Visiting Orchestras

Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam – Mariss Jansons

Past Dates

Introduction with Gerhard Müller
at 19:00, Hermann-Wolff-Saal

More than 10 years have passed since the Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, one of the most traditional orchestras in the world, last performed in Berlin. Among the reasons for this year’s invitation are the ensemble’s specific history, its particular reputation with regard to the interpretation of works by Mahler, and the appointment of Mariss Jansons as chief conductor.

The musical cosmos of Gustav Mahler is deeply rooted in the Bohemian-Austrian region of his origins. “You need not even bother to look – I have already ‘composed’ all that”, is what he allegedly said to conductor Bruno Walter during a mountain tour. Mahler’s sixth “Tragic Symphony” is an exceptional musical work in every respect. Sounds of nature, moments of calm and contentedness collide with modern life, with “brute force” (an original instruction by Mahler).

Concert Programme

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 6 in A minor