IPPNW Charity Concert

For the association MitMachMusik – Ein Weg zur Integration von Flüchtlingskindern e.V.
Welcome by Pamela Rosenberg

“The Miracle of Venezuela – El Sistema and the Power of Music”, photo exhibition

Ferruccio Busoni on the piano, ca. 1895

© obs / Leica Camera AG

Past Dates

19:00 work introduction

We’re making music! A way to integrate refugee children

In 2015, more than 300,000 children and young people came to Germany as refugees. The end of this refugee movement is not in sight. Traumatized by war and migration, these children live in the cramped conditions of ghetto-like accommodation, in a conflict zone of different cultures, religions and political convictions. If we follow the slogan “Our children are our future”, then it makes sense to add “These children are our future too”. If we don’t manage to integrate them into our system emotionally, culturally, intellectually and with regards to language, a future of violence and crime awaits them, similar to the lives of South American street children, and we will be faced with the emergence of new social hot spots.

We need to prevent this from happening. But how? A pioneering approach promises success: Making music together and communicating in this language that everyone loves and understands. Inspired by the Venezuelan music project “El Sistema”, a group of musicians, paediatricians, music teachers and volunteers from Berlin and Potsdam founded a pilot project to promote the self-esteem and integration of these children through playing music and singing together. “These children arrive here and are dumbfounded. We help them to actively find their own voice”, says Pamela Rosenberg, former director of the foundation Berliner Philharmoniker and the project’s co-initiator. The children carry what they have learned into their families every day. Music becomes the connecting link between them and us.

The concert’s proceeds will benefit the association “MitMachMusik – Ein Weg zur Integration von Flüchtlingskindern e.V.”, which will present itself to the public at Musikfest Berlin 2016.

Ludwig van Beethoven [1770-1827]
String Quartet No. 7 in F major op. 59,1 [1806]

Dmitri Shostakovich [1906-1975]
Symphony No. 15 in A major op. 141 [1971]
arranged for piano trio and three percussionists by Viktor Derevianko [1972]

Artemis Quartett
Vineta Sareika, violin
Anthea Kreston, violin
Gregor Sigl, viola
Eckart Runge, cello

Kolja Blacher violin
Jens Peter Maintz cello
Özgür Aydin piano
Raymond Curfs percussion
Mark Haeldermans percussion
Lukas Böhm percussion

A joint event by IPPNW-Concerts,
Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin and Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation