Conference & Discourse Formats
Thinking Together

Thinking Together – The Politics of Time

FRI 20 to SAT 28 Mar 2015

Opening 09:38:42 (beginning of the partial solar eclipse)

“Thinking Together – The Politics of Time”
consists of two parts:
FRI 20 to SUN 22 March: conference
MON 23 to SAT 28 March: sessions, work groups & projects
Registration for the work groups is kindly requested :

Detailed programme [pdf, 86 KB]

Curated by Berno Odo Polzer

Blu: Mural in the Cuvrystraße, Berlin

Blu: Mural in the Cuvrystraße, Berlin

Photo: Lutz Henke

“Thinking Together” is a transdisciplinary platform devoted to investigating our relation to time – time, understood as an important political category that determines the ways we live, work and produce.

The project pursues diagnoses of current time regimes, time structures, and the experience of time in late capitalist societies, from political, scientific, philosophical and artistic perspectives, in search of new political imaginaries concerning our relation to time.

The nine-day format consists of informal seminars, lecture-performances, presentations, discussions, work groups, film screenings, listening sessions and other experimental discursive formats – all publicly accessible during the whole period of the festival, and free of charge. “Thinking Together” develops the conceptual core of the new Festival for Time Issues: a space for thought and reflexion vis à vis the manifold experiences of time provided by life and the festival programme.

“Thinking Together” aims at setting up the necessary conditions for exchanging thoughts and experiences beyond common forms of knowledge performance, following the conviction that what it needs is time, space, concentration, generosity, disobedience, experimentation and care. The foyers of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele will serve as an infrastructure and shelter for the public, invited guests and artists of the festival to spend time thinking together about the politics of time.

With Ayreen Anastas, Aleida Assmann, Daniel Blanga Gubbay, Victoria Browne, Valentina Desideri, Mette Edvardsen, René Gabri, Amelia Groom, Lutz Henke, Gregor Herzfeld, Soda Jerk, Maurizio Lazzarato, Sven Lütticken, Pascal Michon, Helga de la Motte-Haber, Antonio Negri, Patricia Reed, Lydia Rilling, Ranabir Samaddar, Nicolas Siepen, Nick Srnicek and others

In collaboration with the University Potsdam / Chair of Musicology and research network “Ästhetische Eigenzeiten”
Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes