Violin soloists / Percussion

Tabea Zimmermann & Ensemble Resonanz

Wall panel made of felt (detail) by Anne Kyyrö Quin, London

Wall panel made of felt (detail) by Anne Kyyrö Quin, London


  • End of the concert approx. 21:30

Past Dates

17:30 work introduction

Ensemble Resonanz features a young generation of musicians who move effortlessly between Old and New Music and work as a chamber orchestra as well as a soloist ensemble. They share Tabea Zimmermann’s passion for both new contemporary music and the classical repertoire; they discover current elements in works from the Baroque, Classicistic and Romantic periods and trace traditional lines in contemporary music.

This openness is reflected in the programme that they will present at Musikfest Berlin. The genres of quartet and concerto, as interpreted from a contemporary perspective by composers Rebecca Saunders and Enno Poppe from Berlin, will be featured, framed by two pieces by Franz Schubert. During her time as artist-in-residence, Tabea Zimmermann studied both Schubert pieces with the Ensemble, and she will also be conducting them at Musikfest Berlin.

Franz Schubert [1797-1828]
Ouverture for Strings in C minor D 8a [1811]

Enno Poppe [*1969]
for string quartet [2002]

Rebecca Saunders [*1967]
Concerto for cello, strings and percussion [2012]

Rebecca Saunders
for string quartet [2012]

Enno Poppe
for viola and chamber orchestra [2015]

Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 5 in B flat major D 485
for chamber orchestra [1816]

Tabea Zimmermann viola and conductor (“Ouverture” and „Symphony No. 5”)
Saerom Park cello
Ensemble Resonanz
Enno Poppe conductor (“Ire” and “Filz”)

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event