Visiting Orchestras

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra / Andris Nelsons

Past Dates

From the Wreckage is the symbolic title of Mark Anthony Turnage’s trumpet concerto: the British composer of keen sound imagination and Jazz-hardened rhythm freed himself through composition from existential accidents. The solo part and the expressive level of the work rotate successively upwards. In his Sea Interludes, Britten reflects self-awareness through a preoccupation with the elemental forces of nature. In the course of his Sixth, Shostakovich increases the kinetic energy – from a beginning threatened by rigidity, to a wild finale. Now and then he briefly touches on the kind of dances that parade through his Jazz Suites. Jazz – it was this urban culture, that not even great dictators were able to subdue: a music of resolute urban hope.

Concert Programme

Benjamin Britten [1913–1976]
Four sea interludes and Passacaglia op. 33a/b
from the opera Peter Grimes for orchestra [1945]

Mark Anthony Turnage [born 1960]
From the Wreckage
for trumpet and orchestra [2004]

Dmitri Shostakovich [1906–1975]
Suite for jazz orchestra No. 1 [1934]

Dmitri Shostakovich
Symphony No. 6 B minor op. 54 [1939]


Håkan Hardenberger trumpet

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons conductor