedichtbände „was weißt du schon von prärie“, kookbooks 2015, und „Auszug aus Eden“, Verlag Peter Engstler 2019, zurzeit arbeitet sie an „Nach Eden“. In Übersetzung erschien u. a. „Die Unsterblichen“ von Anne Boyer, Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2021, „Die verlorenen Zaubersprüche“ von Robert Macfarlane, Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2021, und „Call Us What We Carry ‒ Was wir mit uns tragen“ von Amanda Gorman (gemeinsam mit Marion Kraft), Hoffmann und Campe 2022. Für ihre Arbeiten wurde Daniela Seel vielfach ausgezeichnet, etwa mit dem Mondseer Lyrikpreis, dem Friedrich-Hölderlin-Förderpreis der Stadt Bad Homburg und dem Spitzenpreis beim 1. Deutschen Verlagspreis 2019. Daniela Seel ist Mitglied im Kuratorium des Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain und im PEN Berlin.